Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Tipperary Sportage Helmet

Tipperary
- Item #14850
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The ASTM-SEI certified New Sportage 8500 from Tipperary includes all of the features that the original Tipperary helmet is most famous for. Listening to riders' feedback they have integrated the original style, fit and ventilation that made it the most comfortable and one of the lightest helmets on the market.

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight, high density ABS material provides superior resistance to high impact
  • Functional low profile
  • Drop back shell for increased protection and a secure fit reducing helmet rotation 
  • Reflective band for safer rides in low light conditions
  • Ventilation system provides increased airflow for a cooler, more comfortable ride
  • Soft touch leather with reinforced nylon harness
  • Soft, rubberized, low profile flexible visor

ASTM-SEI certified.

Sizing It Up

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tipperary Sportage Helmet is rated 4.7778 out of 5 by 369.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! Very comfortable for hot weather. Lightweight. Happy camper.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable I found this helmet to fit my head better than most. It never gave me a headache like the others and it was lightweight. The only drawback was my head got very sweaty. I believe it is due to the padding and riding in the Florida heat.
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Helment! Saved my life! About three weeks ago I was cantering my 3 year old mustang out in the field. He tripped over his feet and we both fell. I hit the ground first and he landed on top of me. The fall left me unconscious for a while and gave me a level 3 concussion and a brain hemorrhage. I stopped counting after 10 doctors, that told me I would not be here right now if I had not had a helmet on. My helmet was cracked in three different places from the fall. This helmet did its job and did it well! Tipperary helmets are the only helmets I will be wearing from now on! Thank you Tipperary for making such a reliable and trusted product!
    Date published: 2014-06-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tipperary Sportage. i haven't had it for a long time, so i cant comment on durability. very nice helmet though. i suggest either the carbon gray or the cocoa (cocoa looks alot like black). but disclaimer beware, sizes large and XL look like a mushroom on your head. very nice vents, comes with EXTRA padding and a nice carry on bag. overall a great schooling and maybe even low-level show helmet. VERY PLEASED :D
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for schooling I was a one helmet girl for a long time due to lack of funds. As I started riding multiple horses a day versus taking lessons a couple times a week, I realized it would be very beneficial to purchase a schooling helmet to save $$ in case one of those youngsters decided I needed to eat dirt that day. The multiple vents are very cool for the hot summer weather here in NC. Very nice helmet!
    Date published: 2014-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Secure fit - happy with my purchase I bought this after years of riding in a helmet with the adjustable back piece and I'm very happy I made the switch. I feel better protected all over with the padding and it feels very secure. I measured on the very small side of a medium and went with a small in the helmet, I'm happy with the fit with the thick pads in.
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and it even looks hi-tech!!! I love this helmet, it is the first time in a very long time that I feel more secure, shouId I fall and suffer a head injury! I particularly like all the helmet inserts which are easy to install. I also like the fact that it is vented and it will be cooler during the hot months.
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fitting and sleek Good fitting and stylish helmet that meets my needs perfectly
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My second one, love it. Lightweight, cool and comfortable. I use this for schooling and wish I could wear to show! This is my second one, only because first one after 8 years finally got stinky. Great product, great price. Love the colors too.
    Date published: 2014-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 2nd one! I use this helmet for schooling because it's light, and comfortable and easier to keep clean than other helmets. My old one is about 8 years old and finally just got too stinky! This one fits even better and I know my head is protected.
    Date published: 2014-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I See What All The Hype Is About! I had suspected for a long time that my helmet(s) never fit correctly. My helmets with adjustable framework in the back always bounced all over no matter how I tightened them. Sometimes they'd slide back on my head to a really dramatic angle, to the point where I was always tugging the visor down. Everything I've read about proper fitting suggested that's not okay.The Tipperary Sportage does not move once I put it on. I really feel like it's perfectly encased my head. I like how streamlined it is and how closely it hugs the back of the head-- no more bulbous "bubble"-like helmets!Graphite is a neat, subtle color. And the lightly padded straps are nice. Also comes with a black Tipperary satchel!Very reasonable price point between the "starter" and "designer" helmets.The Medium is perhaps a tiny, tiny bit too snug on my head with the thin pad in the back (and a little too loose with nothing). But I'm thinking that when all the padding gets broken in and compressed just a little bit, it will be perfect. I'm sure a Large would be too loose.Those removable pads are, however, the source of my one concern. The Velcro that holds them in is heavy-duty, but I wonder how easy it will be to eventually lose them? Or to have them break down TOO much with the rigors of constant use and sweat.
    Date published: 2014-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the nice fit I bought this helmet a few days ago because I had a fall and its not recommend to use the same helmet after a serious fall. When I tried it on, I wasn't sure about the fit on the back of my neck but now I love it!!!! :D The only thing I didn't like was when I took out the foam blocks from the back of the helmet it became a tad to big, but thats kind of expected :)
    Date published: 2014-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't work for me, but affordable & well vented I have no idea what shape my head is (I only know it's big!) but this helmet was wide and gapped on the sides on me. (In the past I've had good luck with Ovation and GPA helmets.) Front to back was a good fit. Seems like it'd be a comfortable, lightweight, very well ventilated helmet. I am looking for an affordable hot weather schooling helmet, and this would have been perfect. I'm not totally crazy about the styling (seems abruptly flat in back, almost like something from a motocross-type sport) but it's fine for a schooling helmet.
    Date published: 2014-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very lightweight I bought this when I needed a new helmet due to a fall. It fits me well and I especially like that it extends further down the back of your head for additional protection (at least it seems to?). I only wish it had a liner that could be washed after many uses, as we all know that helmets can get a little yucky from time to time. I am looking into buying a liner of some kind that will not affect the fit. Overall a good, comfortable schooling helmet.
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable! I first ordered this in size small, following the sizing recommendations, but had to move up to a medium, which fits beautifully and is so comfortable I forget I have it on. Can't say enough about Smart Pak's free shipping both ways. When I returned the item, they even sent me e-mails noting that they had received it, and that they were crediting my account. GREAT customer service!
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Tipperary Sportage This is our second Tipperary helmet. I love the full coverage at the back of the head and my daughter (who actually wears it) says it's the most comfortable one she has worn - even in the AZ heat.
    Date published: 2014-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feels like it was made for my head! I just recently purchased this HelmetAnd it's the most comftetbel helmet IHave ever worn
    Date published: 2014-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet ever! I have had mine for a few years now and it is like new. The Troxels always gave me a headache. This one fit perfectly right out of the box. Like putting a cloud on your head. It has the most air flow of any helmet and it is very light weight.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great helmet to ride in & have on hand in trailer I keep a couple inexpensive light helmets with truck & trailer and inbarn so I'm never without.
    Date published: 2014-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable! My daughter says this is the most comfortable helmet she has ever worn. The quality is excellent and we are very happy with our purchase!
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable, secure, Good fit for 21" pinhead Comfortable helmet that FITS my adult 21" head. The small is perfect for my size, even though my head is more "oval" than the helmet. Another reviewer mentioned the small was also perfect for her. I found the MD was too large, and could rotate the side over my forehead slightly. The small is snug, but comfortable, just right. I have ridden in it for a week, and it feels great: no pressure headache and no shifting. I forget that it is on, except that I feel protected. Only oddity is that the harness seems to be generically sized, so will be removing
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best schooling helmet! I LOVE my tipperary helmet. It is lightweight comfortable and most importantly, comes in a small enough size to fit my head in order to ensure a safe fit. Before purchasing this helmet, I'd been schooling in a very expensive helmet as it was the only style I had found that was truly small enough and wasn't designed for children (hot pink, patterned, etc.). So if you have a small head and are looking for a comfortable, affordable schooling helmet, the tipperary (size XS) may be for you.Conversely, when purchasing a first riding helmet for my fiancé, we ran into the opposite problem - we couldn't find a large enough helmet until he tried on the Tipperary Sportage XL.
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good everyday helmet Bought to replace same type of helmet that was damaged in a bad fall recently. Lucily the helmet kept me from injury which I know I would have had if I hadn't been weraring it. It stays in place nicely and fits well.
    Date published: 2014-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Non-stuffy I love this helmet though I haven't had it for too long it fits amazingly in a way my charles owen never fit! The air vents make it really nice so it's not too stuffy. Like I said I haven't had it that long so I can't say how the durability is.. I've gotten many compliments and it's perfect for a non-expensive schooling helmet!
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet Have been using this helmet for a few weeks and love the fit. It is very lightweight and comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit! I purchased this helmet after reading the rave reviews. I have been using a Troxel helmet with the dial fit and it often gives me a headache. This Tipperary helmet fit perfectly right out of the box and feels custome made. I look forward to many years of use.
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features.. Purchase 1 month ago. Very nice fit and light weight. Would buy again.
    Date published: 2013-12-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great hit but the chin strap let go... I have worn these helmets for years and love the fit. Yesterday, though, I got spun off my horse and dragged for a bit trying to hold on to the reins...not a wise decision. When I finally did let go, I found that my helmet was 20 feet behind me on the ground with a the chinstrap catch undone! Maybe had it held I wouldn't now be  dealing with a broken nose and two black eyes....
    Date published: 2013-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and not too bulky! I didn't like western troxel and been avoiding to wear it.  I tried friend's Tipperary out. Wow I love how it feels on my head snug, not bulky and light. And don't look like giant bowl being worn.  So had to order one for myself. 
    Date published: 2013-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Helmet I've worn this helmet twice now, and I LOVE IT! Super light weight, and nice vents. Fits amazingly.
    Date published: 2013-10-15
    • 2015-05-22T08:25CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_30, tr_339
    • loc_en_US, sid_4850, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.