Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

UltraShield® Green Fly Repellent

Absorbine
- Item #18445
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Ultrashield® Green offers a natural, eight hour insect repellent proven to be effective.

Favorite Features 

  • Repels and controls biting flies, mosquitoes and gnats
  • Can be used on horses, ponies, foals and dogs
  • Eco-Safe for the entire family
  • Not oily or greasy. No artificial colors or additives
  • Refreshing aromatic scent.

Sizing It Up 

32 oz Spray or 1 Gallon
 
Fly Control Rotation Reference Guide

View Product Label

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    UltraShield® Green Fly Repellent is rated 3.8116 out of 5 by 69.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor effectiveness I had questions about the effectiveness of the product prior to purchase but with the amount of rain that we have had all spring and summer, flies, gnats and mosquitoes have been horrendous. So that the amount of regular fly spray we've had to use for the horses to stay comfortable and the level of toxins had me concerned. Since I was already feeding a supplement for insect control, I thought I'd try a friendlier version. I am going back to the old stuff, in order to keep my guys comfortable!! Old stuff is UltraShield EX
    Date published: 2015-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Green product This is easier on the skin of the foals and broodmares.
    Date published: 2015-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works I use this product daily on my horses, every once in a while I use the Ultra Shield EX Fly spray. I really like the Green with its natural ingredients and it works well.
    Date published: 2015-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! Smells great and does its job, no more bite welts.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from ultra shield green fly spray I like the way this smell and it works good in the summer the horse sweat and it runs off but it dose work
    Date published: 2015-06-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Smells okay. That is about it. Didn't even work for five minutes.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Safe and Great Let me start this out by saying that this is not as good as your "normal" chemical fly sprays (like Pyranha, ect), but if you are looking for something natural and safe to use around you and your horse, this is great. I like to use this in combination with a chemical fly spray since I have a horse that is very sensitive. I spray this on my hands and wipe her face. spray it on her fly bonnet, boots, and also myself on bad days! I recommend it, just be aware that it is not quite as potent as a chemical one.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great smell and works well. I got this again this year for my two Arabians. It works great on keeping the flies away. I have asthma and other fly sprays make it hard for me to breath when I spray them. This one does not give me any trouble with my breathing.My horses have sensitive skin and this gives them no adverse reactions.I had just fly sprayed my horse and started riding and when I rode by my friend she wow your horse smells nice. It was the fly spray.Works great for needs.
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective Natural Fly Spray In my area, all fly sprays (chemical and natural) are all working about the same, so being able to use a natural fly spray over a chemical is the better option.
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly spray I have ever used When I switched fly sprays I switched to this one. This fly spray could not work better on my horse. There are no bad chemicals and it is all natural. This fly spray is the best I have ever used.
    Date published: 2014-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well I prefer natural fly sprays and find that this lasts longer than most of them. The smell is also nice - my mare lets me rub her face and ears with this!
    Date published: 2014-09-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Eco-friendly fly spray I have been using this product for 2 years now and very happy with the effectiveness and that it's eco-safe. My horse is very insect sensitive and this fly spray is effective in keeping her bug free, although it does need to be re-applied during the day.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great green fly repellent!! I really like the smell....you don't get that poison smell like other fly repellents....I found that I really need to soak my horses but it does keep the flies away. I'm not sure about the 8 hours b/c I'm not there that long.
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horses and I aren't complaining Nice smell, not foul. Kept stable flies and mosquitos off myself while doing chores and definately decreased the number of pests bothering my horses.
    Date published: 2014-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for sensitive horses! This fly spray smells great and is very gentle on my sensitive horses skin!
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like that it's natural Love that it's all natural, seems to work just as good as the rest of them. The scent is nice. Fabulous bottle.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works on humans against gnats Hi, I have not tried this on my horses yet but...I was at my granddaughters barn and the gnats were dive bombing my eyes. I put some green fly on my hands and dobbed my face with it. NO MORE GNATS!. I have read some of these reviews and I wonder if you sprayed it down the horses spine so that it would absorb into the horses body and then maybe it would just emanated from the horse keeping the fly away. Maybe mix with DMSO to carry it thru out the horses body. I have not used any fly repellent that actually worked. It seems that just spraying it on the hair of the horse does not work. Will be trying this on my horses.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for horses with allergies Have used this product for a few years for horses that have allergies. Has worked really well, and smells great too!
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Repels big flies but not gnats My horse is really sensitive to May flies and gnats that cause "sweet itch". I have coated him head to toe in this product and it does nothing to keep them away. I did notice it keeps mosquitos and larger flies off but not the smaller seasonal ones. The product has a pleasant smell and leaves a shine on the coat but of course, that's not why I bought it.
    Date published: 2014-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff and the fact that it is all natural...
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smells Great! Doesn't really work... I had my hopes up for this one... It looked like it was natural that would work in my buggy barn! It worked better than others I've tried, but definitely didn't make a dent in the buggy summer season. I would spray and spray and spray and spray and spray and never have much results. It does smell FANTASTIC, though! And it was a plus that it could be used on humans. I'm still searching for the perfect natural fly spray, but I turned to the UltraShield EX, which, though it has a lot of chemicals, does actually work! If you live in a not so buggy area, go ahead and try this, but otherwise, I'd go for the black bottle of UltraShield.
    Date published: 2013-08-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from fly repellent works as well as the other naturals. I don't like the scent.
    Date published: 2013-08-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not so great Even after reading the reviews and seeing that most found this product to be so-so, I bought it. I really wanted a fly spray that didn't have the harsh chemicals but this spray isn't keeping the flys and bugs away long enough. I spray like crazy on my horse before riding and a quarter way through a lesson or a hack he's miserable from the bugs. Bummer, really wanted it to work!
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money I was happy to see a product that doesn't contain pyrethrum as my horse is allergic to it. Unfortunately this product doesn't seem to do a thing. It's suppose to work up to 8 hours -- it might work 5 minutes. Seriously. The only plus is it smells good but my horse doesn't need perfume. Don't waste your money. Hopefully someone will come up with another natural fly repellant that works well that Smart Pak will carry.
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from ??? I try every fly spray I see at least once. This smells great but I don't see much difference between one or another. If the horses are out 12+ hrs, I have to reapply at least once of any spray, everyday. I just don't know what kind of insects they have when these products are tested, because our insects seem immune to fly sprays! GRRR!!!
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good enough I've recently switched to UltraShield Green. I was tired of the using strong chemicals and greasy products. This spray isn't greasy at all and seems to keep my horse comfortable. I can't be sure how long it lasts. It seems pretty light but I plan to stick with it. I've never found any spray that works long term or on hot humid days. This one doesn't seem any better or worse. But I feel good knowing I'm not poisoning him (or me) by using it.
    Date published: 2013-07-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from non-irritating, may be helpful I have 3 horses who seem to react badly to fly sprays with pyrithrins/permethrins (one is confirmed allergic) and this may be one of the best alternatives. It is non-irritating and seems to help repel the small biters (midges, black flies, mosquitoes). It's not as powerful as the pyrithrin stuff, but at least it doesn't hurt my horses!
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ehh I initially ordered this product to avoid the harsh chemical fly sprays. After using it for a week, I found that it would not keep the flies off of my horse, probably because it does not have a high enough concentration of oils to be effective. I ended up having to buy a chemical fly spray because he had so many bites. Since it is made with essential oils, be sure to shake before use! I will still use this product for his face and sensitive areas.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay if your horses hate chemicals I used this on my pink skinned horses last summer. It works okay for about six hours, but after that the flies are right back on my horses. I also noticed it seemed to not repel horseflies very well. The mosquitoes stayed away though! I would only recommend this if your barn is relatively fly free, and your horses skin cant handle chemicals.
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Just as Well as Chemical Sprays I haven't found any fly spray that works super well, but this one works as well as any others, including those with the heavy chemicals. I love that this is all-natural and non-toxic, and it has a pleasant smell.
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    • 2015-08-29T13:28CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_61
    • loc_en_US, sid_8445, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.