Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boot

TuffRider
- Item #15655
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boots have a waterproof PVC upper and neoprene ankle flex that allows for greater comfort in the stirrup. The upper lining is a durable mesh with PU foam and tricot. The molded foot bed lining is multi-spandex with PU waterproof membrane. The Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boot has a stretch calf gusset and full length zippers to provide a better fit. The boot also has a Comfortmax classic insulation and synthetic sheepskin throughout the leg for warmth. The Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boot have a specially designed under sole to give grip in winter conditions and a reflector on the heel for night visibility.

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boot is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 80.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super warm! Bought these for riding and general outside wear in cold temps/snow. LOVE them. Even riding. I thought they'd be big and bulky but were very comfortable and didn't slip all over the place when riding.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Tall Bought these for my 5' 4" daughter who has a calf length of 15 1/2".  These boots are too tall for her and will have to be returned.  The quality of the boot seems to be really good, disappointing that they don't come in a shorter boot height.  Ariat is losing sales on this item.
    Date published: 2013-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT BOOTS I have had the boots for 1-1/2 years and wear them a lot even in the Louisiana summers. I bought them a size bigger, per reviews, but find I have lots of room in the foot and the medium size shaft. I have had no problem with fit or with the zippers whatsoever. They are absolutely waterproof and i can go through anything. I find them bareable even in the summer, and nice and warm in the winter months. I have worn them on several limited disatance endurance rides and foud them very comfortable. My daughter has borrowed them on her recent endurance ride and thought the same. They have held up great despite extensive use, and I think I can wear them another year and a half.
    Date published: 2013-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from second review b/c they're so great! I wrote a review just after I purchased these boots, but it was before I really had a chance to use them much. Now, I'd like to give a more detailed review. These boots are fantastic! Every now and then, I find that the bend near the ankle will rub my ankle a little, but I attribute that to the socks I use. However, they are super warm and very waterproof and are very nice to ride in once you get used to the extra winter bulk. I use them with my Kerrits Tight n' Warm F/S fleece breeches, which are also fantastic! I definitely recommend these boots.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Update: still love! Wearing these in their second season and just discovered how very waterproof they are: bringing horses in from an absolute downpour, I got stuck walking through puddles that gave me that sinking feeling that I was about to feel squishy for the rest of the day...nope, completely waterproof footbed all the way up to the zipper! Thanks again!
    Date published: 2012-12-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Read sizing chart These are tall boots. My lower leg is 15" from heel to back of knee, and the boots are over 16". If your leg is too short, you will be painfully jabbed in the back of your knee. I am so disappointed to have to return these boots. I think they would be perfect for cold weather riding. I wish they sold them in a shorter version.
    Date published: 2012-12-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy but large for petite legs I have had these about a year and love how comfy and warm they are. All postings are correct, so order a size up. I am petite at 105 lbs and 5'1 so the calf is really large but after socks it helps a little. It was bulky at first riding but it got better with wear. Would definitely recommend buying
    Date published: 2012-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice and well made Super nice, warm boots. I wear a 7-1/2 normally. I ordered an 8 and with a thin sock they were very tight. Not much room in the toe area. Sent back for a size 9. I'm 5`6 , weigh 135lbs and my calves are average size if not less than average. They were tight in the calf area. Although they were nice enough to exchange.
    Date published: 2012-11-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good reviews helped! Bought these boots for eastern Canadian winters, am a newish rider, , I bought a bit bigger as per recommended from other reviews and they work well, are a big high in the leg, but I am 5'1" so that is usual for me. I was warm in them, and will be able to get warm socks inside too. Only used once so far.
    Date published: 2012-11-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and toasty! These boots are exceptionally warm and dry. They are perfect for barn chores on a cold day and ground work with your horse any time. It would be nice to see them run in half sizes as well though. They are alright to ride in, but I don't find them as comfortable for riding as I do a regular paddock boot.
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! I bought these boots at a recommendation from a friend. So far, they are amazing! They don't have half sizes so I ordered up. I'm glad I did because now I can fit thicker socks. They are tight in the calves, but I find if I lean my leg forward at the ankle when zipping they go up no problem and fit fine. Very comfy! They fill the stirrup rather close and are taking some getting used to for riding in, but they are super water proof and very warm!
    Date published: 2012-10-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps your feet warm! This (2012) will be the third winter I've been wearing these boots. They are warm in the foot and in the leg. There is room for heavier socks, too. However, these boots are a bugger to zip! They fit tight in the calf, too, which is a bother since in the winter I'm layering to keep my legs warm. They are also a bit chunky to ride in. I have to lower my stirrups by one hole because the sole of the boot is really thick.They've held up really well and even shed muck and mud. And while I'd like to buy a pair of more stylish boots I can't justify it as mine are still in very good shape.
    Date published: 2012-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value! These boots were purchased as schooling boots to school during winter time! The foot fits true and calves are a bit big but fit well. They are very durable and completely waterproof! They are great boots for the price and I would definately but them again!
    Date published: 2012-04-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Value but Bad Fit for size 9 plus Pro's: Out of the box I felt these boots were a good value. The look and feel were all very nice. I'm 5'11" and have hard to fit slender calves, and these fit well.Con's: If you're a size 9 1/2 or larger these most likely won't work. I have normal width feet and am typically a size 9 to 10, 10 being the largest size I go to for winter shoes. These size 10 were very snug and would not have allowed for winter socks. I also found my heel uncomfortable, like a steel shank digging into it. In all fairness this might be due to the fit being to tight to begin with and maybe this wouldn't hurt if they were larger on my foot.
    Date published: 2012-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Waterproof AND WARM! These are wonderful boots! I am a 7 to a 7.5 I ordered the 7. At first they were a little tight, but I feel that the insulation is molding to my foot. I do have small calves (13") and there is a little bit of room, but it's not bad at all. They are just the right height (I measure 17") and the slight Spanish top is lovely! I can tromp around in mud and water and my feet stay dry. There is no stiffness in the ankle AT ALL. Very comfy!
    Date published: 2012-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank goodness for these boots I can ride in the winter! It frequently is in the teens and 20s here, and now I can ride and my toes stay warm, plus, the waterproofing and durablility are amazing!
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots. Great quality, nice & warm, love the ease of a zipper. I recommend ordering up a size. I wear a 9 but bought a 10 and was glad I did.
    Date published: 2012-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I used these boots for the first time last week and they wonderful! My feet stayed dry and warm. Love them!
    Date published: 2012-02-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfy & warm, but run small I ordered an 8 (7.5-8 is my regular size) and could barely get them on. Exchanged for 9s and LOVE them! Toasty warm (in our relatively mild winters - down to 20F), flexible enough to jump in, and though they're tall enough that I can feel them on the front of my knee when I walk, they're soft enough to wear all day. Not much wear evident after one season of use.
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good purchase I bought these boots after reading several of the reviews. I am a size 6-1/2 and bought a size 7 due to my calf measurement. They fit well, a little big in the toe area, but not bothersome. They did keep my feet/legs warmer too. I like the flex in the ankle area. The zippers are a bit tough tho, but still not too bad. Of course they are a bit clunkier in the sole, but still a good boot for winter riding and work around the barn. They seemed pretty easy to break-in as well-just wore them in the house for a couple days before riding. I have ridden in them 3 times now, and can only assume they will break in more with each use! Overall, pretty pleased with them!
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'M IN LOVE I LOVE these boots! I've been wearing them all winter and they've kept me dry and warm. They fit nice and snug, but stretch enough I can even get them on over skinny jeans to just run out to the barn for a blanket change. I love these things and for the price, honestly, if they fall apart on the last day of winter I would buy them again next season (although, after 2 or 3 months of cold and snow and general abuse they skill look perfect so maybe NEXT winter...). And they even LOOK GOOD ON! I've recommended them to everyone who would listen--a GREAT value!
    Date published: 2012-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Boot Great Boot! runs a little small. I ordered a size up and they fit perfectly. I wear them all day for riding and mucking out stalls
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from what a pleasure to be able to winter ride withoutthree pairs of socks
    Date published: 2012-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! I was so glad I got these! I was a bit worried after reading reviews that said they didn't fit well in various ways, but when I tried them on they fit great! I wore them for 7 hours straight and they were totally comfy and kept me warm all day. They look a bit clunky but I don't care, it's not about looking stylish anyway (usually!). Such a good value for the price, too. I would recommend them to anyone!Also: I saw in some of the reviews that people thought they were really hard to get on. I didn't have much trouble, no more than any other tall boots cause. I wore them with thick socks and jeans and had no trouble zipping them. My suggestion is if you can't zip them, get down on one knee and lean forward while you zip them. :)
    Date published: 2011-12-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cheap riding boots I don't recommend these to anyone. I bought them brand new, and the flexible part at the front of the ankle started ripping within a month. The zippers have always been tough, so I made sure I lubricated the zippers after every wearing. Still, within six months, the zipper on one boot completely broke. They are worthless. To be fair, though, the Mountain Horse Ice Tall boots were about the same quality, with the zipper breaking within one season, and at least the Tuff Riders weren't as much money. I'm sticking to lace winter paddocks and half chaps from now on. No more plastic zippers breaking!
    Date published: 2011-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very worthwhile! I have been using these boots for a few weeks now and find them extremely comfortable and warm! So far so good. I do find the zipper tricky at times but i am sure that with time this will get easier. Very happy with my purchase!
    Date published: 2011-12-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Boot, Very Warm! I love my pair, I can actually feel my feet after I come back from the barn. Hard to get on the first time but broke in after first day. Very happy with my purchase! Great pair of barn/shooling boots for the price!
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Value Reasonably priced, reliable winter boot! Really helps keep feet and toes warm. This year's version's zipper doesn't go as low as the previous version (several years ago) so is slightly harder to pull on over lots of socks....but not a "deal breaker" by any means.
    Date published: 2011-12-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Boots These boots seem really nice and very warm, but I cannot even get them to zip. I have pretty average calves (or so I thought) but the zipper doesn't come anywhere near zipping, and it's not because of the zipper either. The calves on these boots just seem very tiny, the foot fit fine though. I will be returning these for a pair of boots that come in wide calf sizes.
    Date published: 2011-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super warm, pretty snug I am very happy with the warmth of these boots--it hasn't hit truly cold season here yet, but when I thought upper thirties were cold, the combination of these boots and fleece breeches almost had me sweating! Man are these warm! If it ever gets too cold to wear fleece and these boots, it's too cold to ride :PMy only complaint is that despite sizing up (I usually get a 39), the 40 is super snug in the foot. Regular thin socks are too much, but a boot sock allows the back of the ankle to rub. I am hoping the foot will stretch/flatten out a bit, or the back will soften up a bit with wear. Or maybe I will find a perfect sock...Even so, I would buy this boot again, they are easy to ride in, don't scuff my saddle, and keep me warm, if not a little smooshed.And lest I forget, they are unexpectedly flattering on my shorter calves!
    Date published: 2011-11-20
    • 2015-05-23T08:50CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_77
    • loc_en_US, sid_5655, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.