Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

TRI-Care™ 3-Way Wound Treatment

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13496
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

An antiseptic, pain reliever and fly barrier all-in-one ointment.

TRI-Care™ 3-Way Wound Treatment lets your horse heal properly while easing his discomfort. Aids in treating topical conditions with a bacterial or fungal basis. Use TRI-Care™ 3-Way Wound Treatment on cuts, scrapes, scratches, bites, rope burns, abrasions and skin irritations.

Antiseptic action helps prevent infection while benzocaine aids in pain relief.

TRI-Care™ 3-Way Wound Treatment ointment creates a barrier against flies, germs and water. Also contains emu oil and tea tree oil to help promote healing. Easy-to-use tube keeps product clean and free of dirt and other contaminates.

Citronella scented.

Sizing

4 oz tube.
What Customers Say:

Ingredients

Active Ingredients: Benzocaine 1.5%, Salicylic Acid 1.6%

Inactive Ingredients: Menthol, sorbitan monooleate, polysorbate 80, cajaput (melaluca lucadendron – tea tree oil), thyme oil, cornmint oil, clove oil, sodium edetate disodium, benzalkonium chloride, butylated hydroxytoluene, echinacea, emu oil in a beeswax/petrolatum base.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Apply directly to the wound. Repeat 1 to 3 times daily as necessary.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "SWAT Clear formula protects wounds, open sores, scratches ...
    Description:
    "SWAT Clear formula protects wounds, open sores, scratches and abrasions from dirt and disease-carrying flies. Botanically derived pyrethrin formula repels house flies, stable flies, face flies and horn flies, killing them on contact. SWAT Clear is ideal for use on ...
    "Wonder Dust is a dressing powder and blood ...
    Description:
    "Wonder Dust is a dressing powder and blood coagulant for use on wounds, cuts, abrasions, and capillary bleeding. Will stop bleeding fast, dry up the wound, and help control granulated tissue formation- a must for any first-aid kit! Wonder Dust ...
    "Effective 24-hour poultice. One application of Icetight® Poultice ...
    Description:
    "Effective 24-hour poultice. One application of Icetight® Poultice can take the place of tubbing, icing or hosing. Icetight® Poultice will not blister or irritate the skin. Contains natural clays, glycerine, aloe vera and minerals. Icetight® Poultice washes off easily with ...
    "Deep-penetrating liniment gel provides instant relief to sore ...
    Description:
    "Deep-penetrating liniment gel provides instant relief to sore muscles & joints with coat-nourishing hyaluronic acid. Please note: Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or shipping to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. We sincerely apologize ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    TRI-Care™ 3-Way Wound Treatment is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 48.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems Good to Me This seems comparable to neosporin, although it is nice to have the big tube of it. My only complaint is that dirt sticks to it, but if you just put a thin layer it's not too bad.
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Basic for every horse-owner I keep this at the ready at all times. You never know when someone is going to rock up with a scrape or cut that needs some good anitbiotic ointment that also keeps the bugs out.
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Treatment for all types of scrapes Love this stuff. It stays on and wounds and tick bites heal quickly. My go to wound crème!
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good to have on hand For those of us living in Florida, we understand the skin problems that our hot, wet summers create for our horses. Although having only used Tricare for a few months, I can guarantee it will be apart of my arsenal for a long time. I like the barrier that it provides to protect the newly rubbed wounds, and the speed in which the wounds heal. I like the tube that I can slip in to my back pocket, and although I can't tell you that the salicylic acid does work to relieve pain (my horse hasn't told me that it does), I feel better knowing it is one of the ingredients. One thing I wish Tricare had was an ingredient to decrease itching, such as hydrocortisone. That would make it a perfect product in my books.
    Date published: 2014-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wouldn't use anything else! Love the product! Easy to apply and it helps heal wounds quickly!
    Date published: 2014-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my go to product on cuts I love TRI-care I use it on all cuts and scrapes that my horse gets and they heal up really nicely. A little really does go a long way, it last forever and it stays in place on cuts the other nice thing is that it has a pain reliever in and it has that nice citronella smell to it, to keep flies out of the cuts. I have recommend TRI-care to so many people at the barn and they love it.
    Date published: 2013-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Better Than Anything Else I have used this product on a number of different types of cuts and scrapes. It is now a permanent fixture in my grooming bag. I put it on a horse's head that he gashed open and within two days it had healed over to nice white skin. It also has helped grow hair back on my horse's older cuts. I love it because it doesn't melt in our Florida heat like some other wound ointments.
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have for your equine first aid kit TRI-Care is one of those products that I must have on hand at all times. I keep one tube in my trailer, and one in the barn. It's a wound treatment ointment that speeds up healing and soothes sores while repelling flies. It does it all...This is the only wound ointment you'll ever need.
    Date published: 2013-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great wound treatment! This stuff is great! My mare got spur rubs and they healed within a couple days after using these stuff!! It is great do anything!
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for horses and people I use this for so many purposes. If you put in on an attached tick, the tick releases and the inflammation is minimal. I use it on myself for cold sores and they heal much more quickly than anything else I've tried.The one "problem" that I've had with this is that the product includes citronella - which one of my horses is severely allergic to. Wish that wasn't an ingredient but maybe then, it wouldn't work so well.
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for OUCHIES Love this stuff - I always keep it in my grooming bag for any kind of ouchie my boy BLUE gets. Its like Neosporin for horses.
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for minor cuts and scrapes!
    Date published: 2012-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from NEOSPORIN FOR HORSES I love this stuff, my guy is the new kid in the barn so he gets a lot of cuts and scrapes. I clean it up put this on and in a few days (depending on how bad it is) it heals right up. The smell is good too, infact I'm on my second tube.
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best ointment For nicks and cuts,a s well as any lesion that attracts flies, this works wonedrful. The antibitoic helps heal the lesion, it definitley keep flies away from the wound and the pain relief helps the horse leave the wound alone. I reorder before I am out of it so I don't run out. I keep a tube in the grooming bag, one in the barn, one in trailer, everywhere!
    Date published: 2012-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has been an invaluable product for my very accident prone girl! I also like that it contains tea tree oil, which has fantastic antiseptic properties.
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seeing Results Already My horse recently got herself in an accident while turned out. I was so thankful to have some of this on hand. This was my first chance to really put it to the test with a true wound and have loved the results that I've seen so far. It's a great value for the money and has done visible repair. We still have a long way to go, but I love having this product to help.
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite!!! This is my favorite wound antiseptic ever! My gelding cut himself on his rear hip, this product not only protected it from insects, it helped it heal in days with hair already growing back! It is also good for insect/tick bites! Smells great too :)
    Date published: 2011-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well I use this for areas where may mare rubs from itchy bug bites. It seems to be working well.
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing. To better understand what TRI-Care 3-Way Wound Treatment does: It's like Neosporin Plus Pain Relief for animals with Citronella to keep bugs out of the wound. It works GREAT!
    Date published: 2011-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Very useful product. Would recomend to other SmartPak customers.
    Date published: 2011-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tri-Care is a nice, thick salve. I have enjoyed the smell (tea tree oil in it!) and it seems to help heal cuts quickly. This stuff is very thick and sticky, but easy to apply. The tube is fantastic to stick in your pocket and the flip top is so much easier and cleaner then a jar.
    Date published: 2011-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little thick I like all that TRI-Care 3-Way Wound Treatment has to offer, and it does help wounds heal faster with faster hair re-growth and less scarring. If possible, I think it's way better to be able to cover it because it's so thick it attracts a lot of dirt.
    Date published: 2010-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I love this product, it really seems to work and it smells great! Keeps the flies away, however it seems to go quickly, but the price was good as well, so no big deal to buy another one.
    Date published: 2010-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Results without Potential Side Effects I've used Tri-care for years and been pleased with the results every time plus, I'm happy not to have the potential side effects of Nitrofurazone. Nitrofurazone is a potential carcinogen with repeated exposure. Why would I put something on my horse (a mammal) that could be a carcinogen to me (a mammal)? I wear gloves so I don't contaminate the wound but not because Tri-Care says you should to avoid absorbtion into your skin. I highly recommend this product as a great alternative to Nitrofurazone.
    Date published: 2010-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What could be easier? Fight germs, flies and pain at once. Everyone seems to have "the salve" they love, but this stuff just works, starts healing right away and so easy to use. Plus, tube slips in back pocket (hard to do that with a jar) so you aren't fumbling for cap and have hands free. We keep several around so we're never out (like the neosporin is for people scrapes - invaluable!)
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST! TRI-care is the absolute best! Great for scratches and scrapes, nothing works better. Much more cost effective than Neosporin, and works better! A little sticky to apply, but, once it's on it stays there! I love this stuff and my first-aid kit and I will never be without it!
    Date published: 2010-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! This seems to work fast and does not sting the wound. I have only used it for cuts and it appears to speed up the healing.
    Date published: 2010-03-11
    • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_4
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_42
    • loc_en_US, sid_3496, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders