Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Tredstep Deluxe Half Chaps

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #13216
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Tredstep Deluxe Half Chaps are perfect for any rider who spends a lot of quality time in the saddle. These half chaps are made of rich, full grain leather that holds up to every day use while offering maximum comfort and style.

Imported

Favorite Features

  • Stretch leather panel for superior fit
  • Closure tabs on both top and bottom of the zipper
  • YKK zippers and snaps
  • Available in black or mocha brown
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Piper Polka Dot Waterproof Jacket is the ...
    Description:
    "The Piper Polka Dot Waterproof Jacket is the perfect lightweight jacket to add to your outerwear collection! Also features a concealed full zip front closure for added protection from the elements. Imported"
    "The patented design of the Cadence® Full Seat ...
    Description:
    "The patented design of the Cadence® Full Seat Breeches provides maximum support and full range of motion whether you're out on the trail or jumping cross country. Cadence® stretch-cord breeches won't chafe, thanks to their over-locked edge stitched construction. Gripper ...
    "The Ariat Close Contour Half Chap is built ...
    Description:
    "The Ariat Close Contour Half Chap is built with thoughtful design, durable construction, and top-quality zippers. These half chaps are made from premium full-grain waxed leather with a hung leather lining and oiled leather inner calf panel. They have a ...
    "Our Kids Half Chaps are made of elegant ...
    Description:
    "Our Kids Half Chaps are made of elegant suede with a tall, form-fitting leg, elasticized panels, curved Spanish tops, hidden, heavy duty zipper, snap over bottom closure, reinforced inner leg. Brown. Sizes Medium (6) and Large (8-10). Imported."
    Why We Love This The Personalized New Englander Rain ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Personalized New Englander Rain Jacket is an attractive way to stay dry! 100% wind and waterproof with heat-sealed seams, the mesh-lined body provides breathability while the nylon-lined sleeves make it easy to take on and off. ...
    "Now available for riders with fuller calves, Tredstep ...
    Description:
    "Now available for riders with fuller calves, Tredstep presents the ""rebirth"" of beautiful classically designed boots reinterpreted to offer the rider unparalleled performance, comfort, and fit. Incorporating the first ever design of a top class boot which flexes with the ...
    "Splash though those puddles with out thinking twice- ...
    Description:
    "Splash though those puddles with out thinking twice- the Kerrits Griptek Half Chap doesn't mind getting wet! These are machine washable half chaps with classically cut clean lines! These will fit your leg like a glove!"

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tredstep Deluxe Half Chaps is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 213.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Half Chaps! I've had these chaps for a couple weeks now and half been using them hard- wearing them all day at the barn almost everyday. They are easier to zip up than any half chaps I've had (and I have gone through a lot!). The zipper feels very sturdy and doesn't ever snag on my socks. The leather is supple and make for comfortable all-day wear. Even on the first day, I wore them all day and they felt like I'd been wearing them for months. These chaps are good at hiding scratches which I've accidentally tested a couple times already. I think these are going to hold up to even my level of wear and tear. I love them!
    Date published: 2016-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite! Fit great even on my strange size calves! My last pair lasted 2 years with riding 4 horses a day 5 days a week.
    Date published: 2016-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for weird size calves! I just bought these a couple of weeks ago amd was really worried about fit as my calves and height (16 cirumfrence and 15 height). They fit perfectly after they stretched about over 4-5 rides. They are very well made and while I dont know how long they will last, I am thinking they will for awhile. The leather is beautiful and they pair well with my Ariat paddock boots. Very comfortable to ride in or just wearing around the barn.
    Date published: 2016-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome half chaps! These half chaps are extremely durable, classy looking and comfortable. I've had them for a couple of years and the only part that looks worn in the elastic that goes over the front of my paddock boots, but its really just natural wear and tear. I'm sticking with Tredstep half chaps for now on!
    Date published: 2016-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit! I tried other half chaps in my size (17x12) and they weren't comfortable / didn't fit right. It's a tough size to fit because I have a long leg with narrow calves. These fit perfectly!!
    Date published: 2016-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit, extremely comfortable and attractive. I bought them a month ago and despite measuring - I had to send them back as the were too big around my calf. I ordered and inch smaller and they're perfect.
    Date published: 2016-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been Wearing These Forever! I bought my first pair of the Deluxe Half Chaps in 2006, and they lasted me until 2011 (holes in the calf). I immediately got another pair, and just can't imagine myself in another brand. The Ariat half chaps have never fit properly, and I find that there is no issue with sizing in the Tredsteps. Just be aware that they may start out small, but tend to stretch over time.
    Date published: 2016-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! Love these 1/2 chaps! This is my second pair. 1st pair i inherited from my son and they were a wee bit to big but I used them for about a year before I broke down and got a pair that fit better. They are nice and snug and are super comfy. Zippers are heavy duty.
    Date published: 2016-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality! I've only had these chaps a month, but already I can tell they're going to be great! Very tight at first, but they're getting easier to zip. They and feel great, you can tell the leather is of high quality. I can't attest to the durability just yet, but if they're anything like their paddock boots, I'm sure they will last a long time.
    Date published: 2016-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice! Love the half chaps. Have used the regular treadstep half chaps for years and these are definitely an upgrade. Clean up and look brand new! Nice leather and zippers that seem like they will hold up over time.
    Date published: 2016-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely in Love! These are fantastic. The sizing options make them feel like they are custom. I bought so many pairs of cheaper half chaps before only to be disappointed. Don't waste you time on others, get these!
    Date published: 2016-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So many sizes I can't speak to durability because haven't had them very long, but we decided on tredstep because of the great size selection. So far very happy with quality.
    Date published: 2016-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just perfect I'd been looking for a half chap that was cut high enough in the back to not cover up my spur rest and the Tredstep Deluxe did the trick. They are beautifully made, the leather is soft, quality zipper and snaps, etc. The first time I put them on, they were a bit difficult to zip but I persevered and, from the second ride on, they've been fine. I ordered true to size according to my measurements and they fit perfectly. I'm finally going to retire my 15-year old Rectiligne half chaps and can only hope that these will last as long.
    Date published: 2016-04-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful but run small! I bought these in a comparable size that I have purchased in Ariat and Tredstep brands and they do not even zip up. They are way small and do not have much give. They are BEAUTIFUL chaps and exactly what I was looking for , unfortunately I bought the largest size they sell. I am not a big girl, just have muscular calves and these do not even come close. So sad.
    Date published: 2016-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love these half chaps! They hold up well and look great on. We also have tall boot awesome looking boot in the show ring for a great price. Only problem is when they get older snaps are harder to snap
    Date published: 2016-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit! I bought these half chaps approximately a month ago and they fit like a glove! I measured myself and ordered a calf size smaller so they would last longer, and although they were tight in the beginning, they wore in within a couple of rides and now fit perfectly! They are very true to height as well.
    Date published: 2016-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good so far I've only ridden in these a couple times, add my horse has been lame, but they fit well and seem well made. I didn't have any trouble with the snaps, at least not yet, and the zippers look heavy duty. I believe these are slightly bigger through the calves than the treadstep custom half chaps, though I wasn't able to compare them side by side. I do believe I am the same size in both.
    Date published: 2016-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality. I ordered the wrong size but could see that the half chaps were well made and high quality. Looking forward to wearing them!
    Date published: 2016-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful quality & fit I purchased these half chaps for my daughter and she says they fit perfectly!
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very nice but too tight. I measured myself carefully and bought the size that I thought would fit. They were at least an inch too tight in the calf and could not be zipped up. I would order an inch larger than what you measure
    Date published: 2015-10-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is my 4th pair This is the 4th pair of these half chaps for me. Same size, every time. The previous 3 pair took 2 people and a pair of pliers to get them on for the first week. Not these; they are snug but I can zip them. So...I don't know if Tredstep has improved the product and it doesn't stretch out, or if I will have half chaps that are too big within a month.That being said, I wouldn't keep buying them if I didn't like them. I have tried other brands and keep coming back to these.
    Date published: 2015-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super half chaps Excellent fit, high-quality and great looking. Well worth the price
    Date published: 2015-10-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from The snaps ALWAYS break! I've had many pairs of Tredstep half chaps over the years - I love how they look and feel, and how they hold up...except the snaps on the bottom never hold up even a whole season. After about 10 rides, they always start catching, and after a few months, they inevitably break, or I cut them off. Lovely looking, but don't hold up to hard use.
    Date published: 2015-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great half chaps! I purchased these half chaps on a whim, hoping to find something that was relatively durable and that I wouldn't have to replace in a few months. I've had these for three years now, and they show hardly any signs of wear-and-tear. They are relatively easy to clean, however dust does tend to get stuck in the ribbed portion of the chap. The only issue I've had with these chaps is the snap-buckle to cover the zipper. They are very difficult to undo even after three years of use. All issues aside, these are great half chaps and definitely worth their while.
    Date published: 2015-09-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful half chaps I received these a couple weeks ago and have been riding 2-3 horses a day in them. Half chaps never hold up well for me so I'm hoping these will last longer than the last few I've had. They are a little stiffer than I'd like but that probably will make them more durable. In spite of the stiffness they are very comfortable and easy to put on. The best part was the sizing was accurate the first time! No sending them back because they didn't match my measurements. Overall a very good half chap!
    Date published: 2015-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product This is my second pair of these half chaps. They fir really well and wear really well. I especially like the snaps seem improved. My last pair was so hard to us nap at the ankle the snap tore out of the leather. This pair works well. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2015-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute love! I bought these chaps yesterday and rode in them today and oh my gosh I am in LOVE! Me being a guy, my chaps/boots have to be x-tall and x-slim. These chaps definitely fit those requirements! As for wear I can't comment as I have only ridden in them once. My trainer commented that that looked sharp, and she noticed my leg didn't swing as much over fences. As a teen also I needed something that wouldn't destroy my fast food worker budget, and these where the ticket! TYSM Tredstep!!!
    Date published: 2015-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good half chaps Love that you can buy these in your exact size. Being short legged, I really appreciate that. I did not love them instantly. Perhaps it is a bit unrealistic to expect them to feel great right away. After 4 or 5 rides they felt more broken in and comfortable. Wish the zippers had tabs or some type of zipper pull, but otherwise they are well made and designed.
    Date published: 2015-06-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from HOLES HOLES AND WAIT DID I MENTION HOLES! awful don't waste your hard earned money on trashy tredsteps that fall apart in two months by riding one horse, but hey I mean perfect fit counts right??
    Date published: 2015-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Leather! I'm glad I read the reviews prior to purchase, because it does take a couple of people to put them on the first time. I have worn them for about a week now, and they are easier to zip. I love the close fit. The zipper and leather are very good quality, and I expect these chaps to last a while.
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_9
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_202
    • loc_en_US, sid_3216, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders