Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

UltraShield EX Fly Spray

Absorbine
- Item #15691
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Absorbine® has raised the bar in the fly control arena with the introduction of UltraShield® EX - the sweat resistant insecticide and repellent formula that will protect your horse for up to 17 days. This repellent is an enhanced version of the original UltraShield® and sets a new standard for ultimate insect protection.

Favorite Features

  • Kills and repels more than 70 insect species
  • Stays active for up to 17 days
  • Contains multiple sunscreens and coat conditioners including aloe and lanolin
  • Can be used on horses and dogs 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Fly Control Rotation Reference Guide

View Product Label

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    UltraShield EX Fly Spray is rated 4.6594 out of 5 by 229.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from long lasting repellent I've tried many fly sprays over the years and Ultra Shield Ex definitely lasts several hours. I've applied it in the afternoon and can still smell it on my horses the next day. They seem less annoyed by the flies, as well. It has a nice citronella aroma. Another plus--- Smartpak's price beats my local feed store's price for the same item by about $10 !! I did a price comparison the other day and was shocked at the markup locally. Smartpak is the best horse outfitter, all around, hands down.
    Date published: 2014-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It killed a fly on my horse as it was biting! I have tried almost EVERY Fly spray on the market and always come back to this! Literally saw a fly land on my horses leg about half an hour after spraying and the fly fell off dead. Can't say I have seen THAT with any other brand!
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing beats this spray I've tried many, but none beat this spray for repelling and longevity.
    Date published: 2014-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality - hate the smell I am not a fan of the citronella smell that most sprays come in but I tried this spray since the flies this season are awful here in SE TX. I use it alternating it with Mosquito Halt. The sprayer on the bottle is good quality. I spray it more often than the 17 day durability it says it has. It does nothing for the huge horse flies (I haven't found anything that works against those). I will continue to use this throughout this summer.
    Date published: 2014-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My only choice for fly spray I have used this spray for more than 15 years now. I mix it with Avon's Skin-So-Soft (about 7/8 Ultra-Shield, 1/8 SSS) for extra mosquito control as well as to offer a little coat conditioning every day.
    Date published: 2014-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works better than the rest If I spray the Flys they at least act sick. I do have to spray twice a day
    Date published: 2014-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good stuff I buy this because I can use it on my dogs too.. It is way cheaper to do that then frontline..it lasts on the dogs, about two weeks.. We have no fleas, and the occasional tick in that time..as for he horses..it works no more then two days on them.. But for two days it works well..my gelding is a fly magnet, and of course, he hates the sprayer..so I actually spray it on his brush and brush him.. It doesn't work so well on him..even when I can get the spray on him.. Might just be a so they say.."sweet blood" thing.. Just like people..I have used other sprays ..I like this the best.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great spray Great spray at a great price. I like that it lasts for a few days.
    Date published: 2014-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Effective! I did a comparative analysis of all the major fly sprays (yes, I'm neurotic about my horse!), and UltraShield EX is the one that's most effective against ticks and flies.
    Date published: 2014-05-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great Seems to work better than all the other fly sprays I have tried. I alternate with the Sport and Red.
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has a light odor and seems to work well. My horse has sensitive skin and has not had any problems with it.
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from UltraShield fly spray I love this fly spray. It has a nice scent, makes my horse shiny and helps repel the ticks on the trail, besides keeping flies off for a long time.
    Date published: 2014-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only Fly Spray I'll Buy! I've tried them all and this truly is the best. Well worth the price. 17 day protection is a bit of a stretch, but sunscreen and coat protection is incredible. I recommend this to everyone.
    Date published: 2014-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! I have been using this fly spray for a couple years now and I absolutely LOVE IT!!! I have a really bad tick problem(I CAN'T keep them off my horses), and I notice a HUGE difference when I spray them with Ultra Shield! It is also GREAT with keeping the flies off my horses!! It's not oily (like other fly sprays) and has a fantastic smell (although, some people think its too strong)!
    Date published: 2014-05-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Really Wanted It To Work Bought this product because it was supposed to be the best of the best, and while relatively expensive, my mare has pretty bad allergies and living in a Florida I wanted her to be as comfortable as possible this fly season. She HATES being sprayed (though will allow me to towel-rub apply to my heart's content) so it took me a good 30 minutes to get her sufficiently covered in this. I wouldn't have minded if it actually worked. When I was done I took her out to hand graze and noticed that it had absolutely no affect on her whatsoever. She was buzzing with flies and no-see-ems. It seems to work on some of the other barn horses, so maybe it's just her, but I'm pretty disappointed. Waste of $20.
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY EFFECTIVE BUG SPRAY Have used this product many years. I ride our Appaloosa gelding in the Ocala National Forest, all year, and in the summer deer flies are relentless. He is a bug magnet and this spray ALWAYS works to repel pesky flies, etc.
    Date published: 2013-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the only fly spray I've found that really works without the horrible insecticide fumes that some of the aerosols have. And the coat conditioners keep my boy shiny too... I love it!
    Date published: 2013-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Foaming applicator is great I bought this product for a friend with tendinitis who found it very difficult to repeatedly pull the trigger on regular fly spray bottles. Tried using a garden sprayer but those were cumbersome, heavy, and easily broken. She loved this - easy to apply, could see where it had been applied and where not so horse received an even coating of sufficient product to work. She said it lasted almost as long as her Spot-On 2-week application, which she uses for ticks. She said she would be using this product exclusively from now on.
    Date published: 2013-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Price: it actually works! I love the UltraShield EX fly spray! It's the only fly spray that actually puts a dent in the terrible summer flies. I've tried a variety of other sprays and this stuff is the only kind that works. It actually smells good too, which is great! I hate putting all of the chemicals on my horse, but this is worth it. SmartPak has a great price on the gallon container; I'll just refill the spray bottle each time I'm running low for a better value! It's more expensive than other brands but so worth it! Definitely a must have for hot buggy summer days.
    Date published: 2013-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly spray on the market Amazing it actually keeps the flys away I love it!!
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! I have used 4 different sprays this year. This is the one that works the best. It also keeps the horses (and goats) coat smooth and shiny. I live in the wood s and the bugs are nasty..I've been able to ride all hours of the day with this spray :)
    Date published: 2013-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nothing compares I have tried every fly spray on the market today. But always come back to Ultra shield EX. I have been using for years and nothing works better. My OTTB is easily bothered by flies and this works the best. Plus it last about 1-2 weeks.
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ez-wipe Ultrashield in an easy to use mini-dispenser. Better than a roll-on, it has a fuzzy foam top to easily wipe on ears and face. Unlike roll-ons, no goop or dry spots.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from best nozzle! Same effective formula, as far as I can tell. Love the new bottle and nozzle. puts out an even mist--no splotches.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have fly spray! I've tried them all. I've shopped around for the best deal many times, and always go back to UltraShield EX. I highly recommend you try it.
    Date published: 2013-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing Better Have used this product for several years & havve been extremely satisfied. Like the idea of it having a sunscreen as well and killing & repeling.
    Date published: 2013-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly Spray that works I like to use UltraShield EX Fly Spray on my Arabian because it's not too harsh on his skin. It really does a good job on fly control that lasts even at hot events.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Satisfied This is a dependable product and was very satisfied. I will order again!
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fly Spray This one seems to be as good as any of 'em.Nice scent. Good price. They all seem to be ok. None seem to stand out. Adequate, not bad/not excellent. I'd buy it again.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    • 2015-05-26T09:50CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_25, tr_204
    • loc_en_US, sid_5691, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.