Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

UltraShield® Green Fly Repellent

Absorbine
- Item #18445
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Ultrashield® Green offers a natural, eight hour insect repellent proven to be effective.

Made In the USA

Fly Control Rotation Reference Guide

View Product Label

Favorite Features 

  • Repels and controls biting flies, mosquitoes and gnats
  • Can be used on horses, ponies, foals and dogs
  • Eco-Safe for the entire family
  • Not oily or greasy. No artificial colors or additives
  • Refreshing aromatic scent.

Sizing

32 oz Spray or 1 Gallon
What Customers Say:

Ingredients

Actives: Sodium Lauryl Sulfate 2.5%, Geranoil .7%, Clove Oil .08%, Citronella Oil .06%, Rosemary Oil .05%, Lemongrass Oil .05%, Cedar Oil .05%, Thyme Oil .01%

Inactives: Water and Glycerin

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
No dilution necessary. Shake well before using.  Horses, Ponies, and Dogs:Brush thoroughly to remove excess dust and dirt. Spray directly onto coat prior to riding, showing, or turning out. Do not spray in eyes or mucous membranes. Use a soft cloth to apply to the face and other sensitive areas.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Snow Proof Silicone Water and Stain Repellent provides ...
    Description:
    "Snow Proof Silicone Water and Stain Repellent provides extra, heavy-duty, longer lasting water and stain protections. Keeps water out while allowing it to breath, keeping it soft and pliable. Use on leather, suede, canvas, nylon, cotton, and other fabrics. Made ...
    "BugPellent is a natural, solid insect repellent that ...
    Description:
    "BugPellent is a natural, solid insect repellent that passively emits vapors which are safe for humans and animals. Very effective at repelling flying and other insects. Contains only natural essential oils and certified organic waxes, eliminating toxic chemical exposure. Works ...
    Why We Love This Aloe Herbal Flay Spray ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Aloe Herbal Flay Spray Ready To Use A gentle blend of ingredients, including botanical oils to repel flies, gnats, and other flying insects on horses. Contains coat conditioners and sunscreen which promote a healthy coat and ...
    "A natural way to condition coats and repel ...
    Description:
    "A natural way to condition coats and repel bugs! When you want to avoid harsh chemical pesticides, Wahna Win Super Fly Spray is a safe, natural choice for fly and insect control. The unique blend of oils includes catnip, argan, ...
    Why We Love This The Rescue disposable fly ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Rescue disposable fly trap catches common nuisance and filth flies including house flies, blow flies, flesh flies, face flies and others. The powder attractant is contained within the traps itself. The attractant dissolves and activates quickly. ...
    "The Pyranha 1-10HP 55 Gallon Concentrate are insecticide ...
    Description:
    "The Pyranha 1-10HP 55 Gallon Concentrate are insecticide refills for the Pyranha Spray Master System . Developed over 30 years ago using the highest quality pyrethroids, HP is a premium formulation that has set the bar for effective automatic flying ...
    "The UltraShield Red Fly Spray provides broad spectrum ...
    Description:
    "The UltraShield Red Fly Spray provides broad spectrum protection from a wide range of flies and mosquitoes. A breakthrough combination of five active ingredients helps ward off even the most resistant insects, while giving the horse's coat a healthy, oil-free ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    UltraShield® Green Fly Repellent is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 87.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great green fly repellent!! I really like the smell....you don't get that poison smell like other fly repellents....I found that I really need to soak my horses but it does keep the flies away. I'm not sure about the 8 hours b/c I'm not there that long.
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horses and I aren't complaining Nice smell, not foul. Kept stable flies and mosquitos off myself while doing chores and definately decreased the number of pests bothering my horses.
    Date published: 2014-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for sensitive horses! This fly spray smells great and is very gentle on my sensitive horses skin!
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like that it's natural Love that it's all natural, seems to work just as good as the rest of them. The scent is nice. Fabulous bottle.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works on humans against gnats Hi, I have not tried this on my horses yet but...I was at my granddaughters barn and the gnats were dive bombing my eyes. I put some green fly on my hands and dobbed my face with it. NO MORE GNATS!. I have read some of these reviews and I wonder if you sprayed it down the horses spine so that it would absorb into the horses body and then maybe it would just emanated from the horse keeping the fly away. Maybe mix with DMSO to carry it thru out the horses body. I have not used any fly repellent that actually worked. It seems that just spraying it on the hair of the horse does not work. Will be trying this on my horses.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for horses with allergies Have used this product for a few years for horses that have allergies. Has worked really well, and smells great too!
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Repels big flies but not gnats My horse is really sensitive to May flies and gnats that cause "sweet itch". I have coated him head to toe in this product and it does nothing to keep them away. I did notice it keeps mosquitos and larger flies off but not the smaller seasonal ones. The product has a pleasant smell and leaves a shine on the coat but of course, that's not why I bought it.
    Date published: 2014-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff and the fact that it is all natural...
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smells Great! Doesn't really work... I had my hopes up for this one... It looked like it was natural that would work in my buggy barn! It worked better than others I've tried, but definitely didn't make a dent in the buggy summer season. I would spray and spray and spray and spray and spray and never have much results. It does smell FANTASTIC, though! And it was a plus that it could be used on humans. I'm still searching for the perfect natural fly spray, but I turned to the UltraShield EX, which, though it has a lot of chemicals, does actually work! If you live in a not so buggy area, go ahead and try this, but otherwise, I'd go for the black bottle of UltraShield.
    Date published: 2013-08-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from fly repellent works as well as the other naturals. I don't like the scent.
    Date published: 2013-08-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not so great Even after reading the reviews and seeing that most found this product to be so-so, I bought it. I really wanted a fly spray that didn't have the harsh chemicals but this spray isn't keeping the flys and bugs away long enough. I spray like crazy on my horse before riding and a quarter way through a lesson or a hack he's miserable from the bugs. Bummer, really wanted it to work!
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money I was happy to see a product that doesn't contain pyrethrum as my horse is allergic to it. Unfortunately this product doesn't seem to do a thing. It's suppose to work up to 8 hours -- it might work 5 minutes. Seriously. The only plus is it smells good but my horse doesn't need perfume. Don't waste your money. Hopefully someone will come up with another natural fly repellant that works well that Smart Pak will carry.
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from ??? I try every fly spray I see at least once. This smells great but I don't see much difference between one or another. If the horses are out 12+ hrs, I have to reapply at least once of any spray, everyday. I just don't know what kind of insects they have when these products are tested, because our insects seem immune to fly sprays! GRRR!!!
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good enough I've recently switched to UltraShield Green. I was tired of the using strong chemicals and greasy products. This spray isn't greasy at all and seems to keep my horse comfortable. I can't be sure how long it lasts. It seems pretty light but I plan to stick with it. I've never found any spray that works long term or on hot humid days. This one doesn't seem any better or worse. But I feel good knowing I'm not poisoning him (or me) by using it.
    Date published: 2013-07-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from non-irritating, may be helpful I have 3 horses who seem to react badly to fly sprays with pyrithrins/permethrins (one is confirmed allergic) and this may be one of the best alternatives. It is non-irritating and seems to help repel the small biters (midges, black flies, mosquitoes). It's not as powerful as the pyrithrin stuff, but at least it doesn't hurt my horses!
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ehh I initially ordered this product to avoid the harsh chemical fly sprays. After using it for a week, I found that it would not keep the flies off of my horse, probably because it does not have a high enough concentration of oils to be effective. I ended up having to buy a chemical fly spray because he had so many bites. Since it is made with essential oils, be sure to shake before use! I will still use this product for his face and sensitive areas.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-05-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay if your horses hate chemicals I used this on my pink skinned horses last summer. It works okay for about six hours, but after that the flies are right back on my horses. I also noticed it seemed to not repel horseflies very well. The mosquitoes stayed away though! I would only recommend this if your barn is relatively fly free, and your horses skin cant handle chemicals.
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Just as Well as Chemical Sprays I haven't found any fly spray that works super well, but this one works as well as any others, including those with the heavy chemicals. I love that this is all-natural and non-toxic, and it has a pleasant smell.
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best natural repellent I have tried Let's face it, flies are tough creatures and nothing really does the job we want it to do. That said, I found little difference in the effectiveness of UltraShield and other more toxic sprays. The smell does not bother my horse at all, so it is easy to apply even to his face.
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I love this flyspray! Smells great and works.
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average I am happy that when I spray this on my horse that neither he nor I are ingesting chemicals. In that regard, I am very grateful for this product. Unfortunately, I have to spray it on him every 5 minutes; it just doesn't keep the flies off of him. I still reorder it, because I just can't stand inhaling the fumes of the other chemical based fly sprays out there. I am hopeful that someone will develop a natural fly spray that actually keeps those pesky flies off of my horses.
    Date published: 2012-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works! Finally, a fly spray that actually WORKS! I spray this on my horses as well as my dog and it lasts longer than any other fly spray I've used. I especially like that it isn't full of harsh chemicals, and it has a pleasant smell.
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent choice Only had to spray the horse once a day for it to work all day long, even in Florida in the summer time, and that's nothing short of a miracle
    Date published: 2012-09-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Natural I only buy natural flyspray for my horses as they otherwise have a skin reaction. This one smells pleasantly of citronella. I don't know how much of a difference it really makes but I would like to think that it at least provides a bit of relief.
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save your money I was disappointed with this product after buying it recently at a tack shop- and agree with the previous post that after application the flies go right back to the horse. It's a nice concept, and has a fresh herbal scent...but not fly control. In fact, I think I'd call it a fly attractant.
    Date published: 2012-09-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from flies come back right away I like to use natural fly sprays because I don't like the idea of breathing in all those chemicals, but this fly spray simply does not work. Within seconds of spraying this on my horse he is covered in flies again. Even if it did work, the label says it only lasts 8 hours. I don't have the time or money to fly spray my horse 3 times a day. Bottom line: it doesn't work and even if it did, it wouldn't last.
    Date published: 2012-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but could be better I like this spray because you don't have to worry about super hazardous chemicals, but I find that in order for it to work well, I add about 1/4 bottle worth of vinegar to keep away the little gnats that have been so bad this year. Haven't seen many flies around my horses, and the vinegar smells a bit like... well vinegar on my horse, but it's worth it. I like that I don't have to count days or give my horse a bath between sprays, and Charm seems to not mind it so much. If you are looking for a hardcore product, this is definitely not for you... Kind of pricey in my opinion, but I also lengthen what I have by adding vinegar.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Good Green Product The horses don't object to the odor like they do on some products I have used. However, the flies don't seem too bothered either.It is adequate for a short time, and I don't feel like I am using something harmful on the horses.The price was a bonus.
    Date published: 2011-07-19
    • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_79
    • loc_en_US, sid_8445, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders