Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Winter Lined Rancher

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #11278
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Genuine North American deerskin gloves for roping, riding and working.

Favorite Features

  • The Winter Lined Ranchers have a polar fleece lining for added warmth and feature a gun cut finger treatment
  • No finger seams on the palm side of the Winter Lined Rancher make for a far more comfortable feeling
  • Elasticized wrist gives you an easy on and off glove

Imported


Sizing It Up

Natural 6,7,8,9

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Roeckl Weldon Winter Fleece Glove is highly ...
    Description:
    The Roeckl Weldon Winter Fleece Glove is highly versatile and extremely elastic. The backhand and palm on this glove is made from warm,Soft, and especially elastic Polartec Power Stretch Pro. The materials' particularlyHeavy quality guarantees extra warmth, while the outer ...
    The Roeckl Winter Hampshire GlovewillProtect you from the ...
    Description:
    The Roeckl Winter Hampshire GlovewillProtect you from the wettest, coldest, and windiest winter riding weather. Favorite Features Cozy Prima Loft lining Lightweight warmth Elastic wrists can be adjusted with the roll bar strap MetallicRoeckl logo on the cuff Roecklembroidery on ...
    A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made ...
    Description:
    A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made from ROECK-GRIP, which provides superior grip, suppleness, and breathability. The Winter Chester gloves have a laminated fleece lining that provides additional warmth. The Roeckl tab fastener across the back of the hand ...
    TheSSG All Weather Winter Lined Glove is excellent ...
    Description:
    TheSSG All Weather Winter Lined Glove is excellent for schooling once the temperature starts to drop. Unlined aquasuede palm, excellent grip in dry, rainy or snowy conditions. Thinsulate lining on back of hand and thumb only. Hook and loop wrist ...
    Why We Love ThisThe SSG Winter Training Glove ...
    Description:
    Why We Love ThisThe SSG Winter Training Glove is an all purpose lined winter glove for training, handling, and riding.The backof glove has Thinsulate lining forheat retentionwithout the bulk while thepalm is lightly linedproviding abetter feel on the reins without ...
    The Roeckl Ultimate Winter Glove was created with ...
    Description:
    The Roeckl Ultimate Winter Glove was created with a special synthesis by combining WINDSTOPPERSoft Shell with ROECK GRIP technology making it a very popular choice for cold weather riders.This brand-GoreSoft Shell quality material requires no additional inner lining and keeps ...
    TheSSG 10 Below Winter Gloves isa winter glove ...
    Description:
    TheSSG 10 Below Winter Gloves isa winter glove with supremeProtection in cold weather with 4 layers for warmth!Favorite Features Proven waterproofProtection (Not just water resistant) Thinsulate and exclusive SSG polar fleece lining SSG digital palm for superior grip Knitted cuff ...
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Winter Lined Rancher is rated 4.5556 out of 5 by 90.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm glove, but bulky. This is a great glove for doing chores around the barn, but definitely not for riding (which is not an advertised use). I wish I had bought the black instead of the yellow, as the yellow gets dirty very quickly and shows the dirt easily. Thick and warm.
    Date published: 2013-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice gloves Very nice gloves, just be aware that they fit smaller because of the fleece lining.
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Winter Lined Rancher Gloves These gloves are super warm an I use then when I have to feed about 50 horses. They seem pretty durable so far. I had to exchange a size 7 for a size 6. Love these gloves!
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Warm Best glove i have ever bought for the winter time. It keeps my hands warm and dry. Perfect fit. Soft lining, i can work and ride without having to change my gloves. They are the best!
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Women's Work Glove Great gloves for the smaller hands. Soft & Supple, Warm & Comfortable. Not the bulky, stiff gloves like the cheaper types.
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Winter Lined Rancher these gloves are super comfy and very durable. They kept myhamds nice and toasty, even my fingers, as I was feeding and bring horses in. Very good buy for such a low price.
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't survive winter without them! I have used these gloves for several winters now and truly appreciate them! They are great for barn work but I also ride in them. Once they are broken in they conform nicely to your hand for a great fit and they still have enough room if it's a "hand warmer" type of day.
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Brand Forever These are fabulous work gloves. They are very nimble to be so warm, and incredibly long-lasting. This is my second pair of winter ones, and I have owned several pairs of the unlined ones. They are tough enough to pull up weeds with thorns, and survive months of barn work. If they only had some Kevlar on the thumbs, I think they would last forever! These will remain my go-to work gloves, and they are worth every penny I paid for them.
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like em I use these for barn chores and my hands stay warm even when temps are in the low teens. I thought the fit was pretty accurate and they do facilitate better dexterity than others I've used in the past. The fingers are already showing wear so I "think" they'll last 1-2 seasons. Time will tell. Over all , I'm glad I bought them and will purchase again as needed.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great gloves The fit is great, but these gloves are not super durable. I am very busy in the barn and these gloves only last about 1-2 months for me. But they are comfortable and easy to work in.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfy but already wearing through Loved how soft, warm, and supple these were, but they don't hold up to chores as well as riding - I've already worn one finger through and have only had them a few months...I have been using them daily, though. It's probably the nice soft leather that is both a benefit for riding and a drawback for toughness.
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid working gloves Great for around the barn. Soft deerskin helps feeling of smaller objects, like zippers. Would not use for riding since not waterproof. Was surprised I had to size up to an 8 (I am a woman) - 7 was too short & tight in the fingers.
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Riding & Barn Work Glove! I have been a long time fan of SSG gloves (also because they actually fit my tiny size 6-ish hands better than any other brand!). When I saw the Winter Rancher gloves, I was drawn in by their lush fleece lining and soft leather exterior.They are super warm, but not water resistant or waterproof, so be mindful when using them for barn chores. Also, I wouldn't recommend these gloves for leading an excitable horse or lunging, as there is no friction or gripping on the fingers or palm. Other than that, they are super useful, and I use them mainly for stall work, etc. and riding.
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from just what I was looking for Warm and supple - keeping my fingers toasty in the 30s for both chores & riding, without sacrificing feel. Seem to be tough enough that they'll hold up to the chores as well - time will tell.
    Date published: 2011-12-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as expected I ordered these gloves, desperate to find proper protection for my hands when working around the stable. We have been experiencing a very severe winter here in the high desert, and I hoped these gloves would keep my hands warm. Unfortunately, the ends of my fingers still get numb.The gloves are well made and a reasonable fit, but don't work well for me.
    Date published: 2011-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good winter work gloves I have used the SSG Rancher gloves for a few years now and usually go through two pairs each winter. They are great work gloves - a little bulky for riding.In the past they seemed to be generously sized. This year the new gloves seemed to be a little skimpier for the size...maybe my hands grew but at my age I don't think so!
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great gloves! Can't have too many pairs. Warm and durable and practical! Like the lining too!
    Date published: 2010-12-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pros & Cons These are great for the in between seasons but here in the Northeast these will not be warm enough by the end of December, January & February. There is enough room for some silk liners so I might try that and see if I can wear these longer. I like the feel of these and I can work well in them. As for the Con the wrist is open and short. You can see this plainly in the photo where the shirt is inside the glove. For a winter glove an open wrist means a cold wrist. An open wrist means lots of hay and other debris get stuck in them. It would be nice if these were a little longer to sit under your jacket and have a closed, thicker elastic band of some sort to help keep the cold and hay out of them.
    Date published: 2010-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves! I wear these gloves constantly! Very, very warm! My one complaint is that they only last a couple months when worn hard!
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Great work/Riding Gloves These are great work/riding gloves. They seem to hold up well. They are warm but also thin enough to feel the reins.The only draw back is that they don't come in black!
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm Gloves These gloves do a great job of keeping your hands warm while working, but could last a bit longer than 6 months.
    Date published: 2010-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves These gloves are the best for chores in the winter. The fingers could be a bit longer, but they stretch, are warm, and easy to get on and off.
    Date published: 2010-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves! I purchase these gloves every winter. I always have an extra pair on hand so I don't have to wait to order another! They are VERY warm and not bulky and difficult to work with like other winter deerskin gloves. And they can get a little wet and not soak in. Excellent gloves!
    Date published: 2010-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmest Gloves Ever I love these gloves, this is the second pair that i have purchased. The last pair i owned lasted for over two years and they are so warm and comfortable to wear.
    Date published: 2010-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves! These gloves are very warm and durable! Even if they get a little wet it doesn't soak through. They're very soft and easy to work with.
    Date published: 2010-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST These gloves are warm and durable, are great for barn work and to ride in also. They are also relatively inexpensive so you don't have to feel so bad when you loose one!
    Date published: 2014-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE 'EM These gloves are the best! Keep hands warm minus the bulkiness that "others" have. Highly reccomend them.
    Date published: 2010-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent winter gloves it is difficult to find winter work gloves in women's sizes. These gloves are warm enough for cold New England mornings in the barn, and fit well. Being leather, they are of course not water proof, but that's ok. My only complaint is that they are a bit on the lightweight side: I've worn through the leather on the finger pads in only half a season, so they are not nearly as durable as other brands I've purchased in the past (but can't get anymore).
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves These are very warm for barn chores and serviceable for riding in really cold conditions.I wear a women's 7.5, and I ordered an 8.
    Date published: 2010-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice and soft Purchased fo r my horse tolerant hubby. Nice fit, warm but a little too soft and absorbant for the PNW.
    Date published: 2010-01-07
    • 2016-05-27T16:34CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_77
    • loc_en_US, sid_1278, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders