Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Tredstep Deluxe Half Chaps

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #13216
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Tredstep Deluxe Half Chaps are perfect for any rider who spends a lot of quality time in the saddle. These half chaps are made of rich, full grain leather that holds up to every day use while offering maximum comfort and style.

Favorite Features

  • Stretch leather panel for superior fit
  • Closure tabs on both top and bottom of the zipper
  • YKK zippers and snaps
  • Available in black or mocha brown

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tredstep Deluxe Half Chaps is rated 4.306 out of 5 by 183.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from no thank you very hard to get on, appear to run small and have little give
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from They Break Easy!!!! I have had my Tredstep half chaps for a year and in that time two buttons broke and one fell off. In addition, they ripped on the inside of my calf and they stretch out a lot. I do ride a lot of horses, but for the money they should be more durable!!!
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality- Last FOREVER! I was given these half chaps as hand-me-downs and have ridden in them on and off for 6 + YEARS! I can't believe they've lasted this long - I STILL ride in them almost every day and am only now considering buying another pair (just a little frayed around the edges from lack of proper condition on my part!) The zipper has held up with no problems, they fit wonderfully and are super easy to clean/ maintain. I'd recommend them to anybody - stylish and incredibly durable.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is my second pair of Treadsteps! I opted to buy a second pair of these half chaps because I was so satisfied with them. I had my last pair for 8 years.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORTH THE MONEY! I got these when my Tredstep Xtreme Suedes starting looking a bit rough- I ride several horses several times a week, and the Tredstep Deluxe's keep looking great through over a year of wear and tear. I know they're higher on price point, but if you want half chaps that last AND look good with moderate-to-heavy use, these are the ones you need.A word of advice- you should need to wrestle these on the first time you try them. I used a key ring. Buy a calf size slimmer than you think you measure, because after a month of sweating in them, they WILL stretch a bit and you want to keep them close-fitting.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great material! These are overall amazing chaps! They stretch a little and I like everything of mine tight so I got a little smaller size!
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them Excellent fit, comfortable. True to measurements. It only took about 3 rides to work them in - meaning they were tight at first (difficult to zip - this is how they should fit when new). And they're attractive, nice leather. Very pleased.
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not worth the money love the fit but quality is horrible. should not be called deluxe.
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit I've been using these half chaps for about a month and love them! They were a little tight at first but now fit perfectly. They're also very pretty.
    Date published: 2014-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love I bought this product after having 2 other brand half chaps and both have broken with in a year. Everyone at my barn has these half chaps and seem to really love them. I love the look and wanted to try them out my self. I had a big problem with the sizing because I am a half size but I order up. I have only used these a few times but so far they are wonderful.
    Date published: 2014-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit I bought these half chaps a month ago, although I wanted Ariat half chaps I was in between their sizes and wound up purchasing the Tredstep Deluxe half chaps. I'd heard great things about them and they exceeded my expectations.
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Snaps have been an issue but the leather is great and they fit very comfortably
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful, but snaps break off I bought these to replace my ProChaps, whose zipper pulls busted after less than a year. I think I just am too rough on putting half chaps on and taking them off. One of the snaps on the lower part of these Treadsteps broke within two weeks. On the plus side, they only took about 3 wears to break in and they did break in beautifully. I had heard that Treadstep snaps can break. I know that Smartpak would probably replace or exchange them, but I'm just going to live with the broken snap, as it's not TOO noticeable and maybe I am just too rough on half chaps since I also messed up the ProChaps in less than a year.
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't last as long as I expected I am updating my initial review to comment on durability. I bought these half chaps in Sept 2012 to replace my OLD Tredstep Gaiters. They are a great fit and comfortable, but unfortunately I have worn holes in the elastic panel. I also stopped fastening the bottom snap as it was so hard to undo that the material around the snap developed a hole from me pulling on it. I ride one horse (sometimes two) 4-5 days a week so I certainly don't abuse them. If you only ride occasionally, these might be for you.
    Date published: 2014-06-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful but not very durable If you ride 1-2 horses a day, these will last a while. If you ride10+ then will wear out quickly. I have owned two pairs of these chaps and both stretched out to the point of looseness as well as tearing where the snap attaches to the leather by the heel. They are beautiful to look at and look nice on but there are better options available for busy riders.
    Date published: 2014-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice half chaps I purchased these as I needed the abilitity to order by calf and height, (as I am pretty short and don't have kid size calfs!) They fit extremely well and seem to be well made.
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Chaps - couldn't find a fit The reviews and a desire to step up to a nicer chap led me to the Deluxe. Oh yes, it is a nice, well made, quality chap - no doubt. If you can find one that fits - you'll probably love it - but after 3 tries I gave up. Yes, I measured correctly. I have a muscular calf with a very narrow taper to the ankles - so each time I tried a minor size adjustment - something was too loose or too tight - (yes, they stretch, I know - I'm talking WAY too tight). So unfortunately, am directing my search to another brand.
    Date published: 2014-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and beautiful This is my second pair of these half chaps. My first pairwas stolen after 5 years, looking obviously still looking impeccable, worth a theft! Couldn't make myself by another style, just ordered them this time a little snugger and longer. All around cool chaps, worth the price.
    Date published: 2014-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best chaps! I have been wearing only these half chaps for years and they are the best! They fit snug and look very fitted and slimming. They are super comfortable and I practically live in them. I ride multiple horses a day and they hold up for a few years and I have never had an issue with the zippers or anything breaking.
    Date published: 2014-04-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love them! I bought the 13'' calf 18" long chaps & really love them! They are very slim fitting and really provide a secure feel. I bought the size down (12" calf 17" long) last year, which started to wear out after a long year of riding, and needed a taller chap. The one inch really helped!
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these chaps! I got a pair of these chaps for $80 on sale at a local tack store. I wanted them in black, but the brown was all they had left. The complete awesomeness of these chaps, however, completely overshadows the color. They are a very high quality leather, I wore them around the house to break them in for a few days before oiling them and they immediately became soft as butter. I wear them with the Giatto paddock boots and it looks great. I was looking for a pair of reasonably priced boots and chaps that I could abuse without feeling too bad, and these are much better than I had expected. Definitely a Tredstep fan!
    Date published: 2014-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and great price! Love this product. I am on my 3rd pair of chaps. I ride everyday (7 horses/day) and they last about two years! love these!
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great chaps These are beautiful, soft leather, which holds up well over time. Verycomfortable and well made.
    Date published: 2014-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product Bought as a gift for my wife. She loves them. Fit very snug first time on - easy thereafter. Snug fit necessary due to stretching after use.
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable. I bought them a couple of weeks ago and have only worn them once, but I love them. :)
    Date published: 2013-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice chaps & great service from SmartPak! I love these new chaps. Once I ordered the correct size (thanks SmartPak for the free shipping & returns!) these chaps fit perfectly. They are beautiful, clean up easily after a ride (just a slightly damp sponge & a little saddle soap), and so far seem to be well constructed. I'm very happy with my purchase!
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great half chaps! After going through several pairs of half chaps that just didn't seem to fit right, I found these and they are perfect, and they look great. I have only used them a few times so I cannot comment on durability yet but so far they are exactly what I was looking for and I am very happy with them.
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I'm hard to fit for half chaps, but these are as perfect as they're going to get without going custom! They're a bit difficult to do up at the bottom snap, but that's my only complaint. I wear them with the Tredstep Giotto paddock boots and they just look so good!
    Date published: 2013-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Chaps Ever!!! I absolutely love Tredstep's Deluxe Half Chaps. It is the only half chaps I will wear!!When you measure for your size, just know that the first couple of times you put them on, you will need someone to help, because of the stretch panel being brand new! Once on, they provide a sleek & snug fit, so you can feel the contact with your horse. Love them!!!
    Date published: 2013-09-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from runs small i attempted to buy the chaps 3times lol. they ran small the first two times and the last pair was too baggy. they just didn't work for me. the staff however was wonderful trying to accomodate me.
    Date published: 2013-09-19
    • 2015-08-26T13:18CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_172
    • loc_en_US, sid_3216, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.