Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls
- Item #14867
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Uncle Jimmy recorded a song just for us about his unique product - Click here to take a listen.

You can imagine how hard it is to write copy for a product with a name like this!  We don't want to offend, but at the same time we think it's really funny.  So we'll stick to the facts. 

After winning an Innovation Award at a recent trade show, we knew that Uncle Jimmy was getting serious about selling treat balls. The design and concept of hanging balls is revolutionary. Horses love these, plain and simple.  They're made out of sweet feed specially processed to stick together and last a long time.

 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls is rated 4.3516 out of 5 by 91.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love them but MESSY! My horses LOVE these - but they are messy & sticky! Horse heads/forelocks need to be washed after eating these so get your wash cloth ready. They do last quite a long time too which is good.
    Date published: 2010-09-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from my horse loves this! After reading the other reviews, i thought i would try this for my TB who, out of bordem started cribbing. It definately helped with the bordem, he LOVED it!!! but it only lasted about a week and the flies loved it too. other than that, it seems like a good product, just a bit expensive for me since it only lasted a week... i'll be trying another product next time.
    Date published: 2010-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse and Horse Lover's Treat Ball Horses love this and keeps them busy for hours on end. Balls last for awhile while horses enjoy the flavor and have a lot of fun.
    Date published: 2010-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My horse suddenly went lame and has been laid up on stall/mini paddock rest. He was extremely fit, so the transition has been a challenge. After scouting through the possible horse distractions, I found this one to be both hilarious and the best possible option. I hung it up according to the instructions 2 weeks ago. My horse LOVES it, but it also poses enough of a challenge that he has yet to put a significant dent in it - I wouldn't be surprised if it lasts 4+ weeks. (I also had two other horses temporarily placed in his stall, both of whom greatly enjoyed it). The only thing is that it does get his head very sticky.
    Date published: 2010-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse LOVED it!! Great! The ball lasted for 3 weeks, and my horse enjoyed every bit of the ball. I got the molasses flavor! Great treat/toy for horses without turnout.
    Date published: 2010-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hours of fun We hung this ball where my horse couldn't pin it against the wall and it lasted much longer than I thought it would. He loves it and works at it while he's in the stall, keeping him occupied. Only drawback is a sticky nose.
    Date published: 2010-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gone too soon... My horses loved this product and unfortunately inhaled it in a day. I initially had it hanging from the stall/run-in ceiling and they ignored it completely. The second I moved it, it was gone too quickly. For the price, I don't know that I'd order another, unless I were to once again hang the product from the ceiling. Otherwise, it disappears too quickly.
    Date published: 2010-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Horse Loves This Treat! We have a mare on stall rest and this product has helped keep her occupied and happy. Not too much mess on her face. I plan to buy more for trailer rides.
    Date published: 2010-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best stall toy on the market! I have a young horse who gets bored in his stall fairly easily. I tried the lik-its and other products that were similar and they would be gone in two-three days. This has lasted him 4 months, and he is STILL loving it. It seems to be much more entertaining to him, and harder to "get".Now we always keep these on hands. Best boredom breaker we have found. It lasts forever.
    Date published: 2010-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fire's Favorite Snack! First of all, the name is hilarious! And the product is great too! my horse loves it, and it really did take him about two weeks to finish it. His head was a little sticky- but it cleaned up with no problem. I couldn't resist buying him another one!
    Date published: 2010-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love at first lick My horse LOVES these treat balls. No matter what flavor he can never get enough! The sweet feed is high quality and the ball sticks together well, unlike some other similar treats I've bought. My only complaints are that it didn't last very long (about 2 weeks) and my horse's face was a complete mess! Sticky sweet feed on his nose, face, ears, in his mane, on his butt, ugh, it took forever to clean him up. But I don't mind because it keeps my very playful and easily bored horse from doing something stupid when he's in his stall.Suggestion: if you don't want to have to clean your horse up daily or your horse eats these treat balls very fast, try the Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things in a likit holder. It's less messy and it lasted about a week longer for me.
    Date published: 2010-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse's favorite treat My 33 year old QH is addicted to this treat. Normally he hates sweet feed but from the first time I bought Uncle Jimmy's hanging balls, he was hooked. I have had 2 that did crumble after a few days but the rest have stayed intact until he finished them. A ball will last anywhere from a week to 3 weeks depending on how long he is in his stall (winter in MA can be long and boring so having this treat makes him happier). They are kind of expensive but worth it every few months.
    Date published: 2010-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it It only lasted a week, but not surprising since my horse had all day, every day, to work at, since he was on stall rest. Definitely worth it, gave him something to do while all of his friends were outside. His face did get sticky, but nothing that couldn't be fixed with a wet towel.
    Date published: 2010-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from YUM I have a young horse who is very "mouthy" when he gets bored. This keeps him busy and he seems to love the flavor! Hanging it away from the wall preserves the life of the ball. My first one was against the wall and he ate it with in one week!
    Date published: 2009-12-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was so curious, I tasted it myself :) My ultra-picky, ultra-skeptical mare actually ate this thing. Her usual reaction to something new in her stall is complete indifference at best and shocked panic at worst.Granted, I had to introduce her to it and that actually took a bit of time. The noise of it rolling on the wall will trouble the truly sensitive horse (like this little Arabian), but if anything, I think the incentive of "yum!" helped her to get over a small bit of her fear from noise.Warning: it may well leave ears, noses, etc. a little on the sticky side!Oh, and if you want to taste it (hopefully, it's safe for humans, too!), you might want to do so before your horse gets too involved in the process. :)
    Date published: 2009-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from edible hanging ball Well my horse likes it, not just to eat but to play with also. Helps keep the boredom down during those too hot to ride days.
    Date published: 2009-09-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive treat My horee LOVED it! but it only lasted 3 days..a little pricey to do very often.
    Date published: 2009-09-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I really wanted to love it... I don't know what happened with my hanging ball. I really expected my horse to love it and for it to keep him entertained while he's recovering from an injury. However, when I hung it up it started falling apart and chunks were litterally falling off of it and onto the floor. The next day the thing was completely destroyed and half of it was laying on the stall floor but the actual rope was still in tact. It appears that the thing just crumbled and fell off in a big blob. Thankfully my horse didn't eat the whole thing, as half was still left in there. Perhaps this happened because it took me almost a week to get it hung up, or maybe it was the humidity? I don't know, but unfortunately it was a total waste of money and time I spent tying it up in the rafters. I was pretty bummed out.
    Date published: 2009-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works very well I bought this for my horse to help him settle into his new place. He is pastured boarded, and is the only horse in his pasture. I hung it up from a tree branch in his pasture. It was so funny to watch him try to get it! It really help my guy settle in. lasted about 2 weeks, even having been rained on.
    Date published: 2009-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprised I didn't think it would because I could only hang it on his wall, but it actually lasted a week. Much longer than the pony pops, or likkits.
    Date published: 2009-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boredom buster Finally! A toy/treat our mare played with. This is the 1st time she has eaten any type boredom buster, loved it actually.It was funny to see our normally tidy friend with molasses on her ears, muzzle & back end. It washed off but I can say she "thoroughly" enjoyed herself.
    Date published: 2009-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Treat My Thoroughbred was scared of the treat at first but then he figured out what it was and was surprisingly bored with it just hangin there. But My Arabian had decided to explore Hopi's stall one day and found his ball. Lucky went crazy after the thing! After 7 years lookin for a treat to entertain the goof-ball arabian Uncle Jimmy created the perfect boredome breaker.
    Date published: 2009-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love Uncle Jimmy's Hangin Balls! One word - LOVE. I only wish that the horses could clean up their messy sloppy faces themselves after they attack it!
    Date published: 2009-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product My horse loves his Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Ball. It takes him about a week and a half to go through one. His face gets really sticky but a wet cloth cleans him up quickly! I am a college student with a horse that likes to rub his tail when he gets bored. This exam week, since I would not be able to spend much time with him, I got him a fresh one and he was a happy camper the whole week! Highly recommend this product for those with horses layed up or are stall kept!
    Date published: 2009-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase My horse loves this product. Takes about 1 1/2 weeks to eat the whole thing. Face gets kinda messy and sticky but worth it for the hours of entertainment it provided. Thanks !!!
    Date published: 2009-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I first tried the 'ball' at a horse show. My horse loves to get his noseinto everything and examine anything that is within his reach when hishead is out of the stall. I wanted something to grab and hold hisattention. The 'ball' did the trick. He butts it with his nose, licksit, and takes great delight in trying to take a hunk out of it. Heloves it.
    Date published: 2009-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it My horse loves this treat - although he tends to get the sticky molasses residue all over his head, it keeps him occupied for hours and lasts longer than anything else I have tried (about 10 days!)
    Date published: 2009-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lip-Smacking Good! I purchased one of Uncle Jimmy's Hanging Balls to hang outside my 7 year old QH gelding's stall to entertain him while I groomed and saddled him. He is notorious for chewing on ropes, halters, blankets or anything else within his reach while standing tied. He loves it! It is the perfect size - he cannot get his teeth around it to bite chunks out of it and he loves the molasses flavor. He spends the entire time trying to get a hold of it and he is very entertaining to watch. Several other boarders have commented on his antics and are ordering one for their horses as well. Highly recommended - Your horse will love it!
    Date published: 2009-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Be Bored No More! I have a show horse so in the summer he's in all day long and he would always kick his stall and pace with boredom so I thought I'd try one of these ball's and the pacing and kicking stopped. I always use these in the summer and I LOVE them.
    Date published: 2009-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sanity Saver Love the product. I have a horse on stall rest for an injury and needed to entertain him before he started entertaining himself too much! Easy to hang up and he loved it. He has it down to a science how to eat it now so the go a little faster (takes him about a week). His face does get a little messy but not my mare who I also gave one too. A little damp wash cloth (warm water is best) works great and takes it right off. He also doesn't always get sticky. Well worth the money and I love the name!
    Date published: 2009-03-03
    • 2015-05-24T08:47CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_87
    • loc_en_US, sid_4867, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.