Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Tredstep Donatello Field Boot

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #19485
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tredstep presents the "rebirth" of beautiful, classically designed boots reinterpreted to offer the rider unparalleled performance, comfort, and fit. Incorporating the first ever design of a top class boot which flexes with the rider, this boot enhances the effectiveness and comfort of the riding experience. This innovation is enveloped in exquisite leather and beautiful lines offering unsurpassed sophisticated luxury.

Favorite Features

  • Rear stretch panel and top gusset ensure a slim, contoured fit
  • Innovative ankle flexion design reduces break in time
  • Side spur rests
  • Rolled toe cap
  • Full-length heavy duty YKK coil zipper
  • Imported

Sizing It Up

37 (US 6.5-7)
38 (US 7.5)
39 (US 8-8.5)
40 (US 9)
41 (US 9.5-10)
42 (US 10.5)

Field Boots Comparison Chart
 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tredstep Donatello Field Boot is rated 4.5047 out of 5 by 212.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! Just bought them and wore them twice - one was a clinic.. they were easy to wear right out of the box, beautiful fit for my funny legs and instantly fell in love with their look as soon as I pulled them out of the box. Please don't stop making these! (Although I do hope they last a long time...)
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great first pair of boots I bought these for my 13-year old daughter as her first pair of tall boots. The extra-slim calf fits perfectly. After warning her in advance about the horrors of breaking in new boots, it was a total non-issue. The backs of her knees were a little sensitive for a few days, and that was it. She loves them and says they are very comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good until.. I bought these boots in July last summer, so I have owned them for just under a year now. When I first bought these boots I was in love. I loved all the size options, and they fit like custom. I didn't get a single blister breaking them in. I got a ton of compliments on them. Later this winter, the boots began to drop dramatically, and especially around my ankles, it know pinches me when I walk. Also the zipper pulls continuously get stuck in a twisted way that makes it impossible to unzip my boots, and eventually fell off. The leather has held up very nice. I would still recommend these boots however. Although I will probably have to replace them in a couple months, my feet were outgrowing them anyway.
    Date published: 2014-03-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a great buy I've had and been using these since September of 2013. At first, I loved them. They looked great, were tall enough, fit like customs, and didn't hurt. But, just like all Tredstep products (I've been through probably 6 pairs of Tredstep half chaps in 6 months), the zippers gave out on me around December. Now I can't even get once around the ring without the zippers being down on my ankle and the back of my calf uncovered. Plus, I noticed a few weeks ago that they're no longer black, but a dark green color. I can't imagine why this happened, especially because I take great care of them, keeping them clean and conditioned regularly. I'm going to take them in to my local shoe repair guy to get the zippers replaced because I don't have the time to send them back or deal with that, but as for the ugly coloring, I guess I'll just have to make sure I get black polish on them right before I go in the show ring and pray it works. I don't know why I thought these would be different, but I guess I was hopeful. In hind sight, no, I wouldn't buy or recommend to others.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase! I bought these because someone on my IHSA team had them and loved them.. Took 2 rides to break them in and the leather is super soft. They fit like a glove! I bought them because 2 pairs of my Ariats have busted zippers and I wanted to try a new brand.
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Falling apart after a year of light use. I bought a pair just barely a year ago and they have already developed 2 holes on the outside part of the calf where the rear stretch panel is pulling away from the seam (a few more wears and you'll be able to see my socks through them!). This has been with relatively light wear--my horses live with my trainer in a different state so I've only worn them an average of 4-5 times every 2 months over the past year. I had rather liked them and they fit me pretty well for an off-the-rack boot, so I'm really disappointed.
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I needed new tall boots and I went to my local tack store and these were one of the first kinds I tried one. They were a little tall, they had heal lifts, which were helpful
    Date published: 2014-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots I've Ever Owned After ordering and returning, and I kid you not, 7 pairs of boots from various stores, I finally got these in the mail, tried them on, and instantly fell in love. They are so comfortable and took very little time to break in. Overall, an absolutely wonderful boot!
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from were fabulous, but newer ones have issues I have a pair I have ridden in for a few years, and they were fabulous boots. The new pair I got had one fabulous boot, and one with weird, plastic-like leather. I sent them back and Smartpak sent me another pair. The leather is lovely. But the zipper pulls don't have a double joint, so the pull sticks out, looks bad, and can stratch the saddle. I will take them to a shoe repair shop to see if they can replace that.
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, But... I ordered these boots to replace my beloved Ariat tall boots I've had for years. When these boots arrived I was very impressed at the quality of the leather and overall beauty. Unfortunately, I am a size six and the smallest size these boots come in is a 6.5/7.5. I was hoping they ran a bit small but they were true to size. I had to return them because the foot was just a little too big. However the rest of the boot fit and looked great!
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots! My trainer recommends these boots to everyone so I decided to get my own pair. unfortunately, I made a mistake in the measuring and they did not fit so I returned them. Personally, I can't speak on the quality and durability of this product because I haven't had mine long, but my trainer has had her's for several years and adores them.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Of the Bunch! Really all I can say is GREAT BOOTS! They are durable, comfortable, attractive andthey clean up really well. I don't show much but when I do these always rise to the occasion. I school, do barn chores and through general walking and working, have put these boots through a LOT. I describe them as "the cheapest customs on the market" There are so many options in size and height anybody can get a fit for them. I have average size calves but I'm pretty tall so I got the tall height and the regular calf. They break in fast, clean up super easily and are comfy. They stand for running errands after being at the barn or riding in the rain. I am on quite the budget so these came from a gift from my parents, grandparents and husband. Get these boots! (I am just now retiring these boots after six years of daily use)
    Date published: 2014-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! a must have I ordered these boots about 3 weeks before I took my mare to her first big show. I got them about a week before the actual show I probably rode in them 3 times before the show and the were awesome. The broke in nicely and fit perfect.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product, good service I bought these boots as a Christmas present for my wife. The phone help from SmartPak was excellent, as that helped me choose the proper size. The free two-way shipping for potential returns was also a major bonus. As it turned out, the fit was good out of the box. Positive overall experience.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Nice Boot I bought these to replace my ariat hunter boots when their zipper busted (after an impressive 5 years of regular use).  Unlike my ariats, these took about 5 rides to break in for walking around (they were rubbing above my heel on each leg), but they are more form fitting through the ankle so that's probably why.  They were great to ride in from day 1 and after 4 months of 4-5 days a week of riding in them I'm happy to report that I love them.  The leather is soft but seems to be very durable.  I'm not easy on my boots and often slop through mud or pick out a few stalls with them on after riding and they still look pristine.  I do always use boot trees with zippered boots however and do make sure to clean and condition them once a month.   As an added plus, these boots look so much better than my ariats on me - they are more slimming through the ankle and the profile is much nicer.  I couldn't be happier with them. I just hope the zipper lasts several years...like my ariats. 
    Date published: 2013-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for price! I ride in these a few times a week and they hold up very well! The best part is that they were so easy to break in-- I believe mine only took two or three rides. They look very nice on the leg and they are very stylish. They seem to be very durable to me after a few walks in the snow and in the wash rack. The only complaints I have are that the zipper covers haven't held up very well for me and they are very painful for me to walk in, but I understand that since they are meant to be riding boots not walking boots. Great boots for the low cost!
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Loved them until... These boots look and feel great! I loved them. They broke in real easy and have such a nice look to them, what was not to love? To keep them looking nice I only wore them when riding. It was only under 2 months when the zipper blew :( Lame.
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best! These boots are better than the Ariats that are more than twice the price (the leather and zipper are FAR better), better than Sergio Grasso boots which were more than three times the price (nicer fit, much more durable) and are equal to my Parlanti show boots. I wear these boots four or more times a week and have owned them for about a year and a half. The leather is tough as nails, absolutely beautiful when it is polished up and just molds to your leg. There is little to no break in time (mine took two rides, my friends were fine when she purchased them) and they are comfy ALL day. I live in Maine so the winters can be bitter up here so it is nice that these boots have a slightly rounder toe and much more forgiving leg so that I can fairly easily fit a pair of big wool socks on underneath. The soles have held up well and the zipper hasn't even ever zipped wrong or separated like my cough cough Ariats did on my FIFTH ride with them.... not impressed with those boots. Especially for the price... -_- I don't like spending money on boots because I expect them to hold up to the wear and tear that they are intended for, so the Tredstrep brand has far exceeded my expectaions in that way. Buy these boots, you will NEVER regret it. (I use these boots for jumping, dressage, X-country, bareback, trail, barn work... etc)
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I got these boots last year at this time and have absolutely abused them. Once broken in, about 6 rides, they have been so comfortable that I neglect to take them off when walking around the farm for hours on end. They have gotten wet, really wet, and had jump poles dropped on the toes and been on woodsy trail rides and still polish up great. I had the soles replaced due to wearing them ridiculously long hours and walking heavier on one foot than the other. Now I have finally purchased a pair of waterproof Solstice boots to save my Donatello boots for showing. I think they are a great value. 
    Date published: 2013-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite boot yet! I bought these in the beginning of October for a horse show that was very last minute. My other boots were too old and not fit for showing in so I decided to get these. They arrived a day before the show. I pulled them out of the box and they were beautiful. I walked around my house for about 15 minutes and decided that I would wear them to my lesson, and bring my old pair just in case too. I rode had them on for about an hour total before I rode in my lesson and they did not give me an ounce of trouble, completely bendable, no sores. I then rode a second horse and still no trouble. After over 2 months of owning them, over 150 rides, mud, snow, and getting stepped on, they still work and look perfect. I would recommend cleaning and oiling them after every ride because the leather can look a tad dull otherwise. I ordered to size, the calf was a tiny bit big, but the foot fits great. I LOVE these boots. I don't know how anyone can't. Oh and I still haven't had a sore, bruise, or rub from them. 
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from A TOTAL disappointment! I purchased these for schooling only so my expectations were not high to being with but... wow!So they look decent.... but everything else was a disappointment. Why can't there be an 8? 8-8.5 was WAY too big! Thanks to smartpak I returned for the 7.5.. a little too small...hmmm?The regular calf also seems a little small, but it would probably stretch to correct size with time..VERY hard sole! Would probably have to add insertsAnything but comfortable! Multiple blisters after only a single ride...... I don't see a single thing positive to say about these... needless to say I couldn't wait to return these and go back to my Ariats. Ariat has the Heritage tall boot which is about the same price ($20 cheaper). I would honestly go with these hands down!!!
    Date published: 2013-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Boots for the Price! I bought these boots in July, and I've been in love with them ever since! The fit is great on my leg, I have a small calf and the slim fits me great. They only took a few days to break in and were far more comfortable/easy to break in than my last pair of tall boots, which were Ariats. The leather is nice and polishes up well. My favorite part is the stretch panel in the back. Sometimes my calf muscle will get a little bigger, and the stretch panel accommodates this well. I've gotten lots of compliments! Even been asked if they were custom. LOVE these boots!
    Date published: 2013-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST BOOTS I'VE EVER BOUGHT I had bought Ariats before and they took forever to break in and didn't really fit right. I happened upon these boots when I was  at the tack shop one day and fell in love. I had a horse show two days after I bought the boots and wore them! They didn't run, give me blisters or any other problems. In about three rides they started to mold to my leg and break in perfectly. I'm saving for a second pair just for showing because the leather does get a little soft. Going on 3 years with them, and I'll keep buying Treadstep! 
    Date published: 2013-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! Better than Ariats! I was using Ariats for ever, but after being frustrated with them wearing out so quickly in the calves & the zippers failing, I needed something new.  After talking to my friend, she directed me to the Donatellos.  I purchased a pair & was amazed how well they fit right out of the box in the foot & ankle region.  They were almost impossible to get on over my calf, but I know that leather stretches so I went with it.  After only 3 days riding 2-3 horses, they were easy to get on.  I never had any blisters from them or had any issues.  Even almost a year out, they still look fantastic with no sign of wear on the inside calf!They do bleed red dye on the inside, but most boots do.  They have dropped, but in a good way for me.  They are just awesome & I have recommended them to several other riders now that love them as well.Saving up for a second pair now.  :)
    Date published: 2013-10-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can't stand them. These were okay at first. They look good and fit okay for new boots, especially when in the saddle, but don't ever plan on walking even short distances in them. There was a sweet spot about two weeks into daily wear where they felt almost comfortable, then the more they broke in, the more the zipper jammed into my heel and started cutting it. This is through extra thick wool socks and a protective pad! I think I will have scars on my heels now. To add insult to injury, they dyed my brand new show breeches orange! This was after 1.5 months of at least 4 days a week wear. I made the mistake of recommending them to a friend when I was in the "sweet spot" and now she hates them too... how mortifying!
    Date published: 2013-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Be careful they drop I reviewed these back in April after I had worn them for the first time. I do still love the boots, it is nice they are available in such a variety of sizes. However now having worn them for a few months they have dropped more than I expected and are too short. It is nice to see they now have the tall size available as this was not an option when I purchased. Having the ankle be so giving from the first ride led me to believe they wouldn't drop that much, but just beware they do.
    Date published: 2013-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Boots! I just received these boots a few days ago and from the moment I put them on, they have been comfortable. They have a more tailored fit than many of the other boots I have tried on, especially around the lower leg (they taper more towards the bottom). They give you more of a custom look without the large price tag. The "cut out" area around the laces allows for much better bend in your ankle from the start...no waiting for them to "break in". The leather is high quality and beautiful. I would highly recommend these boots to anyone!
    Date published: 2013-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great boots! :D These are super comfy and durable. I love how they look too!
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice, but... These boots fit and look great, but the dye on the inside of the boots bled all over my breeches and won't come out.
    Date published: 2013-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT BOOTS I love these boots! They are a geat value. Some women at my barn bought boots for the same price and they aren't nearly as nice! I get lots of compliments on them when I wear them. I am now definately a fan!
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    • 2015-08-26T13:17CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_206
    • loc_en_US, sid_9485, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.