Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Tredstep Deluxe Half Chaps

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #13216
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Tredstep Deluxe Half Chaps are perfect for any rider who spends a lot of quality time in the saddle. These half chaps are made of rich, full grain leather that holds up to every day use while offering maximum comfort and style.

Favorite Features

  • Stretch leather panel for superior fit
  • Closure tabs on both top and bottom of the zipper
  • YKK zippers and snaps
  • Available in black or mocha brown

Imported

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Tredstep Medici Vogue Half Chap offers stunning ...
    Description:
    The Tredstep Medici Vogue Half Chap offers stunning curves, signature leathers, and beautiful highlights. Luxury is ingrained in every element of the Medici Vogue. Recognized internationally as the best in half chaps, Tredstep offers this as the premium chap in ...
    Tredstep Elasticized Half Chaps are designed for working ...
    Description:
    Tredstep Elasticized Half Chaps are designed for working riders who need the best in function and fit, this is a great every day half chap. Every shape and size of the Tredstep Elasticized Half Chaps is catered for with an ...
    The Tredstep's Custom Fit, as the name suggests, ...
    Description:
    The Tredstep's Custom Fit, as the name suggests, reaches a level in fit and performance. The use of exquisiteSoft oiled leather enables the Custom Fit legging to mold to your leg while maintaining full flexibility and a secure feel. A ...
    The Tredstep Suede Motion Half Chap issuper stretchy ...
    Description:
    The Tredstep Suede Motion Half Chap issuper stretchy for a magnificent fit. The Suede Motion combines the durability of suede with the flexibility and lightness of specializedNeoprene.Along with Tredstep expertise in half chap design, these chaps offer a great fit ...
    The Harwich Half Chap delivers unbelievable quality at ...
    Description:
    The Harwich Half Chap delivers unbelievable quality at an unbeatable price!You can feel the quality from the first touch with it's ultra-soft, yet durable full grain leather. The Harwich Half Chap will quickly your favorite staple of everyday barn life. ...
    TheTredstep Liberty Side Zip Chapsare made from superSoft ...
    Description:
    TheTredstep Liberty Side Zip Chapsare made from superSoft full grain leather and lined with amara suede to keep you snug in the saddle! Suede leather panel on the inside for increased feel and a secure leg position Trusted Tredstep Fit ...
    The Classic beauty and innovation of the famous ...
    Description:
    The Classic beauty and innovation of the famous Donatello Field Boot, now in a Dress version. The Donatello Dress Boot features beautiful European styling along with Tredstep's Pro Flex Design, which ensures comfortable flexion of the ankle and reduces the ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tredstep Deluxe Half Chaps is rated 4.3116 out of 5 by 199.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love these half chaps! They hold up well and look great on. We also have tall boot awesome looking boot in the show ring for a great price. Only problem is when they get older snaps are harder to snap
    Date published: 2016-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit! I bought these half chaps approximately a month ago and they fit like a glove! I measured myself and ordered a calf size smaller so they would last longer, and although they were tight in the beginning, they wore in within a couple of rides and now fit perfectly! They are very true to height as well.
    Date published: 2016-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good so far I've only ridden in these a couple times, add my horse has been lame, but they fit well and seem well made. I didn't have any trouble with the snaps, at least not yet, and the zippers look heavy duty. I believe these are slightly bigger through the calves than the treadstep custom half chaps, though I wasn't able to compare them side by side. I do believe I am the same size in both.
    Date published: 2016-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality. I ordered the wrong size but could see that the half chaps were well made and high quality. Looking forward to wearing them!
    Date published: 2016-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful quality & fit I purchased these half chaps for my daughter and she says they fit perfectly!
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very nice but too tight. I measured myself carefully and bought the size that I thought would fit. They were at least an inch too tight in the calf and could not be zipped up. I would order an inch larger than what you measure
    Date published: 2015-10-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is my 4th pair This is the 4th pair of these half chaps for me. Same size, every time. The previous 3 pair took 2 people and a pair of pliers to get them on for the first week. Not these; they are snug but I can zip them. So...I don't know if Tredstep has improved the product and it doesn't stretch out, or if I will have half chaps that are too big within a month.That being said, I wouldn't keep buying them if I didn't like them. I have tried other brands and keep coming back to these.
    Date published: 2015-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super half chaps Excellent fit, high-quality and great looking. Well worth the price
    Date published: 2015-10-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from The snaps ALWAYS break! I've had many pairs of Tredstep half chaps over the years - I love how they look and feel, and how they hold up...except the snaps on the bottom never hold up even a whole season. After about 10 rides, they always start catching, and after a few months, they inevitably break, or I cut them off. Lovely looking, but don't hold up to hard use.
    Date published: 2015-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great half chaps! I purchased these half chaps on a whim, hoping to find something that was relatively durable and that I wouldn't have to replace in a few months. I've had these for three years now, and they show hardly any signs of wear-and-tear. They are relatively easy to clean, however dust does tend to get stuck in the ribbed portion of the chap. The only issue I've had with these chaps is the snap-buckle to cover the zipper. They are very difficult to undo even after three years of use. All issues aside, these are great half chaps and definitely worth their while.
    Date published: 2015-09-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful half chaps I received these a couple weeks ago and have been riding 2-3 horses a day in them. Half chaps never hold up well for me so I'm hoping these will last longer than the last few I've had. They are a little stiffer than I'd like but that probably will make them more durable. In spite of the stiffness they are very comfortable and easy to put on. The best part was the sizing was accurate the first time! No sending them back because they didn't match my measurements. Overall a very good half chap!
    Date published: 2015-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product This is my second pair of these half chaps. They fir really well and wear really well. I especially like the snaps seem improved. My last pair was so hard to us nap at the ankle the snap tore out of the leather. This pair works well. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2015-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute love! I bought these chaps yesterday and rode in them today and oh my gosh I am in LOVE! Me being a guy, my chaps/boots have to be x-tall and x-slim. These chaps definitely fit those requirements! As for wear I can't comment as I have only ridden in them once. My trainer commented that that looked sharp, and she noticed my leg didn't swing as much over fences. As a teen also I needed something that wouldn't destroy my fast food worker budget, and these where the ticket! TYSM Tredstep!!!
    Date published: 2015-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good half chaps Love that you can buy these in your exact size. Being short legged, I really appreciate that. I did not love them instantly. Perhaps it is a bit unrealistic to expect them to feel great right away. After 4 or 5 rides they felt more broken in and comfortable. Wish the zippers had tabs or some type of zipper pull, but otherwise they are well made and designed.
    Date published: 2015-06-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from HOLES HOLES AND WAIT DID I MENTION HOLES! awful don't waste your hard earned money on trashy tredsteps that fall apart in two months by riding one horse, but hey I mean perfect fit counts right??
    Date published: 2015-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Leather! I'm glad I read the reviews prior to purchase, because it does take a couple of people to put them on the first time. I have worn them for about a week now, and they are easier to zip. I love the close fit. The zipper and leather are very good quality, and I expect these chaps to last a while.
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from no thank you very hard to get on, appear to run small and have little give
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from They Break Easy!!!! I have had my Tredstep half chaps for a year and in that time two buttons broke and one fell off. In addition, they ripped on the inside of my calf and they stretch out a lot. I do ride a lot of horses, but for the money they should be more durable!!!
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality- Last FOREVER! I was given these half chaps as hand-me-downs and have ridden in them on and off for 6 + YEARS! I can't believe they've lasted this long - I STILL ride in them almost every day and am only now considering buying another pair (just a little frayed around the edges from lack of proper condition on my part!) The zipper has held up with no problems, they fit wonderfully and are super easy to clean/ maintain. I'd recommend them to anybody - stylish and incredibly durable.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is my second pair of Treadsteps! I opted to buy a second pair of these half chaps because I was so satisfied with them. I had my last pair for 8 years.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORTH THE MONEY! I got these when my Tredstep Xtreme Suedes starting looking a bit rough- I ride several horses several times a week, and the Tredstep Deluxe's keep looking great through over a year of wear and tear. I know they're higher on price point, but if you want half chaps that last AND look good with moderate-to-heavy use, these are the ones you need.A word of advice- you should need to wrestle these on the first time you try them. I used a key ring. Buy a calf size slimmer than you think you measure, because after a month of sweating in them, they WILL stretch a bit and you want to keep them close-fitting.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great material! These are overall amazing chaps! They stretch a little and I like everything of mine tight so I got a little smaller size!
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them Excellent fit, comfortable. True to measurements. It only took about 3 rides to work them in - meaning they were tight at first (difficult to zip - this is how they should fit when new). And they're attractive, nice leather. Very pleased.
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not worth the money love the fit but quality is horrible. should not be called deluxe.
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit I've been using these half chaps for about a month and love them! They were a little tight at first but now fit perfectly. They're also very pretty.
    Date published: 2014-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love I bought this product after having 2 other brand half chaps and both have broken with in a year. Everyone at my barn has these half chaps and seem to really love them. I love the look and wanted to try them out my self. I had a big problem with the sizing because I am a half size but I order up. I have only used these a few times but so far they are wonderful.
    Date published: 2014-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit I bought these half chaps a month ago, although I wanted Ariat half chaps I was in between their sizes and wound up purchasing the Tredstep Deluxe half chaps. I'd heard great things about them and they exceeded my expectations.
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Snaps have been an issue but the leather is great and they fit very comfortably
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful, but snaps break off I bought these to replace my ProChaps, whose zipper pulls busted after less than a year. I think I just am too rough on putting half chaps on and taking them off. One of the snaps on the lower part of these Treadsteps broke within two weeks. On the plus side, they only took about 3 wears to break in and they did break in beautifully. I had heard that Treadstep snaps can break. I know that Smartpak would probably replace or exchange them, but I'm just going to live with the broken snap, as it's not TOO noticeable and maybe I am just too rough on half chaps since I also messed up the ProChaps in less than a year.
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't last as long as I expected I am updating my initial review to comment on durability. I bought these half chaps in Sept 2012 to replace my OLD Tredstep Gaiters. They are a great fit and comfortable, but unfortunately I have worn holes in the elastic panel. I also stopped fastening the bottom snap as it was so hard to undo that the material around the snap developed a hole from me pulling on it. I ride one horse (sometimes two) 4-5 days a week so I certainly don't abuse them. If you only ride occasionally, these might be for you.
    Date published: 2014-06-12
    • 2016-05-23T18:13CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_188
    • loc_en_US, sid_3216, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders