Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Tredstep Donatello Field Boot - Plus Size

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #21650

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Now available for riders with fuller calves, Tredstep presents the "rebirth" of beautiful classically designed boots reinterpreted to offer the rider unparalleled performance, comfort, and fit. Incorporating the first ever design of a top class boot which flexes with the rider, enhancing the effectiveness and comfort of the riding experience. This innovation is enveloped in exquisite leather and beautiful lines offering unsurpassed sophisticated luxury.
 
The Tredstep Donatello Field Boot is a classically beautiful boot with exceptional fit and comfort for top rate performance. A Slim contoured fit is ensured by the rear stretch panel and top gusset. This Tredstep innovative design supports a comfortable flexion of the ankle which reduces the break in time of the boot. The Donatello is handcrafted using premium full grain nappa leather and supple leather lining. It has a classic European topline, side spur rests, rolled toe cap and swagger tab with a full length heavy duty YKK coil zipper. It is fitted with a moulded sport high impact cushioning footbed with a dry-lex moisture wicking top layer, and a forked Bartoli composite mid sole with an advanced shank providing stability and reducing foot fatigue. A neatly trimmed ribbed outsole provides balance and stability at all times.
 
Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tredstep Donatello Field Boot - Plus Size is rated 4.6296 out of 5 by 54.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable easy to break in Love the boots very comfortable was easy to break in.
    Date published: 2015-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very confy boots easy break in Very comfy boots easy to break in. Nice to know that there is a boot to fit my calf my calf is hard to fit since my one is bigger than the other. I am a size 10 foot but ended up getting a 10 1/2 which is 42. But nice fit and very comfy.
    Date published: 2015-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, a boot to fit me!! So far, I have only have an opportunity to wear the boots once. They are still a bit tight around my ankle, but, I am sure they will stretch. I am so happy to a have a pair of tall boots without having to go to a custom pair. Because I don't show, I could never justify any great expense for boots. So, these are great.
    Date published: 2015-10-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit, bad insoles (which you can replace!) I've been wearing these boots for four months now. Very happy with the break-in time and overall fit. I find the ankles to be in a standard to slightly slim proportion to the calf size, so if you have thicker ankles, they may not work for you. But they might. Really, quality wide calf boots are few and far between, so do give these a try. My only complaint is that I expected a more comfortable footbed for a $300 boot. It felt like walking on bedrock. I removed the Tredstep insoles (mostly cardboard) and put in Ariat ones. That made the footbox a bit snug, and I did get some nasty rubs but at least no outright blisters. Thicker socks for winter are right out with the Ariat insoles, though. I only wish Tredstep fessed up on their own site that they serve us ladies with muscular calves!
    Date published: 2015-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally!!!! Seriously. Bravo Tredstep. I haven't had tall boots in over 5 years because I couldn't afford custom boots. I'm almost 6 ft tall with a 19 inch calf. The "plus sized" boots I've tried previously gape open at the top and are poorly proportioned. These boots are beautifully built with a "normal" foot and ankle, plenty of room in the calf, and tapered at the top. I ordered a 42, wide calf, tall. This boot fits PERFECTLY! Thank you for finally making a boot for a non-cookie-cutter sized person!
    Date published: 2015-09-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from In between sizes? Size up (I guess?) Very sad these didn't fit - they seem like very comfortable, beautiful boots! My calves are approximately 17.5" and 17.75", and I could not (after like an hour of fighting with this zipper) get them zipped up more than halfway on the slightly smaller of my 2 calves. Even with boot stretch and breaking in I'm not sure I would be able to get these on. I ordered the plus width thinking I should be able to stretch it a little more, since the wide width seems like it'd be too wide at 18-19". Also, I thought the regular height seemed a bit short? on my legs that are already a bit short. I'm returning the plus width and will check out another brand for now that might fit my measurements a little better. (Or maybe I'll just lose weight? HAH...)
    Date published: 2015-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wife's opinion (I bought them for her as a gift): I have had these boots for about 2 1/2 weeks and I LOVE THEM!!! They fit my calf so well and they are so flattering!!! The quality is fantastic and they look like they cost so much more than $300!!!
    Date published: 2015-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never found a more comfortable boot in my size! I bought these boots about a month ago and I absolutely love them! These are the only boots I have come across that fit both my calf and my height. The sizing was right on and they broke in very quickly! Definitely recommended!!!
    Date published: 2015-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft, Supple, and Well Fitting I bought these boots a few months ago and they are absolutely amazing. They are extremely soft and supple. They have a sturdy zipper and they contour to my leg nicely. I had to get the knee taken in as I have skinny knees, but the stretch panel made it very easy for the leather man to fix. They have nice give and throughout my 6 days of riding a week they haven't gotten too stretched out or warped in any way. These are amazing boots for people with bigger calves!
    Date published: 2015-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! These boots just arrived. First boots to actually fit! 3 years ago I tried their regular sized boot in wide calf and couldn't get the zipper past my ankles. I am 5'5" and 175 lbs, my calfs are 17 inches and the plus size fits perfectly! I ordered the short, but I fell between the short and regular height. I am ok with the height but could go an inch taller. Typically the regular height is too tall and hurts the back of my knees. I ordered size 41 (9.5-10) and they fit great ( I usually wear a 9 wide or a 9.5 regular width). Hope this helps others decide what sizes to choose.
    Date published: 2015-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My My - have field boots changed for the better! I decided to get back into showing again after 12 years so I needed, wait for it - Everything!! So the hunt began looking for field boots, WOW did I have a tough time finding boots for a wide calf, looked and tried everything and then these boots pop on the screen, they were my last hope so I ordered them. Well, I guess I saved the best for last, these boots are amazing, they were comfortable right out of the box, I had very little break in time, the sizing is spot on, the leather is beautiful, and I feel like achampion when I ride in them - three words: Go For It!
    Date published: 2015-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these tall boots! So excited to find such comfortable plus size boots with such soft leather! They fit true to size and shipped very fast!
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! Finally I've found a boot that fits me absolutely perfectly.. Leather is soft & supple.. Haven't ridden in them yet.. But can already tell they will be comfortable .. Took me ordering twice cause I didn't think I would need tall.. But with SmartPak's free shipping both ways I wasn't worried about getting just the right size.. Thanks Tredstep for making a stylish quality boot!
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ship date? I really would love to try these boots and write a review, but my ship date just keeps getting pushed back. Buyer beware, if you are considering these boots - the estimated ship date is just an arbitrary date with no significance at all. Smartpak also cannot provide you with a more accurate date because Tredstep doesn't know. How in the world can a company not know when their boots will be able to ship? These are the first stock tall boots to come in plus sizes with multiple height options. It seems cruel to let people, who normally have no options for tall boots, think an item is FINALLY available when in reality it is NOT. I am hesitant to order stuff like this online (or even in a store) because it is always a huge disappointment when it inevitably doesn't fit. If I manage to actually get these boots before the show season is over, I am going to be absolutely devastated if they do not fit. This kind of an issue if definitely enough of a reason to stop purchasing from a company; however, Tredstep seems to have a monopoly going on because no other company makes boots in these sizes. I am seriously considering cancelling this order to save myself the frustration and heartbreak. These boots are an awesome concept - but they are about as hard to actually acquire as a unicorn. Maybe one day a more reliable company will start to make plus size tall boots.
    Date published: 2015-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect fit. Very comfortable sizing was correct and easy to follow
    Date published: 2015-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots!! I have a small foot (size 6) and a wider calf and most boots are too small in the calf in a size 6 so it is a constant struggle to find boots that fit. I was thrilled to find that Tredstep makes a wider calf size! These boots are made from buttery-soft leather that instantly feels amazing as soon as you zip them on. They look and feel great and require no break-in period unlike my Ariats (which are miserably uncomfortable). They look and feel way more expensive than they are! Love them!!
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit for wide calf Thank you so much for carrying a high quality wide calf boot; seemed large at top at first but it dropped after wearing and now it is excellent. Looks and feels very high quality; fit is true to size.
    Date published: 2014-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love these boots. they fit very well- probably the best I've had yet.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from better quality large-calf boot After SO MANY years of being excluded from the world of beautiful tall riding boots- that symbol of classic equestrian elegance and style- I can almost not believe that there are not only boots that I can physically put on, but I actually have choices. Thank you Smartpak, from the bottom of my chubby equestrian heart, for carrying riding garments for plus sized riders. To the details- my calves measure 18", and at 5'4", I am not extraordinarily short, but my lower legs are far shorter than most average-height boots allow for. I have another pair of plus size boots, and am reluctant to wear them often because they do not seem very sturdy and I want them to stay nice for shows and other dress-up occasions. These Tredstep boots are more nicely made than the other plus brand, though not as stiff as a lot of the boots made for narrower calves. I read all of the reviews over and over to determine which size to buy (thank you Smartpak reviewers!). I fall right between sizes in both height and calf size. I opted for the smaller "plus" calf and the standard height. I still needed help for the first zip, and the tops press into my knees a bit, but the second time I was able to zip them by myself and wear them around for about 3 hours before they got uncomfortable. They fit my wide feet quite well, and the ankles are flexible and soft. So, I have high hopes that I will be able to ride in them soon. And best of all, I feel like I have the option of looking every bit as elegant and properly turned-out as any other rider. Thank you again for that.
    Date published: 2014-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality at a great price I was beginning to think I was doomed to have to go the custom route, and then I found these. Problem solved! The quality is impressive for the price - I will use them for home and for shows. My calf measured 16 3/4 and everything else was too big or too small, and I also didn't want anything that would look cheap. These fit my calf perfectly thanks to the stretch panel. I wear a 9 shoe (39.5 in designer shoes), and an 8.5 only if it runs large. The 40 was too big in the foot and ankle, but the 39 fits my foot snugly but comfortably, and broke in immediately, and the ankle also was more tailored. I haven't had them long enough to speak to durability. Thank you Tredstep for making this nice boot in a wider calf size, but not wider everywhere else, and thank you SmartPak for carrying extended sizes!!
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely leather but didn't fit These are lovely boots, but the ankle area was too narrow for me - couldn't even zip them up, although they seemed like I might have been able to zip around my calves. Of course, the leather is just beautiful but I couldn't wear them.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Donatello Plus size Field boots are Wonderful! Your Customer Service gals are great. They helped me get the most wonderful boots short of having customs made at a price I really can't afford. The boots were on back order, so the anticipation and excitement kept growing until they arrived. The presentation and care Tredstep showed towards their product was just the beginning. The fine leather used is soft and plyable. I wore them for a day to give them a little break in time, which really wasn't necessary. This is the best boot I've every owned!!!
    Date published: 2014-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality boots! I was in the market for new tall boots after the ones I had bought to tide me over began to fall apart. I loved the feel of these boots, they were quite comfortable (not to mention stylish!). Plus, they come in lots of different sizes so I have a pair that is almost custom made that fits my foot, my calf, and everything in between.
    Date published: 2014-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these boots! I love these boots so much! They are well made, fit my fat calf, and look great! . They have either stretched slightly or my calf got slightly smaller as they are a little bit loose around my knee but steal look great. They Also broke in well. I have had a grand total of one blister.
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! Finally a boot that fits bigger calves and isn't custom made! Love these boots, very comfortable and break in easily. I did find the wides were way too big and I could slip a hand down them. I ordered the plus and with a little wear and stretching they zip up easily and fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from one fuzzy calf and one not so much WOW!!!!!!!!! I ordered short plus size calf to fit the big one . my original plan was to have the thin one altered BUT I tried them on OMG it fits fatty and a bit looser on thinny but who cares they are sooo soft on the ankles and my misshapen feet are really comfy . like stepping into favorite slippers even the first step was painless Im 65 and that has never happened ever. The skinny leg will be fine as well. Now if they only made short plus dress boots ,I would truly be greatful.....
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice looking I bought these to replace my fuller fillies. I have a big calf and they actually fit! They stretched the more I rode in them to fit super comfy. They are much nicer looking then my fuller fillies. Nicer leather and sleeker look then my fuller fillies. When I fist got them they where a bit tight but they stretched perfectly. Very pleased. And suggest them over the fuller fillies field boot.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sadly, did not fit I was SO excited to order these boots as I thought I'd finally found "The Ones". I'm short (5'1") with fat legs (18" calf) and I also broke my leg last year, resulting in a left ankle that tends to swell throughout the day. When these boots arrived, I delightedly tore into the box and I made sure to try them on while my previously injured leg was at a normal size. I was horribly disappointed to find that while the foot fit marvelously, I Could. Not. Get. Them. Zipped. I have no idea if the calf fit because I couldn't even get the zipper anywhere near up my ankle. And imagine my surprise when I saw that, even if they had zipped up, they would have been a couple of inches too short, even on my stubby legs. They would have had to have gone back for the regular height anyway, even if the ankle wasn't an issue. I very sadly sent them back. For someone with a wider calf but tiny ankle, they would probably work. But I wouldn't recommend the short height, unless you're only about 4'6".
    Date published: 2014-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a wide calf boot! I just received these boots about a week ago and was so excited to get them! They fit wonderfully, zipped right up over my 19" calves! I rode in them today and they are wonderful! True to size and comfortable. Would definitely recommend for any wide calf rider. Looking forward to wearing these for long time!
    Date published: 2014-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my new boots A young woman at smart pak helped me get the right size and ordered them for me. I had to use a couple of applications of boot stretcher to get them on, but now they fit like a custom pair of boots. I thought I was going to have to ride in half chaps at the schooling show, and now I am so excited to feel finished in tall boots. I wouldn't order them over the internet. Go to the store and have someone help you get the right size. Love my boots. I don't know how they will hold up, but the leather is nice and of good quality
    Date published: 2014-08-27
    • 2016-02-05T14:37CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_52
    • loc_en_US, sid_11650, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.