Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

TRI-Care™ 3-Way Wound Treatment

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13496
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

An antiseptic, pain reliever and fly barrier all-in-one ointment.

TRI-Care™ 3-Way Wound Treatment lets your horse heal properly while easing his discomfort. Aids in treating topical conditions with a bacterial or fungal basis. Use TRI-Care™ 3-Way Wound Treatment on cuts, scrapes, scratches, bites, rope burns, abrasions and skin irritations.

Antiseptic action helps prevent infection while benzocaine aids in pain relief.

TRI-Care™ 3-Way Wound Treatment ointment creates a barrier against flies, germs and water. Also contains emu oil and tea tree oil to help promote healing. Easy-to-use tube keeps product clean and free of dirt and other contaminates.

Citronella scented. 4 oz tube.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    TRI-Care™ 3-Way Wound Treatment is rated 4.9091 out of 5 by 44.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my go to product on cuts I love TRI-care I use it on all cuts and scrapes that my horse gets and they heal up really nicely. A little really does go a long way, it last forever and it stays in place on cuts the other nice thing is that it has a pain reliever in and it has that nice citronella smell to it, to keep flies out of the cuts. I have recommend TRI-care to so many people at the barn and they love it.
    Date published: 2013-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Better Than Anything Else I have used this product on a number of different types of cuts and scrapes. It is now a permanent fixture in my grooming bag. I put it on a horse's head that he gashed open and within two days it had healed over to nice white skin. It also has helped grow hair back on my horse's older cuts. I love it because it doesn't melt in our Florida heat like some other wound ointments.
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have for your equine first aid kit TRI-Care is one of those products that I must have on hand at all times. I keep one tube in my trailer, and one in the barn. It's a wound treatment ointment that speeds up healing and soothes sores while repelling flies. It does it all...This is the only wound ointment you'll ever need.
    Date published: 2013-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great wound treatment! This stuff is great! My mare got spur rubs and they healed within a couple days after using these stuff!! It is great do anything!
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for horses and people I use this for so many purposes. If you put in on an attached tick, the tick releases and the inflammation is minimal. I use it on myself for cold sores and they heal much more quickly than anything else I've tried.The one "problem" that I've had with this is that the product includes citronella - which one of my horses is severely allergic to. Wish that wasn't an ingredient but maybe then, it wouldn't work so well.
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for OUCHIES Love this stuff - I always keep it in my grooming bag for any kind of ouchie my boy BLUE gets. Its like Neosporin for horses.
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from NEOSPORIN FOR HORSES I love this stuff, my guy is the new kid in the barn so he gets a lot of cuts and scrapes. I clean it up put this on and in a few days (depending on how bad it is) it heals right up. The smell is good too, infact I'm on my second tube.
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best ointment For nicks and cuts,a s well as any lesion that attracts flies, this works wonedrful. The antibitoic helps heal the lesion, it definitley keep flies away from the wound and the pain relief helps the horse leave the wound alone. I reorder before I am out of it so I don't run out. I keep a tube in the grooming bag, one in the barn, one in trailer, everywhere!
    Date published: 2012-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has been an invaluable product for my very accident prone girl! I also like that it contains tea tree oil, which has fantastic antiseptic properties.
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seeing Results Already My horse recently got herself in an accident while turned out. I was so thankful to have some of this on hand. This was my first chance to really put it to the test with a true wound and have loved the results that I've seen so far. It's a great value for the money and has done visible repair. We still have a long way to go, but I love having this product to help.
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite!!! This is my favorite wound antiseptic ever! My gelding cut himself on his rear hip, this product not only protected it from insects, it helped it heal in days with hair already growing back! It is also good for insect/tick bites! Smells great too :)
    Date published: 2011-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well I use this for areas where may mare rubs from itchy bug bites. It seems to be working well.
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing. To better understand what TRI-Care 3-Way Wound Treatment does: It's like Neosporin Plus Pain Relief for animals with Citronella to keep bugs out of the wound. It works GREAT!
    Date published: 2011-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Very useful product. Would recomend to other SmartPak customers.
    Date published: 2011-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tri-Care is a nice, thick salve. I have enjoyed the smell (tea tree oil in it!) and it seems to help heal cuts quickly. This stuff is very thick and sticky, but easy to apply. The tube is fantastic to stick in your pocket and the flip top is so much easier and cleaner then a jar.
    Date published: 2011-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little thick I like all that TRI-Care 3-Way Wound Treatment has to offer, and it does help wounds heal faster with faster hair re-growth and less scarring. If possible, I think it's way better to be able to cover it because it's so thick it attracts a lot of dirt.
    Date published: 2010-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I love this product, it really seems to work and it smells great! Keeps the flies away, however it seems to go quickly, but the price was good as well, so no big deal to buy another one.
    Date published: 2010-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Results without Potential Side Effects I've used Tri-care for years and been pleased with the results every time plus, I'm happy not to have the potential side effects of Nitrofurazone. Nitrofurazone is a potential carcinogen with repeated exposure. Why would I put something on my horse (a mammal) that could be a carcinogen to me (a mammal)? I wear gloves so I don't contaminate the wound but not because Tri-Care says you should to avoid absorbtion into your skin. I highly recommend this product as a great alternative to Nitrofurazone.
    Date published: 2010-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What could be easier? Fight germs, flies and pain at once. Everyone seems to have "the salve" they love, but this stuff just works, starts healing right away and so easy to use. Plus, tube slips in back pocket (hard to do that with a jar) so you aren't fumbling for cap and have hands free. We keep several around so we're never out (like the neosporin is for people scrapes - invaluable!)
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST! TRI-care is the absolute best! Great for scratches and scrapes, nothing works better. Much more cost effective than Neosporin, and works better! A little sticky to apply, but, once it's on it stays there! I love this stuff and my first-aid kit and I will never be without it!
    Date published: 2010-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! This seems to work fast and does not sting the wound. I have only used it for cuts and it appears to speed up the healing.
    Date published: 2010-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best first aid kit item...ever! I love this stuff! It is cheaper than neosporin, and works so much better. I don't like the way that neosporin seems to disapear 10 seconds after you apply it....this stuff really sticks on there (even while turned out!) and protects the wound, while helping it heal. It also really keeps flies away, and does releave pain. My tack box won't ever be without it! Buy it, you won't be disappointed!
    Date published: 2009-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST OUT THERE! NOT JUST FOR HORSES EITHER! I have had horses for over 20yrs and this is by far the best product for most wounds, cuts and abrasions. In the summer it is great to treat with plus keep the flys away but the triple antibiotic ingredient and the pain reliever help year round.. it is cheaper than Neosporin but does the same thing and has the added pain relief! I have also used it on my dogs after they have gotten into it with eachother and it worked great and prevented infection....Only bad part is getting the smell off your hands but nothing warm water and soap won't fix...WELL WORTH IT! I keep two, one in the barn and one in the trailer..
    Date published: 2009-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! I use this ointment for everything from scrapes and kicks to bug bites. The citronella really keeps the flies away and helps heal up those minor cuts and scratches that my horse gets really well. Apparently there is also a little bit of pain reliever in it as well, which is nice. Love this stuff!
    Date published: 2009-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from First aid kit in one tube! This is my staple first aid ointment! I love that it's non toxic and side-effect free, but works wonders on all sorts of maladies. I use it on anything from scratches to bad bites (horse or fly caused). My grooming/first aid kit will never be without it.
    Date published: 2009-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Good Ointment I bought this stuff as an alternative to other, messier ointments. It works well but it does attract dirt and shavings like crazy so I often have to wash the cut and reapply with a new layer. I would recommend this over other antiseptics on the market though.
    Date published: 2009-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have!!! This product actually does what it claims.Help heal cuts and scrapes and creates the best barrier protection of any product I have ever used. My horses know when the smell this that relief is on the way. Will never be out of this product.
    Date published: 2009-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is great! I will keep using this product. It does everything it claims-keeps bugs away, fights infection, and doesn't hurt going on. One of my horses that currently has a nasty cut on his belly actually seems to want me to put it on him. He smelled it in my hand and offered me his belly before I got there. Very good product!
    Date published: 2009-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Essential in your tack trunk Get this product. It's light, spreads easily and doesn't bother the horses. It's also a large tube so will last through many boo boos! Heals wounds quickly and great for a variety of wounds - from girth sores to scrapes.
    Date published: 2009-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very versatile!!!! TRI-Care 3-Way Wound Treatments is the one stop fix for almost every skin issue that your horse has. It soothes sunburn, moisturizes dry and cracked skin, keeps flies off of cuts, and grows hair back when wounds have healed. It replaces vaseline, Swat, MTG, and every wound ointment!! This is a must have for your tack box!!!
    Date published: 2009-05-18
    • 2015-08-30T15:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_38
    • loc_en_US, sid_3496, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.