Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls
- Item #14867
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Uncle Jimmy recorded a song just for us about his unique product - Click here to take a listen.

You can imagine how hard it is to write copy for a product with a name like this!  We don't want to offend, but at the same time we think it's really funny.  So we'll stick to the facts. 

After winning an Innovation Award at a recent trade show, we knew that Uncle Jimmy was getting serious about selling treat balls. The design and concept of hanging balls is revolutionary. Horses love these, plain and simple.  They're made out of sweet feed specially processed to stick together and last a long time.

 Made in the USA

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Used as a slow feeder and/or treat dispenser, ...
    Description:
    Used as a slow feeder and/or treat dispenser, the Nose-It! A Toy with Purpose&trade works with your horse's natural grazing instincts, controlling the amount of food intake at any given time. No more waste or inhaling of food-stuffs. Your horse ...
    This great-tasting lick is packed with essential vitamins ...
    Description:
    This great-tasting lick is packed with essential vitamins and minerals to support the everyday needs of your horse. The Uncle Jimmy's Licky Thing Value Pack includes a Licky Thing Treat Holder and three Licky Things in assorted flavors. Made in ...
    Your horse will love these treats and won't ...
    Description:
    Your horse will love these treats and won't even know it's good for them! Withers & Withers Insulin Resistant Horse Treats are for Insulin Resistant, overweight, older horses and horses with Cushing's Disease. Made with Stabilized Rice Bran, Stevia Leaf, Cinnamon ...
    Made with all natural ingredients and no artificial ...
    Description:
    Made with all natural ingredients and no artificial flavors or colors, Uncle Jimmy's Squeezy Buns for horses are a delicious and nutritious treat! Favorite Features Individually wrapped to preserve freshness and eliminates mess in your pockets. 11 oz. or 3 ...
    Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things are premium refills that ...
    Description:
    Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things are premium refills that are made special to fit major treat holders on the market today. They are great tasting and packed with vitamins and minerals essential for horse's everyday needs. Fits in the Pony Pop ...
    Uncle Jimmy's Big Licky Starter Kit is a ...
    Description:
    Uncle Jimmy's Big Licky Starter Kit is a hanging boredom buster from Uncle Jimmy's popular line of products. The Big Licky was created to reduce mess and stickiness. Packed with all the same nutritional value and flavor as their popular ...
    Now in a no sugar added version! Uncle ...
    Description:
    Now in a no sugar added version! Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things are premium refills that are made special to fit major treat holders on the market today. They are great tasting and packed with vitamins and minerals essential for horse's ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls is rated 4.3333 out of 5 by 102.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive treat My horee LOVED it! but it only lasted 3 days..a little pricey to do very often.
    Date published: 2009-09-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I really wanted to love it... I don't know what happened with my hanging ball. I really expected my horse to love it and for it to keep him entertained while he's recovering from an injury. However, when I hung it up it started falling apart and chunks were litterally falling off of it and onto the floor. The next day the thing was completely destroyed and half of it was laying on the stall floor but the actual rope was still in tact. It appears that the thing just crumbled and fell off in a big blob. Thankfully my horse didn't eat the whole thing, as half was still left in there. Perhaps this happened because it took me almost a week to get it hung up, or maybe it was the humidity? I don't know, but unfortunately it was a total waste of money and time I spent tying it up in the rafters. I was pretty bummed out.
    Date published: 2009-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works very well I bought this for my horse to help him settle into his new place. He is pastured boarded, and is the only horse in his pasture. I hung it up from a tree branch in his pasture. It was so funny to watch him try to get it! It really help my guy settle in. lasted about 2 weeks, even having been rained on.
    Date published: 2009-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprised I didn't think it would because I could only hang it on his wall, but it actually lasted a week. Much longer than the pony pops, or likkits.
    Date published: 2009-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boredom buster Finally! A toy/treat our mare played with. This is the 1st time she has eaten any type boredom buster, loved it actually.It was funny to see our normally tidy friend with molasses on her ears, muzzle & back end. It washed off but I can say she "thoroughly" enjoyed herself.
    Date published: 2009-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Treat My Thoroughbred was scared of the treat at first but then he figured out what it was and was surprisingly bored with it just hangin there. But My Arabian had decided to explore Hopi's stall one day and found his ball. Lucky went crazy after the thing! After 7 years lookin for a treat to entertain the goof-ball arabian Uncle Jimmy created the perfect boredome breaker.
    Date published: 2009-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love Uncle Jimmy's Hangin Balls! One word - LOVE. I only wish that the horses could clean up their messy sloppy faces themselves after they attack it!
    Date published: 2009-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product My horse loves his Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Ball. It takes him about a week and a half to go through one. His face gets really sticky but a wet cloth cleans him up quickly! I am a college student with a horse that likes to rub his tail when he gets bored. This exam week, since I would not be able to spend much time with him, I got him a fresh one and he was a happy camper the whole week! Highly recommend this product for those with horses layed up or are stall kept!
    Date published: 2009-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase My horse loves this product. Takes about 1 1/2 weeks to eat the whole thing. Face gets kinda messy and sticky but worth it for the hours of entertainment it provided. Thanks !!!
    Date published: 2009-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I first tried the 'ball' at a horse show. My horse loves to get his noseinto everything and examine anything that is within his reach when hishead is out of the stall. I wanted something to grab and hold hisattention. The 'ball' did the trick. He butts it with his nose, licksit, and takes great delight in trying to take a hunk out of it. Heloves it.
    Date published: 2009-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it My horse loves this treat - although he tends to get the sticky molasses residue all over his head, it keeps him occupied for hours and lasts longer than anything else I have tried (about 10 days!)
    Date published: 2009-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lip-Smacking Good! I purchased one of Uncle Jimmy's Hanging Balls to hang outside my 7 year old QH gelding's stall to entertain him while I groomed and saddled him. He is notorious for chewing on ropes, halters, blankets or anything else within his reach while standing tied. He loves it! It is the perfect size - he cannot get his teeth around it to bite chunks out of it and he loves the molasses flavor. He spends the entire time trying to get a hold of it and he is very entertaining to watch. Several other boarders have commented on his antics and are ordering one for their horses as well. Highly recommended - Your horse will love it!
    Date published: 2009-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Be Bored No More! I have a show horse so in the summer he's in all day long and he would always kick his stall and pace with boredom so I thought I'd try one of these ball's and the pacing and kicking stopped. I always use these in the summer and I LOVE them.
    Date published: 2009-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sanity Saver Love the product. I have a horse on stall rest for an injury and needed to entertain him before he started entertaining himself too much! Easy to hang up and he loved it. He has it down to a science how to eat it now so the go a little faster (takes him about a week). His face does get a little messy but not my mare who I also gave one too. A little damp wash cloth (warm water is best) works great and takes it right off. He also doesn't always get sticky. Well worth the money and I love the name!
    Date published: 2009-03-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from So so experience The reviews on this product are wonderful but my horse was consistantly more interested in pulling it down than eating it. Unfortunately there are no hanging recommendations on the product (height etc. would be helpful). Looks like a good product so probably worth a try if your horse likes stall toys.
    Date published: 2008-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Passing Away The Rainy Days Uncle Jimmy's Hanging Balls are a life saver for those rainy days when my horse is stuck inside. She used to get very antsy and weave a bit when her routine got messed up by the weather and she had to stay in. It gives me piece of mind knowing that she has something to keep her occupied on those days. Unlike some of the previous reviews, it takes her MONTHS to go through an Uncle Jimmy's Hanging Ball. I have been overly pleased with this product. Another great pick SmartPak!
    Date published: 2008-06-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horses loved them - but HUGE mess These balls went over really well with our drafts; however, they are a little pricey to last for only a couple of days. Also - be prepared to have a horse with a sticky, gooey mess on his face, and it is not easy to get off (think a little kid with gum in his hair...you get the picture). They were fun; but we probably will not do them again - too messy.
    Date published: 2008-05-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horse=Confused Well, maybe it's just my horse, but he has NO idea what this ball is. It has been hanging in his stall for about three weeks, and the only thing that has touched it has been birds eating the seeds. I tried offering the ball to him in my hands, and he ignored it (and this is a horse who absolutely LOVES treats and molasses). Maybe I should try a different flavor, but it wouldn't be worth it if he doesn't do anything with it.
    Date published: 2008-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the hanging ball! My horse LOVED this ball. He wouldn't touch any of the other boredom toys I tried, but he won't leave this alone. He even runs it over his body. I do have to use warm washcloths to clean up his lower jaw but that just means more loving time with him while he is being stalled for an injury.
    Date published: 2008-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Delicious Well, many people have left comments about how great Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls are. I am here to agree whole-heartedly with them. My young Quarter Horse gelding is a bit timid and when I first put the ball up in his stall he wouldn't go near it. However, I left it there overnight and the next day I went back to the barn and it was almost COMPLETELY GONE. He enjoys them very much, but because they are expensive treats, he gets them only when I leave him for 30 minutes to do chores around the barn. He is one of the horses that will devour these wonderful balls. I'm thinking of raising it higher in his stall so that he has to work a little harder to get at them. Overall, this is a fantastic treat and he's always wondering whether I'm going to leave him with one.
    Date published: 2008-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun for horses AND their people! This is the treat I've been looking for - not only can my horse not find a way to chomp chunks out of it, but it can keep him occupied and happy for hours...and it is HIGHLY amusing for the owner as well!
    Date published: 2008-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They really do love it... I have 3 very different horses. My paint couldn't wait for me to hang it so he could start on it and although he's only in his stall for a couple of hours a day, he finished his ball in 4 days. My Appy likes his but only will lick when everything is quiet in the barn. My Clydesdale on the other hand is a little afraid of it, but wants it so bad. Although his is now 1/2 gone, (after 4 days) it still scares him on occasion when it swings. Because they are not cheap the only thing different I will do is not keep them hanging for all time, only when they have to stay in.
    Date published: 2008-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These Balls are Great! I love the Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls, and my horse does too. It makes him less anxious and stressed when he has to be inside, and his behavior has improved in regards to his nippiness for treats. I was a little unsure whether he liked it initially, as he ignored it his first couple days, however, I started seeing little pieces missing and I know he has been working hard at trying to eat it. Once I hung one up in Luke's stall, other boarders at my barn have been going out and getting their own, and loving them as well. These treat balls are great!
    Date published: 2007-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Uncle Jimmy's hanging balls My baby seemed to really enjoy this product, however, every day I had to spend a few minutes wiping dried sticky grain off his forehead with a damp washcloth. If you don't mind doing that, it's a great product. If I purchase another one, I'm going to need to find a different place to hang it.
    Date published: 2007-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from uncle Jimmy's horse treats I have used the Likit horse treats and was dismayed that one of my horses was able to eat the whole treat within 10 minutes even though it was properly hung in his stall. I tried Uncle Jimmy's Hanging Balls and found that my horse loved it and was unable to devour it. He was still playing with it after I left the stables. Thanks for a great product both my horses love it!!!
    Date published: 2007-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for stall rest. Due to a number of injuries, my gelding has been on and off stall rest over the course of the past two years. He's bored and his behavior and ground manners were becoming a bit much to handle. Most stall toys don't entertain him, but I bought him one of Uncle Jimmy's treat balls and he spends hours playing with it. Each time I go to visit him, his face is caked with sticky molasses and he almost looks happy (just a few more days of stall rest, ol' boy!).
    Date published: 2007-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT My horse is picky about his treats (what horse in the world hates apples??) but he was instantly in love with this ball. It's been in his stall for a week now, and while I can tell that he's been working on it diligently, there's still a lot left. I was leery of the price at first, but when I realized how long this thing lasts, it's well worth it! I'm planning on getting another one as soon as this one runs out! What a great idea!
    Date published: 2007-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more lonely in NC A few days ago my boy was suddenly solo in the barn. He spent a lot of time pacing and bellowing to the horses next door. I hung up a ball last night and heard not a peep out of him after that. I walked into the barn this morning to a white, caked face and a happier horse. (a few swipes of a washcloth and it was gone) It is amusing to watch him TRY to bite it, too !!
    Date published: 2007-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Horse My show mare has always hated being cooped up in her stall, either at home due to bad weather or at a show... I purchased this treat hoping that she wouldn't chew through it or be terrified of it like other stall treats! Well it's still in her stall. I have one that travels with us! She no longer paces when she's bored or flips her water bucket up down! What a WONDERFUL stall toy!
    Date published: 2007-06-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sticky horse I have to say the hangin' ball is durable. My horse bites through other treats in about 15 seconds. However... the amount of molasses extending more than halfway up my horse's head was a bit annoying. He certainly had fun, but over a week later I'm still picking the stuff off. I wish it were a bit less permanent (on his face) but love that fact that he enjoyed it.
    Date published: 2007-04-06
    • 2016-04-29T16:14CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_98
    • loc_en_US, sid_4867, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders