Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Tredstep Original Half Chaps

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #13215
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tredstep Elasticized Half Chaps are designed for working riders who need the best in function and fit, this is a great every day half chap. Every shape and size of the Tredstep Elasticized Half Chaps is catered for with an assured fit.

Imported

Favorite Features 

  • Elasticized panel hugs the leg like a second skin, giving a fit and comfort like none other
  • YKK zippers and snaps
  • Suede. Black or Chocolate

Sizing

Sizes are quoted by calf then height from ankle bone to back of knee.
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Piper Polka Dot Waterproof Jacket is the ...
    Description:
    "The Piper Polka Dot Waterproof Jacket is the perfect lightweight jacket to add to your outerwear collection! Also features a concealed full zip front closure for added protection from the elements. Imported"
    "A classic black show shirt is perfect for ...
    Description:
    "A classic black show shirt is perfect for the breed and quarter horse classes. The breathable stretch fabric will make you feel just as great as you will look, especially during the warm show season! Machine wash or dry clean. ...
    "The Ariat Close Contour Half Chap is built ...
    Description:
    "The Ariat Close Contour Half Chap is built with thoughtful design, durable construction, and top-quality zippers. These half chaps are made from premium full-grain waxed leather with a hung leather lining and oiled leather inner calf panel. They have a ...
    "Our Kids Half Chaps are made of elegant ...
    Description:
    "Our Kids Half Chaps are made of elegant suede with a tall, form-fitting leg, elasticized panels, curved Spanish tops, hidden, heavy duty zipper, snap over bottom closure, reinforced inner leg. Brown. Sizes Medium (6) and Large (8-10). Imported."
    Why We Love This The Personalized New Englander Rain ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Personalized New Englander Rain Jacket is an attractive way to stay dry! 100% wind and waterproof with heat-sealed seams, the mesh-lined body provides breathability while the nylon-lined sleeves make it easy to take on and off. ...
    "Enjoy all of the comfort and benefits of ...
    Description:
    "Enjoy all of the comfort and benefits of our softshell fabric with the traditional look of a 4-button dressage show coat. Made of a solid stretch soft shell material that is stain resistant and water repellant, the RJ Classics Soft ...
    "Tuff Rider Plus Rider Field Boot is a ...
    Description:
    "Tuff Rider Plus Rider Field Boot is a soft leather field boot which features a wider calf, in addition to two stretchable leather gussets on either side of the zipper, so every rider can find the perfect fit. A breathable ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tredstep Original Half Chaps is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 86.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable Chaps! Can I just say wow! For the price range, these are definitely great chaps. I only really stumbled upon the Tredstep Ireland brand last year & have very quickly become a BIG fan! These chaps feel like a second skin when you put them on--so comfortable! And you get a much more customized fit when Tredstep chaps, since you take your calf & height measurement to order your size. Highly recommend & these go great with the Giotto lace-up paddock boots!
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tredstep half chaps Very good quality for the price. They run small, had to return the first two pair. Third time was a charm thanks to Smart Pak free shipping return policy. They are comfortable right from the start.
    Date published: 2012-11-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good so far I can't rate the durability of these half chaps, as I've only had them a few months. The fit is perfect. My only criticism is that the suede could be a tad bit thicker.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chaps Great for short people with wide calfs!
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So many sizes! These are the only half chaps that I can find to fit my size! I just wish the smooth leather tredstep half chaps were less expensive. At least they fit!
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Half Chap Good suede half chaps. I'm short and muscular so I am shorter with wider calfs, so I ordered a 15/15. I was going to go with a 14/15 but upon other research learned as the width stretches, the hight of the overall chap decreases. My left calf width is 15, and my right is 15.75" after wearing for a few rides they are much easier to zipper up, but initially had a very snug fit. Love the sizing chart!
    Date published: 2012-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite I use these half chaps every time I ride, and have continued to use this brand and style for over 8 years! I've had to get new ones every couple of years when the part of the calf that contacts the horse becomes too smoothed out and loses its grip. A stiff wire brush fixes that temporarily. With every pair i've gotten (3 total), the same issue comes up but it's not a big flaw for me: The snap closure at the bottom gets more and more difficult over time to undo. Its as if its getting rusted shut but there's never any rust. Eventually, the snap either breaks while i'm trying to pry it apart or I cut the whole piece off, which is no big deal because I've never needed it to keep the zipper from sliding up or anything.
    Date published: 2012-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy duty zippers - great!!! I bought a pair of cheaper half chaps a couple of years ago, and the zippers kept coming apart. The first thing I noticed about the Tredsteps, were the heavy duty zippers! I love the variety of sizes, as I am short, and have a wide calf. These half chaps broke in very quickly, and are very comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally A Good Pair of Half Chaps I finally broke down and bought a better pair of half chaps. My old cheap pair were falling apart and kept sliding down my legs. These chaps have no such problem. They have been used regularly and don't slide down at all. At first I thought that they were a bit snug, but after using them a bit they started fitting better around my calves.
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect fit as measured I measure 16/16... ordered these down a size in height based on reviews (but ordered my true calf width). Turned out the width was perfect as measured, and so was the height-- I had to return the first pair of 16/15 for 16/16, and the fit was great. Have only used them a few times, but seem like they'll be durable. Would definitely buy again.
    Date published: 2012-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from did have to order one inch down I ordered one inch down on both height and width, as according to other reviews. they are perfect. :) love the stretch panel and the rich brown color-definitely not a wimpy brown. it's nowhere near black- it's actually brown. sometimes I find that brown chaps aren't very brown. anyways. grrreat buy. :) highly recommend. not sure about durability yet. I hope they last!
    Date published: 2012-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great customer service theses are great half chaps and wow what great service I order wrong color then wrong size and there was no hastle returning them 2 times and getting the right size and color, smart pak is the best ever and free shipping is SUPER thanks so much
    Date published: 2012-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from exactly the schooling half-chaps i wanted! these are a great value for half-chaps under $100. you can customize the fit, they look nice, so far they seem quite durable, and i think they will last me quite awhile.I was looking for a pair of half-chaps for schooling that would fit my short & wide calfs. I'm a larger person who is normally a 14 petite, so i have a very short & very wide calf (almost "square" in measurements if you will). after trying out some different half-chaps at my barn and reading all the reviews for different ones, i decided to try the Tredsteps because they offered so many different size combinations.I had to send back the first pair for being too long, but i was easily able to get the second pair to fit correctly. the large elastic panel is GREAT for getting that perfect tight fit. ****PLEASE NOTE**** you might want to order 1"-2" shorter than your actual calf length measurement to get the right fit. as i'm so short-legged i ordered 2" shorter than what was recommended and got the fit exactly right. the calf width measurement was spot on.***ALSO*** if you have trouble with the zipper, get it started then pull the elastic panels together and it easily zips right down. it took me a few minutes to figure that out, now i can zip them on & off very quickly & easily.******i worried that these chaps would be too tight at first, but after 5 rides they are broken in. they have a nice look and the black compliments my more expensive Ariat paddock boots perfectly. i do not get rubs/bruises from my stirrup leathers anymore, and these half-chaps are not very hot either. i bathe horses in them and they do not get wet.as i ride about 3-4x/week, i will keep you posted on how they wear. so far these still look brand new.
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Half Chaps I love these half chaps. I get a new pair every year....last year, I thought I'd get a little nicer pair, and went with the Tredstep Xtreme Suede half chap - they are terrible. I didn't even realize how much I loved these half chaps until I got my new pair this year! They fit beautifully right out of the box, hold up for a year (as long as half chaps have ever held up for me!), and are a huge value for the money. I'm never going away from these half chaps again!
    Date published: 2012-06-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for Her My daughter did not like these chaps at all. They didn't fit right, the calf was too big, and they were at least an inch too short. She didn't like how when you zipped the chaps, the style prevented you from fully zipping them to the bottom by material covering th zipper. These chaps were not what she expected from reading the reviews. She never wore them riding so Ican't remark on the durability of them. Since she was so unhappy with these chaps, we returned them. All in all, these chaps were not for her.
    Date published: 2012-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from should have bought these a year ago stiff initially; soften up over time.Feel great.
    Date published: 2012-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sturdy close fitting halfchaps at good price Thes are nice halfchaps at a good price. I love the elasticized calves and the snaps at the ends of the zippers. They fit a little tight, but loosen up over a little time. They are attractive and seem durable. I have only had them a month or so, si I am not sure yet. I think the value is excellent!!!
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and the Fit is Awesome!! These are my favorite pair of chaps! The look is just awesome and their durability blows other chaps out of the water! I love these for my witer riding because they are really flexable and offer more room over thick, fleece-lined breeches. I'll totally buy these again when my pair wears out. But I know I won't be buying them soon!!
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from These are really good These are my first pair of chaps. I have been using them for about two months now... They have been easy keepers. They wipe clean, go on easy, and do what they are supposed to. They were a little tall when I first got them. Thanks smartpak for letting me try on three pairs. However, Where the snap is.. the elastic by the snap... one of the elastics is correct, but one seems to have a little more amount of fabric which is making it harder to unsnap it after a ride because it stretches out too far. In other words too much elastic connecting the snap on one side, and just right on the other... overall excellent chaps.
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best EVER! These chaps are incredible! They fit nice and snug, but not too tight. The quality is great it feels like they will last a while. This is my first pair of chaps ever and I think I went with the best ones! I had to order three pair though, and smartpak was great about the returns. I ended up with a 15/15, but almost wish someone made a 15/14.5 because that is more like it. Overall quality product. Thanks Smartpak!
    Date published: 2012-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great chaps! i haven't been using them long, but they are wonderful so far!! ordered exact size measured and fit perfectly!!
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Snap Issues The half chaps are very nice except for one fault - the snaps. My daughter (12) had an extremely hard time getting them to unsnap and eventually (after only 1 month) the snap pulled out of the leather strap. I had to replace the snaps (luckily I am adept to sewing and knew how to install new snaps).
    Date published: 2012-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from these are the best half chaps I have ever worn and I have tried a LOT of them
    Date published: 2012-02-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from get the next size larger Good value and looks great - however, I wish I took other's advice and ordered the next size up - I didn't. I measured exactly, and ordered the correct size - which did NOT fit - returned without any hassle and the next size up was perfect.Haven't tried them out yet (weather rotten for riding, and no indoor facilities) but seems OK - I gave 3 stars (average) for durability, but i dont really know yet.
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Snug fit I measured for these half chaps very accurately, and yet I still had to send them back for the next size up. There was absolutely NO hassle about the return, in fact, I received the replacement shipment before I even sent back the original order! I would recommend (as did MANY others) to save yourself some time and aggravation, order the next size up. have not gotten a chance to use them yet, but I'm thinking they will become easier to zipper once I have them broken in a while.
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Half Chaps I had been looking forever for half chaps tall enough for me (6 ft). Finally found this brand at a local tack store in the right calf width but not the height. Was told they could order them from Tredstep and have them to me in 6-8 weeks!Went to my every reliable SmartPak site and there they were - AND they could be shipped out immediately!Love, love, love this half chap - got the brown just for something different to have and everyone comments on them. They fit great and the elastic panel ensures a snug fit. They were hard to zip the first day but that has gotten easier with each use as they loosen up. They do no creep like my last pair and they fit so much better than the so called custom half chaps I had made and then returned.Love them, love the service with SmartPak
    Date published: 2011-12-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairly Good I bought these half chaps about a month ago and they are holding up pretty good with 4-5 days of riding a week. The only thing I would say about them is that they run a little large, I wish I had ordered one size down both in width and height from what I measured.
    Date published: 2011-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product I bought these based on reviews here. They replace my Ariat half chaps. I like these better. Nice looking, comfy, seem durable. As others have noted, do order one size up for calf size.
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Order a size up Great value. I highly suggest to order the next width size. Other brands have fitted to a tee and I was able to wear chaps over slim jeans. Otherwise that are great value.
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tight calf fit My calf width measured 13 inches. I ordered the 13 width. I would recommend ordering a size up, especially if you want to wear them over jeans or bulkier breeches. Otherwise an excellent buy.
    Date published: 2011-11-01
    • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_11
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_77
    • loc_en_US, sid_3215, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders