Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

UMS System 6 Stirrups

Item #12596
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

These stirrups offer a 6 Way Ultimate Movement System which allows movement in any direction.

Favorite Features

  • Extremely smooth technology offers forward, backward and side to side movement and impact resistance.
  • Comes with rubber stirrup pads and “cheese grater” pads.
  • Also includes free carry bag.

Sizing It up

4 1/4, 4 1/2, or 4 3/4.  <ahref="productclassdescription.aspx?productclassid=2596" />

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    SmartPak Lined Stirrup Leathers are lined with Nylon ...
    Description:
    SmartPak Lined Stirrup Leathers are lined with Nylon to prevent stretching. Covered with soft leather, requires no break in time! The SmartPak Lined Stirrup Leathers measure 7/8" wide. Holes spaced .75" apart. Stainless steel roller buckle. Brown 48" or 54" ...
    Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup ensures improved leg ...
    Description:
    Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup ensures improved leg position. Changing the weight ratio on the Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrups results in perfect balance and great comfort for the rider. Shock absorbing grip is achieved by a widened tread made ...
    The Ovation Child's English Leather Stirrup Leathers are ...
    Description:
    The Ovation Child's English Leather Stirrup Leathers are made from top quality English Leather. Favorite Features Competition design White contrast stitching Leathers are 3/4" wide Sizing It Up Choose from Australian Nut in the 36", 42", 48" length or Black ...
    Made in Italy. Supreme quality and durability, synonymous ...
    Description:
    Made in Italy. Supreme quality and durability, synonymous with the exceptional comfort they offer to the rider and the horse. These characteristics are proven each day by the great riders who have always chosen the precision and technology offered by ...
    Elegant, high quality leathers, made in the luxurious ...
    Description:
    Elegant, high quality leathers, made in the luxurious Bates leather to perfectly match the Bates saddles. Riveted buckle design reduces the thickness of the leather under your leg, and the webbing core ensures that the leathers will not stretch. Please ...
    The MDC Hunter Classic Stirrup provides high traction ...
    Description:
    The MDC Hunter Classic Stirrup provides high traction and greater support for the traditional or performance minded rider. The MDC Hunter Classic features an ultra-low profile tread and is practically invisible in the show ring, allowing all the benefits of ...
    Stirrup Leathers to match the Toulouse saddles, and ...
    Description:
    Stirrup Leathers to match the Toulouse saddles, and designed by Marcel Toulouse, Master French Saddler. Tripled and sewn, these leathers are made of fine calfskin. Buckle end is riveted in a metal sleeve to reduce bulk under your leg for ...
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    UMS System 6 Stirrups is rated 4.7333 out of 5 by 45.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Incredibly HUGE I received these in the mail yesterday and was shocked about how big they are. My old stirrups fit inside these that's how big they are! I would definitely recommend spending the money to buy either the MDC stirrups or the hermspringer stirrups but not these. They are so big they're definitely noticeable in the ring and just look terrible. If they weren't so big they might be a good stirrup but sent them back for the MDC s flex stirrups.
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stable but forgiving support These stirrups are a great investment for serious or long time riders. They allow those sometimes aching joints to have some cushion but without sacrificing stability. Don't be fooled by the half price counterparts.
    Date published: 2014-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So balanced These stirrups are nicely balanced and stay with my foot. Maybe it is my riding has improved but I went from loosing my stirrups one day, put these on and haven't lost my stirrup yet
    Date published: 2014-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Stirrups! I bought these with my saddle a few years back and I am very happy with them! I have issues with my ankles, and these help so much by relieving some pressure! These stirrups are one of the best purchases I have ever made!
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I have Herm Sprenger Bow Balance stirrups (which I love) on 2 of my saddles but decided to try the UMS for my third saddle. They seem to provide much the same relief for my ankles and knees without any feeling of instability. I definitely recommend them if the Bow Balance price is holding you back. It's crazy to ride with joint discomfort when you can get relief at this price!
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My niece loves them, she can't believe the difference.
    Date published: 2013-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! These are wonderful- love that they give you the two different stirrup pad options and came in a nice little fleece tie sack. Don't buy into the hype!! Who says you need $200 stirrups? These are durable and practical, and I love the light grey rubber :)
    Date published: 2012-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Balanced and Comfortable Just enough of an offset to be comfortable without being too much. Feel balanced and enjoying them- thanks!
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love Them so Far!! I have not used these very long but so far I love them. I used to start getting pain in my ankles and knees after about 45 min. in the saddle. Now I haven't had any pain since I switched to these stirrups!!
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable I like these a lot. I have less foot and knee pain using these. Easier to keep the heels down too! I did have to return them and get a size up. The 4.25 actually were smaller than my current fillis 4.25, so I exchanged for a 4.5.
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent knee and ankle saver My daughter suffered an ankle injury years ago and has chronic pain trying to maintain the proper body alignment. We purchased a pair of these stirrups last year and they have reduced her pain significantly and now purchased a second pair for her dressage saddle. We also have a pair of the more expensive brand, but she prefers this product which is significantly cheaper!
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable Love these stirrups! No more hip and knee pain. Really helps me keep my heels down, without bracing against the stirrup. These stirrups have just the right amount of flex.
    Date published: 2012-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredibly comfortable! As I've gotten older, my knee & ankle joints have gotten stiffer. Thank goodness that I found these stirrups! Their flexibility allows me to ride longer & more comfortably than my traditional irons did. And the price makes them much more affordable than that "other" brand.
    Date published: 2012-04-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tallest irons ever I recently bought my first saddle, and was very excited to get these irons. However, they are crazy tall. I don't know if it is to accomodate the joints, but I just couldn't ride in them. Smartpak as always was great with my return!
    Date published: 2012-02-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Crazy Huge and Clunky I have tried different styles of the Sprenger jointed stirrups and spent over $400 for grief of one kind or another (made my stirrup length funny to address, weird angle on the offsets, too wiggly, too unstable). So, after reading the reviews I thought I would give these a try since they comments were that they were more stable. I never even rode in them. These things are huge, ugly, oversized, and look like something some gigantic dude in the jumpers might use. They looked ridiculous on my saddle not to mention, they felt like they weighed about 14 lbs a piece. I promptly put my 15 year old plain old fillis back on and breathed a sigh of relief. They seem very well made and are a good value, if you get past the size/weight issue.
    Date published: 2012-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great comfort These are a great item for people with hip, knee or ankle problems. I have MS and these make it possible for me to ride without ankle and foot pain. For that I am thankful and that makes them worth the money.
    Date published: 2012-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrup irons! I didn't realize how sore my regular stirrup irons were making my ankles and knees until I got these. They are wonderful and about 1/3 of the cost of more expensive brands!
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldn't Ride in Anything Else! I am in LOVE with these stirrups. I used to get shooting pains up through my ankles and knees every time I dismounted. Then I bought these stirrups and haven't had that happen since. My knee and ankle soreness has decreased away from the barn as well. I also never lose a stirrup with these. And they're very durable - I've ridden in the same pair several times a week for 3 years and they are still in great shape.
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these stirrups. Initially I thought that there might be too much play in them and would not keep my feet stable. However, that is not the case and I have not lost a stirrup yet. They are great and I recommend them. Thanks Smartpak
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy on my middle-aged joints I cannot believe how much more comfortable these irons are than the standard fixed-foot ones. It is easier to keep my heels down, but more important to me, I don't have aching in my ankles and knees any more after doing a lot of riding. I can't comment on the durability as I've only been using them for one month, but in that month, they've made my life a lot easier!
    Date published: 2011-10-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Affordable & (fairly) durable! My knees can give me some pretty decent pain if I ride hard or long. The thought of spending $200 for stirrups makes my wallet hurt just as much! These stirrups were a perfect solution! Unfortunately, after a year of about daily use, the joints had become TOO flexible, and my foot was sliding right out of them. The stirrup pad was also very slippery if enough sand got in them, and that amount was not a lot. Sure, these stirrups are of good quality, and they're attractive. They're a good price — but having to replace them after every year is insane. I won't be buying these stirrups again. I'm downright disappointed.
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I will never own any other stirrups! I have owned these stirrups for five plus years now. I would not be able to ride without them.I was a strict plain jane fillis stirrup fan, like George Morris, until I tore some tendons in my ankle after a bad fall. For months I couldn't use stirrups at all, and when I finally could my normal fillis stirrups caused me a lot of pain.On a whim I decided to try these, as they were less expensive then the Herm Springer ones out at the time (that I had tried but found to be too flexible). I instantly fell in love after my first ride in the Intec UMS stirrups. They absorb some but not all shock, so you have less stress on the joints but don't completely loose your feel. They flex, but not a large amount, so it's easy to stay balanced.Some days I would have to ride 6 or 7 horses in a row and these stirrups would enable me to do that and still be able to walk afterwards.They're easy to clean and easy to maintain. I recommend cleaning them at least once or twice a year and squirting some Fluid Film or WD-40 on the joints to keep them like new.I haven't needed to replace my stirrups yet, and doubt I will for a long, long time. They've held up beautifully!
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST STIRRUPS!!! got these for my ankle and knee pain after the first ride it was gone! have been in amazing condition due to these! Not too much flex (H-S stirrups) just right
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Product My MDC Ultimate stirrups were stolen with my saddle and I needed to replace them. I decided on these because they were more affordable and the MDC were nice because of the adjustability of the angle of the stirrup leather, they were 'tall' and sometimes awkward. These stirrups seem to be a good value, very solid. Wish they came in black.
    Date published: 2011-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I couldn't ride without these! In August of 2006 I had a fall that damaged the muscles and tendons in my left ankle. After months of riding without stirrups I finally went to use my normal fillis irons again... I couldn't! I was in huge amounts of pain every time I tried to use them. I had to do something, so after some research and debate I purchased these stirrups.I love LOVE love them! They gave me instant relief from and the pain and have helped keep me riding despite all my injuries. They take abuse well, and clean easily.I could not begin to tell you exactly how many hours in the saddle I've used them, but it is a lot. They're still going strong and I just clean them once a year and put some Fluid Film inside the rubber guards to keep them oiled and rust free (I use them in all types of weather).Seriously good buy, especially if the Herm Sprenger irons have too much flex for you!
    Date published: 2010-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soooooo gentle on the knees. My aging knees are singing praises with these stirrups. The stirrup's subtle movements relieve stress on the legs and knees without any noticeable change in the legs' position against the horse. I'll be ordering another pair for my other saddle and recommending these to my friends.
    Date published: 2010-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Daughter loves these. My daughter has three saddles and they all have these stirrups on them. She loves the way they feel.
    Date published: 2010-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommend these irons Bought a second pair for the second saddle because the first pair on the primary saddle have spoiled me. I do not have bad hips or knees but I could feel such a negative difference after hunting in regular irons. I guess these provide just enought shock absorption that the leg fatigue level is greatly reduced. The rubber sides have held up well and show no signs or wear or tear after hard use.
    Date published: 2009-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, comfortable stirrups I have avoided purchasing jointed stirrups for years, due to the prohibitive cost (who wants to pay $200 or MORE for stirrups?) Like so many people when I grew up, only plain Fillis stirrups existed and we all read George Morris column talking about traditional, traditional, traditional. I finally caved in when I saw these stirrups for under $100 and they arrived last week. No more ankle pain or strain, no more too-wide stirrups, no more "fishing" for the stirrups, just an air ride. So comfy, so grippy. They are a great deal and I can't imagine the more expensive stirrups being even better!
    Date published: 2009-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable! Great irons and great price! Takes stress off of my knees and ankles.
    Date published: 2009-09-24
    • 2016-05-06T13:26CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_40
    • loc_en_US, sid_2596, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders