Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Tie-Safe Ties

Item #11620
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tie-Safe Ties are designed to release at a preset tension with a patented VELCRO® Brand closure. Top quality black nylon with brass swivel snap and brass-plated panic snap. 

Customization embroidery font is Block. Sold in singles.

Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Tie-Safe is designed so that 6” of the tie remains attached to the halter, while the rest stays attached to the wall
  • No more broken halters or flying heavy snaps! If they ever release, the repair is instant - just attach the pieces back into place. Greatly reduces the risk of injury to horses and humans

Sizing

Cross Tie: 4’ to 5’4”
Trailer Tie: 2’ to 2’8”

What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "These pails are the perfect space saver for ...
    Description:
    "These pails are the perfect space saver for farm and home use. Exceptionally lightweight pails, under 1 lb. Features a low wide shape with an extra wide top. Made in the USA"
    "These Horseshoe Cross Tie Anchor are strong and ...
    Description:
    "These Horseshoe Cross Tie Anchor are strong and durable. 3 inch square mounting plate with hinged pony shoe. Black powder coat finish. Cross ties not included. Pair."
    "The Premier Equine Padded Tail Guard with Detachable ...
    Description:
    "The Premier Equine Padded Tail Guard with Detachable Tail Bag is shaped & padded at top of tail for total protection. It is made with a neoprene outer with non-slip lining, four hook-and-loop straps for even pressure and a long ...
    "Organize your horse's wardrobe with the Adjustable Rug ...
    Description:
    "Organize your horse's wardrobe with the Adjustable Rug Rail. Perfect for boarding barns (or just at home), this rail can adjust from 23"" - 36"" with seven locking positions to fit any space. Hooks on each end will hold your ...
    "Excellent all around Muck Bucket. Large, 70 quart, ...
    Description:
    "Excellent all around Muck Bucket. Large, 70 quart, capacity with extra heavy wall construction. This handy Muck Bucket is ideal for both stable and household use. Blue, Green or Black. Made in the USA"
    "No more hunting department stores and formal wear ...
    Description:
    "No more hunting department stores and formal wear shops to find a tie suitable for the show ring! The Showquest Men's Tie is the perfect finishing touch to your show attire. Made in England"
    "Famous English ointment (aka ""goo"") that puts a ...
    Description:
    "Famous English ointment (aka ""goo"") that puts a stop to cribbing, gnawing, and other ""no-no's"". Discourage your horse from cribbing or chewing by applying ointment to the surface."

    Reviews

    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tie-Safe Ties is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 131.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great technology, super product My mare has been horrible snapping the cross ties so I invested in a pair of these ties while I retrain her to stand on the cross ties. These are a great quality product, easy to install. And I have confidence that they will stand the test of a busy boarding barn. Thank you SmartPak for providing a great selection of tools to keep my horses safe.
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety purchase I bought the Tie-Safe for my trailer. Every once in a while my horse panics and will pull back when unloading and will break the trailer tie. Doing this he has pulled his neck out of alignment resulting in costly chiropractic appt. He hasn’t panic since I have bought the Tie-Safe but I feel confident knowing that if he suddenly panics when unloading it will release and won’t hurt himself.
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ordered More!! Got these to tie horses while we saddle, etc. Since our boys are young, they are still learning to stand for longer periods (learning nicely), so I wanted something that would "give" if they panicked. Like these so much, I've ordered more - some for the trailer more for other hitching posts.
    Date published: 2011-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All barns should use these! SAFEST cross-tie ever. This is a smart design, and it does work. If the horse pulls back / breaks away, a lead is left attached to the horse. Really well-made and quality hardware. Easy to adjust and use. Worth the extra $.
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-07-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Um, not all there I ordered two pairs of cross ties along with other items. In the first box to arrive was one pair, and in the second, half of the second pair.I have not yet contacted SmartPak about it as we are very busy setting up our new barn.The one complete pair works fine but of course the safety feature hasn't been tested yet. They are sturdy and the metal fittings look durable.
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally - A great trailer tie! After having more of the elastic types break with even a little pressure on them, decided to try these. They are the best out there. Our pony and horse decided to "test" them and it was great to just put them back together. They both have decided not to try again.
    Date published: 2011-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excelent Safety Tie I purchased my first tie a few years ago after I had tried many other ties. I have a large 17h powerhouse of a horse named Dickens and every once in a while he would be startled by one thing or another. The previous ties often parted with a bang and whiplash, sometimes striking either or both of us. Since using the Tie-Safe ties the tie still parts but in a controlled manner without whiplash. Also a section of the tie remains with the horse and provides a handy grip. Since the tie parts more easily, Dickens is not further upset by struggling, which precludes additional problems. I am extremely pleased with this product and recommend this tie over all others.
    Date published: 2011-06-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too short I love the concept of break away ties with velcro - that part is brilliant. However I was really surprised last night when I got these to see how short they are. Even adjusted out as long as they go, when hung up in my trailer, they are going to hold the horse's heads unnaturally high. They will not be able to put their heads down enough to get their heads at wither level. These ties will hold their head way up in the air. I have a very nice aluminum 3-horse slant so it's not like I'm using some freak of nature trailer with trailer ties mounted on the roof or anything. These ties are just unbelievably short. I will need to afix some kind of ring to my trailer tie rings, then attach this to that extra ring to give the horses an extra 4 or 5 inches of space. If I had known this I would not have bought them.
    Date published: 2011-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product Have seen these used for the past 8 yrs at a very busy stable and they have outlasted all others, even when chewed upon by young horses. So I have my own barn now and purchased them for my own use!
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT product super idea, releases under a good amount of pressure. Really like these!!
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of My "Can't Do Without Items" I bought a set of the cross ties and a single trailer tie for when I travel. I absolutely love both versions. My huge, very strong mare came to me with alot of emotional baggage, including fear of being firmly secured (she had gone over backwards in the cross ties and broke her tail with her previous owner). As I continue to work on her confidence, I have gone through a number of bungees and other types of ties before a friend suggested these. Now if my mare sits back (which is getting less and less frequent with time), I don't worry about her getting stuck, breaking equipment, or hurting herself. The velcro doesn't give it up too easily -- gets the message across that she is tied -- but if she continues, it does breakaway, with no harm to my horse or equipment.
    Date published: 2011-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these I got these originally for my trailer. I now use them when I tie to the outside of the trailer, when I need to tie my mare in the stall as well as when I haul. They work beautifully when she panics, no fighting and once free not scared and easy to catch and reconnect to tie back up.
    Date published: 2011-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I'll never use any other kind of trailer or cross ties. These ties release quickly, are easy to put back together, and have saved me and my horses numerous times. Love them!
    Date published: 2011-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The name is right.......Tie Safe Ties I have some of these ties from about 25 years ago.They are still good, but I decided to purchase more when I noticed the snap was not as tight as it should be. These are now made in Tawain where they used to be in the United States. I noticed that, but the quality still seems to be the same. These are excellent for a horse that pulls back of which I have one.
    Date published: 2011-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I haven't had to replace cross ties since I started using these!
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trailer ties I have only used them twice so far, but I think they work great and I dont have to worry about my horses getting hurt by them if something unforseen happens as the velcro will pull apart.
    Date published: 2011-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for stall cross ties Bought these because the ones in the stall were pretty thread bare. The velcro allows for different lengths. My horse stands quiet in cross ties so these work well for us.
    Date published: 2011-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Trailer Ties@ I have one of these ties for each horse in my trailer and they are great! They're definitely the safest on the market. I have a young thoroughbred who has problems with being tied, so trailer ties are naturally an issue. They bring me peace of mind knowing that my horses won't get hurt.
    Date published: 2011-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only cross-tie worth having These safety, release velcro cross-ties have saved me, my barn and my horses numerous times. They release quickly and can be put back together in a flash. I'd never use any other kind.
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Crossties good, snap on small side Only drawback, snaps are small for lrg halters.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth every penny i love these ties in my trailer. i have had the elastic ones break with a bad horse and the hardware went flying, have had a horse pull so hard the slip knot wouldnt give ------- so no more worries with new horses, this is the perfect solution to keep me and the horses safe.
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great safety product I use the trailer tie in my trailer and had it pull apart once. It was easy to adjust and put back together. The barn aisle tie didn't come apart and broke at the quick release. I didn't care for the barn aisle tie as the snap at the end just wasn't big enough to attach easily to a D ring on the side of a halter and would require two hands to move it just right to open it. Definitely a great safety item as both times that I needed them to give the did!
    Date published: 2010-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Works really well, and can be reset for additional use after being pulled apart. Added plus; one piece stays connected to the halter and it is long enough to act as a catch rope on your now loose horse, but not long enough for them to step on or tangle in. LOVE IT!
    Date published: 2010-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Multiple uses! I board my horse at a not so up-to-date barn, that uses heavy metal chains for cross ties. Although I never tie my horse to them, I've seen plenty of accidents happen around the not-so-informed wanna-be horse people. I bought a few of these to keep around the barn for people to use, and no matter who is hauling, I hand one off to them to. These have prevented MANY could have been deadly accidents. And the best part is, when a horse escapes, there is a little lead still attached to the halter! Awesome quality too, stitching is good, and velcro is VERY strong. Escape artists can't pull it apart for fun or a quick escape.
    Date published: 2010-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safest Tie This is the only tie I feel safe using with my mare in the trailer. She sets back occasionally, and I wouldn't want her to panic while trailering. I also don't want anything to break that needs replacing! This is a great design.
    Date published: 2010-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These Ties Saved My Life A client's trailer was equipped with these Tie-Safe Ties. While unloading, a horse started to pull back when I approached to attach a lead. The cross tie went taught and pinned me by the throat against the wall while the horse was running back - the Tie-Safe Tie broke apart just in time to prevent a very serious injury. My throat was bruised and sore but I was otherwise unscathed. Since then I have equipped all my cross ties and trailers with these Tie-Safe Ties. Not only are they safer, but when a horse does pull back and snap them, you can put them back together instead of having to buy a new cross tie.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_10
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_117
    • loc_en_US, sid_1620, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders