Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

UltraShield® Green Fly Repellent

- Item #18445
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Ultrashield® Green offers a natural, eight hour insect repellent proven to be effective.

Favorite Features 

  • Repels and controls biting flies, mosquitoes and gnats
  • Can be used on horses, ponies, foals and dogs
  • Eco-Safe for the entire family
  • Not oily or greasy. No artificial colors or additives
  • Refreshing aromatic scent.

Sizing It Up 

32 oz Spray or 1 Gallon

Made In the USA

Fly Control Rotation Reference Guide

View Product Label

Customers Also Shopped For
Developed to keep your horse healthy and sane ...
Developed to keep your horse healthy and sane all summer long without the use of harsh chemicals, natural Zephyr's Garden Pure & Simple Plus refill concentrate is a blend of essential oils, herbs, and apple cider vinegar for topical application. ...
Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect ...
Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!Favorite Features Designed for comfort withSoft durable materials and fully lined seams Provides UVProtection for sensitive noses for horses that sunburn easily Imported Sizing It ...
The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Fly Mask with Ears ...
The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Fly Mask with Ears is engineered for durability and comfort, unlike no other! Unique patent pending Flex Spline Technology creates a canopy away from the horse's eyes, while unique contoured fit prevents insects from penetrating the ...
The Bite-Lite H-Trap is the newest and most ...
The Bite-Lite H-Trap is the newest and most effective horse fly trap on the market today for catching tabanids (also known as greenheads, deer flies, yellow flies, and B-52 bombers). By placing this unique, study trap in a hot, sunny ...
Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader ...
Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader Quiet RideProtecting his tender eyes and face. Eliminate insect-driven head tossing, with a much quieter (and safer!) ride. Favorite Features Same design and quality of the Cashel Crusader pasture fly mask Can ...
The Pyranha Spray Master System includes a 1/2 ...
The Pyranha Spray Master System includes a 1/2 horsepower electric motor-driven pump controlled by a solid state electronic timer. This timer is programmed to dispense an insecticide formulation in the form of a very fine mist at specific intervals through ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


UltraShield® Green Fly Repellent is rated 3.839080459770115 out of 5 by 87.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great green fly repellent!! I really like the smell....you don't get that poison smell like other fly repellents....I found that I really need to soak my horses but it does keep the flies away. I'm not sure about the 8 hours b/c I'm not there that long.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horses and I aren't complaining Nice smell, not foul. Kept stable flies and mosquitos off myself while doing chores and definately decreased the number of pests bothering my horses.
Date published: 2014-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for sensitive horses! This fly spray smells great and is very gentle on my sensitive horses skin!
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like that it's natural Love that it's all natural, seems to work just as good as the rest of them. The scent is nice. Fabulous bottle.
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works on humans against gnats Hi, I have not tried this on my horses yet but...I was at my granddaughters barn and the gnats were dive bombing my eyes. I put some green fly on my hands and dobbed my face with it. NO MORE GNATS!. I have read some of these reviews and I wonder if you sprayed it down the horses spine so that it would absorb into the horses body and then maybe it would just emanated from the horse keeping the fly away. Maybe mix with DMSO to carry it thru out the horses body. I have not used any fly repellent that actually worked. It seems that just spraying it on the hair of the horse does not work. Will be trying this on my horses.
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for horses with allergies Have used this product for a few years for horses that have allergies. Has worked really well, and smells great too!
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Repels big flies but not gnats My horse is really sensitive to May flies and gnats that cause "sweet itch". I have coated him head to toe in this product and it does nothing to keep them away. I did notice it keeps mosquitos and larger flies off but not the smaller seasonal ones. The product has a pleasant smell and leaves a shine on the coat but of course, that's not why I bought it.
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff and the fact that it is all natural...
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smells Great! Doesn't really work... I had my hopes up for this one... It looked like it was natural that would work in my buggy barn! It worked better than others I've tried, but definitely didn't make a dent in the buggy summer season. I would spray and spray and spray and spray and spray and never have much results. It does smell FANTASTIC, though! And it was a plus that it could be used on humans. I'm still searching for the perfect natural fly spray, but I turned to the UltraShield EX, which, though it has a lot of chemicals, does actually work! If you live in a not so buggy area, go ahead and try this, but otherwise, I'd go for the black bottle of UltraShield.
Date published: 2013-08-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from fly repellent works as well as the other naturals. I don't like the scent.
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not so great Even after reading the reviews and seeing that most found this product to be so-so, I bought it. I really wanted a fly spray that didn't have the harsh chemicals but this spray isn't keeping the flys and bugs away long enough. I spray like crazy on my horse before riding and a quarter way through a lesson or a hack he's miserable from the bugs. Bummer, really wanted it to work!
Date published: 2013-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money I was happy to see a product that doesn't contain pyrethrum as my horse is allergic to it. Unfortunately this product doesn't seem to do a thing. It's suppose to work up to 8 hours -- it might work 5 minutes. Seriously. The only plus is it smells good but my horse doesn't need perfume. Don't waste your money. Hopefully someone will come up with another natural fly repellant that works well that Smart Pak will carry.
Date published: 2013-07-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ??? I try every fly spray I see at least once. This smells great but I don't see much difference between one or another. If the horses are out 12+ hrs, I have to reapply at least once of any spray, everyday. I just don't know what kind of insects they have when these products are tested, because our insects seem immune to fly sprays! GRRR!!!
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good enough I've recently switched to UltraShield Green. I was tired of the using strong chemicals and greasy products. This spray isn't greasy at all and seems to keep my horse comfortable. I can't be sure how long it lasts. It seems pretty light but I plan to stick with it. I've never found any spray that works long term or on hot humid days. This one doesn't seem any better or worse. But I feel good knowing I'm not poisoning him (or me) by using it.
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from non-irritating, may be helpful I have 3 horses who seem to react badly to fly sprays with pyrithrins/permethrins (one is confirmed allergic) and this may be one of the best alternatives. It is non-irritating and seems to help repel the small biters (midges, black flies, mosquitoes). It's not as powerful as the pyrithrin stuff, but at least it doesn't hurt my horses!
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ehh I initially ordered this product to avoid the harsh chemical fly sprays. After using it for a week, I found that it would not keep the flies off of my horse, probably because it does not have a high enough concentration of oils to be effective. I ended up having to buy a chemical fly spray because he had so many bites. Since it is made with essential oils, be sure to shake before use! I will still use this product for his face and sensitive areas.
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay if your horses hate chemicals I used this on my pink skinned horses last summer. It works okay for about six hours, but after that the flies are right back on my horses. I also noticed it seemed to not repel horseflies very well. The mosquitoes stayed away though! I would only recommend this if your barn is relatively fly free, and your horses skin cant handle chemicals.
Date published: 2013-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Just as Well as Chemical Sprays I haven't found any fly spray that works super well, but this one works as well as any others, including those with the heavy chemicals. I love that this is all-natural and non-toxic, and it has a pleasant smell.
Date published: 2012-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best natural repellent I have tried Let's face it, flies are tough creatures and nothing really does the job we want it to do. That said, I found little difference in the effectiveness of UltraShield and other more toxic sprays. The smell does not bother my horse at all, so it is easy to apply even to his face.
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I love this flyspray! Smells great and works.
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average I am happy that when I spray this on my horse that neither he nor I are ingesting chemicals. In that regard, I am very grateful for this product. Unfortunately, I have to spray it on him every 5 minutes; it just doesn't keep the flies off of him. I still reorder it, because I just can't stand inhaling the fumes of the other chemical based fly sprays out there. I am hopeful that someone will develop a natural fly spray that actually keeps those pesky flies off of my horses.
Date published: 2012-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works! Finally, a fly spray that actually WORKS! I spray this on my horses as well as my dog and it lasts longer than any other fly spray I've used. I especially like that it isn't full of harsh chemicals, and it has a pleasant smell.
Date published: 2012-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent choice Only had to spray the horse once a day for it to work all day long, even in Florida in the summer time, and that's nothing short of a miracle
Date published: 2012-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Natural I only buy natural flyspray for my horses as they otherwise have a skin reaction. This one smells pleasantly of citronella. I don't know how much of a difference it really makes but I would like to think that it at least provides a bit of relief.
Date published: 2012-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save your money I was disappointed with this product after buying it recently at a tack shop- and agree with the previous post that after application the flies go right back to the horse. It's a nice concept, and has a fresh herbal scent...but not fly control. In fact, I think I'd call it a fly attractant.
Date published: 2012-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from flies come back right away I like to use natural fly sprays because I don't like the idea of breathing in all those chemicals, but this fly spray simply does not work. Within seconds of spraying this on my horse he is covered in flies again. Even if it did work, the label says it only lasts 8 hours. I don't have the time or money to fly spray my horse 3 times a day. Bottom line: it doesn't work and even if it did, it wouldn't last.
Date published: 2012-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but could be better I like this spray because you don't have to worry about super hazardous chemicals, but I find that in order for it to work well, I add about 1/4 bottle worth of vinegar to keep away the little gnats that have been so bad this year. Haven't seen many flies around my horses, and the vinegar smells a bit like... well vinegar on my horse, but it's worth it. I like that I don't have to count days or give my horse a bath between sprays, and Charm seems to not mind it so much. If you are looking for a hardcore product, this is definitely not for you... Kind of pricey in my opinion, but I also lengthen what I have by adding vinegar.
Date published: 2011-09-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Good Green Product The horses don't object to the odor like they do on some products I have used. However, the flies don't seem too bothered either.It is adequate for a short time, and I don't feel like I am using something harmful on the horses.The price was a bonus.
Date published: 2011-07-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Would not buy again! With our barn being so incredibly buggy, I really preferred to buy a product that was all natural because I have to use it so much. I was extremely disappointed with this product because it literally did nothing. I could not get through a ride with this fly spray on, and my horse would pace at the gate to his pasture begging to come inside because he was being bitten so badly, and I usually have to drag him inside! I will not be purchasing this product again!
Date published: 2011-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smells great, sprays great I like the fact that this is a "green" fly spray, though I am not sure about it's 8 hour effectiveness claim. My recently off-track TB is pretty terrified of the sprayer, so I've been wiping it on him, and it works pretty well.
Date published: 2011-06-22
  • 2016-10-20T12:35CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_79
  • loc_en_US, sid_8445, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders