Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Tie-Safe Ties

Item #11620
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tie-Safe Ties are designed to release at a preset tension with a patented VELCRO® Brand closure. Top quality black nylon with brass swivel snap and brass-plated panic snap. 

Favorite Features

  • Tie-Safe is designed so that 6” of the tie remains attached to the halter, while the rest stays attached to the wall
  • No more broken halters or flying heavy snaps! If they ever release, the repair is instant - just attach the pieces back into place. Greatly reduces the risk of injury to horses and humans

Sizing It Up

Sold individually.

Cross Tie: 4’ to 5’4”
Trailer Tie: 2’ to 2’8”

Customization embroidery font is Block.

Imported.

VELCRO® is a registered trademark of Velcro Industries B.V.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    These Horseshoe Cross Tie Anchor are strong and ...
    Description:
    These Horseshoe Cross Tie Anchor are strong and durable. 3 inch square mounting plate with hinged pony shoe. Black powder coat finish. Cross ties not included. Pair.
    18'' - 32" adjustable Baker Trailer Tie is ...
    Description:
    18'' - 32" adjustable Baker Trailer Tie is made of first quality nylon and brass plated hardware. As with all Baker products, The Baker Trailer Ties are made in the USA. Original plaid.
    Fully adjustable nylon trailer tie. Panic snap on ...
    Description:
    Fully adjustable nylon trailer tie. Panic snap on one end and a bull snap on the other. Trailer Tied adjusts from 22" to 32". Sold individually. Black. Made in the USA
    The Nylon Cross Tie has a panic snap ...
    Description:
    The Nylon Cross Tie has a panic snap on one end and a bull snap on the other. The Nylon Cross Tie adjusts from 44" to 72". Each. Black. Favorite Features Adjustable to fit a variety of grooming stalls, wash ...
    Safe-T-Tie is a revolutionary way to safely tie ...
    Description:
    Safe-T-Tie is a revolutionary way to safely tie your horse. Portable and reusable, it is a safer alternative to solid tying or using a temporary solution such as baling twine to tie up a horse. Favorite Features Five security settings ...
    The famous Baker&trade Plaid is now available in ...
    Description:
    The famous Baker&trade Plaid is now available in cross ties! The 32''- 60" adjustable Baker Cross Tie is made of first quality nylon with brass plated hardware. As with all Baker products, Baker Cross Ties are made in the USA. ...
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tie-Safe Ties is rated 4.6891 out of 5 by 119.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Trailer Ties@ I have one of these ties for each horse in my trailer and they are great! They're definitely the safest on the market. I have a young thoroughbred who has problems with being tied, so trailer ties are naturally an issue. They bring me peace of mind knowing that my horses won't get hurt.
    Date published: 2011-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only cross-tie worth having These safety, release velcro cross-ties have saved me, my barn and my horses numerous times. They release quickly and can be put back together in a flash. I'd never use any other kind.
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth every penny i love these ties in my trailer. i have had the elastic ones break with a bad horse and the hardware went flying, have had a horse pull so hard the slip knot wouldnt give ------- so no more worries with new horses, this is the perfect solution to keep me and the horses safe.
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great safety product I use the trailer tie in my trailer and had it pull apart once. It was easy to adjust and put back together. The barn aisle tie didn't come apart and broke at the quick release. I didn't care for the barn aisle tie as the snap at the end just wasn't big enough to attach easily to a D ring on the side of a halter and would require two hands to move it just right to open it. Definitely a great safety item as both times that I needed them to give the did!
    Date published: 2010-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Works really well, and can be reset for additional use after being pulled apart. Added plus; one piece stays connected to the halter and it is long enough to act as a catch rope on your now loose horse, but not long enough for them to step on or tangle in. LOVE IT!
    Date published: 2010-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Multiple uses! I board my horse at a not so up-to-date barn, that uses heavy metal chains for cross ties. Although I never tie my horse to them, I've seen plenty of accidents happen around the not-so-informed wanna-be horse people. I bought a few of these to keep around the barn for people to use, and no matter who is hauling, I hand one off to them to. These have prevented MANY could have been deadly accidents. And the best part is, when a horse escapes, there is a little lead still attached to the halter! Awesome quality too, stitching is good, and velcro is VERY strong. Escape artists can't pull it apart for fun or a quick escape.
    Date published: 2010-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safest Tie This is the only tie I feel safe using with my mare in the trailer. She sets back occasionally, and I wouldn't want her to panic while trailering. I also don't want anything to break that needs replacing! This is a great design.
    Date published: 2010-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These Ties Saved My Life A client's trailer was equipped with these Tie-Safe Ties. While unloading, a horse started to pull back when I approached to attach a lead. The cross tie went taught and pinned me by the throat against the wall while the horse was running back - the Tie-Safe Tie broke apart just in time to prevent a very serious injury. My throat was bruised and sore but I was otherwise unscathed. Since then I have equipped all my cross ties and trailers with these Tie-Safe Ties. Not only are they safer, but when a horse does pull back and snap them, you can put them back together instead of having to buy a new cross tie.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more worries After buying a young horse I bought these so that I didn't have to worry if she pulled back. They give at just the right moment and there is even a small leadope left to catch the horse if needed. I like not having to worry about a horse getting totally freaked out and injured while struggling.
    Date published: 2010-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety is Key I was given a set of these ties as a gift but they were cross ties, I finally found them as trailer ties. Smart Pak had the best price around. I love the quick release and the regular snap on the one end. I hate those heavy bull snaps that take two hands to open. These ties will pull apart in an emergency, you don't have to worry about having to be there to undo the quick release, and so much safer then doing a quick release rope knot. I liked these so much I ordered a pair for a friend that got a new horse trailer to start her out right. Great price, great product, great shipping price as well. Quality and service I can count on.
    Date published: 2010-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed Nice quality - should break away before the rest of my trailer does. I have a belgianxqtr that has pulled back on the trailer. I don't like leaving him untied so this should do the trick.
    Date published: 2010-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Trailer Tie I got one trailer tie for my mare who will sometimes pull off the trailer just to be a diva. Since I got these she's only pulled off once and the grab strap was definitely handy plus it ensured the halter didn't break at all. I do like the peace of mind that the tie will separate and halter remain on the horse. I'm getting a second for the other side of the trailer now!
    Date published: 2010-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Safe You don't have to worry about your horse getting hung. But they are strong enough that a horse just leaning on them, they will not come un done. I'm really pleased with this product. I would highly recommend it.
    Date published: 2010-05-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wish They Were Stronger I have the Tie-Safe crossties and am 100% happy with them, so I purchased the trailer tie based on my experience with the crossties. The hardware is excellent as is the quality of the nylon and velcro system. However, the trailer tie doesn't seem to require as much tension to pull apart as the crossties do. I wish they were a bit "stronger" and required a little more pulling to release so that the horse doesn't learn that he can easily pull loose with them. However, they are a nice quality tie.
    Date published: 2010-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why didn't I think of this? I take horses off the race track and retrain them. Many times, a racer has never been crosstied, and when they are, they panic. The Tie-Safe ties release the horse quickly before they hurt themselves or others, and in seconds, stick back together to try again! They also adjust quickly and easily for different size horses or different width aisles. I will never use ordinary cross ties again!
    Date published: 2010-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improves safety The barn I board at uses these to secure horses to tie rings for grooming. They work well so I decided when I got my trailer I would use them for tying. When I was a kid, someone forgot to untie a horse and took the butt bar down. You can picture what happened! The horse was a nervous loader in the first place and a very nervous loader after that. I'd like to prevent that from happening. Every one makes mistakes or gets distracted. Only thing I don't like about them is that if the horse chews on them the velcro very quickly becomes useless.
    Date published: 2010-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service These are a great product, and SmartPak was extremely prompt in personalizing them and shipping them off. I received them 3 days after I ordered them.
    Date published: 2010-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product!! After breaking cross ties, trailer ties, and ripping bolts from the walls with training new and panicky horses this tie is the best thing ever! Also after having some training on trailer accidents and incidents I would not want one of my horses to not be connected to one of these. Highly recommend to ALL!
    Date published: 2010-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trailer tie! I really like these trailer ties! They are very good quality and I really like the snaps on the end (much easier than the bull snaps). My mare has broken the bungee trailer ties in the past and I just don't worry about that with this one.
    Date published: 2010-02-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Trailer Ties I have a extra tall trailer that is 7'-6" and the trailer ties extended all the way out are too short for the horse to reach the feed bag with these ties. They appear to be well made but there should be more flexibility on the length as my trailer is only 6" taller than normal. I am sending them back.
    Date published: 2010-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saftey product and money saver I love these ties, and because they dont break you never have to replace them. I have one of those horses who pulls back occasionally, I have always used the rubber type ties but they break, these let go but you simply put them back together and they are as good as new!
    Date published: 2009-12-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from safe Trailer ties. I have had a set of these for years and bought these items for a friend with a new trailer/I have found them to worked very well having one horse who got hung up ,the velcro released and all was well.Have had no problems and I like the fact that they are adjustable
    Date published: 2009-12-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad These cross ties are great quality, the only problem is that they are very short. They adjust but not quite enough. I have a 12 foot aisle way.
    Date published: 2009-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth it! Yes, they cost a little more, but it's nice to have a good quick release, or two, available for a cross-tied horse. So far, peace of mind has been my main pay off. Thank you!
    Date published: 2009-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad I purchased these We just bought our trailer and had the unfortunate experience of needing the velcro on our very first trailering. The pony in the back of the trailer (while unloading) jumped back and pulled with his full force pinning my trainer by the neck to the wall of back tack room of the trailer. Thankfully the minute it began to strangle her the velcro released. Nobody standing outside could see her due to the back tack room so we wouldn't have known in time that she was in trouble. My trainer was lucky to have just escaped with a dark red mark on her neck. Trust me - pay the extra money for these ones if you are debating, you won't regret it. We were all quite shaken after the incident and I'd never buy a regular trailer tie without velcro after this experience.
    Date published: 2009-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I have been using these cross ties for several years now and keep buying more for my trailer and barn. I get a lot of Tb's off the track who don't know how to tie and I like the idea of a tie that lets go so they don't get scared. If the horse does break nobody gets hurt in the process.
    Date published: 2009-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tie System!! I use BOTH the trailer ties and the cross ties. I will never ever go back to other types of ties. The Velcro is strong enough on these to hold, but as soon as a horse puts "panic stress" on them they let go. No more bungie's snapping back and hitting horses/humans, no more lead ropes breaking, no more halter repairs, no more horses freaked out about being "trapped" by their ties. I use these with confidence and recommend them to EVERYONE!
    Date published: 2009-08-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great ties a great set of ties and the perfect length for use in the trailer. nice clips and good quality material.
    Date published: 2009-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from helpful product great to replace tying with lead ropes in the trailer, quick and easy
    Date published: 2009-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of mind is priceless I thankfully have not had an opportunity to test out the break-free feature on my trailer ties since my purchase. But, I love the fact that the ties will pull apart if my horse panics while riding. We had a horse go down in the trailer last year and I wish I had been ties with something that would have automatically let the horse loose immediately in an emergency without my intervention.
    Date published: 2009-04-14
    • 2016-05-04T16:48CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_106
    • loc_en_US, sid_1620, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders