Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Thermo Manager Stable Blanket

TuffRider
- Item #13972
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

We are really impressed with the Thermo Manager Stable Blanket! It is really high quality and quite unique. Your horse will look really sharp and be nice and cozy in this versatile blanket.

Favorite Features

  • Versatile Thermo Manager Stable Blanket does the work of three sheets: a cooling-out sheet, stable blanket and travel sheet.
  • Put it on a damp horse, use as a single layer or under a blanket for added warmth in the barn. 
  • Special Thermo Manager fabric consists of polyester with polypropylene blend filling. 
  • This blanket features a single VELCRO® Brand front closure, tail cord, dual belly surcingles and fleece on the withers.
  • Colors: Black or Navy.  Sizes: 70-84 in 2" increments

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Thermo Manager Stable Blanket is rated 4.4096 out of 5 by 83.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this sheet This is a great looking , feeling, and fitting sheet. I love it's wicking capability and that it makes a nice blanket liner. None of the icky pilling of fleece.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from well, let's see... I bought this because we have had such an awesome fall that it's been difficult to figure out which blanket to use...usually we go straight into mediums for day and add another medium at nite or sometimes even a heavy! For it's intended purpose it is terrific! I read the other reviews and purchased one size smaller than I normally would buy...well, it just fits him and he is only 5 so we shall see. The only other semi negative comment I have is that it seems to be "pilling" inside and I have noticed a bit of rubbing on his hips... I haven't washed it yet so really can't say much about it's durability...don't know if this helps much.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of Bang for Your $ I have been buying these sheets for 3 years now. Every horse in my barn has at least one, and I give them as gifts. They make an excellent cooler, thermal layer, stable hybrid (in between sheet and blanket). The wicking is very effective on a wet horse and regulates warmth nicely. Very comfortable (the material has a little "give" in it, so my 17h Holsteiners can roll and romp without destroying them) and effective on both fuzzy and body-clipped horses. Cleans beautifully in the washer--always looks new. I've never had one tear or even wear out yet. They embroider beautifully, too. Super value!
    Date published: 2011-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks fancy for the price! I just got this about a week ago. DEFINITELY ORDER A SIZE DOWN!! My pony wears 75" in everything but I read the other reviews (glad I did) and went for the 72" and I am so happy I did. It fits him almost perfect. Since he is a pony his butt doesn't fill out the blanket as much as a horses would so it kinda looks funny. But the monogram is great! Fit (down a size) is great! So far it has held up and he has worn it everyday.A couple of girls are the barn commented on how nice it looked and were shocked at how cheap it is!
    Date published: 2011-11-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the trailer After reading the other reviews, I ordered an 82" for my Perch/TB. He normally wears an 84" Rambo XL, 87" normal Rambo, and 84" WeatherBeeta. It fits him perfectly however he's very thick at the base of the neck...I can see how it wouldn't work for some. I don't think it repels shavings as well as other reviewers, but it's MUCH better than a fleece sheet and there's no static shock when removing it. I use it as a less bulky stable blanket for mild nights and I've found it to be great for the trailer, too. I didn't think I would like the single velcro front closure, but I haven't had a problem with it yet. I still anticipate it being the first thing to wear out with regular use. Overall, it's a nice addition to his wardrobe at a great price.
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great stall blanket love the blanket, looks so much more expensive than it is, I clipped my horse the first time this year and want to keep him warm so I plan to use it under his rain sheet for more warmthit also looks like I can wash it myself
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty nice blanket. Interesting fabric that results in a nice soft quilt-like feel, not thick, but not paper-thin. I like that the front closure is a relatively flat velcro fastening, which helps reduce the bulk, since I intend to use this for layering when it gets colder. I thought it would be easier to wash than his heavy winter blanket, and then I don't have to buy a spare blanket to put on while I wash the other one. I ordered a size down (usually 80", got 78") and I am glad that I did. The chest/wither area is just shy of *almost* being snug, but I keep a light showsheen mist and lyrca shoulder guard on him in the winter, which has been a good solution for shoulder rubs for us, however, the back end is on the baggy side. My horse does have a large chest, but his back end is not out of proportion, so I was a little disappointed with the fit.
    Date published: 2011-11-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase, but watch the size Great stable blanket for the price! I ordered 2 sizes smaller for my horse and it's still big, but not too much.
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality I was really surprised about the quality of this cooler. It looks really expensive, and the quilting is really nice. I took the advice of the other reviewers and bought it a size smaller than my gelding's usual blanket side. It was a good choice. The smaller size fit him very nicely. I would buy this cooler again.
    Date published: 2011-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! Just what I was looking for!!! A cooler that can be used in trailer (wool is too hot for TX) this sheet is great, soft and nice material. I don't know how it will last because I just got it. Going to get it monogrammed with my horse's name to make it perfect. Note - I did size down to a 72" and I am glad I did! My mare normally wears a 75" or 78" in Weatherbeeta.
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I've used this blanket for a few months, almost every night and it is holding up great. I've washed it twice (and even put it in the dryer for about 15 min each time) and it looks as good as it did when I purchased it.It does run big (I'm using the the 82 on my 17.1 hand, big bodied TB and it's a bit big) but it still works great and barely shifts on my boy who lays down every night.
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would Buy Again Would buy this blanket again. Seems to do a great job of getting the moisture away. Its also held up really well the the use over the past couple months. Still looks new. Would recommend ordering it at least 2-4" smaller.
    Date published: 2011-02-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blanket This was my Christmas gift to my mare, and I had it embroidered with her name.It's a really well made, quality blanket, and launders very nicely. No complaints, other than the fit, which is rather long in the back for my horse. I ordered an 80 - a 78 would probably have been a better choice.Good embroidery
    Date published: 2011-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick easy blanket At night it gets a bit chilly, don't want a real heavy blanket type because I'm not there to remove it when it warms up. This is perfect. Just right and comfortable
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased I don't normally purchase Tuff Rider but am very happy with this product. It is of a great quality, and the fit was perfect for a very large THB with a long back. I definately recommend this product!!!!
    Date published: 2010-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stable blanket Very nice great for a extra layer on a chilly day or on its own.
    Date published: 2010-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delighted with purchase Really pleased with the design and look of this blanket. It fits my horse perfect. I plan to use it as an underblanket for turn out and alone as a stable blanket during the cold season.
    Date published: 2010-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Blanket! This is a great blanket that looks really nice! It does a great job of wicking away moisture to help him dry and stay nice and warm; great for post workout. It's perfect for cool nights as well. I like the fabric that feels like a quilt. Shaving don't stick and those that do, are easy to just brush off.
    Date published: 2010-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Award My mare won this cooler and it is very nice. The fit is okay, but for an award cooler, it looks very regal, embroidered well, and is very plush.
    Date published: 2010-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice for an award We bought this blanket as an award for a competition. It was beautifully embroidered by Smartpak and arrived just in time with their 2-day shipping. The blanket appears to be well made and of excellent quality. The weight was nice as well, perfect for after a bath or in the stall on a chilly evening. I'm not certain of the fit, since we had to choose a "one-size-that-will-hopefully-fit-the-type-of-horse-competing". Other's reviews of the durability were favorable, so I hope that our award winner is happy as well!
    Date published: 2010-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I use this after riding to warm and wick. Great material. Wicks moisture away from the horse so he stays nice and dry and warm. Could fit a little snugger at the shoulder, but my horse is an in-between size, so it's hard to fault the blanket.
    Date published: 2010-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from NICE BLANKET This is a nice blanket, looks great, wears great inspite of my daughter's blanket eating horse. Was also thrilled to find it in a size that will fit her 18HH. With the addition of the personalized name down the side, it's a great buy.
    Date published: 2010-03-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unhappy with fit I purchased this for my Trakehner geldling who wears a 78" in EVERYTHING - he's very easy to fit. I bought a 78" in this sheet and it basically slides back behind his withers and is cut too low in the chest. Other than that, it is beautiful and the quality seems to be pretty high, although there were some stitches on one side that had come loose and were loopy. I ended up trading it out to my coach, who put it on her HUGE Irish gelding and it seems to fit him fine. Wish they would change the styling!
    Date published: 2010-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Versatile!! I bought this for my 17h Holsteiner, and the fit is wonderful (true and comfortable, with plenty of drop and whither cushioning). It appears to be holding up nicely (my guy is rough on his blankets). It's very good looking and is that perfect stable sheet, cooler, liner for body-clipped horses. I just wish that it came with a nicer tail cord.
    Date published: 2010-02-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the fabric I love the quilt fabric of this blanket. Shavings don't stick on it and it feels very cozy; not itchy. The weight of this blanket is a good pick for horses in South FL. I also love the generous width and length too; no skimping. I not so sure about the Velcro chest enclosure. Maybe I need to get used to it; I've only had this blanket for a couple weeks.But, true to the ad, my horse looks very smart and handsome in this blanket.
    Date published: 2010-01-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful but awkwardly cut This is a BEAUTIFUL sheet - it's a perfect weight for cool nights or layering, and works well as a cooler. It's warm and breathable without adding bulk and stretchy enough to be a versatile layering piece.Unfortunately, it is cut too deep in the shoulders and withers to fit properly. I find that it pulls across my horse's chest and shoulders after just a few hours of wear, causing wide rubs and stress points.This would truly be a perfect, versatile and very attractive sheet at a very accessible price if it fit correctly.
    Date published: 2010-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great blanket I love the fabric, I've used it as a liner under a waterproof rain sheet for these days that it is sleeting, and I love it! It also works great as a trailering sheet, the slight stretch keeps it looking great.
    Date published: 2009-12-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does it's job, front design needs work This is a very nice light stable blanket or a cooler for post work out. It is soft and has done well with durability even in a partial covered barn stall. My biggest complaint is the front closure; I wish they would have added velcro under the front closures as the fabric gaps open and leaves the closures as the only thing across the front of my horse's chest for about 4 inches. This causes rubs across my horse's chest and shoulders. Overall I am happy, but I will have to buy a sleezy and maybe add velcro like the Rambo has to help with the rubs.
    Date published: 2009-12-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't fit well... I bought this stable blanket and only used it twice before I realized it didn't fit well. The tail cord doesn't hold the blanket in place, and it would slide to one side on my horse and wouldn't stay on. It basically absorbed all of the urine in my horse's stall and even after multiple washings, it didn't come clean.
    Date published: 2009-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Multi-Purpose Blanket I've been using this blanket for quite a while now and it has held up beautifully after repeated washings. As with any horse blanket, a front loading washing machine can make a huge difference. Makes a very good blanket for cold nights and is extremely toasty when another light blanket is placed over it when the temperatures really drop down. Its also great should your horse get unexpectedly wet or chilled, or both.
    Date published: 2009-02-18
    • 2015-05-25T10:16CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_73
    • loc_en_US, sid_3972, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.