Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls
- Item #17853

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things are premium refills that are made special to fit major treat holders on the market today.  They are great tasting and packed with vitamins and minerals essential for horse's everyday needs.

Fits in the Pony Pop Lic N' SpinLikit Holder or Likit Boredom Breaker.

Made in the USA

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    This great-tasting lick is packed with essential vitamins ...
    Description:
    This great-tasting lick is packed with essential vitamins and minerals to support the everyday needs of your horse. The Uncle Jimmy's Licky Thing Value Pack includes a Licky Thing Treat Holder and three Licky Things in assorted flavors. Made in ...
    Made with all natural ingredients and no artificial ...
    Description:
    Made with all natural ingredients and no artificial flavors or colors, Uncle Jimmy's Squeezy Buns for horses are a delicious and nutritious treat! Favorite Features Individually wrapped to preserve freshness and eliminates mess in your pockets. 11 oz. or 3 ...
    Uncle Jimmy's Big Licky Things are premium refills ...
    Description:
    Uncle Jimmy's Big Licky Things are premium refills that are made special to fit Uncle Jimmy's Big Licky . They are great tasting and packed with vitamins and minerals essential for horse's everyday needs. Made in the USA
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things is rated 4.6267 out of 5 by 150.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! My horse absolutely loves these and it keeps him occupied while he is on stall rest.... Two thumbs up!
    Date published: 2011-12-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lasted 20 Minutes. My horse LOVES these Licky Things. It used to take him about a week or more to go through one. Then he was on stall rest and used his spare time to figure out how to eat these quicker. With his Licky Thing Holder, he can pretty much take a chunk out of these if he bites hard enough.I gave him a new one tonight after I groomed him and in the time it took to groom my pony (about 20 minutes or less), the Licky Thing was GONE. Previously the fastest he ate one was in 2 hours, but 20 minutes seems a little ridiculous. That's the only reason why it's rated 3 stars. I don't doubt the quality ingredients and it's certainly palatable, but $8 for 20 minutes? I'll still end up buying more anyway because my horse loves them so much.
    Date published: 2011-08-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Entertaining My horse is very mouthy, was on stall rest, and is a piglet, so with a little practice he could finish one in a day. I usually only hang it up for part of the day to make it last longer. With a "normal" horse who wouldn't obsess about it these should last a few days or even more. They did make him happy and he didn't get too sticky, so overall definitely worth it.
    Date published: 2011-07-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse wouldn't eat it I got this for my horse to give him something to do when he was on stall rest. It looked tastey to me! But unfortunately my horse wouldn't touch it. He will eat pretty much anything, and still didn't seem interested.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Treat I got these treats for my horse because they fit in the trailer better than the big balls for long hauls to shows. My horse loves them and they give him something to do! They do not last long though, if you're going to a long show buy a couple, they're cheap enough.
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse Loves it! I like these better than the hanging balls. Somehow my horse's face stays cleaner with this set-up. Not sure yet how he feels about banana flavor, but he loves peppermint and apple!
    Date published: 2011-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things-THE BEST oh my gosh!!! These are the best treats i have ever given my horses. They don't even let me get them hung up before they are attacking them.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "we" love it! My horses love these-every flavor!When I brought home my Thoroughbreds I purchased from the track, they would not take a carrot or apple or any kind of treat! They had to have "down time" from the track (also one was injured) so they spent time in the stalls before being turned out. Licky Things was the best "things" for them. I started with mojo molassas and worked my way to other flavors with mint being the last tried. My filly ATE one in less than one day but only once. (She was still growing-by three inches!) Licky Things now last 4-6 days depending on how long the horses are in their stalls. I hang the treats in the back of the stalls because the horses do not hang out there, therefore they do not go through the treats as fast! So I would recommend hanging them where they are LEAST likely to be used, therefore extending the life of it, or hanging it away from the stall walls.I usually buy them every month but do not use them constantly. I save them up for rainy days when the horses are kept inside in the stalls.We like them very much! I will keep buying.
    Date published: 2011-05-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed thoughts... My horse likes her Likits just fine, but absolutely refused to touch this, even when I took it off the holder and held it up to her. However, I do know a pony in the barn who goes nuts for these but leaves Likits in pristine condition.
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Licky Thing Ok, my horse loves the licky things. We havent tried all the flavors yet. But you can bet we will. We hang it from our Mares stall. She plays with it, licks it, and even tries to bite it... so much fun and she likes the flavors.
    Date published: 2011-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Banana flavor Licky Thing She usually loves these, but I had never offered her the Banana flavor before - she licked it a couple of times, tried to bite it and looked away. She wasn't interested after that, but her pasture mate found it, and worked on it non-stop until it was gone!!! He says to bring him another one please! I have a peppermint one for her to try next. We'll let you know how that one goes over.She loves peppermint candies so I'm sure she'll like this one.
    Date published: 2011-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stall Treat! These are awesome stall treats, they keep my horses from entertained during long wet winters. With my horses they will last 1-3 months when hung in the center of the stall.
    Date published: 2011-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it survived the rain! and she likes it i bought this for my mare after she sand colicked where my vet and i discussed having something not on the ground where she would nose around in the dirt but up higher for her to focus on to alleviate some boredom. for the first week, she ignored it (i hung it up on her hay feeder in one of those apple shaped horse treat lick it things) but then she must've realized that there was delicious goodness in there. it survived a week of driving rain. only downside is she got her forelock a little goopy. i plan on buying one for my orally fixated gelding. might keep him from flinging his blankets around.
    Date published: 2011-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Treat! These are by far my picky eater's favorite treats. They last a long time and keep him occupied in his stall on long winter nights.
    Date published: 2011-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liked it I bought a banana flavored one to see if my horse would like it better then a Likit. He ate it, but didn't seem overly excited about it.It also got really sticky towards the end and it was really hard to get my Likit holder clean.I'd only buy it again if my horse was going to be inside for a long period of time. It may work better for other horses.
    Date published: 2011-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves them! I bought a few of these for my horse to try cause she isn't one to lick the Lick Its, and man did she love Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things! I liked how she didn't get it all over her face like can happen with the Uncle Jimmy's Hangin Balls, and she finished it a few days. I'll definately buy more of these in the future, and recommend them to other barn mates and horse friends!
    Date published: 2011-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cheap stall saver I like these refills better than the likit style. They last alot longer and I actually can tell whats in them by looking at it. These are well worth it when it constantly raining and muddy and the horses have to stand in the stall alot.
    Date published: 2011-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse LOVES these! I own a gelding who is very hard to keep entertained when he is at shows, or when he is kept indoors during the daytime due to bad weather rather than getting his regular turn out. But these things are AWESOME! They keep him entertained, engaged, and more importantly HAPPY. I usually tie them up with some bailing twine, though I really ought to put the money out for the likit holder instead. Either way works great, and these last at least a week for me at shows, and usually 2-3 weeks at home and I own a big/mouthy horse. So I'd say that you get a lot of bang for your buck here!
    Date published: 2011-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from we like My horses really enjoy these. It doesn't matter what flavor either. They are gone in the matter of days (2-7) depending how much time the horses are in their stalls. Ours are hanging down from a veritical 4x4 in the back of the stall (which is behind the stall wall) on a thick rust-resistent chain secured by a double-end snap. This has worked well for us.
    Date published: 2011-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Horse LOVES He loves these treats, However they are gone in 2days at the longest, so he doesn't get them very often! (Probably would last longer, if my Likit toy wasn't leaning on stall wall, but there is no other way to hang it at the barn I board at)
    Date published: 2011-02-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from tasty these are great but softer than pony pops. my horse can eat one in a day..pony pops last longer. with some of the other horses they last awhile. it depends on how big a pig your horse is!
    Date published: 2011-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Licky Things My Haflingers enjoy them. The Gelding devour's them in a matter of about three days, but the mare takes her "sweet" time and will make one last a month. Their nose does get a lil sticky, but I don't mind.
    Date published: 2011-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase These are great treats and they keep the horses occupied.Only dislike is the sticky faces on the horses.
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loved this! Only problem was that it was gone in two days!
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves these These are great for stall toys my horse loves them and takes time days to eat it
    Date published: 2010-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from licky things are great and cheaper fits perfectly into the Lixit holders and easier than the Pony Pops because of the hole size. The horse does go through it a bit faster because the grains are not as tightly packed as the Pony pops but they are half the price.
    Date published: 2010-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT LIKIT REFILL! I purchased a LIKIT for my very picky thoroughbred. He wanted nothing to do with it. So, I tried a Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things in the LIKIT holder... and he LOVED it! He licked it back and forth. He didn't get sticky at all, like some other reviews said. This lasted me about two weeks. A great alternative for picky horses!
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sticky goodness! Our horse is on stall rest and needed something to keep him entertained. This was a good alternative to other "likit" type items. I have to warn you that the nose will get STICKY!
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Holiday Success I left this for my extremely picky and stall bound horse for a Thanksgiving treat. To my great surprise, it was halfway gone when I got home! He loved it.I have to include a warning about the sticky face, but to me it was worth it - and easily remedied with some extra grooming!
    Date published: 2010-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best thing for stalled horses Licky things are the greatest. horses that won't touch Likits or similar stall snacks will like these. They are packed more tightly so they last longer than other stall snacks. The molasses in them keeps the horse coming back. Lots of ways to hang them besides using a stall snack holder.
    Date published: 2010-11-29
    • 2016-02-14T14:47CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_143
    • loc_en_US, sid_7853, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.