Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Winter Lined Rancher

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #11278
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Genuine North American deerskin gloves for roping, riding and working.

Favorite Features

  • The Winter Lined Ranchers have a polar fleece lining for added warmth and feature a gun cut finger treatment
  • No finger seams on the palm side of the Winter Lined Rancher make for a far more comfortable feeling
  • Elasticized wrist gives you an easy on and off glove

Imported


Sizing It Up

Natural 6,7,8,9

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Winter Lined Rancher is rated 4.5542 out of 5 by 83.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great gloves The fit is great, but these gloves are not super durable. I am very busy in the barn and these gloves only last about 1-2 months for me. But they are comfortable and easy to work in.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfy but already wearing through Loved how soft, warm, and supple these were, but they don't hold up to chores as well as riding - I've already worn one finger through and have only had them a few months...I have been using them daily, though. It's probably the nice soft leather that is both a benefit for riding and a drawback for toughness.
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid working gloves Great for around the barn. Soft deerskin helps feeling of smaller objects, like zippers. Would not use for riding since not waterproof. Was surprised I had to size up to an 8 (I am a woman) - 7 was too short & tight in the fingers.
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Riding & Barn Work Glove! I have been a long time fan of SSG gloves (also because they actually fit my tiny size 6-ish hands better than any other brand!). When I saw the Winter Rancher gloves, I was drawn in by their lush fleece lining and soft leather exterior.They are super warm, but not water resistant or waterproof, so be mindful when using them for barn chores. Also, I wouldn't recommend these gloves for leading an excitable horse or lunging, as there is no friction or gripping on the fingers or palm. Other than that, they are super useful, and I use them mainly for stall work, etc. and riding.
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from just what I was looking for Warm and supple - keeping my fingers toasty in the 30s for both chores & riding, without sacrificing feel. Seem to be tough enough that they'll hold up to the chores as well - time will tell.
    Date published: 2011-12-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as expected I ordered these gloves, desperate to find proper protection for my hands when working around the stable. We have been experiencing a very severe winter here in the high desert, and I hoped these gloves would keep my hands warm. Unfortunately, the ends of my fingers still get numb.The gloves are well made and a reasonable fit, but don't work well for me.
    Date published: 2011-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good winter work gloves I have used the SSG Rancher gloves for a few years now and usually go through two pairs each winter. They are great work gloves - a little bulky for riding.In the past they seemed to be generously sized. This year the new gloves seemed to be a little skimpier for the size...maybe my hands grew but at my age I don't think so!
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great gloves! Can't have too many pairs. Warm and durable and practical! Like the lining too!
    Date published: 2010-12-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pros & Cons These are great for the in between seasons but here in the Northeast these will not be warm enough by the end of December, January & February. There is enough room for some silk liners so I might try that and see if I can wear these longer. I like the feel of these and I can work well in them. As for the Con the wrist is open and short. You can see this plainly in the photo where the shirt is inside the glove. For a winter glove an open wrist means a cold wrist. An open wrist means lots of hay and other debris get stuck in them. It would be nice if these were a little longer to sit under your jacket and have a closed, thicker elastic band of some sort to help keep the cold and hay out of them.
    Date published: 2010-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves! I wear these gloves constantly! Very, very warm! My one complaint is that they only last a couple months when worn hard!
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Great work/Riding Gloves These are great work/riding gloves. They seem to hold up well. They are warm but also thin enough to feel the reins.The only draw back is that they don't come in black!
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm Gloves These gloves do a great job of keeping your hands warm while working, but could last a bit longer than 6 months.
    Date published: 2010-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves These gloves are the best for chores in the winter. The fingers could be a bit longer, but they stretch, are warm, and easy to get on and off.
    Date published: 2010-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves! I purchase these gloves every winter. I always have an extra pair on hand so I don't have to wait to order another! They are VERY warm and not bulky and difficult to work with like other winter deerskin gloves. And they can get a little wet and not soak in. Excellent gloves!
    Date published: 2010-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmest Gloves Ever I love these gloves, this is the second pair that i have purchased. The last pair i owned lasted for over two years and they are so warm and comfortable to wear.
    Date published: 2010-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves! These gloves are very warm and durable! Even if they get a little wet it doesn't soak through. They're very soft and easy to work with.
    Date published: 2010-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST These gloves are warm and durable, are great for barn work and to ride in also. They are also relatively inexpensive so you don't have to feel so bad when you loose one!
    Date published: 2010-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE 'EM These gloves are the best! Keep hands warm minus the bulkiness that "others" have. Highly reccomend them.
    Date published: 2010-01-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent winter gloves it is difficult to find winter work gloves in women's sizes. These gloves are warm enough for cold New England mornings in the barn, and fit well. Being leather, they are of course not water proof, but that's ok. My only complaint is that they are a bit on the lightweight side: I've worn through the leather on the finger pads in only half a season, so they are not nearly as durable as other brands I've purchased in the past (but can't get anymore).
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves These are very warm for barn chores and serviceable for riding in really cold conditions.I wear a women's 7.5, and I ordered an 8.
    Date published: 2010-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice and soft Purchased fo r my horse tolerant hubby. Nice fit, warm but a little too soft and absorbant for the PNW.
    Date published: 2010-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Go a size up I assumed that SSG took the lining into account when sizing these gloves, but not so. I ordered the same size I wear for a riding glove, so of course they were too tight and cut off the circulation in my fingers. I wore them doing chores for 15 mins before I realized that they were going to make my hands cold, rather than warm, and by then I could not send them back with horse dirt on them. They were nice--and would have done the job if they hadn't been too small--so I ordered another size.The moral of the story is: don't wear the gloves in the barn until you're sure they fit!
    Date published: 2010-01-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful gloves, but largest women's size is still too small. Would use the men's size but cannot tell from catalog whether the cut on the men's glove has the same style as the women's or do these have thick fingers.
    Date published: 2009-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these for tasks around the barn. These are great when you are doing some tasks around the barn. I would not recommend them for riding.
    Date published: 2009-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gift I know next to nothing about horses but totally scored with this gift to my horse loving friend! After receiving them promptly in the mail, she wondered how I knew about Smartpak. I guess I impressed her with my horse cred.
    Date published: 2009-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from winter gloves Good until 38 degres F. I'll have to find others when weather gets colder. Good fit and soft feel. Would buy again.
    Date published: 2009-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from gloves Absolutely the best. Small enough to fit, thick enough to keep me warm. Lasts more than a year.
    Date published: 2009-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE These Gloves! These are the best for barn work - so far 4 of us in the household wear them - the other two will as soon as their hands are big enough!!!
    Date published: 2009-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE these gloves! I, too, have ordered these gloves every winter for several years in a row. They are extremely comfortable, warm and durable. I use them for barn work, riding, and stacking firewood. They are so warm and comfortable that I choose them for everything and anything outdoors. I highly recommend these gloves!
    Date published: 2008-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter gloves ever! I have ordered a pair of these gloves for four years running - they are the only ones I've found that can last through a winter of rough barn work while keeping my notoriously cold hands warm! Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2008-02-11
    • 2015-05-22T08:30CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_71
    • loc_en_US, sid_1278, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.