Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls
- Item #14867
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Uncle Jimmy recorded a song just for us about his unique product - Click here to take a listen.

You can imagine how hard it is to write copy for a product with a name like this!  We don't want to offend, but at the same time we think it's really funny.  So we'll stick to the facts. 

After winning an Innovation Award at a recent trade show, we knew that Uncle Jimmy was getting serious about selling treat balls. The design and concept of hanging balls is revolutionary. Horses love these, plain and simple.  They're made out of sweet feed specially processed to stick together and last a long time.

 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls is rated 4.2947 out of 5 by 95.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Uncle Jimmy's Hangin Balls This is great for my horse on days when the weather is too bad to go out. However, I have to say he is not crazy about this. I used to get a product called The Bizzy Ball. He LOVED this. However, they discontinued making this. He will nibble away at Uncle Jimmy's eventually. It still serves the purpose of keeping him engaged and I will continue to get them.
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses Love! My horses just love their Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls. It helps to relieve boredom from the stall when kept in during bad weather.
    Date published: 2014-09-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Can't afford Way too expensive to last for only for 4-7 days for a horse stall bound for months. Wow. Horse liked it, my pocketbook didn't. I don't understand why these are so expensive.
    Date published: 2014-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it This was my 6th purchase of this treat and my horse still loves it. I initially hung it in the middle of the stall, but my mare got bored because it was too much effort for her to keep licking on it. So I moved it to against the wall (but not in the corner). Now it gives her just enough challenge to entertain her for hours. Each ball lasts about 10 days for us this way.
    Date published: 2014-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this ball!! I've bought at least a dozen of these and I don't feel bad about buying another dozen more :) My horse absolutely loves these! They're gone in about two weeks with my horse, he is constantly attacking it :) I love buying these for my horse. I don't recommend putting one in a stall at a show or you'll wish you hadn't. They are very sticky and very messy. They get all over your horses face because it spins around and rubs against them, naturally they don't care.Usually a wet wash cloth can clean them up but some (mine) needs a good bathing. They are the perfect think for a horse on stall rest though or for a horse that is in more than out. Actually any horse would love this sweet treat. I've never met a horse that doesn't like this product. I recommend hanging it where the horse cannot pin it or else it will be gone in T-no time. Gone! But it's fun to watch them play with the ball and try and take chunks out of it. I recommend this product!!
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Epic fail - consider buying another product I bought this a month ago and I wish I hadn't. It "hanged" for two days and then the string came out. It went from a hanging ball to a rolling ball. VERY sticky so you can imagine the mess. Now I have a big stick ball that I can't really do anything with. I threw away my return label so I guess I'm "stuck" on this one... I encourage other buyers to look for a better product than this. I am 100% dissatisfied with this product.
    Date published: 2014-07-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like the title We bought this last month with our smart paks The horse liked it at first but since it is getting kind of dusty at the barn and the ball is sticky after she licks it picked up all the dust and is not good now. I guess it does not work for our barn.
    Date published: 2014-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Treat My horse will devour the LikIts in a matter of two hours but this held up for almosttwo weeks. The only complaint that I have is my horse managed to get residue all over his nose and you literally have to scrub it off. It's quiet a formidable size but I wish it was a tad bit larger.
    Date published: 2014-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mare loved it I bought this for my thoroughbred mare since she's been in her stall a lot due to weather. She loved it. She was trying to eat it while I was hanging it. I just wish it had lasted a little longer.
    Date published: 2014-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from horses loved them I bought two of these for my horses for Christmas. They absolutely loved them. It took them both about a week to finish them up
    Date published: 2014-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sticky, but does the job I think most people would agree, it does the job but leaves the horse a bit sticky. My horse is on long term stall rest and really needs the distraction. The ball is obviously tasty and my girl takes a few weeks to go through one. I think that some people have a great point, great for colder weather but may be a problem in the summer. Overall I love the product and will be buying them for as long as she is confined. 
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this I have bought these in the past as it is a great pacifier when my horse is kept in his stall due to inclement weather. This most recent purchase is his Christmas present!
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great treat! I was convinced that this treat wouldn't last long, but it actually lasted nearly a week. My guy is on stall rest, so this was nice to break up the boredom. Although I do wish that they were a little less expensive, I will buy more while he is unable to go out.
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't hold up long. I bought this for a yearling stud colt hoping to occupy his mind a little. It lasted less than 2 days and it fell off the string that came with it. I ended up throwing it in the trash.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our ponies love these, but only hang for few minutes, or will eat in one sitting.
    Date published: 2013-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great treat/toy! My horse had to be on stall rest for about 3 weeks after needing stitches from a kick. As he is young and we normally work 6 days a week, I knew 3 weeks of stall rest would be tough! He absolutely loved this treat! I also loved it because it took him a lot longer to eat it than other treat toys. It did make his white nose brown and goopy, but it was totally worth it since he was happy!
    Date published: 2013-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Devoured. I admit, I hung this ball against a wall, for lack of hanging options from the ceiling. It was gone in less than 48 hours! Needless to say, my horse loved his tasty treat, and was likely highly entertained for those 48 hours, but it's a little pricey to be purchasing very often. I was really looking for a longer-term solution to keeping my horse occupied while in his stall, and this wasn't quite it. Might be nice for shows, though, when he needs an extra treat and it only needs to last a day or two.
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Uncle Jimmy's I purchaced this hanging ball as my mare is on stall rest and I felt as though I should get her some things to keep her busy. The uncle Jimmys was very frustrating for her when it was hung in the middle of her stall as she could not really get at it. I left it hang for 2 weeks then finally decided to move it aginst the wall. She eat's at it now and it has still lasted quit some time. Over all good treat if they can get access to it.
    Date published: 2013-03-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from At first my 4 yr old mare was terrified of the ball hanging in her stall but once she got used to it she went wild with it. After a week or two it seems that she has grown bored with it though. Unfortunately it is VERY messy and sticky! It left a sticky, crusty mess anywhere it touched on her body, especially her face. Baby wipes worked reasonably well at removing the mess. I probably would not purchase it again just because she isn't that interested in it anymore and it made such a mess on her.
    Date published: 2013-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love these! These long lasting treats keep my horses happy when they need to be in their stalls. I always keep some on hand for rainy days. Be prepared that your horse will have a sticky face but a warm cloth is all you need for clean up.
    Date published: 2013-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stall Entertainment! I have a stalled horse, and non-edible horse toys don't entertain him. I used to buy a similar product from another company because they were cheaper, but decided to try SmartPak's because of the free shipping. Compared to what I used before, the Uncle Jimmy's are bigger and last MUCH longer. My horse's record for the other kind was 3 hours. His record for the Uncle Jimmy's is 8 days, which is a much better value even though they are a few dollars more.There is a sugar free version that SmartPak doesn't carry. If anyone was wondering, flies are still attracted to it and it doesn't last as long as the regular flavored ones (the texture is different and my horse just devoured it). I am sticking with the flavored ones (molasses is his favorite) from SmartPak.
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very entertaining! My super picky TB loves these! He will not eat any of the Likit treats, but this gets him excited. I do hang it up against a wall, but it still lasts at least two weeks. He spends half of the day inside, so this provides him with some entertainment when he isn't eating his hay. It does leave his nose a bit sticky, but nothing that a baby wipe can't handle. So worth it!
    Date published: 2012-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves these but be ready for a mess! My horse absolutely loves these! BUT I will only feed these in the summer when I can wash him off easily because he has a tendency to end up wearing some of it. The molasses will get all over anything that touches it including your horse! Also some horses will eat this faster than they should so you should monitor your horse at first to make sure they don't eat all of it in one sitting.
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy but sticky horses My horses love the balls! Really depends on the horse as to how long they last. With one horse it lasted 2 weeks, other horse has gone over a month. Make sure to hang it where they can not pin it against a wall. Only negative is they leave a sticky residue on their heads, necks or wherever they touch the ball. But nothing water and towel can't fix. Definitely will buy again, gives the horses something to do besides eat our fences. Love It!
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves these! I use Uncle Jimmy's during the cooler weather to keep my horse entertained. They last a long time for him and he really enjoys them. My only problem is when it gets really hot and humid they are so heavy that they do fall off the string!! I use Pony Pops when it is hot since it can be put in a holder, and these when it is cool enough for it to stay put. My horse enjoys both products.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for the cranky mare! I got this on a whim for my horse. She varies between wood chewing and cribbing. It's more out of boredom, so I got her toys. She hated her toys and wouldn't touch them. I gave her a Uncle Jimmy ball and she loves it. I handed it to her like an apple before I hung it up, Then each time I brought her into her stall I showed it to her and would hold it for her to grab on to. Now there Is a slim trail on the wall and chunks missing. I'm super excited she is keeping herself so occupied!
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Solution for the Bored Horse on Stall Rest I bought a batch of these this winter when we had hoof abscesses making the rounds (thanks to an especially wet winter here in the Pacific Northwest). They were an absolute godsend - each one lasted for at least a week, even in the stalls of the most dedicated munchers. You do have to follow the directions, though, which specify how to hang them so that they can't be trapped against a wall. Two of our horses (smarties!) did figure out how to foil this strategy by working together to trap the ball (we have pipe panel stalls, so they can reach across), but even then, the balls kept them happily entertained for several more days. Only downside? A sticky nose! :)
    Date published: 2011-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT It is messy but with a warm towel and some scrubbing it does come off. I don't think the messiness would ever deter me from buying this since my horse just has a blast eating/playing with these. He is VERY VERY PICKY and wont eat many treats or the regular lick-it brand things but loves uncle jimmys. I am glad to see his face covered in it because I know he was having a great time and really enjoying it. It even tastes good yourself if you give it a lick ;] I love it and would not rather buy any other horse treat product. I am very picky too but this really is excellent.
    Date published: 2011-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I had heard about Uncle Jimmy's Hanging Balls for years but never tried it out. While my horse was on lengthy stall rest and miserable I picked one up hoping it would keep his interest for awhile. HE LOVED IT! He happily spent hours trying to devour it. We've been hooked ever since.
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Amusing name but very messy Admittedly I have only used it with one horse but I won't be buying any more as they are just so messy - my horse's face is covered in sticky goo which is a nightmare to get off - just glad that he is chestnut and I didn't give it to my grey horse!
    Date published: 2011-03-29
    • 2015-08-29T13:30CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_91
    • loc_en_US, sid_4867, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.