Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

UltraShield EX Fly Spray

Absorbine
- Item #15691
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Absorbine® has raised the bar in the fly control arena with the introduction of UltraShield® EX - the sweat resistant insecticide and repellent formula that will protect your horse for up to 17 days. This repellent is an enhanced version of the original UltraShield® and sets a new standard for ultimate insect protection.

Favorite Features

  • Kills and repels more than 70 insect species
  • Stays active for up to 17 days
  • Contains multiple sunscreens and coat conditioners including aloe and lanolin
  • Can be used on horses and dogs 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Fly Control Rotation Reference Guide

View Product Label

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    UltraShield EX Fly Spray is rated 4.6579 out of 5 by 228.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy I have used this product for many years and has always been effective.
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kills on contact It is good, but does not last as long as advertized. Still better than other sprays I have used over the years.
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultra Shield XL Fly Spray I bought this almost a month ago and have used it for a several years now seems to last the longest on our horse and the citronella scent is not too over powering. Would highly recommend.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be working well so far! Seems to be working well so far. We have a big problem with the green head flies and it seems to keep them away amd our horses happy!
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Works! I have used Ultrashield EX for approx. 5 years and believe it to be the best long-lasting sweatproof insect repellent. It also does a good job of repelling ticks.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product Really Works Never have issues with flies bothering my sensitive mare when I use this product!
    Date published: 2014-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! Switched from Endure to Ultrashield about a month ago and have really noticed the difference in my Icelandic mare's issues with gnats and sweet itch. It's a never ending battle!
    Date published: 2014-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This fly spray is working in the Florida summer! Love it
    Date published: 2014-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST FLY SPRAY OUT THERE I have used LOTS of different fly sprays trying to find the one that ACTUALLY works. This is the best one on the market. It doesn't leave any oily residue on the horse and it lasts. Living in hot humid and wet climate in Florida, to be able to find something that actually works is amazing.
    Date published: 2014-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value Good product at a great price, always easy to order due to SmartPak staff!
    Date published: 2014-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it It's the best fly and bug spray for my two horses. I live in Florida where the mosquitoes are terrible at night. This spray keeps them away. It also works great when we trail ride too. It has a pleasant citronella fragrance. And it works.
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best protection you can get I live in Western Colorado. While my home place is singularly un-buggy, if I go up into the mountains the mosquitos and horse flies can be pretty bad. For the last ten years or so I have been using Absorbine Ultra Shield to protect the horses and have found it superior to any other product I have tried. Yes, it's more expensive than some other products, but the difference in protection is worth the difference in price. Since I drive my horses and can't just reach forward or back in the saddle to swat or shoo a bug, superior protection is a must both for the comfort of the horses and for my safety.
    Date published: 2014-08-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent fly soray One of the few fly sprays that actually lasts for a while. Put it on while tacking up and there are no flies bothering us the whole ride!
    Date published: 2014-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best I've tried It's a tough fly season in So Cal with all the heat and hot dry winter we had. This is the first thing I've tried that lasts all day. Unless your horse sweats it off, it will offer relief for many hours!
    Date published: 2014-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ultra Sheild EX, good product, good design. Product works well, not greasy, lasts but washes off easy (my own hands and skin). Bottle is strong, doesn't leak, trigger also is quiet and smooth acting.
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from By far the best performing spray in the barn! I bought this after I noticed that the only horse in the barn without fly welts was sporting it...works better than the other brands I had tried.
    Date published: 2014-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well My horse hates flies, and will throw a fit to stomp on them. This works pretty well and seems to keep him happy.
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best fly spray I've tried I have been using this fly spray for 2+ years. This fly spray does a good job of repelling ticks as well as flies. Other owners at the barn have used different fly sprays and while it keeps the flies off, my horse is the only one who doesn't get a ton of ticks on him. I would recommend getting this product if you are in an area with ticks!
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells good! I bought this last week. My barn usually uses different fly sprays. It seems to keep the bugs off, when I'm grazing my horse he doesn't seem to swoosh his tail so much or shake his head. Also it smells great, people always comment on the nice smell. The spray setting is perfect! Instead of just jetting out of the bottle it actually mists over the area and you can't see wet spots from spraying!
    Date published: 2014-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best I've used Great product! Long lasting & really does the job. Does not leave a greasy residue on her coat & even has UV protection (which is really great on a bay mare here in sunny South Carolina).
    Date published: 2014-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than any other fly spray I have tried This spray isn't cheap, but I find fewer ticks on my horse than the other horses in the same field.
    Date published: 2014-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kills and repels flies I've been using this for about a month. The second I spray it on my horse the flies drop off and don't come back. I'm don't think it really repels flies for 17 days, but definitely effective for a few!
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does it all (almost), beautifully! I've been using UltraShield for at least 8 years. It keeps almost all flying insects away, and leaves my horse's coat soft, with no irritation, or chemical smell. The only pests that ignore it are the huge, horseflies (we call them, "bombers) that come out in late July/early August. For them, nothing works but Pyranha. Otherwise, this is my fly spray of choice. I spray it all over his body, and for his face, spray my hand and just wipe it on his jowls, face and ears.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly Free Definitely works, may not last as long as they claim but does last several days. Best fly spray I have used in a while.
    Date published: 2014-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works The only one that seems to stop ticks as well as biting insects.
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly spray Although this spray is more expensive than some of the concentrates that you have to mix, it works much better and is cheaper since you don't have to apply every day. I'm not saying there won't be any bugs on your horse, but it will help keep most of them away. I had a big problem with very large horse flies and this helped give my horses some relief. I'm in South Louisiana so we've got bugs. My horses are out in a pasture 24/7. Overall, I would highly recommend.
    Date published: 2014-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultra Shield Great product, last about a day and the price for a gallon is $40.00 less than it's leading competition.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultra shield ex Best fly spray so far! Good value and it works like a charm!
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is the best! Have used another product purchased at the local store and it didn't work very well. Although this product costs more, it lasts much long, is completely effective and gives my horse a silky coat
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from long lasting repellent I've tried many fly sprays over the years and Ultra Shield Ex definitely lasts several hours. I've applied it in the afternoon and can still smell it on my horses the next day. They seem less annoyed by the flies, as well. It has a nice citronella aroma. Another plus--- Smartpak's price beats my local feed store's price for the same item by about $10 !! I did a price comparison the other day and was shocked at the markup locally. Smartpak is the best horse outfitter, all around, hands down.
    Date published: 2014-06-25
    • 2015-05-22T08:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_25, tr_203
    • loc_en_US, sid_5691, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.