Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Tredstep Donatello Field Boot - Plus Size

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #21650
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Now available for riders with fuller calves, Tredstep presents the "rebirth" of beautiful classically designed boots reinterpreted to offer the rider unparalleled performance, comfort, and fit. Incorporating the first ever design of a top class boot which flexes with the rider, enhancing the effectiveness and comfort of the riding experience. This innovation is enveloped in exquisite leather and beautiful lines offering unsurpassed sophisticated luxury.
 
The Tredstep Donatello Field Boot is a classically beautiful boot with exceptional fit and comfort for top rate performance. A Slim contoured fit is ensured by the rear stretch panel and top gusset. This Tredstep innovative design supports a comfortable flexion of the ankle which reduces the break in time of the boot. The Donatello is handcrafted using premium full grain nappa leather and supple leather lining. It has a classic European topline, side spur rests, rolled toe cap and swagger tab with a full length heavy duty YKK coil zipper. It is fitted with a moulded sport high impact cushioning footbed with a dry-lex moisture wicking top layer, and a forked Bartoli composite mid sole with an advanced shank providing stability and reducing foot fatigue. A neatly trimmed ribbed outsole provides balance and stability at all times.
 
Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tredstep Donatello Field Boot - Plus Size is rated 4.6279 out of 5 by 43.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these tall boots! So excited to find such comfortable plus size boots with such soft leather! They fit true to size and shipped very fast!
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! Finally I've found a boot that fits me absolutely perfectly.. Leather is soft & supple.. Haven't ridden in them yet.. But can already tell they will be comfortable .. Took me ordering twice cause I didn't think I would need tall.. But with SmartPak's free shipping both ways I wasn't worried about getting just the right size.. Thanks Tredstep for making a stylish quality boot!
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ship date? I really would love to try these boots and write a review, but my ship date just keeps getting pushed back. Buyer beware, if you are considering these boots - the estimated ship date is just an arbitrary date with no significance at all. Smartpak also cannot provide you with a more accurate date because Tredstep doesn't know. How in the world can a company not know when their boots will be able to ship? These are the first stock tall boots to come in plus sizes with multiple height options. It seems cruel to let people, who normally have no options for tall boots, think an item is FINALLY available when in reality it is NOT. I am hesitant to order stuff like this online (or even in a store) because it is always a huge disappointment when it inevitably doesn't fit. If I manage to actually get these boots before the show season is over, I am going to be absolutely devastated if they do not fit. This kind of an issue if definitely enough of a reason to stop purchasing from a company; however, Tredstep seems to have a monopoly going on because no other company makes boots in these sizes. I am seriously considering cancelling this order to save myself the frustration and heartbreak. These boots are an awesome concept - but they are about as hard to actually acquire as a unicorn. Maybe one day a more reliable company will start to make plus size tall boots.
    Date published: 2015-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect fit. Very comfortable sizing was correct and easy to follow
    Date published: 2015-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots!! I have a small foot (size 6) and a wider calf and most boots are too small in the calf in a size 6 so it is a constant struggle to find boots that fit. I was thrilled to find that Tredstep makes a wider calf size! These boots are made from buttery-soft leather that instantly feels amazing as soon as you zip them on. They look and feel great and require no break-in period unlike my Ariats (which are miserably uncomfortable). They look and feel way more expensive than they are! Love them!!
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit for wide calf Thank you so much for carrying a high quality wide calf boot; seemed large at top at first but it dropped after wearing and now it is excellent. Looks and feels very high quality; fit is true to size.
    Date published: 2014-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love these boots. they fit very well- probably the best I've had yet.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from better quality large-calf boot After SO MANY years of being excluded from the world of beautiful tall riding boots- that symbol of classic equestrian elegance and style- I can almost not believe that there are not only boots that I can physically put on, but I actually have choices. Thank you Smartpak, from the bottom of my chubby equestrian heart, for carrying riding garments for plus sized riders. To the details- my calves measure 18", and at 5'4", I am not extraordinarily short, but my lower legs are far shorter than most average-height boots allow for. I have another pair of plus size boots, and am reluctant to wear them often because they do not seem very sturdy and I want them to stay nice for shows and other dress-up occasions. These Tredstep boots are more nicely made than the other plus brand, though not as stiff as a lot of the boots made for narrower calves. I read all of the reviews over and over to determine which size to buy (thank you Smartpak reviewers!). I fall right between sizes in both height and calf size. I opted for the smaller "plus" calf and the standard height. I still needed help for the first zip, and the tops press into my knees a bit, but the second time I was able to zip them by myself and wear them around for about 3 hours before they got uncomfortable. They fit my wide feet quite well, and the ankles are flexible and soft. So, I have high hopes that I will be able to ride in them soon. And best of all, I feel like I have the option of looking every bit as elegant and properly turned-out as any other rider. Thank you again for that.
    Date published: 2014-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality at a great price I was beginning to think I was doomed to have to go the custom route, and then I found these. Problem solved! The quality is impressive for the price - I will use them for home and for shows. My calf measured 16 3/4 and everything else was too big or too small, and I also didn't want anything that would look cheap. These fit my calf perfectly thanks to the stretch panel. I wear a 9 shoe (39.5 in designer shoes), and an 8.5 only if it runs large. The 40 was too big in the foot and ankle, but the 39 fits my foot snugly but comfortably, and broke in immediately, and the ankle also was more tailored. I haven't had them long enough to speak to durability. Thank you Tredstep for making this nice boot in a wider calf size, but not wider everywhere else, and thank you SmartPak for carrying extended sizes!!
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely leather but didn't fit These are lovely boots, but the ankle area was too narrow for me - couldn't even zip them up, although they seemed like I might have been able to zip around my calves. Of course, the leather is just beautiful but I couldn't wear them.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Donatello Plus size Field boots are Wonderful! Your Customer Service gals are great. They helped me get the most wonderful boots short of having customs made at a price I really can't afford. The boots were on back order, so the anticipation and excitement kept growing until they arrived. The presentation and care Tredstep showed towards their product was just the beginning. The fine leather used is soft and plyable. I wore them for a day to give them a little break in time, which really wasn't necessary. This is the best boot I've every owned!!!
    Date published: 2014-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality boots! I was in the market for new tall boots after the ones I had bought to tide me over began to fall apart. I loved the feel of these boots, they were quite comfortable (not to mention stylish!). Plus, they come in lots of different sizes so I have a pair that is almost custom made that fits my foot, my calf, and everything in between.
    Date published: 2014-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these boots! I love these boots so much! They are well made, fit my fat calf, and look great! . They have either stretched slightly or my calf got slightly smaller as they are a little bit loose around my knee but steal look great. They Also broke in well. I have had a grand total of one blister.
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! Finally a boot that fits bigger calves and isn't custom made! Love these boots, very comfortable and break in easily. I did find the wides were way too big and I could slip a hand down them. I ordered the plus and with a little wear and stretching they zip up easily and fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from one fuzzy calf and one not so much WOW!!!!!!!!! I ordered short plus size calf to fit the big one . my original plan was to have the thin one altered BUT I tried them on OMG it fits fatty and a bit looser on thinny but who cares they are sooo soft on the ankles and my misshapen feet are really comfy . like stepping into favorite slippers even the first step was painless Im 65 and that has never happened ever. The skinny leg will be fine as well. Now if they only made short plus dress boots ,I would truly be greatful.....
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice looking I bought these to replace my fuller fillies. I have a big calf and they actually fit! They stretched the more I rode in them to fit super comfy. They are much nicer looking then my fuller fillies. Nicer leather and sleeker look then my fuller fillies. When I fist got them they where a bit tight but they stretched perfectly. Very pleased. And suggest them over the fuller fillies field boot.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sadly, did not fit I was SO excited to order these boots as I thought I'd finally found "The Ones". I'm short (5'1") with fat legs (18" calf) and I also broke my leg last year, resulting in a left ankle that tends to swell throughout the day. When these boots arrived, I delightedly tore into the box and I made sure to try them on while my previously injured leg was at a normal size. I was horribly disappointed to find that while the foot fit marvelously, I Could. Not. Get. Them. Zipped. I have no idea if the calf fit because I couldn't even get the zipper anywhere near up my ankle. And imagine my surprise when I saw that, even if they had zipped up, they would have been a couple of inches too short, even on my stubby legs. They would have had to have gone back for the regular height anyway, even if the ankle wasn't an issue. I very sadly sent them back. For someone with a wider calf but tiny ankle, they would probably work. But I wouldn't recommend the short height, unless you're only about 4'6".
    Date published: 2014-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a wide calf boot! I just received these boots about a week ago and was so excited to get them! They fit wonderfully, zipped right up over my 19" calves! I rode in them today and they are wonderful! True to size and comfortable. Would definitely recommend for any wide calf rider. Looking forward to wearing these for long time!
    Date published: 2014-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my new boots A young woman at smart pak helped me get the right size and ordered them for me. I had to use a couple of applications of boot stretcher to get them on, but now they fit like a custom pair of boots. I thought I was going to have to ride in half chaps at the schooling show, and now I am so excited to feel finished in tall boots. I wouldn't order them over the internet. Go to the store and have someone help you get the right size. Love my boots. I don't know how they will hold up, but the leather is nice and of good quality
    Date published: 2014-08-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing Fit despite High Quality I was initially very excited to see I could FINALLY get a pair of stock boots for voluptuous calves, only to be extremely disappointed after trying them on. The look and quality of the boot is excellent, but the boots fit very awkwardly. While the ankles and calves fit well, the top gaped open, to the point where I could run my hand down the side. The foot bed was comfortable, but I also found the boots to be very short (even when using my correct measurements). I fell between sizes in both width and height, and am very sad I am returning them for a refund as going down a calf size will be too small, and going up a height size will be way too tall. I wish they would make a boot for 17 - 18in. width and more height options.Advice for the future buyer: Order down a calf size and up a height size. I would also round up the foot size (ex/ I wear a size 10, and the 10.5 fit me very well).Despite the disappointment with the boots, I am happy that Smartpak offers full refunds and free returns… Fingers crossed it doesn't take too long to process the refund!
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plus size fits better than the Full. I tried all the Tredstep boots (Raphael, Da Vinci, Donatello) as I have size 9 foot and a calf that is a little over 16" so the full size should fit. The problem I found with the full size is the ankle and lower leg was too small and the calf was too big.The plus size version of this boot fits my lower leg and ankle perfectly. The calf measured smaller than the full sized Donatello, but it stretches to give that little extra needed.The leather is much nicer than I expected for the price and the break in was fast and painless with some socks to add a little padding around the ankle.I have not had these boots long enough to rate the durability but if carefully maintained I hope they will last several years of daily use.
    Date published: 2014-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from they fit!! Fit my wide calf perfectly, leather felt "broken in" , was able to ride in these only after two days of owning and they felt great!! Finally a boot that looks great and feels great for us wide calf ladies!!
    Date published: 2014-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! I bought these boots a week ago and showed in 5 days later. They were comfortable, looked good, painless, and easy to zip up!
    Date published: 2014-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these boots So after a long,long time looking for short boots, I had almost given up and was considering custom made boots,but could not justify the price. I am short,just 5ft,and have short legs,heel to back of knee 15in. I could never find a boot that short,I have a full calf,and had a pair of mountain horse reg calf,that I could zip up,but rubbed my knee pit very badly…was just going to give in and get customs,when a friend said there must be a boot out there for you,so I went on Smartpak and there they were,I was so happy...and it gets better,because these boots are so soft and fit perfectly I love them,my daughters laughed at me for getting so excited about a pair of boots!!These boots are great,soft,fit true to size,are good in calf,very strong zip,very well made.
    Date published: 2014-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! I've tried a few tall boots over the last few months and I felt a little like Goldie Locks...too small, too big, or just really cheap quality leather. These boots fit well, are easy to break in (no blisters or rubs the first time I rode in them!)...AND they look good!
    Date published: 2014-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Calf sizing does change with foot I have a 17" calf and a size 6.5 (37) foot. Based on the size chart, I'd be a "plus". When I ordered them, I couldn't zip them more than 3 inches above my ankle! I got the wide, and they zip nicely, but the top is loose. It shouldn't interfere with riding, though. The foot bed is very comfy, and no pinched ankles as I break them in.
    Date published: 2014-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous boot! I have short legs and wide calves so I was extremely happy to find these. The leather is absolutely gorgeous. I wish there was a size between the Plus and the Wide since my measurements fell right in between. I ordered the Plus Size first but it wouldn't zip up and I had to exchange them for the Wide which honestly are a way too big except in the ankle area where they are very snug. I had to use the little lifts provided in order to get my ankle into the right position before I could zip them up. I'm hoping the ankles will drop as the boot is still a little too tall and hitting me in the back of the knee. Not noticeable while riding but definitely bothering me when walking around. Even though they're too big I'm keeping them since they're the only off the shelf boots that remotely fit.
    Date published: 2014-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO much nicer than the photos The stock photos really do not do these boots justice. The ankle is way more tapered and elegant than shown, and the stitching nicer. I have calves that measure a whopping 20" and this is the first stock boot that has been wide enough and tall enough--they zipped up without a problem. The footbed does run narrow, I am considering exchanging these for a 10.5 instead of the 9.5-10. Can't comment on the durability since they just came today, but at least they saved me from having to go custom!THANK YOU SMARTPAK AND TREDSTEP for making these! Finding correctly fitting tall boots has been a 12 year struggle and I am so thrilled to no longer have to sacrifice height or style.
    Date published: 2014-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good pair of shoes I bought a couple of pairs from smartpak an those didnt fit me . when i saw these i wanted to try them. So, i got these an i been wearing them for a couple of weeks now an i love them. Water does not come through the shoe an they do not make my feet numb to the point where they are asleep like my padduct books do. Thank you Smartpak for making a shoe that is for bigger legged riders.
    Date published: 2014-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! I've never had boots that fit me off the rack. I haven't ridden in these yet but I have put them on and worn them around the house to begin break in, and they clearly will break in very easily. Note: They are a little tight in the ankle and calf in the beginning but loosen up well if you take your time. Pay close attention to shoe size--I found foot runs a little narrow but I am between sizes in European sizes. I luckily had a chance to try the foot size before ordering. They are also a tiny bit on the tall side (I got talls) but it is a welcome relief from all other brands which are too short. Leather is super soft. My only concern is that I want to make sure they hold up, but they are for shows only and they are quite comfortable right now, so I am looking forward to using them!
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    • 2015-08-26T12:47CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_41
    • loc_en_US, sid_11650, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.