Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls
- Item #14867
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Uncle Jimmy recorded a song just for us about his unique product - Click here to take a listen.

You can imagine how hard it is to write copy for a product with a name like this!  We don't want to offend, but at the same time we think it's really funny.  So we'll stick to the facts. 

After winning an Innovation Award at a recent trade show, we knew that Uncle Jimmy was getting serious about selling treat balls. The design and concept of hanging balls is revolutionary. Horses love these, plain and simple.  They're made out of sweet feed specially processed to stick together and last a long time.

 Made in the USA

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Used as a slow feeder and/or treat dispenser, ...
    Description:
    Used as a slow feeder and/or treat dispenser, the Nose-It! A Toy with Purpose&trade works with your horse's natural grazing instincts, controlling the amount of food intake at any given time. No more waste or inhaling of food-stuffs. Your horse ...
    This great-tasting lick is packed with essential vitamins ...
    Description:
    This great-tasting lick is packed with essential vitamins and minerals to support the everyday needs of your horse. The Uncle Jimmy's Licky Thing Value Pack includes a Licky Thing Treat Holder and three Licky Things in assorted flavors. Made in ...
    Your horse will love these treats and won't ...
    Description:
    Your horse will love these treats and won't even know it's good for them! Withers & Withers Insulin Resistant Horse Treats are for Insulin Resistant, overweight, older horses and horses with Cushing's Disease. Made with Stabilized Rice Bran, Stevia Leaf, Cinnamon ...
    Made with all natural ingredients and no artificial ...
    Description:
    Made with all natural ingredients and no artificial flavors or colors, Uncle Jimmy's Squeezy Buns for horses are a delicious and nutritious treat! Favorite Features Individually wrapped to preserve freshness and eliminates mess in your pockets. 11 oz. or 3 ...
    Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things are premium refills that ...
    Description:
    Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things are premium refills that are made special to fit major treat holders on the market today. They are great tasting and packed with vitamins and minerals essential for horse's everyday needs. Fits in the Pony Pop ...
    Uncle Jimmy's Big Licky Starter Kit is a ...
    Description:
    Uncle Jimmy's Big Licky Starter Kit is a hanging boredom buster from Uncle Jimmy's popular line of products. The Big Licky was created to reduce mess and stickiness. Packed with all the same nutritional value and flavor as their popular ...
    Now in a no sugar added version! Uncle ...
    Description:
    Now in a no sugar added version! Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things are premium refills that are made special to fit major treat holders on the market today. They are great tasting and packed with vitamins and minerals essential for horse's ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls is rated 4.3333 out of 5 by 102.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy but sticky horses My horses love the balls! Really depends on the horse as to how long they last. With one horse it lasted 2 weeks, other horse has gone over a month. Make sure to hang it where they can not pin it against a wall. Only negative is they leave a sticky residue on their heads, necks or wherever they touch the ball. But nothing water and towel can't fix. Definitely will buy again, gives the horses something to do besides eat our fences. Love It!
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves these! I use Uncle Jimmy's during the cooler weather to keep my horse entertained. They last a long time for him and he really enjoys them. My only problem is when it gets really hot and humid they are so heavy that they do fall off the string!! I use Pony Pops when it is hot since it can be put in a holder, and these when it is cool enough for it to stay put. My horse enjoys both products.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for the cranky mare! I got this on a whim for my horse. She varies between wood chewing and cribbing. It's more out of boredom, so I got her toys. She hated her toys and wouldn't touch them. I gave her a Uncle Jimmy ball and she loves it. I handed it to her like an apple before I hung it up, Then each time I brought her into her stall I showed it to her and would hold it for her to grab on to. Now there Is a slim trail on the wall and chunks missing. I'm super excited she is keeping herself so occupied!
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Solution for the Bored Horse on Stall Rest I bought a batch of these this winter when we had hoof abscesses making the rounds (thanks to an especially wet winter here in the Pacific Northwest). They were an absolute godsend - each one lasted for at least a week, even in the stalls of the most dedicated munchers. You do have to follow the directions, though, which specify how to hang them so that they can't be trapped against a wall. Two of our horses (smarties!) did figure out how to foil this strategy by working together to trap the ball (we have pipe panel stalls, so they can reach across), but even then, the balls kept them happily entertained for several more days. Only downside? A sticky nose! :)
    Date published: 2011-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT It is messy but with a warm towel and some scrubbing it does come off. I don't think the messiness would ever deter me from buying this since my horse just has a blast eating/playing with these. He is VERY VERY PICKY and wont eat many treats or the regular lick-it brand things but loves uncle jimmys. I am glad to see his face covered in it because I know he was having a great time and really enjoying it. It even tastes good yourself if you give it a lick ;] I love it and would not rather buy any other horse treat product. I am very picky too but this really is excellent.
    Date published: 2011-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I had heard about Uncle Jimmy's Hanging Balls for years but never tried it out. While my horse was on lengthy stall rest and miserable I picked one up hoping it would keep his interest for awhile. HE LOVED IT! He happily spent hours trying to devour it. We've been hooked ever since.
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Amusing name but very messy Admittedly I have only used it with one horse but I won't be buying any more as they are just so messy - my horse's face is covered in sticky goo which is a nightmare to get off - just glad that he is chestnut and I didn't give it to my grey horse!
    Date published: 2011-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses loved Uncle Jimmy I have tried many products to curb the winter boredum - this by far is the best product. Comes in regular and sugar free for those horses with Cushings. The horses can not get enough of the them.
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horses loved them - I did not. Title says it all. The horses loved them. I hung them at eye level away from a wall as the intructions said. The horses played with them day in and day out for 2 weeks until they were gone.The bad side is that twice a day I was sponging disgusting dried on molasses, dirt, hay and who knows what else off of the horses faces. There are better treats out there that the horses love that do not create such a mess.
    Date published: 2011-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not what I was expecting I was expecting more. My younger mare immediately took right to it and then my older mare got interested too. They worked in tandem to lick on the ball. Really a great team effort! But, then that was it. I saw my younger mare mess with it once after that and then nothing. The ball looks the same as it did when I got it out of the box. Maybe it will be more enticing when the weather warms up. I'm keeping my fingers crossed! Probably be better in a fully enclosed stall though too.
    Date published: 2011-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! These kept my horse busy for... I think a week. So it's not really that great to spend $80 a month LOL, but I'd only buy it 2x a month in summer. In winter they get cold, so they stick together better & last longer, but in summer it'll get quite messy, & my gelding would get it all over his face, mane & neck, but nothing a baby wipe couldn't take off!! Other than that I think this is good to keep bored horses occupied! My boy loves every flavor!!
    Date published: 2011-02-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from My horse has not touched it yet ! The ball has been in his stall for 2 weeks, it is against the wall, to make it easier for him; he does not even lick it .... I do not understand ...
    Date published: 2011-02-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes my horses very happy I love these balls. They are one of the only treats my horses really enjoy. They never really liked lick its. They can spend hours chewing on these, and they have liked each of the flavors. They are messy though, their noses are always covered in goo. And the balls don't last quite as long as they are supposed to. Make sure you hang them somewhere where the horses can't prop the ball against a wall or it will be gone within a day!
    Date published: 2010-12-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse loved it... but it didn't last for very long My picky TB absolutely loves Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things. I tried a Hangin' Ball as a special treat. The horse LOVED it and gobbled it up. Even though it was hung from the ceiling and couldn't be pinned still anywhere, it only lasted 3 days. I'm not sure if my horse is just a pig or if these really don't last as long as they say.In short... my horse loved it, but it was pretty expensive for a short-lived treat.
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love them but MESSY! My horses LOVE these - but they are messy & sticky! Horse heads/forelocks need to be washed after eating these so get your wash cloth ready. They do last quite a long time too which is good.
    Date published: 2010-09-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from my horse loves this! After reading the other reviews, i thought i would try this for my TB who, out of bordem started cribbing. It definately helped with the bordem, he LOVED it!!! but it only lasted about a week and the flies loved it too. other than that, it seems like a good product, just a bit expensive for me since it only lasted a week... i'll be trying another product next time.
    Date published: 2010-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse and Horse Lover's Treat Ball Horses love this and keeps them busy for hours on end. Balls last for awhile while horses enjoy the flavor and have a lot of fun.
    Date published: 2010-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My horse suddenly went lame and has been laid up on stall/mini paddock rest. He was extremely fit, so the transition has been a challenge. After scouting through the possible horse distractions, I found this one to be both hilarious and the best possible option. I hung it up according to the instructions 2 weeks ago. My horse LOVES it, but it also poses enough of a challenge that he has yet to put a significant dent in it - I wouldn't be surprised if it lasts 4+ weeks. (I also had two other horses temporarily placed in his stall, both of whom greatly enjoyed it). The only thing is that it does get his head very sticky.
    Date published: 2010-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse LOVED it!! Great! The ball lasted for 3 weeks, and my horse enjoyed every bit of the ball. I got the molasses flavor! Great treat/toy for horses without turnout.
    Date published: 2010-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hours of fun We hung this ball where my horse couldn't pin it against the wall and it lasted much longer than I thought it would. He loves it and works at it while he's in the stall, keeping him occupied. Only drawback is a sticky nose.
    Date published: 2010-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gone too soon... My horses loved this product and unfortunately inhaled it in a day. I initially had it hanging from the stall/run-in ceiling and they ignored it completely. The second I moved it, it was gone too quickly. For the price, I don't know that I'd order another, unless I were to once again hang the product from the ceiling. Otherwise, it disappears too quickly.
    Date published: 2010-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Horse Loves This Treat! We have a mare on stall rest and this product has helped keep her occupied and happy. Not too much mess on her face. I plan to buy more for trailer rides.
    Date published: 2010-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best stall toy on the market! I have a young horse who gets bored in his stall fairly easily. I tried the lik-its and other products that were similar and they would be gone in two-three days. This has lasted him 4 months, and he is STILL loving it. It seems to be much more entertaining to him, and harder to "get".Now we always keep these on hands. Best boredom breaker we have found. It lasts forever.
    Date published: 2010-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fire's Favorite Snack! First of all, the name is hilarious! And the product is great too! my horse loves it, and it really did take him about two weeks to finish it. His head was a little sticky- but it cleaned up with no problem. I couldn't resist buying him another one!
    Date published: 2010-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love at first lick My horse LOVES these treat balls. No matter what flavor he can never get enough! The sweet feed is high quality and the ball sticks together well, unlike some other similar treats I've bought. My only complaints are that it didn't last very long (about 2 weeks) and my horse's face was a complete mess! Sticky sweet feed on his nose, face, ears, in his mane, on his butt, ugh, it took forever to clean him up. But I don't mind because it keeps my very playful and easily bored horse from doing something stupid when he's in his stall.Suggestion: if you don't want to have to clean your horse up daily or your horse eats these treat balls very fast, try the Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things in a likit holder. It's less messy and it lasted about a week longer for me.
    Date published: 2010-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse's favorite treat My 33 year old QH is addicted to this treat. Normally he hates sweet feed but from the first time I bought Uncle Jimmy's hanging balls, he was hooked. I have had 2 that did crumble after a few days but the rest have stayed intact until he finished them. A ball will last anywhere from a week to 3 weeks depending on how long he is in his stall (winter in MA can be long and boring so having this treat makes him happier). They are kind of expensive but worth it every few months.
    Date published: 2010-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it It only lasted a week, but not surprising since my horse had all day, every day, to work at, since he was on stall rest. Definitely worth it, gave him something to do while all of his friends were outside. His face did get sticky, but nothing that couldn't be fixed with a wet towel.
    Date published: 2010-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from YUM I have a young horse who is very "mouthy" when he gets bored. This keeps him busy and he seems to love the flavor! Hanging it away from the wall preserves the life of the ball. My first one was against the wall and he ate it with in one week!
    Date published: 2009-12-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was so curious, I tasted it myself :) My ultra-picky, ultra-skeptical mare actually ate this thing. Her usual reaction to something new in her stall is complete indifference at best and shocked panic at worst.Granted, I had to introduce her to it and that actually took a bit of time. The noise of it rolling on the wall will trouble the truly sensitive horse (like this little Arabian), but if anything, I think the incentive of "yum!" helped her to get over a small bit of her fear from noise.Warning: it may well leave ears, noses, etc. a little on the sticky side!Oh, and if you want to taste it (hopefully, it's safe for humans, too!), you might want to do so before your horse gets too involved in the process. :)
    Date published: 2009-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from edible hanging ball Well my horse likes it, not just to eat but to play with also. Helps keep the boredom down during those too hot to ride days.
    Date published: 2009-09-29
    • 2016-05-06T12:51CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_98
    • loc_en_US, sid_4867, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders