Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Ultra ThinLine Contour Pad

ThinLine
- Item #15863
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

ThinLine guarantees you will sit better riding in one of our most popular pads.

Feel the difference in you and see it in your horse:

  • Decreases equine back soreness
  • Creates a better saddle fit (with or without custom saddles)
  • Allows their shoulders and back to move more freely
  • Creates more roundness, softer gaits
  • Generates relaxation, suppleness and increased performance

Ultra ThinLine noticeably reduces lower back and thigh movement, allowing the rider to sit gaits with less effort and achieve a more stable position in the saddle. The result is a quieter ride with increased effectiveness of the seat and increased communication with the horse through a closer contact feel. Ultra ThinLine is endorsed by spinal surgeons for riders with sore backs and endorsed by top professionals and competitors for better performance both for the horse and the rider.

The contour pad will also greatly reduce all saddle slip problems.

Size: Designed for saddles up to 18".  Measures 21½” Spine, 25½” Flap to Flap with 14½” Wide Seat. Seat is  3/16" thick.

Watch the ThinLine Golf Ball and Punch Tests

Customers Also Shopped For
The EA Mattes Quilt Correction Square Pads are ...
Description:
The EA Mattes Quilt Correction Square Pads are a great addition to the Mattes line. Using the same shim pocket and shim system as the traditional sheepskin correction pads which allows for precise, incremental change in the amount of desired ...
This Fleece Wither Pad is an economical alternative ...
Description:
This Fleece Wither Pad is an economical alternative to sheepskin and is perfect for schooling or riding in inclement weather. Favorite Features White quilt with natural colored fleece Measurements: 21" spine Imported Sizing It Up
Beautifully quilted pads by EA Mattes. Designed to ...
Description:
Beautifully quilted pads by EA Mattes. Designed to be used in conjunction with Mattes sheepskin pads. The Mattes Quilt Only Pads are quilted with a layer of poly-flex that absorbs energy and eliminates bounce. VELCRO brand billet and girth straps. ...
This top quality pad optimizes close contact between ...
Description:
This top quality pad optimizes close contact between horse and rider. The Deluxe Classic Half Pad from Equine Comfort is 100% Australian Merino Sheepskin, which helps eliminate pressure points and prevents saddle sores. Favorite Features Absorbs and wicks away moisture ...
Using state of the art materials, EquiFit has ...
Description:
Using state of the art materials, EquiFit has developed and added a highly innovative saddle pad to their line of products. Made using ImpacTeq technology, the ImpacTeq Half Pad brings a level of shock absorption to the existing half pads ...
The Lettia CoolMax Half Pad provides ultimate comfort ...
Description:
The Lettia CoolMax Half Pad provides ultimate comfort andProtection. The quilted design with Coolmax lining draws away excess heat and moisture. This pad also helps relieve uneven saddle pressure and provides extraProtection where needed while maintaining optimum balance and contact. ...
The Mattes Euro-Fit Pads offer the same benefits ...
Description:
The Mattes Euro-Fit Pads offer the same benefits of the half pad but in a full pad style. The Euro-Fit pattern offers a stylish line along the bottom edge of the pad. The sheepskin panels offerProtection under the saddle, just ...
out of 5
89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Ultra ThinLine Contour Pad is rated 4.783783783783784 out of 5 by 37.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding pad I've been using this pad for about four weeks. It is a game changer. My horse seems so much more comfortable during every ride. The pad is so thin that it doesn't interfere at all with the fit of my dressage saddle.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent protective saddle pad Protective pad that encourages the horse to use its top line as opposed to bracing against anticipated rider bouncing, jarring or simply interference. We have used it on green and more seasoned horses with great results on both, regardless of lev of training of horse. Wipes clean, seems to not retain odors.
Date published: 2014-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect to use under a custom saddle This works great under my custom fit saddle. Even though you shouldn't need a pad under a properly fitting saddle, I still wanted something underneath to protect it. This added NO bulk to the custom fit, and added extra comfort at the same time. This seems to be the perfect addition to my tack. My horse seems to be even more comfortable now.I only wish two things different:A contoured shape- this was almost a pain to work with, but really does fit quite nicely once the saddle is on. It clearly shows even sweat marks once taken off after a ride.A lower price- I can't figure out why its so expensive; only maybe because it really holds up well. Us horse people will spend any amount on stuff for our horses! That being said I want one in black too!
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Distributes the weight more evenly My daughter's horse was having some back problems and we got this pad for him based on the numerous reviews here. It seems to have really helped him by distributing thie weight of the saddle more evenly. He did a 30 mile Competitive Trail ride 3 weeks later with the Ultra ThinLine. He was vetted numerous times and got all 5's (no back soreness) on every single one of his scores! Now she won't ride him without the pad. Plan on buying another one. I'm sold.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I ordered the wrong pad but once corrected this pad does what it says! My horse is now his ole energetic self with NO bucking due to sore withers and back! He is finally comfortable.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My horse loves this pad- It is making a difference in how he moves under saddle and how long we can work.
Date published: 2013-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use it everyday even at shows My horse's back was getting raw, I've used the Thin Line for over a month and it appears to have relieved some of the pressure. I purchased the white one which is easily hidden by the show pad.
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great pad This was a great investment for myself and my horse. I felt a great difference the very first time I used it. I'm sure my horse is also a lot happier.
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use it everyday Use it every day, purchased it because my horse was getting rub marks on his back and I was concerned it might get worse, so I purchased the Ultra ThinLine Contour Pad about a month ago and use it every day. A little $$ but seems to be working
Date published: 2013-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Santa brought us this pad for Christmas, so we've used it a short time. It seems to offer a lot of support for her, as she continues to grow. It offers just what we need to help keep my saddle level during her growth spurts, making everything more comfortable for the both of us. Great investment!
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes my horse and me more comfortable These pads don't change the saddle fit and help relieve pressure on my horses. All my horses move better with these pads whether it be my dressage horse working on collection or my horses giving beginner lessons and everything in between. It also makes the ride more comfortable by absorbing some of the extra shock.
Date published: 2012-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A New Barn Staple! After borrowing one of these pads from my trainer for a couple rides I totally fell in love with the Thinline pads. Fantastic quality (she has had hers for 3 years now and uses them in her busy lesson program) and the fit is perfect for every saddle I've used it under. I did notice a difference when using this pad- my horse relaxed more through his back and felt nice and loose quickly. I am a big fan of these pads and my horses love them! (I have and use several other Thinline products and I am always a big fan!)
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I never ride without it! I bought this pad four years ago, and have never ridden without it since. Recently, my trainer tried one, and has seen a huge difference in all of her horses. Everyone is now buying one! These pads seem too simple, but they really make the horses happier, especially when jumping. I have also noticed less lower back pain. They are discrete, and last forever. I use baby wipes to clean mine occasionally, and it still looks like new after countless uses.When I first saw the pad, I was hesitant to purchase because it does not have a contoured topline. However, after years of use, I can say that this has never been a problem. The pad really must mold to the horse's back, because I have NEVER had a fit problem.
Date published: 2012-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results My back used to ache so bad halfway through my ride, and after putting this on my horse I have no back pain at all. If it's doing this for me, I can't imagine how she is feeling. I've recommended this to everyone in my barn.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad! Bought this for my new horse who I was told had a "sensitive back" and its great so far. I really like that its super thin so its not changing the way the saddle sits or making the tree more narrow with bulk- its the perfect size too. I bought a black one for everyday use but I'll be buying a white one for shows soon.
Date published: 2012-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works for me I originally bought this pad because I have a jumper and wanted to protect his back with more than sheepskin and because I have a sore back. Now, when I ride and after I ride, my back doesn't feel sore anymore.The pad does stick out a little under my fleece half pad, but because I'm showing in jumpers, it doesn't really matter.
Date published: 2011-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smartest buy I've ever made I am an admitted ThinLine junkie and this didn't disappoint. I have the Contender II pad as well, but use that as my show pad only and got this for everyday schooling and trail riding since it's black. I use it on both my horses- a 16.2hh Paint/TB cross and a stocky 17.2hh TB. I just put it on top of another dressage or A/P saddle pad and their backs are protected! Even after a 7 hour ride through a river and woods, my TB (who has crazy sensitive skin) showed no signs of back soreness.
Date published: 2011-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use this on every ride and LOVE it! I bought this pad about a year ago after I borrowed one from a friend and fell in love. I don't feel a difference in my back, but I do feel a difference in my horses backs! They are so much looser. I can also always tell a difference in the way I ride the sitting trot. The shock absorption really does make a world of difference! I put it on a dressage horse I was riding for a friend and she was impressed by how much better he looked. I won't ride without it!
Date published: 2011-02-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from okay. I had a bad fall and hurt my back a few summers ago and riding does usually hurt (i would never think of quiting). I ordered this pad in the hopes that it would help my back, but it does not always work. However, I did just get a new horse and the saddle was not a perfect fit (thank goodness for adjustable trees) and this pad did help fit better. My horse is also older and I think the pad does help his back alot.
Date published: 2010-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! My daughter started using a thinline with the horse we leased last year and I felt it kept him more comfortable. While we were still riding him she started riding another horse that killed Her back and we were back to thinline. Now she just uses them everytime no questions asked. They show no wear after 2 years of use other than marks from the saddle.
Date published: 2010-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product This is my second Ultra ThinLine pad, the first is still going strong but I wanted a white one for showing. This pad makes an incredible difference in the elasticity of my mare's gaits. She is much more willing to give me her back, and that makes the ride smoother. The pad is very thin, and doesnt' impact saddle fit. I don't ride without one.
Date published: 2010-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lives up to billing I have been STRUGGLING with tightness in my horse's back for 3 years. After I needed to do a week of groundwork because of my own jaw surgery, I saw that he moved much better without me on him. I researched to find the best pad possible and settled on Thinline because it was guaranteed. This really worked. He rounds up faster, moves freer. Just won State dressage League championship Level one. Will never ride without one. Looking forward to level 2.
Date published: 2010-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best shock pad After buying a comfort pad for my warmblood, I threw it on my mountain horse and couldn't believe the difference it what I felt from her gait. It made her superb gait feel even better. I especially like the contour pad since it doesn't end right under the point of the tree like the half pad.
Date published: 2010-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ThinLine is the best! The pad completely lives up to its reputation. It absorbs shock SO well. My horse has never had a sore back, I've never had a sore back, and his trot has never been more comfortable to sit. I use mine every day and on every horse. This is truly a miracle pad, and I plan to always own at least one!
Date published: 2010-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best pad ever I love this pad and so does my horse. It makes for a smoother ride and a happier horse! My bad back doesn't bother me nearly as much anymore when i use this pad. I am buying a second pad, but in the sheepskin. :)
Date published: 2010-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from helpful pad This pad helps my back, my gelding's back and helps stabalize the saddle. I don't need my saddle fitter nearly as often when using a thinline pad!
Date published: 2009-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sticks like glue I bought the Ultra ThinLine contour pad because of its ability to stabilize a saddle. I am starting my Lusitano filly this summer, and with her Iberian back--round, wide, virtually witherless--I was having a hard time keeping a saddle from moving so much on her that the rider felt unstable. And if the rider felt unstable, the horse must have felt something, too.The instant I sat on my filly, with the ThinLine pad between the saddle and the square pad, I felt a significant positive difference. I felt like I was glued in place. Since my filly is still rather new to riding, I haven't been able to run the pad through its paces--or evaluate its shock-absorption benefits for the horse--but once I can ride her at the trot or canter I suspect I'll be even more impressed.Just the very first dose of the pad's abilities has made me a believer.
Date published: 2009-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome ! I recently purchased a Wintec Saddle with Cair panels. Although it was comfy for my horse, it was like riding ona rubber tire, when on firm footing.The Ultra Thinline Pad took away all the bounce, and the sitting trot is fun once again !
Date published: 2009-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT FOR BACKS!!! I LOVE my Ultra ThinLine Pad!!! After battling with poor fitting saddles and a horse with a sore back, I wasn't sure what to try. Finally I found a saddle with close to perfect fit. I wanted a pad that would help protect my horses back, but not compromise the great saddle fit. My trainer recommended this pad since there is little interference with saddle fit due to the thinness of the pad. She also said it has helped greatly with her lower back pain which I have also had some problems with. My horse goes great with this pad! I don't worry about his back or mine!!!
Date published: 2009-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Non bulky - comfortable for me and great for horses back - what could be better
Date published: 2009-04-29
  • 2016-09-26T12:31CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_5863, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders