Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Thermo Manager Stable Blanket

TuffRider
- Item #13972
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

We are really impressed with the Thermo Manager Stable Blanket! It is really high quality and quite unique. Your horse will look really sharp and be nice and cozy in this versatile blanket.

Favorite Features

  • Versatile Thermo Manager Stable Blanket does the work of three sheets: a cooling-out sheet, stable blanket and travel sheet.
  • Put it on a damp horse, use as a single layer or under a blanket for added warmth in the barn. 
  • Special Thermo Manager fabric consists of polyester with polypropylene blend filling. 
  • This blanket features a single VELCRO® Brand front closure, tail cord, dual belly surcingles and fleece on the withers.
  • Colors: Hunter or Navy.  Sizes: 70-84 in 2" increments
Key Specifications
  • Denier:
  • Fabric: Polyester
  • Fill:
  • Closure Style: Single VELCRO brand front closure

Specifications

Fabric Polyester
Surcingles Low-cross surcingles
Lining Polypropylene blend
Gussets No
Closure Style Single VELCRO brand front closure
Neck Style Regular neck
Leg Straps/Tail Cord Tail cord
Tail Flap No
Neck Rug/Hood No
Special Features Special thermo manager fabric consists of polyester with polypropylene blend filling
Customizable Embroidery
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in ...
    Description:
    "The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in 1 - Simply detach the removable liner to choose the level of warmth for your horse making this blanket extremely versatile, you'll be using it all season! Made from 1000D ballistic nylon, ...
    "A blanket where the bells and whistles come ...
    Description:
    "A blanket where the bells and whistles come standard. Extremely well constructed, waterproof 600 Denier rip-stop exterior has reinforced heat-sealed seams and rear darts that are tailored not just folded over. Imported Please note: Embroidery is recommended on the surcingle. ...
    "Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses ...
    Description:
    "Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses and with an assortment of thoughtful features, the Rockin' SP Classic Waterproof Blanket is an unbeatable value for a waterproof, yet breathable turnout. Imported. Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a ...
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new ...
    Description:
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new to the Bravo range, and features Horseware's high cut neck design and V-front closure for a snug fit. 1200D polyester outer with polyester lining and front leg arch. Imported. Also Available: Matching ...
    "Protect your horse from winter’s worst with the ...
    Description:
    "Protect your horse from winter’s worst with the ultimate in turnout armor! The SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is our toughest waterproof blanket yet. This blanket features a heavy-duty nylon that resists rubs and tears, making it the ideal choice for ...
    "The All American features the Big D Diamond ...
    Description:
    "The All American features the Big D Diamond Pattern and contoured design for added warmth, fit, and comfort. This stable blanket is a Big D classic! Open or closed front, forest w/ beige trim or navy w/ silver trim. Also ...
    "Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
    Description:
    "Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Blanket offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Also Available: Matching Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Neck Rug (Fill: ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Thermo Manager Stable Blanket is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 88.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value sharp looking sheet, looks more durable than cotton, hoping it breathes in the warmer weather though as I bought this in Nov. I bought an 84 and wish the chest width was just a bit more generous but it will work, especially at this price. The free BarnBuddies monogram is a special touch that really pops!
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stable blanket Nice blanket...I use this to keep my Thoroughbred warm on chilly nights. The blanket is warm without being heavy and cumbersome. The only draw back is that the blanket doesn't have leg straps...only a tail cord. I will probably purchase another for my second horse.
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value Really liked the weight and fit of this blanket. Plan to use it as a layer under other turnouts and as a stable blanket.
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these blankets... I've purchased several of them throughout the years, and find that they are the go-to blanket in all seasons. They're great wicking after a bath, or a nice sheet to use when the temperature dips, perfect for trailering, and a wonderful layering option. They are comfortable for my horses and have just enough "give" to avoid shoulder rubs, and are smoothing on the coat. After washing, they look new again.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I haven't been disappointed yet and it's waterproof. My daughter was so excited to have her show horses name on it. Looks amazing!!!!
    Date published: 2012-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super handy garment. This is a versatile item to keep on hand as an extra layer or cooler. It looks sharp with monogramming. I purchased one to see how I liked the product, and plan to purchase two more for my other horses. The sizing does run very large. My large Thoroughbred who is usually a 78 is still a little small for the 76.
    Date published: 2012-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Cooler/Blanket I purchased this blanket to use on a 5 hour trailer ride for my QH mare in New England. She is not clipped, but the trip was during January, so I wanted her to have some warmth while traveling, without being suffocated by a full winter blanket. This blanket never slipped during the trip, and even when she was a little damp from nervous sweat she stayed comfortable.I have actually left this blanket on her with her rain sheet over to keep it from getting too dirty. The combo of those two is perfect for her during cooler temps- but will also not be too hot during these random warm winter days that seem to be popping up.The fit is a bit weird. I usually buy a 76" or 78" blanket for her, but I read other reviews, and purchased a 74". It fits perfectly. The neck opening is quite large, but she is broad through the chest and has high withers, so it has still fit her well.The price is great for the quality of this sheet. My mare's only worn it for about a week, so I can't attest to long-term wear and tear.
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the blanket, hate the fit. This is a great all around blanket. I love how many uses you can get out of it- I especially love using it as a cooler, because I HATE using fleece coolers because they are impossible to keep clean, and with this one the shavings brush off easily. (and it washes well) Its great as a liner as well.I love the stretch it has, its not restricting at all.Unfortunately, I HATE the fit through the neck. The neck is huge, and ends up behind my horses withers. He does have a shorter neck, but I can't leave him wearing this because of how it gets stuck. Everywhere else it fits nicely, but the neck drives me nuts. I also wish it had some fleece at the withers.If the fit is improved, its the perfect sheet to have on hands...
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile layer The Thermo Manager is a very versatile blanket. It can be a stable blanket on its own, but I use it as a layer under a stable sheet, just so it doesn't pick up shavings, hay, etc. I can use it as a cooler after riding, and an extra layer of warmth under a turnout of any weight. Fits well on my horses, and seems durable. And it looks good, too! I bought another for my second horse.
    Date published: 2012-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Cooler I love this cooler! Purchased for a 16.1 hand Thoroughbred. The size 80 fits perfectly. It is easy to hook and I feel it fits more securely than some other coolers I have used. It looks great, too!
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thermomanager blanket This blanket is fantastic. I can use it as a stable blanket when the weather is cool or as an underlayer as it gets colder. It keeps my horse from overheating under a regular blanket or sheet if the temperature increases suddenly, which is important to me right now as I live quite far from the barn and getting out to change blankets is not possible.
    Date published: 2011-12-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from We have one of these sheets at work that a horse won as a prize. They are beautiful, soft, and wash well. I ordered two sheets for my two horses that are TBs. They normally wear an 82 and 76, but because the neck hole is exceptionally large I ended up with a 78 and 72.Otherwise the blankets are lovely.
    Date published: 2011-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this sheet This is a great looking , feeling, and fitting sheet. I love it's wicking capability and that it makes a nice blanket liner. None of the icky pilling of fleece.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from well, let's see... I bought this because we have had such an awesome fall that it's been difficult to figure out which blanket to use...usually we go straight into mediums for day and add another medium at nite or sometimes even a heavy! For it's intended purpose it is terrific! I read the other reviews and purchased one size smaller than I normally would buy...well, it just fits him and he is only 5 so we shall see. The only other semi negative comment I have is that it seems to be "pilling" inside and I have noticed a bit of rubbing on his hips... I haven't washed it yet so really can't say much about it's durability...don't know if this helps much.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of Bang for Your $ I have been buying these sheets for 3 years now. Every horse in my barn has at least one, and I give them as gifts. They make an excellent cooler, thermal layer, stable hybrid (in between sheet and blanket). The wicking is very effective on a wet horse and regulates warmth nicely. Very comfortable (the material has a little "give" in it, so my 17h Holsteiners can roll and romp without destroying them) and effective on both fuzzy and body-clipped horses. Cleans beautifully in the washer--always looks new. I've never had one tear or even wear out yet. They embroider beautifully, too. Super value!
    Date published: 2011-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thermo Manager blanket Fantastic product
    Date published: 2011-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks fancy for the price! I just got this about a week ago. DEFINITELY ORDER A SIZE DOWN!! My pony wears 75" in everything but I read the other reviews (glad I did) and went for the 72" and I am so happy I did. It fits him almost perfect. Since he is a pony his butt doesn't fill out the blanket as much as a horses would so it kinda looks funny. But the monogram is great! Fit (down a size) is great! So far it has held up and he has worn it everyday.A couple of girls are the barn commented on how nice it looked and were shocked at how cheap it is!
    Date published: 2011-11-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the trailer After reading the other reviews, I ordered an 82" for my Perch/TB. He normally wears an 84" Rambo XL, 87" normal Rambo, and 84" WeatherBeeta. It fits him perfectly however he's very thick at the base of the neck...I can see how it wouldn't work for some. I don't think it repels shavings as well as other reviewers, but it's MUCH better than a fleece sheet and there's no static shock when removing it. I use it as a less bulky stable blanket for mild nights and I've found it to be great for the trailer, too. I didn't think I would like the single velcro front closure, but I haven't had a problem with it yet. I still anticipate it being the first thing to wear out with regular use. Overall, it's a nice addition to his wardrobe at a great price.
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great stall blanket love the blanket, looks so much more expensive than it is, I clipped my horse the first time this year and want to keep him warm so I plan to use it under his rain sheet for more warmthit also looks like I can wash it myself
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty nice blanket. Interesting fabric that results in a nice soft quilt-like feel, not thick, but not paper-thin. I like that the front closure is a relatively flat velcro fastening, which helps reduce the bulk, since I intend to use this for layering when it gets colder. I thought it would be easier to wash than his heavy winter blanket, and then I don't have to buy a spare blanket to put on while I wash the other one. I ordered a size down (usually 80", got 78") and I am glad that I did. The chest/wither area is just shy of *almost* being snug, but I keep a light showsheen mist and lyrca shoulder guard on him in the winter, which has been a good solution for shoulder rubs for us, however, the back end is on the baggy side. My horse does have a large chest, but his back end is not out of proportion, so I was a little disappointed with the fit.
    Date published: 2011-11-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase, but watch the size Great stable blanket for the price! I ordered 2 sizes smaller for my horse and it's still big, but not too much.
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality I was really surprised about the quality of this cooler. It looks really expensive, and the quilting is really nice. I took the advice of the other reviewers and bought it a size smaller than my gelding's usual blanket side. It was a good choice. The smaller size fit him very nicely. I would buy this cooler again.
    Date published: 2011-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! Just what I was looking for!!! A cooler that can be used in trailer (wool is too hot for TX) this sheet is great, soft and nice material. I don't know how it will last because I just got it. Going to get it monogrammed with my horse's name to make it perfect. Note - I did size down to a 72" and I am glad I did! My mare normally wears a 75" or 78" in Weatherbeeta.
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I've used this blanket for a few months, almost every night and it is holding up great. I've washed it twice (and even put it in the dryer for about 15 min each time) and it looks as good as it did when I purchased it.It does run big (I'm using the the 82 on my 17.1 hand, big bodied TB and it's a bit big) but it still works great and barely shifts on my boy who lays down every night.
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would Buy Again Would buy this blanket again. Seems to do a great job of getting the moisture away. Its also held up really well the the use over the past couple months. Still looks new. Would recommend ordering it at least 2-4" smaller.
    Date published: 2011-02-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blanket This was my Christmas gift to my mare, and I had it embroidered with her name.It's a really well made, quality blanket, and launders very nicely. No complaints, other than the fit, which is rather long in the back for my horse. I ordered an 80 - a 78 would probably have been a better choice.Good embroidery
    Date published: 2011-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick easy blanket At night it gets a bit chilly, don't want a real heavy blanket type because I'm not there to remove it when it warms up. This is perfect. Just right and comfortable
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased I don't normally purchase Tuff Rider but am very happy with this product. It is of a great quality, and the fit was perfect for a very large THB with a long back. I definately recommend this product!!!!
    Date published: 2010-12-25
    • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_2
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_78
    • loc_en_US, sid_3972, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders