Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

UltraShield® Green Fly Repellent

Absorbine
- Item #18445
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Ultrashield® Green offers a natural, eight hour insect repellent proven to be effective.

Favorite Features 

  • Repels and controls biting flies, mosquitoes and gnats
  • Can be used on horses, ponies, foals and dogs
  • Eco-Safe for the entire family
  • Not oily or greasy. No artificial colors or additives
  • Refreshing aromatic scent.

Sizing It Up 

32 oz Spray or 1 Gallon
 
Fly Control Rotation Reference Guide

View Product Label

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    UltraShield® Green Fly Repellent is rated 3.7895 out of 5 by 57.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like that it's natural Love that it's all natural, seems to work just as good as the rest of them. The scent is nice. Fabulous bottle.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works on humans against gnats Hi, I have not tried this on my horses yet but...I was at my granddaughters barn and the gnats were dive bombing my eyes. I put some green fly on my hands and dobbed my face with it. NO MORE GNATS!. I have read some of these reviews and I wonder if you sprayed it down the horses spine so that it would absorb into the horses body and then maybe it would just emanated from the horse keeping the fly away. Maybe mix with DMSO to carry it thru out the horses body. I have not used any fly repellent that actually worked. It seems that just spraying it on the hair of the horse does not work. Will be trying this on my horses.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for horses with allergies Have used this product for a few years for horses that have allergies. Has worked really well, and smells great too!
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Repels big flies but not gnats My horse is really sensitive to May flies and gnats that cause "sweet itch". I have coated him head to toe in this product and it does nothing to keep them away. I did notice it keeps mosquitos and larger flies off but not the smaller seasonal ones. The product has a pleasant smell and leaves a shine on the coat but of course, that's not why I bought it.
    Date published: 2014-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff and the fact that it is all natural...
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smells Great! Doesn't really work... I had my hopes up for this one... It looked like it was natural that would work in my buggy barn! It worked better than others I've tried, but definitely didn't make a dent in the buggy summer season. I would spray and spray and spray and spray and spray and never have much results. It does smell FANTASTIC, though! And it was a plus that it could be used on humans. I'm still searching for the perfect natural fly spray, but I turned to the UltraShield EX, which, though it has a lot of chemicals, does actually work! If you live in a not so buggy area, go ahead and try this, but otherwise, I'd go for the black bottle of UltraShield.
    Date published: 2013-08-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from fly repellent works as well as the other naturals. I don't like the scent.
    Date published: 2013-08-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not so great Even after reading the reviews and seeing that most found this product to be so-so, I bought it. I really wanted a fly spray that didn't have the harsh chemicals but this spray isn't keeping the flys and bugs away long enough. I spray like crazy on my horse before riding and a quarter way through a lesson or a hack he's miserable from the bugs. Bummer, really wanted it to work!
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money I was happy to see a product that doesn't contain pyrethrum as my horse is allergic to it. Unfortunately this product doesn't seem to do a thing. It's suppose to work up to 8 hours -- it might work 5 minutes. Seriously. The only plus is it smells good but my horse doesn't need perfume. Don't waste your money. Hopefully someone will come up with another natural fly repellant that works well that Smart Pak will carry.
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from ??? I try every fly spray I see at least once. This smells great but I don't see much difference between one or another. If the horses are out 12+ hrs, I have to reapply at least once of any spray, everyday. I just don't know what kind of insects they have when these products are tested, because our insects seem immune to fly sprays! GRRR!!!
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good enough I've recently switched to UltraShield Green. I was tired of the using strong chemicals and greasy products. This spray isn't greasy at all and seems to keep my horse comfortable. I can't be sure how long it lasts. It seems pretty light but I plan to stick with it. I've never found any spray that works long term or on hot humid days. This one doesn't seem any better or worse. But I feel good knowing I'm not poisoning him (or me) by using it.
    Date published: 2013-07-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from non-irritating, may be helpful I have 3 horses who seem to react badly to fly sprays with pyrithrins/permethrins (one is confirmed allergic) and this may be one of the best alternatives. It is non-irritating and seems to help repel the small biters (midges, black flies, mosquitoes). It's not as powerful as the pyrithrin stuff, but at least it doesn't hurt my horses!
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ehh I initially ordered this product to avoid the harsh chemical fly sprays. After using it for a week, I found that it would not keep the flies off of my horse, probably because it does not have a high enough concentration of oils to be effective. I ended up having to buy a chemical fly spray because he had so many bites. Since it is made with essential oils, be sure to shake before use! I will still use this product for his face and sensitive areas.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay if your horses hate chemicals I used this on my pink skinned horses last summer. It works okay for about six hours, but after that the flies are right back on my horses. I also noticed it seemed to not repel horseflies very well. The mosquitoes stayed away though! I would only recommend this if your barn is relatively fly free, and your horses skin cant handle chemicals.
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Just as Well as Chemical Sprays I haven't found any fly spray that works super well, but this one works as well as any others, including those with the heavy chemicals. I love that this is all-natural and non-toxic, and it has a pleasant smell.
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best natural repellent I have tried Let's face it, flies are tough creatures and nothing really does the job we want it to do. That said, I found little difference in the effectiveness of UltraShield and other more toxic sprays. The smell does not bother my horse at all, so it is easy to apply even to his face.
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I love this flyspray! Smells great and works.
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average I am happy that when I spray this on my horse that neither he nor I are ingesting chemicals. In that regard, I am very grateful for this product. Unfortunately, I have to spray it on him every 5 minutes; it just doesn't keep the flies off of him. I still reorder it, because I just can't stand inhaling the fumes of the other chemical based fly sprays out there. I am hopeful that someone will develop a natural fly spray that actually keeps those pesky flies off of my horses.
    Date published: 2012-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works! Finally, a fly spray that actually WORKS! I spray this on my horses as well as my dog and it lasts longer than any other fly spray I've used. I especially like that it isn't full of harsh chemicals, and it has a pleasant smell.
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent choice Only had to spray the horse once a day for it to work all day long, even in Florida in the summer time, and that's nothing short of a miracle
    Date published: 2012-09-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Natural I only buy natural flyspray for my horses as they otherwise have a skin reaction. This one smells pleasantly of citronella. I don't know how much of a difference it really makes but I would like to think that it at least provides a bit of relief.
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save your money I was disappointed with this product after buying it recently at a tack shop- and agree with the previous post that after application the flies go right back to the horse. It's a nice concept, and has a fresh herbal scent...but not fly control. In fact, I think I'd call it a fly attractant.
    Date published: 2012-09-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from flies come back right away I like to use natural fly sprays because I don't like the idea of breathing in all those chemicals, but this fly spray simply does not work. Within seconds of spraying this on my horse he is covered in flies again. Even if it did work, the label says it only lasts 8 hours. I don't have the time or money to fly spray my horse 3 times a day. Bottom line: it doesn't work and even if it did, it wouldn't last.
    Date published: 2012-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but could be better I like this spray because you don't have to worry about super hazardous chemicals, but I find that in order for it to work well, I add about 1/4 bottle worth of vinegar to keep away the little gnats that have been so bad this year. Haven't seen many flies around my horses, and the vinegar smells a bit like... well vinegar on my horse, but it's worth it. I like that I don't have to count days or give my horse a bath between sprays, and Charm seems to not mind it so much. If you are looking for a hardcore product, this is definitely not for you... Kind of pricey in my opinion, but I also lengthen what I have by adding vinegar.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Good Green Product The horses don't object to the odor like they do on some products I have used. However, the flies don't seem too bothered either.It is adequate for a short time, and I don't feel like I am using something harmful on the horses.The price was a bonus.
    Date published: 2011-07-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Would not buy again! With our barn being so incredibly buggy, I really preferred to buy a product that was all natural because I have to use it so much. I was extremely disappointed with this product because it literally did nothing. I could not get through a ride with this fly spray on, and my horse would pace at the gate to his pasture begging to come inside because he was being bitten so badly, and I usually have to drag him inside! I will not be purchasing this product again!
    Date published: 2011-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smells great, sprays great I like the fact that this is a "green" fly spray, though I am not sure about it's 8 hour effectiveness claim. My recently off-track TB is pretty terrified of the sprayer, so I've been wiping it on him, and it works pretty well.
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work on flies in Ohio Ultrashield Green has not worked on two outings. Mosquitoes were even biting my horse although I had her well-coated with the product. Deer flies and other biting flies all had a field day with her despite the fact that I brushed it into her coat then applied a second misting before heading out. It smells great but just did not work. Standing in cross-ties, I had to keep re-spraying her to keep her from stamping, just from the flies buzzing in the door. I think Avon's Skin-So-Soft works better than whatever is in this junk!
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from one of best fly sprays used I have used many many different flysprays over the past 25 years, including homemade formulas, and this one has been the best so far. I was impressed that it actually repelled flies for several hours; most of the others I've used were barely effective for several minutes. I like that this one is all natural, no chemicals, and actually works!
    Date published: 2011-04-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but Not so good I thought this would be my new "actually working fly spray". At first, I LOVED this fly spray, it lasted a while, kept flies out of site, and my horse was happy. Now, every bottle I get after a few uses, the bottle starts to tear up. I can't even get it to spray sometimes, it's really ridiculous for the price and the small amount. Also, the formula must of changed slightly, before you couldn't see, no bubbles etc, but now, it leaves bubbles and huge wet marks everywhere. Not fun for shows. I'm really disappointed it didn't stay a good fly spray :/
    Date published: 2010-11-10
    • 2015-05-28T09:29CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_49
    • loc_en_US, sid_8445, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.