Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Tredstep Donatello Field Boot - Plus Size

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #21650
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Now available for riders with fuller calves, Tredstep presents the "rebirth" of beautiful classically designed boots reinterpreted to offer the rider unparalleled performance, comfort, and fit. Incorporating the first ever design of a top class boot which flexes with the rider, enhancing the effectiveness and comfort of the riding experience. This innovation is enveloped in exquisite leather and beautiful lines offering unsurpassed sophisticated luxury.
 
The Tredstep Donatello Field Boot is a classically beautiful boot with exceptional fit and comfort for top rate performance. A Slim contoured fit is ensured by the rear stretch panel and top gusset. This Tredstep innovative design supports a comfortable flexion of the ankle which reduces the break in time of the boot. The Donatello is handcrafted using premium full grain nappa leather and supple leather lining. It has a classic European topline, side spur rests, rolled toe cap and swagger tab with a full length heavy duty YKK coil zipper. It is fitted with a moulded sport high impact cushioning footbed with a dry-lex moisture wicking top layer, and a forked Bartoli composite mid sole with an advanced shank providing stability and reducing foot fatigue. A neatly trimmed ribbed outsole provides balance and stability at all times.
 
Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Beauty in every step! The Tredstep Medici Dress Boot ...
    Description:
    Beauty in every step! The Tredstep Medici Dress Boot is expertly designed with artful flair and the utmost attention to detail. The Medici Tall boot epitomizes the allure of cutting edge heritage and handmade ... using sumptuous hand sourced calfskin leathers ...
    *This item is on close out* Still made ...
    Description:
    *This item is on close out* Still made in Italy! Sergio Grasso products are designed exclusively using carefully selected full grain calf leather. The shapes are cut by master shoemakers using laser technology to create precision seams and a perfect ...
    The Tredstep Medici Field Boot encompasses beauty in ...
    Description:
    The Tredstep Medici Field Boot encompasses beauty in every step. Expertly designed with artful flair and the utmost attention to detail, the Medici Tall boot epitomizes the allure of cutting edge heritage and handmade luxury. Meticulous craftsmanship using hand sourced ...
    The DeNiro Salento Field Boot is a completely ...
    Description:
    The DeNiro Salento Field Boot is a completely handmade riding boot that features DeNiro's superb performance and quality Favorite Features Exquisite Italian calfskin WRAT leather preserves long-lasting color, durability, and water-resistant protection Grain calfskin lining provides superior quality Full length ...
    Combining European elegance and style with Ariat's exclusive ...
    Description:
    Combining European elegance and style with Ariat's exclusive ATS® technology, the Monaco series offers “A” Circuit and International Riders top of the line show boots with the chic sophistication, fit and craftsmanship previously only available in custom boots. With its ...
    Ariat's integrated premium technology takes another step forward ...
    Description:
    Ariat's integrated premium technology takes another step forward in Fit, performance, craftsmanship, and innovation -- this is the Ariat Quantum Crowne Pro's competitive advantage with a look of confident, elegant authority. Made with a integrated insole system combining honeycomb shank for ...
    Take your equestrian style to new levels with ...
    Description:
    Take your equestrian style to new levels with the elegant Regal Patent Field Boot from TuffRider! Favorite Features Crafted with ultra soft leather Grippy leather panel on inside of calf Full length zipper and elastic gusset Snap closures at both ...
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tredstep Donatello Field Boot - Plus Size is rated 4.5873 out of 5 by 63.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Little to no break in time As someone who is 5ft with a wider calf, these are amazing. Required little to no break in time and they weren't too tall! Typically with ariats I've had to scrunch them down to fit under my knee correctly, not the case with these! Definitely worth more than $300!!
    Date published: 2016-02-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from 5'9" and 19" calf and they zip! Bought these because Smartpak no longer carried fuller fillies brand, zipped up right out of the box. Definitely have a spanish top I ordered a size 40 (US 9), wide calf and standard height. I'm 5'9 and they're plenty tall.
    Date published: 2016-02-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have a 17.25 inch calf so I have a lot of trouble finding tall boots that fit correctly. First I ordered the 39 short in plus which was so tight I could not zip them up all the way. The boots are well made and looked very good so I decided to order up to the wide calf. The second pair arrived only a week later, unfortunately the wide is too wide at the top and there was a gap so large I could slide my hand in. Sadly I am returning them, too bad they are really nice boots, wish there was a middle size.
    Date published: 2016-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but... I ordered these last month, and was very excited for a boot that would hopefully these my short fat calves of mine… When they arrived, I was so excited and immediately try them on. Unfortunately, they didn't fit – they were too tall, cutting into the back of my knee and into my kneecap, and around my calf was too big. My calf is an 18, and I ordered the wide, and they were too big – I could fit my entire hand inside the boot while it was zipped up. Needless to say, they have been sent back and I am waiting on the plus short… Hopefully those fit better! Other than the calf fitting weird, I loved all the features of it, especially the ankle – if you have a regular sized ankle, these will fit you – if you have chubby ankles, this probably will not. They fit my ankles snuggly, yet did not cut into them at all. Good boot, just not the right size
    Date published: 2016-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant quality fieldboots I have shorter legs from the knee down and larger calves and have not been able to find a pair of boots that fit and still look good. I have been looking to replace my last pair which are bulky and don't fit well. These boots are trim, not bulky, are made of high quality leather and are very classy looking. Many "plus size" boots are bulky and not attractive. I'm very pleased with these. Also, the measurements were totally accurate. Looking forward to wearing them at my next show.
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect boot Finally a boot that fits a narrow foot and a wider calf.
    Date published: 2015-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally a tall boot that fits my calves and legs! Finally a tall boot that fits! I have large calves 16.5" and short legs 15" and I purchased the 9 plus/short. The front of the boot is a little shorter than the back and was about 1/2" below my knee but you can't tell because of the Spanish top. I can't go up in height because the back will be too tall. I was worried they were too tight, I could zip them with thin socks but nothing else. They stretched in no time and are very comfortable riding. I did use the risers for the short time they were too tall behind my knees and I wish I didn't. I have a very wide foot and wear between 8.5 and 9 depending on sizing. These boots were very snug in the foot but I felt they were roomy enough in the toe box that all should be ok. The foot part of the boot has now stretched so much that they are loose and walking is awkward :( Using the risers (included) didn't help since they made it tighter and therefore stretched more. I can fit thick socks and will definitely need to use inserts to make them fit. I could not walk all day in these boots.The leather is very soft and are already dropping after 3 rides. I am not hard on my boots and only ride about 2-3 days a week. I have received many compliments on my boots. :)I cannot rate durability since I just received my boots.
    Date published: 2015-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from "custom" boots on a budget I was so nervous to try these on after shipping them- they fit completely true to size. Wore them around the house for a week to break them in and voila. The leather is not as nice as full grain but the zipper is very durable, and with polishing they clean up nicely. I dont like how the leather is wearing near the zipper but other than that they have maintained their shape and have dropped only an inch.
    Date published: 2015-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Riding Boots We bought these boots for my daughter after her old boots had a 'zipper malfunction' about 10 minutes before the start of her last competition (aarrrgggh!). Wider calf models are somewhat difficult to find, so we naturally gravitated toward this Tredstep model - plus, everyone in the family owns Tredstep half chaps, which we believe are the best available. My daughter, after wearing the Tredstep Donatello's, says she had no idea that riding boots were supposed to be this comfortable and supportive. No pinching, no feet going numb .... Wow, isn't it nice to be able to concentrate on riding and not have the hindrance of ill-fitting boots! The Tredstep Donatello is a great boot!
    Date published: 2015-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable easy to break in Love the boots very comfortable was easy to break in.
    Date published: 2015-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very confy boots easy break in Very comfy boots easy to break in. Nice to know that there is a boot to fit my calf my calf is hard to fit since my one is bigger than the other. I am a size 10 foot but ended up getting a 10 1/2 which is 42. But nice fit and very comfy.
    Date published: 2015-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, a boot to fit me!! So far, I have only have an opportunity to wear the boots once. They are still a bit tight around my ankle, but, I am sure they will stretch. I am so happy to a have a pair of tall boots without having to go to a custom pair. Because I don't show, I could never justify any great expense for boots. So, these are great.
    Date published: 2015-10-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit, bad insoles (which you can replace!) I've been wearing these boots for four months now. Very happy with the break-in time and overall fit. I find the ankles to be in a standard to slightly slim proportion to the calf size, so if you have thicker ankles, they may not work for you. But they might. Really, quality wide calf boots are few and far between, so do give these a try. My only complaint is that I expected a more comfortable footbed for a $300 boot. It felt like walking on bedrock. I removed the Tredstep insoles (mostly cardboard) and put in Ariat ones. That made the footbox a bit snug, and I did get some nasty rubs but at least no outright blisters. Thicker socks for winter are right out with the Ariat insoles, though. I only wish Tredstep fessed up on their own site that they serve us ladies with muscular calves!
    Date published: 2015-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally!!!! Seriously. Bravo Tredstep. I haven't had tall boots in over 5 years because I couldn't afford custom boots. I'm almost 6 ft tall with a 19 inch calf. The "plus sized" boots I've tried previously gape open at the top and are poorly proportioned. These boots are beautifully built with a "normal" foot and ankle, plenty of room in the calf, and tapered at the top. I ordered a 42, wide calf, tall. This boot fits PERFECTLY! Thank you for finally making a boot for a non-cookie-cutter sized person!
    Date published: 2015-09-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from In between sizes? Size up (I guess?) Very sad these didn't fit - they seem like very comfortable, beautiful boots! My calves are approximately 17.5" and 17.75", and I could not (after like an hour of fighting with this zipper) get them zipped up more than halfway on the slightly smaller of my 2 calves. Even with boot stretch and breaking in I'm not sure I would be able to get these on. I ordered the plus width thinking I should be able to stretch it a little more, since the wide width seems like it'd be too wide at 18-19". Also, I thought the regular height seemed a bit short? on my legs that are already a bit short. I'm returning the plus width and will check out another brand for now that might fit my measurements a little better. (Or maybe I'll just lose weight? HAH...)
    Date published: 2015-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wife's opinion (I bought them for her as a gift): I have had these boots for about 2 1/2 weeks and I LOVE THEM!!! They fit my calf so well and they are so flattering!!! The quality is fantastic and they look like they cost so much more than $300!!!
    Date published: 2015-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never found a more comfortable boot in my size! I bought these boots about a month ago and I absolutely love them! These are the only boots I have come across that fit both my calf and my height. The sizing was right on and they broke in very quickly! Definitely recommended!!!
    Date published: 2015-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft, Supple, and Well Fitting I bought these boots a few months ago and they are absolutely amazing. They are extremely soft and supple. They have a sturdy zipper and they contour to my leg nicely. I had to get the knee taken in as I have skinny knees, but the stretch panel made it very easy for the leather man to fix. They have nice give and throughout my 6 days of riding a week they haven't gotten too stretched out or warped in any way. These are amazing boots for people with bigger calves!
    Date published: 2015-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! These boots just arrived. First boots to actually fit! 3 years ago I tried their regular sized boot in wide calf and couldn't get the zipper past my ankles. I am 5'5" and 175 lbs, my calfs are 17 inches and the plus size fits perfectly! I ordered the short, but I fell between the short and regular height. I am ok with the height but could go an inch taller. Typically the regular height is too tall and hurts the back of my knees. I ordered size 41 (9.5-10) and they fit great ( I usually wear a 9 wide or a 9.5 regular width). Hope this helps others decide what sizes to choose.
    Date published: 2015-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My My - have field boots changed for the better! I decided to get back into showing again after 12 years so I needed, wait for it - Everything!! So the hunt began looking for field boots, WOW did I have a tough time finding boots for a wide calf, looked and tried everything and then these boots pop on the screen, they were my last hope so I ordered them. Well, I guess I saved the best for last, these boots are amazing, they were comfortable right out of the box, I had very little break in time, the sizing is spot on, the leather is beautiful, and I feel like achampion when I ride in them - three words: Go For It!
    Date published: 2015-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these tall boots! So excited to find such comfortable plus size boots with such soft leather! They fit true to size and shipped very fast!
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! Finally I've found a boot that fits me absolutely perfectly.. Leather is soft & supple.. Haven't ridden in them yet.. But can already tell they will be comfortable .. Took me ordering twice cause I didn't think I would need tall.. But with SmartPak's free shipping both ways I wasn't worried about getting just the right size.. Thanks Tredstep for making a stylish quality boot!
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ship date? I really would love to try these boots and write a review, but my ship date just keeps getting pushed back. Buyer beware, if you are considering these boots - the estimated ship date is just an arbitrary date with no significance at all. Smartpak also cannot provide you with a more accurate date because Tredstep doesn't know. How in the world can a company not know when their boots will be able to ship? These are the first stock tall boots to come in plus sizes with multiple height options. It seems cruel to let people, who normally have no options for tall boots, think an item is FINALLY available when in reality it is NOT. I am hesitant to order stuff like this online (or even in a store) because it is always a huge disappointment when it inevitably doesn't fit. If I manage to actually get these boots before the show season is over, I am going to be absolutely devastated if they do not fit. This kind of an issue if definitely enough of a reason to stop purchasing from a company; however, Tredstep seems to have a monopoly going on because no other company makes boots in these sizes. I am seriously considering cancelling this order to save myself the frustration and heartbreak. These boots are an awesome concept - but they are about as hard to actually acquire as a unicorn. Maybe one day a more reliable company will start to make plus size tall boots.
    Date published: 2015-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect fit. Very comfortable sizing was correct and easy to follow
    Date published: 2015-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots!! I have a small foot (size 6) and a wider calf and most boots are too small in the calf in a size 6 so it is a constant struggle to find boots that fit. I was thrilled to find that Tredstep makes a wider calf size! These boots are made from buttery-soft leather that instantly feels amazing as soon as you zip them on. They look and feel great and require no break-in period unlike my Ariats (which are miserably uncomfortable). They look and feel way more expensive than they are! Love them!!
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit for wide calf Thank you so much for carrying a high quality wide calf boot; seemed large at top at first but it dropped after wearing and now it is excellent. Looks and feels very high quality; fit is true to size.
    Date published: 2014-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love these boots. they fit very well- probably the best I've had yet.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from better quality large-calf boot After SO MANY years of being excluded from the world of beautiful tall riding boots- that symbol of classic equestrian elegance and style- I can almost not believe that there are not only boots that I can physically put on, but I actually have choices. Thank you Smartpak, from the bottom of my chubby equestrian heart, for carrying riding garments for plus sized riders. To the details- my calves measure 18", and at 5'4", I am not extraordinarily short, but my lower legs are far shorter than most average-height boots allow for. I have another pair of plus size boots, and am reluctant to wear them often because they do not seem very sturdy and I want them to stay nice for shows and other dress-up occasions. These Tredstep boots are more nicely made than the other plus brand, though not as stiff as a lot of the boots made for narrower calves. I read all of the reviews over and over to determine which size to buy (thank you Smartpak reviewers!). I fall right between sizes in both height and calf size. I opted for the smaller "plus" calf and the standard height. I still needed help for the first zip, and the tops press into my knees a bit, but the second time I was able to zip them by myself and wear them around for about 3 hours before they got uncomfortable. They fit my wide feet quite well, and the ankles are flexible and soft. So, I have high hopes that I will be able to ride in them soon. And best of all, I feel like I have the option of looking every bit as elegant and properly turned-out as any other rider. Thank you again for that.
    Date published: 2014-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality at a great price I was beginning to think I was doomed to have to go the custom route, and then I found these. Problem solved! The quality is impressive for the price - I will use them for home and for shows. My calf measured 16 3/4 and everything else was too big or too small, and I also didn't want anything that would look cheap. These fit my calf perfectly thanks to the stretch panel. I wear a 9 shoe (39.5 in designer shoes), and an 8.5 only if it runs large. The 40 was too big in the foot and ankle, but the 39 fits my foot snugly but comfortably, and broke in immediately, and the ankle also was more tailored. I haven't had them long enough to speak to durability. Thank you Tredstep for making this nice boot in a wider calf size, but not wider everywhere else, and thank you SmartPak for carrying extended sizes!!
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely leather but didn't fit These are lovely boots, but the ankle area was too narrow for me - couldn't even zip them up, although they seemed like I might have been able to zip around my calves. Of course, the leather is just beautiful but I couldn't wear them.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    • 2016-05-01T17:29CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_61
    • loc_en_US, sid_11650, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders