Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Tie-Safe Ties

Item #11620
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tie-Safe Ties are designed to release at a preset tension with a patented VELCRO® Brand closure. Top quality black nylon with brass swivel snap and brass-plated panic snap. 

Favorite Features

  • Tie-Safe is designed so that 6” of the tie remains attached to the halter, while the rest stays attached to the wall
  • No more broken halters or flying heavy snaps! If they ever release, the repair is instant - just attach the pieces back into place. Greatly reduces the risk of injury to horses and humans

Sizing It Up

Sold individually.

Cross Tie: 4’ to 5’4”
Trailer Tie: 2’ to 2’8”

Customization embroidery font is Block.

VELCRO® is a registered trademark of Velcro Industries B.V.
You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tie-Safe Ties is rated 4.6697 out of 5 by 109.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wish They Were Stronger I have the Tie-Safe crossties and am 100% happy with them, so I purchased the trailer tie based on my experience with the crossties. The hardware is excellent as is the quality of the nylon and velcro system. However, the trailer tie doesn't seem to require as much tension to pull apart as the crossties do. I wish they were a bit "stronger" and required a little more pulling to release so that the horse doesn't learn that he can easily pull loose with them. However, they are a nice quality tie.
    Date published: 2010-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why didn't I think of this? I take horses off the race track and retrain them. Many times, a racer has never been crosstied, and when they are, they panic. The Tie-Safe ties release the horse quickly before they hurt themselves or others, and in seconds, stick back together to try again! They also adjust quickly and easily for different size horses or different width aisles. I will never use ordinary cross ties again!
    Date published: 2010-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improves safety The barn I board at uses these to secure horses to tie rings for grooming. They work well so I decided when I got my trailer I would use them for tying. When I was a kid, someone forgot to untie a horse and took the butt bar down. You can picture what happened! The horse was a nervous loader in the first place and a very nervous loader after that. I'd like to prevent that from happening. Every one makes mistakes or gets distracted. Only thing I don't like about them is that if the horse chews on them the velcro very quickly becomes useless.
    Date published: 2010-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service These are a great product, and SmartPak was extremely prompt in personalizing them and shipping them off. I received them 3 days after I ordered them.
    Date published: 2010-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product!! After breaking cross ties, trailer ties, and ripping bolts from the walls with training new and panicky horses this tie is the best thing ever! Also after having some training on trailer accidents and incidents I would not want one of my horses to not be connected to one of these. Highly recommend to ALL!
    Date published: 2010-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trailer tie! I really like these trailer ties! They are very good quality and I really like the snaps on the end (much easier than the bull snaps). My mare has broken the bungee trailer ties in the past and I just don't worry about that with this one.
    Date published: 2010-02-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Trailer Ties I have a extra tall trailer that is 7'-6" and the trailer ties extended all the way out are too short for the horse to reach the feed bag with these ties. They appear to be well made but there should be more flexibility on the length as my trailer is only 6" taller than normal. I am sending them back.
    Date published: 2010-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saftey product and money saver I love these ties, and because they dont break you never have to replace them. I have one of those horses who pulls back occasionally, I have always used the rubber type ties but they break, these let go but you simply put them back together and they are as good as new!
    Date published: 2009-12-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from safe Trailer ties. I have had a set of these for years and bought these items for a friend with a new trailer/I have found them to worked very well having one horse who got hung up ,the velcro released and all was well.Have had no problems and I like the fact that they are adjustable
    Date published: 2009-12-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad These cross ties are great quality, the only problem is that they are very short. They adjust but not quite enough. I have a 12 foot aisle way.
    Date published: 2009-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth it! Yes, they cost a little more, but it's nice to have a good quick release, or two, available for a cross-tied horse. So far, peace of mind has been my main pay off. Thank you!
    Date published: 2009-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad I purchased these We just bought our trailer and had the unfortunate experience of needing the velcro on our very first trailering. The pony in the back of the trailer (while unloading) jumped back and pulled with his full force pinning my trainer by the neck to the wall of back tack room of the trailer. Thankfully the minute it began to strangle her the velcro released. Nobody standing outside could see her due to the back tack room so we wouldn't have known in time that she was in trouble. My trainer was lucky to have just escaped with a dark red mark on her neck. Trust me - pay the extra money for these ones if you are debating, you won't regret it. We were all quite shaken after the incident and I'd never buy a regular trailer tie without velcro after this experience.
    Date published: 2009-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I have been using these cross ties for several years now and keep buying more for my trailer and barn. I get a lot of Tb's off the track who don't know how to tie and I like the idea of a tie that lets go so they don't get scared. If the horse does break nobody gets hurt in the process.
    Date published: 2009-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tie System!! I use BOTH the trailer ties and the cross ties. I will never ever go back to other types of ties. The Velcro is strong enough on these to hold, but as soon as a horse puts "panic stress" on them they let go. No more bungie's snapping back and hitting horses/humans, no more lead ropes breaking, no more halter repairs, no more horses freaked out about being "trapped" by their ties. I use these with confidence and recommend them to EVERYONE!
    Date published: 2009-08-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great ties a great set of ties and the perfect length for use in the trailer. nice clips and good quality material.
    Date published: 2009-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from helpful product great to replace tying with lead ropes in the trailer, quick and easy
    Date published: 2009-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of mind is priceless I thankfully have not had an opportunity to test out the break-free feature on my trailer ties since my purchase. But, I love the fact that the ties will pull apart if my horse panics while riding. We had a horse go down in the trailer last year and I wish I had been ties with something that would have automatically let the horse loose immediately in an emergency without my intervention.
    Date published: 2009-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from As Advertisied One of our former barns had these in cross tie form. I found them to be sturdy and easy to use. When a horse pulled back, the velcro would release. Under regular daily use in a busy show barn these cross ties held up. If you have a horse that chews on the ends it will weaken the attachment. These were safe and quick to put back together in the event of an accident.
    Date published: 2009-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply functional Perfect. Does what it says, high quality, I need to order 3 more pairs!
    Date published: 2009-03-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked a little too well Our Trailer ties worked a little too well because the velcro would release the horse with very little movement of their heads. We found that the ties would release with only normal movement of the horses inside the trailer (we have a walk through) such as eating or looking out the windows and that the horses were never tied by the time we finished loading, yet alone at our destination, despite no spooking or startled action of any type. The short lead was handy when they were unloaded but it was so short that if a horse is tall and upset I (I'm 5'5") would have been unable to reach the tab anyway. Perhaps in a non-walk though where there is less room for the horses to move their heads side to side this tie would work very well but in our trailer the tie really does not function as a tie because it releases too easily. I would still like to try the cross ties because I think the basic idea is excellent.
    Date published: 2009-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! These ties actually helped train my nervous gelding not to panic. He pulled back once, they came off as they are designed, and we put him right back on the ties. He learned to stand thanks to this product. Well worth the investment. Much safer than regular cross ties that would not come undone in panic - highly recommend this product.
    Date published: 2007-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tie Safe ties We have these crossties at our barn and they are the best and safest crossties you can have. My horse is quite well behaved in the crossties, but like any equine he has the occasional "EEEK" moment, pulls back against the cross ties, they give easily, and once the pressure is off, he just stands there, looking a bit sheepish for freaking out. If your horse happens to like to run away, there's a handy, short "lead" left on the halter, so you can grab onto that, put the velcro back together, and all is fine. No broken snaps, halters, horses OR people. Worth every penny, IMO.
    Date published: 2007-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! My mare, who is usually very good, had a horse moment. She loaded, then decided that she didn't want any part of the trailer. I had just hooked her to the safety ties and out she went. The Velcro worked like a charm and I had something to hang on to after I caught her.
    Date published: 2006-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best & Safest My horse pulls back on occasion when tied to the trailer. I tie him to the trailer with Tie-Safe Ties and I don't have to worry about damage to the trailer or to him. It leaves a nice strap to grab and lead him back with. It releases with no dangerous hardware pieces to break and do further damage.
    Date published: 2005-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more broken halters! I had a horse break a halter in the trailer when tied. It's unsafe and expensive. These ties are a wonderful idea. I just love them.
    Date published: 2005-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best There should never be any other ties of any sort in your barn! These are the best. I've had the same pair of cross ties for 3 years. I've had babies learning to tie, pull away without ever being hurt (them or me) and then they have the extra lead piece hanging from their halter to help catch them. Don’t waste money on any thing else!
    Date published: 2005-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Safety Product I had a horse panic in the trailer while I was in there. The Velcro released, leaving a tag end on the halter that I could grab. He would have fallen without the breakaway factor.
    Date published: 2005-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb Safety Device Love these trailer ties. Had an anxious horse struggle in the trailer and the Velcro came apart when he fell. He quickly calmed when he was able to stand back up. The section still attached gave us a lead to hold him by when we got to him.
    Date published: 2005-01-05
    • 2015-05-28T10:48CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_96
    • loc_en_US, sid_1620, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.