Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Tredstep Pro G2 Half Chap

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #20376
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Tredstep Pro G2 Half Chap is "The Choice of Professionals.”  Tredstep’s Pro G-2 offers sleek styling with classic elegance. The combination of supple calf skin and their exclusive stretch leather ensures a soft contoured fit while maintaining full flexibility and comfort. A truly smart look with great performance in or out of the ring.

Tredstep’s exclusive stretch leather rear panels each side of a full length back zip with zip keeper. YKK zippers and snaps. Premium full grain leather lining, swagger tab and flex gusset over instep.

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tredstep Pro G2 Half Chap is rated 3.7727 out of 5 by 44.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! love these chaps! theyre absolutely gorgeous on and look like tall boots! they have held up very nicely so far being ridden in 5+ days a week. they stretched a tiny bit since I've gotten them but still fit very well. very happy with this product!
    Date published: 2015-04-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from BUY ARIAT OR ANY OTHER BRAND awful it ripped in a few months, they're pretty, but not durable. Go with ariat or any other brand because you could be riding in a dress and it would hold up better than tredstep.
    Date published: 2015-04-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too flimsy I ride a lot of horses per day and these are too flimsy and poorly made to hold up. I returned them.
    Date published: 2014-10-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Elegant I bought these to replace some not very old Ariat Chaps. They seem very durable and look quite elegant on. The zipper is a little tricky to start as it zips from the bottom up.
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from TRASH Bought these in September and ripped while I was riding, must have been a week. So I returned them and used an old pair of chaps until I decided to get these chaps again in January. Big Mistake. I ride one horse daily for about an hour sometimes more than one horse, but usually just one. I started to noticed holes on the inside of the leather and then today 8months later, the zipper broke while riding. The funny thing is the chaps fit perfectly, just poorly made. My trainer replaces her tredstep gear every Christmas and now I know why. Better off to buy a nicer brand such as Pinnell(my friend has had hers for 3years and still look like new). Will never buy another tredstep product.
    Date published: 2014-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big Improvement Since Last Year's Version I was a big fan of the Tredstep Pro Gaiters (nice leather, tall boot look and DURABLE!!) and tried to buy them again when my pair died last year. Sadly, I found out they were discontinued. So I tried the G2 Half Chap - 3 pairs of them. (Thank you SmartPak Customer Service for being so fantastic!!) The zippers broke within the first month of use (I'm a weekend only rider). The leather was coarse and overly stretchy. I hated them, but there was no other pair that looked like tall boots.So when my pair died recently, I looked around for a pair of half chaps that were reasonably priced and looked like tall boots. I found nothing new, so was forced to try the G2 again. So happy I did!!The current version of the G2 has a nicer leather - not as solid as the Gaiter, but a much finer grain than last year's version. The zipper has worked well so far, but that's TBD. I'm really happy with how they look and fit. I'm almost tempted to buy another pair and keep them in reserve in case Tredstep changes them back.
    Date published: 2014-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good chaps These have lasted my daughter for 2 years now - almost 3 and still doing well- she's hard on them. Clean up easily & good fit- will be getting more because she's grown taller. Not sure why seeing negative reviews- 2nd daughter also has a pair & lasting just as long. Both are hard to fit!
    Date published: 2014-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The first pair I ordered I had to return , they were way toobig in the ankle. Got the next size down, fit very nice.One of the few half chaps that come in a 19" height. Love the tall boot look.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Love the style and fit, but hate the zipper I really like the style and fit of these chaps.  I don't care for chaps with the panel over the top of the foot, and these are the only ones I've ever found without that.  The quality of the leather is fine, and there's a great selection of calf sizes and heights.But, I've worn these chaps *maybe* 10 times and every single time, the zippers unzip while I'm riding.  And today, while I was putting my chaps on, at the halfway point on my left leg, the zipper stuck and I was unable to get it up or down.  I had to vetwrap the top of the chap so I could go have my lesson.  I had to rip the zipper open in order to get the chap off.   I plan to return these chaps to SmartPak and find another option.  Too bad, because I really would have liked these if the zipper hadn't been awful.  
    Date published: 2014-01-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for the serious rider I am HARD on my half chaps. I ride between 3-10 horses a day, 5 days a week. I've always been a fan of Tredstep because their 15/17s fit me like custom - Ariats are too big in the ankle, other brands droop, etc.My original chaps failed with holes in the calves in March, so I went with the new G2s expecting high-quality tall boot type feel and finish.The leather ended up feeling stiff, sort of cheap, and looked dull. The right snap broke on my FIRST ride. I actually contacted Smartpak and they told me that had been a problem; they offered to resolve it, but I opted to deal.By August, I had gaping holes in both calves. Yes, I ride a lot but I'm not particularly hard on them otherwise.By November, they were threadbare, the zippers were broken, the elastic had pulled away from the leather, and the holes had turned into huge openings running the entire lengths of my calves.So, I spent a pretty penny on a pair of half chaps that stayed in good condition for 5 months. Seeing that this was the second pair to experience the exact same failures in a ridiculously short period of time, I won't be buying Tredsteps again.My Tredstep Giotto paddock boots lasted me 7 months (which included THREE zipper repairs). The long-term quality of their products is terrible.
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Is there a Zero Stars Option? I am updating my prior review of these half chaps. When I got them, they fit nicely and had an elegant look and feel. I had a pair of Tredstep Deluxe half chaps that lasted for 4 years or so.I've had these since February. So, 8 months? I am not a trainer doing multiple rides a day. I ride one horse on them, and not even 7 days a week. The back panels began tearing probably within the first 3-4 months. I was disappointed, but figured that as long as they still fitted, they'd be fine. Over the past 2 months now, the back panels have completely shredded. I don't know what designer decided to put elastic with a flimsy layer of leather close to where the calf contacts the saddle, but it was extremely ill-advised.I can live with holes in my chaps and even the untidy appearance that brings. But now, due to the shredded back panel, the chaps don't even fit anymore. The width has increased substantially, causing my breeches to rub my calves now.I am EXTREMELY disappointed in these chaps. I would think that for this price point they would last at least a year. I will never buy or recommend a Tredstep product again. And I intend to contact Smartpak and Tredstep about taking back these awful half chaps.
    Date published: 2013-10-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Sure About These Have only had these half chaps for a few weeks, but based on the feel of the leather and the zipper, I don't expect them to last very long. They feel particularly cheap, which was disappointing based on the cost. My guess is the zipper will break first. I would not purchase these again, even though nothing has happened...yet.
    Date published: 2013-10-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I have to admit, I'm a bit shocked by all these glowing reviews.The only thing in the plus column for these is that I love the fit and style. (I wear a 15 calf, 19 height, which isn't that easy to find, and these fit my calves and ankles perfectly).But the quality of the leather is terrible. It seems cheap and dry with an unattractive wrinkly texture (I'm not describing that well) and that's with multiple conditioning attempts.And the stitching and stretch panel are both both fraying along the bottom - more with each wear, and I would estimate that I've only worn these only about 20 times total so far.If these were half the price, then maybe, but at this price I expect a little more.My riding buddy is having the exact same experience (and we've both had Tredsteps in the past that we loved and wore well). Hers have the same unnattractive texture and are wearing just as poorly and in the same places.But I did buy these (as did she) last summer (say June 2012). Maybe we got ours from a bad batch?
    Date published: 2013-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant The ProG2 provides a nice slim line, tall boot like look for an elegant appearance. I had to try several different half chaps to get the right fit (too baggy around my ankles) and I ended up sizing down an inch in the calf from what I measured for this pair. Measured 13/17, got 12/17. I am VERY happy that I did. At first, I thought I'd never be able to zip it all the way up my slightly larger left leg :) but, I did and the ankle fits so much better. I wore them around the house for awhile and worked to zip/unzip them a few times before riding in them. They were wonderful to ride in. Seem very high quality, easy to clean, but I can't speak to their durability, yet.
    Date published: 2013-09-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Chaps These are beautiful chaps. I have a very wide calf and I measure right at 16". I ordered a size 16 calf and unfortunately, they are so tight, I am afraid that I am going to break the zipper. I thought that there was going to be a bit more stretch. That being said, I have had problems finding a good fit with most boots as well. I hope that maybe they will stretch a little more with regular wear. They are just gorgeous chaps and with sleek paddock boots, it looks like you are wearing a full tall boot! They have a great cut that just hugs the whole leg.
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Investment I bought these half chaps because I was concerned about trashing my good field boots. However, I need something that mimics my good boots when I take lessons, so that the feel is consistent. These are excellent quality, and feel just like a full boot. They appear to be durable, and I look forward to many years with this product. I would recommend it to anyone.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice Semi Custom Half Chaps Got these for my 11 year old. Treadstep offered the only option in her measurements (tall with very thin calf). It is a quality product. They look really sharp with her black paddock boots. There was a small break in period where she was wearing them without zipping up to the top. Beware, the leather scratches easily. I still like the leather of my Ariat Covington's better. Overall, we are very happy with our purchase. Picture soon to come.
    Date published: 2013-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from took a chance and I'm glad i did I wrote a review on these the other week where i was unsure of them (been an ariat girl for YEARS). but after riding in them a few times i deiced i liked them. the only real issue i have with them is the elastic that goes under the boot is a bit big witch makes the ankle a little "loose" however i found that my spur strap helps to keep it from being too bad and i do plan on taking them to a cobbler to have the elastic shortened. I do really like the look of them and I also like that they have a similar feel to tall boots while in the saddle. they are by far the best fitting chaps i have been able to find with out going custom. I'm a 13" calf 16" hight and i find these are pretty true to size. I just might have been converted from ariat ;)
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these chaps I found these chaps fit perfectly (I measured 13 1/2" on my calf and I rounded up to 14" and a 16 1/2" on the height and I, again, rounded up to a 17") and they look really great. I haven't had them long so I can't attest to their durability but the leather is high quality and I anticipate them wearing well in the future. I had no issues breaking them in. They look great on the leg and are not bulky around the ankle like many chaps. I would recommend these to anyone looking for an attractive half chap that fits well.
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I REALLLLY wanted to like these i did...but... I Just got these as a Birthday gift and I was so excited about them. They look great and I love all the sizes they come in (makes it much easier to find a pair to fit me). But the ankle area is almost what id call baggy/wide and the elastic that goes under the foot is too long witch makes the chap "balloon" out around my boot when i walk or push my heel down (in riding position). Also they are very stiff. I really was hoping these would work because as the temperature gets warmer this spring I'm getting tired of wearing my winter riding boots every day (my old chaps are broken)...back to the drawing board i guess... :(
    Date published: 2013-04-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Half Chap These half chaps are great so far. I have only had them for about 3 weeks but they have a nice look to them and didn't take much to break in. The only negative about them in my opinion is the small zipper and zipper pull, although larger zipper would detract from the sleek look of the chap.
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely half chaps! Tried these vs. the TS Deluxe ones (which I had for the past 5 or so years). Both are very nice. These were a bit more aerodynamic (as hubby put it) and really offer a more tidy look. Also, I am able to put my spurs on over them without having to adjust the straps too much. Can't speak to durability yet as I've just had them a week or so.I will say, if you get these half chaps -- use some sticky spray the first few times you ride in them! I did not and fell right off when my 4 yo mare spooked and dropped her shoulder. I usually stay glued on when she does that, but these just weren't quite as grippy right out of the box as the Deluxe ones are (or as my 5 yo Deluxe ones are).
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst treadstep product I have ever seen Noticed immediately that the leather was cheap and not the normal Treadstep quality that I have become used to over the last 15 years. I have exclusively worn Treadstep half chaps and found them to be a good value product so ordering another pair was a no brainer. Wrong. The sizing ran large around the ankle and they were stiff as boards. I then compared the old Treadsteps (same product) to the new ones side by side and found them wanting in many respects including inferior stiching, but most glaringly the poor quality of leather that was used for the new pair. I highly doubt they are produced in Ireland anymore despite the labeling and am dissapointed to be let down after depending on Treadstep to deliver a quality product after all these years.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice I was a bit weary when I bought these, because I had a pair of (cheap) Tredstep half chaps that fell apart within months and made me nervous about the brand, and previous reviews said they ran small. First off, I measured my leg, and when I got these, they fit perfectly. I ride every day, and these have held up fantastically. A side note: the ribbed leather on the back has been worn smooth, so it looks like the back on the Tredstep Donatello Field boots, but this has not affected their use in any way. These help me keep me leg on, and they look great doing it.
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very dissapointed I was really hoping for a top quality half chap that I could show in now and then. This was not it. It looked really sloppy and the leather felt cheap.
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loyal tredstep customer I am a loyal tredstep customer and finally had to buy a new pair of half chaps after mine were shredded from use. The tredstep chaps that zip up the back seemed to have mixed reviews but these chaps are so easy to zip after you get used to it and require no break in/stretch out time. They fit slightly big if you expect to have super tight half chaps that stretch over time. These fit perfectly right out of the box. They are so gorgeous with my tredstep paddock boots that I almost feel guilty wearing them every day. Everybody at my barn says they look like nice quality tall boots when I ride. Could not be happier with the price, quality and they seem to be made just as well as the tredstep deluxe that I always buy. Very happy with these!!!
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best half chaps I've purchased Worth every penny! Fits great, super comfortable, nice supple leather and they look fabulous.
    Date published: 2012-11-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Quality In just 3 rides, these chaps fell apart: 1) the top emblem along the spanish topline came off 2) the stitching on the inner calf started coming undone 3) the color wore off in the inner leg...also they don't conform to the leg, very boxy feeling and the leather is stiff and poor quality even after multiple oilings. I'm usually not one to give bad reviews but wow, these chaps are awful. I heard very good things about tredstep boots but these chaps are not their best product.
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good with a Couple of Exceptions It's a good product. The size runs small, so after you measure your calf, add an inch. The other thing is that the hardware, snaps, are really hard to do and undo. Also, I hate the ribbed leather, which does nothing but collect and hold dirt. It's a good quality of leather and lasts a long time, and Treadstep is the only chap maker I've found that offers a real variety of sizes. I just purchased a new pair of Tredsteps with no ribbed leather and a good snap, and I'm sure I'll like these much better.
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Perfect!! I cannot say how much I LOVE these half chaps! I am extreamly tall (I have a 36" inseam) and so it's almost impossible for me to find boots or half chaps that aren't custom that will even come close to fitting me. When I read that these are too tall for a lot of people, I knew they were for me. They fit PERFECTLY!! And I can't tell you how often I have been complimented on them. I'm also a trainer and do nothing but work and ride and so far they have held up without any trouble. They've broken in to fit like a glove around my calf (my amazing fiance stretched them a little when I first got them with coke bottles!) and they don't restrict me in the least when I ride.
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    • 2016-05-03T15:23CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_43
    • loc_en_US, sid_10376, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders