Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Tipperary Sportage Helmet

Tipperary
- Item #14850
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The ASTM-SEI certified New Sportage 8500 from Tipperary includes all of the features that the original Tipperary helmet is most famous for. Listening to riders' feedback they have integrated the original style, fit and ventilation that made it the most comfortable and one of the lightest helmets on the market.

Imported.

Helmets Comparison Chart

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight, high density ABS material provides superior resistance to high impact
  • Functional low profile
  • Drop back shell for increased protection and a secure fit reducing helmet rotation 
  • Reflective band for safer rides in low light conditions
  • Ventilation system provides increased airflow for a cooler, more comfortable ride
  • Soft touch leather with reinforced nylon harness
  • Soft, rubberized, low profile flexible visor
  • ASTM-SEI F1163-15 certified
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Troxel Liberty features an ultra low profile ...
    Description:
    "The Troxel Liberty features an ultra low profile design with dial fit technology and a classic high gloss finish created for schooling and all-purpose riding. Large vents provide superior ventilation for a cooler, more comfortable ride."
    "Show your individual style! The custom GR8 helmet ...
    Description:
    "Show your individual style! The custom GR8 helmet by Charles Owen is at the cutting edge of equestrian fashion. The GR8 Helmet is covered with a microfibre suede material that has been treated to afford it protection against marking and ...
    "GPA Speed Air 4S helmet from the Redline ...
    Description:
    "GPA Speed Air 4S helmet from the Redline Collection by GPA is filled with top notch safety features. With 50 years experience in the business and following a patented principle, the Reline generation of helmets allows for a new level ...
    "The Samshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the ...
    Description:
    "The Samshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption. Swarovski crystals provide a show-ring sparkle; ...
    "The creative designers at Antares Saddlery release ""The ...
    Description:
    "The creative designers at Antares Saddlery release ""The Helmet"" where tradition meets sport! Customize your look- from a glossy or nubuck shell, to your barn colors. Complete ventilation keeps air flowing through the vents, keeping you cool and comfortable. Innovative ...
    "The Legacy is a slim profile helmet offering ...
    Description:
    "The Legacy is a slim profile helmet offering an economical alternative to the Legacy Gold Duratec™ Lightweight, all-purpose helmet designed for schooling andeveryday riding. The Small size offers an excellent Child’s Fit while theMedium size accommodates teens and adults. Imported. ...
    "The Troxel ES Helmet was developed for the ...
    Description:
    "The Troxel ES Helmet was developed for the performance needs of English riders across multiple disciplines. This is the perfect helmet for both schooling and showing and available at a great value! Troxel's latest fit technologies combined with high quality ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tipperary Sportage Helmet is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 444.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable Helmet I really like this helmet. Very comfortable, forget that I have it on..
    Date published: 2016-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good helmet for the price. I like the lower profile. It's not as comfortable as my previous helmet, but fits well.
    Date published: 2016-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet Bought this for my boyfriend and he loves it. Definitely needed a low profile as it looks much better than the schooling helmet I bought.
    Date published: 2016-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and comfortable Fits well, light and cool to wear, easy to adjust. I'm very satisfied with the price.
    Date published: 2016-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet I bought this helmet about a month ago and was very happy when it arrived. I have not worn it while riding yet, but just by trying it on I am very pleased with how comfortable it fit. As far as sizing, I tried to follow the size chart and I was in the upper end of the head circumference for a Medium, but my western hat size put me in the large. I went with the medium and it fits perfectly. I would recommend choosing your size based on your actual measurement and not hat size. Overall, I am very pleased with this product
    Date published: 2016-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit! Purchased this helmet for my husband and the fit is great. He says it is very comfortable and does not make his head hot. We have only had it for a month, so durability remains to be seen.
    Date published: 2016-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet. This is a great helmet for a great price. It has all the same safety features as the really pricey ones, and it looks just as good.
    Date published: 2016-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Low profile, very comfortable Tipperary is a great helmet at a great price. It has several different padding options that are sent along to customize the fit. Very low profile and lightweight. On my 2nd Tipperary and will buy again!
    Date published: 2016-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool light weight and comfortable I have had several helmets. this is by far my favorite. So much so that I purchased two of them to have on hand for my grandchildren to use when they visit. It is cool in the summer heat, light weight and there is no whining when I ask them to helmet up!
    Date published: 2016-10-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from looks great only worn once but so far I think I'll really like it! looks great!
    Date published: 2016-10-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super comfy This is the most comfortable helmet I have every worn. I thought the AYR8 was comfy, until I tried this on. Wow. Lightweight, lots of airflow, and just fits great. Have been able to keep it clean and not stinky by wiping down the liner and rinsing the foam pads.Downsides? It's ugly as sin. I can overlook that for the comfort. The other downside is thin fabric on the foam fitting pads comes off. The fabric is meant to hold the pads in place to the helmet with Velcro.
    Date published: 2016-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety, comfort, $ Comfortable for all season wear and easy care. This is my third one!
    Date published: 2016-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soooo Comfortable! The fit and profile of this helmet is much better for me than my previous brand. It is very light and doesn't press down onto my glasses, which was a big problem with my old helmet. It is priced comparably to my old one, but I'm not one to say anything bas about brands that might be perfect for others. I don't think I have a big head, but the XL fit me great.
    Date published: 2016-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Tipperary After 15 years with my first Tipperary helmet and a major fall last October I thought it was long over due for a new helmet. This helmet runs small compared to my first helmet, my fault for not measuring. I like all the open vents for the hot climate I live in. I haven't worn it yet but expect it to last just like the first helmet. Great design and quality.
    Date published: 2016-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable I may forget to take it off! This is the best helmet I've ever had -looks great also
    Date published: 2016-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit Fits well and comfortable. Like the coverage on back of the head for safety
    Date published: 2016-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my Life I have been riding/training for over 50 years. I always wear a helmet. The Sportage is lightweight, well-ventilated, and the most comfortable helmet I've found. I took a horrible fall at full speed a few days ago - the first unplanned dismount in many, many years - and landed against a tree on my head, shoulder, and hip. I'm am positive that without this helmet, I could still be lying there in the wilderness. The helmet stayed in place, even with a Da Brim. I highly recommend this helmet, and encourage all riders to wear whatever helmet fits you best.
    Date published: 2016-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays cooler than my last helmet! This is a great schooling helmet. It's lightweight, fits my big head, and the vents keep my head a lot cooler than my heavier, non-vented helmet.
    Date published: 2016-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, lightweight and as attractive as helmets can be. I believe saving brain cells (those still functioning,) is more important than appearance. I don't find helmets to be beauty aides.
    Date published: 2016-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit This helmet is so comfortable. The ventilation is great---finally I am not hot! Honestly, I forget I am even wearing a helmet! Worth the extra money!
    Date published: 2016-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and light weight. When I first got the helmet, it was a little big, but it comes with plenty of foam "shims" to help with sizing. I also felt like it was a bit mushroom heady when I first put it on, but I quickly got over that and realized that it is actually quite sleek. So far haven't gotten too hot in it, either. I would definitely recommend this helmet as an excellent lower price point schooling helmet.
    Date published: 2016-06-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking helmet! This is an excellent helmet; has a nice low profile; the vents are nice and offer a bit of cooling in the summer, and during the winter do not noticeably let in more cold. I especially like the foam inserts that come with the helmet; I can quickly snug up the helmet when needed by adding one. I also like the bag that comes with it; I keep my helmet in the bag and it helps keep it cleaner. This is my second purchase of this helmet - I love it. and last week in my riding class, I looked around and nearly everyone riding wore this helmet!
    Date published: 2016-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and great fit This is the second Tipperary Sportage helmet I've purchased. I love this helmet, so lightweight I wear even when I'm off my horse. I live in Texas and it's a cool helmet even in summer. Best fit for me too!
    Date published: 2016-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet on the Market I absolutely love the Tipperary Sportage helmets. Great coverage and very lightweight. I get hot very easily in the summer and this is the only helmet that doesn't make me overheat.
    Date published: 2016-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit, cool in the summer I purchased this for my husband who is just learning to ride. We had a hard time finding a helmet to fit him that wasn't super pricey. This fit the bill. Fits well and keeps his head cool. I like it so much I may have to get one too!
    Date published: 2016-04-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super comfortable helmet! I use nothing but Tipperary helmets for schooling! They fit well and are wonderfully ventilated!!
    Date published: 2016-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and looks good This helmet looks great and fits great! Haven't fell off so I don't know if it "works" but I happy with it.
    Date published: 2016-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet I have been wearing this helmet to run barrels in for over a year now and I love it. It's lightweight, comfortable, breathable, and low profile. I can't even tell I'm wearing it. I love it. I wear it every single ride. Highly recommend this helmet especially for the summer months.
    Date published: 2016-02-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great schooling helmet
    Date published: 2016-02-27
    • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_8
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_35, tr_409
    • loc_en_US, sid_4850, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders