Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Thrush Buster

Delta Mustad Hoofcare
- Item #10210
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Thrushbuster® forms a cleaner barrier and deters dirt and manure penetration into the healthy frog. Unique color tells you where it’s doing the job, with a fresh coat needed only where the color has faded.

Thrushbuster® is more effective than commercial preparations, yet milder to sensitive tissue than bleaches, copper sulfate, or turpentine. Thrushbuster® can also be used before applying sole pads and silicon to toughen thin-soled feet.

Handy 2 oz. bottle ensures easy application. 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Please note expedited shipping is not available for this product.
You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Thrush Buster is rated 4.8343 out of 5 by 169.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One application and it's GONE! My OTTB recently got a mild case of thrush and this knocked it out with one application. So now the first sign/smell of thrush I put this on and poof it is GONE! Even though the bottle is small it only takes a few drops and my one bottle has lasted several months and only once did I have to reapply but that is because I've been woking on his hooves for 6+ months to get them in shape.
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Had a problem with thrush because of the wet summer we had. Thrush Buster did the trick, cleaned up the thrush and now I use it as a maintenance tool
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Messy but... Messy but... it's working. When Teddy was purchased his frogs had essentially rotted out of his feet after evidently not seeing a farrier for quite some time. I'd been alternating the Absorbine thrush product with a medicated treatment purchased through my vet but felt the Absorbine product stopped working as well as it had been... Not sure if the bacteria becomes resistant after a couple bottles? But I figured I would try switching products next time I ran out and see what happened. While I am now adding to the purple stains in our wash stalls, I feel confident Teddy's feet are continuing to heal.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best stuff out there for Thrush I use this once a week to prevent my mare from getting thrush and it does a wonderful job.
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from thrush buster I found it to be a good product.. just be careful not to get it on you .it will stain your hands for a couple of days.. It worked for my horse..
    Date published: 2012-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have always had thrush buster in my grooming supplies, this past winter my horse had pretty bad thrush in two hooves. I had run out of this and was treating it to no avail with other products. Once I re-ordered and began applying the Thrush Buster everything started clearing up within the week. Now I know not to bother with anything else. I usually apply daily at first and then ease down to once or twice a week. This has been the only thing that has ever worked for my horse in the years Ive had him.
    Date published: 2012-05-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn´t work at all for my horse even though applied almost every day for more than four weeks.
    Date published: 2012-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff I like the ease of use and that you only need to apply once or twice a week. It soaks in quickly so it doesn't run out the point of the frog, but it does come out of the bottle quickly and the bottle doesn't need to be squeezed, just tip and "pour". I got a purple hand when the bottle tipped unexpectedly and it poured out and all over me and the bottle. It doesn't take much to do a hoof, so a bottle will last a long time - if you don't spill it. Seems to do the job quickly also.
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Whenever I've had an issue with thrush, this has taken care of it right away. I've tried several, this one actually worked.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! With so many options out there this is the one that just works!
    Date published: 2012-02-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I have used Thrush Buster for a number of years and have had good success with it killing thrush. Beware that the purple dye does not come off well when it gets on your hands and is pretty much permanent on clothes.
    Date published: 2012-02-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gets the job done, but does NOT last long!!!! My filly had a very mild amount of thrush in her frog. I bought Thrush Buster because of all the great reviews and how long it lasts it wet conditions. Used it on her, and held each of her hoofs up after applying, to let the stuff soak in. After the product had dried on her hoofs, I put her back into her pasture. Her pasture is very wet right now because of heavy amounts of melting snow. The next morning I when I went out to check on her, I found not a drop of the product left on any of her hoofs. It had all washed off in the snow!!! I reapplied it again and the next day it was all washed off again.....The good news is that the product does work fast and kills the Thrush right away. But it does NOT LAST like it claims to, in wet conditions. Product is pretty pricey now that I have to apply it so often.This product is messy. You have to use gloves like latex ones when applying or it will stain your skin, nails, and clothes. If your horse's environment is really wet, then expect to apply it every day or at least several times a week.
    Date published: 2012-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Things Come In Small Bottles! This is great stuff. I use it once a week year round.Even through the wet northwest weather it will keep thrush at bay. I know it works, because every time my farrier comes he says my horse's feet look good!
    Date published: 2012-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product Prevents thrush even with all day turn-out in muddy paddocks
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick fix Great product Clears the thrush so quickly. The blue is great to see where the product is... not so easy to get off your skin. This works better than anything else we've tried...and we've tried a lot of different things for thrush!
    Date published: 2011-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product I don't use it often, but when you need it- it works. My farrier cautions it's heavy use, but in our wet spring/ fall seasons combined with straw bedding- thrush is a part of life, and I always have a bottle on hand.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! I was first recommended Thursh Buster by my farrier about 5 years ago, and it's all I have used since, mostly as thrush prevention. I have used it on donkeys, rescues coming in with nasty feet, healthy horses, and now my own horse. Even in the mud with 3-4 days straight of rain, no thrush. Love it. But yes, it does stain your hands, but it won't make them smell like the green stuff. Be careful!
    Date published: 2011-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective A little bit goes a long way! I've been using this product for mild thrush, and it seems to have done is job. Easy to use, but the purple stuff is a bit messy, so wear gloves or be careful!
    Date published: 2011-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trusty thrush treatment Over the years, I've tried pretty much every thrush remedy out there, from clear to green, squirts and sprays, even powdered. After using this one, it's all I use. The bottle is small, but it will last you awhile if you apply it correctly and just treat the clefts of the frog and the heel. Even in wet northern California, one application a week seems to keep thrush away, and you can still see the purple from last week's application when you reapply! If thrush does take hold, you just have to increase to twice a week for awhile and that has always worked for me. My farrier even commented how surprised he was that my horses had thrush-free feet after he saw the mud in their paddock last spring. Be warned though, if you aren't careful you'll end up with purple stained hands for a few days.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Good! It seems to really help my thrush prone horse and keep his feet normal even in wet winter conditions. The purple is great because I can really see when I need to reapply. I only need to put it on one or two times a week instead of every day. Major time saver!
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expensive but Worth It I tried this product because I was tired of using sticky, messy thrush products that needed to be applied daily and didn't even seem to work. I was very skeptical about this product because of the cost and small size, but it totally lived up to its expectations! It has a very thin consistency so it soaks in and really stays for a long time. My horse hasn't had thrush since I started using this product, despite our very wet summer/fall. And although it only comes in a tiny bottle, it lasts for a very long time (and is really handy because it's only something little to add to my grooming tote rather than a whole big bottle). It does tend to stain, but if you're careful when you use it, it's not a problem.
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for controlling chronic thrush! My horse has had thrush during the wet season, this really is the best product for keeping it under control while still allowing him to go outside even when it is muddy!
    Date published: 2011-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommended by farrier Our farrier recommended this for white line disease and it worked very quickly and very well.
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from thrushbuster love this stuff. but even better is the staff at SmartPak, love the personal service, enthusiastic and caring staff. best customer service i've ever had in 20 years!
    Date published: 2011-10-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive but works This stuff works better than most thrush medications I've tried although it is rather expensive (small amount of product for the price paid).
    Date published: 2011-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Busts Thrush! I like to use thrush buster when thrush arises opposed to a preventive. I've used it for years and am pleased with the results. It has knocked out some very bad cases for me. I tend to use it along with Hooflex - Thrush Remedy. For bad cases I like to use Hooflex everyday and thrush buster twice a week. The little bottle goes a long way! Thrush buster WILL stain clothing and hands. I finally gave in and started using gloves. lol
    Date published: 2011-09-18
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't work on thrush prone horses This product is very dependent on the horse. If your horse doesn't routinely suffer from thrush, this will probably work well.My pony who normally has very strong, dry hooves got a little thrush and after one treatment her hooves were normal.My horse on the other hand, is very prone to thrush. This does nothing for him except stain his feet purple. Slightly better success with Tomorrow, the dry cow remedy.
    Date published: 2011-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable product I have used Thrush Buster for several years on my horse and am always able to nip thrush in the bud with it! Also, a little goes a long way, so it is economical.
    Date published: 2011-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it!! This stuff is great! I live in an area where it rains a lot, so this is a "must have" item. It's a staple at our barn.
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I only use it once a week during the wet season. It costs a bit more than the competition, but you save by not using as much. It seems to last longer than other brands on the inside of the hoof.
    Date published: 2011-05-16
    • 2015-05-22T08:17CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_26, tr_143
    • loc_en_US, sid_210, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.