Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

The Ultimate Hoofpick

Item #14949
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tired of wimpy, hard-to-hold hoofpicks that force you to do all the work? From the first time you hold it in your hand, you’ll know that the perfectly ergonomic Ultimate Hoofpick is solidly built, worth every penny and the last hoofpick you'll ever need. From mud like concrete and snow like icebergs, to feet with clefts deep as the Grand Canyon, the Ultimate Hoofpick gets the job done, quick and easy.

Favorite Features

  • Easy to hold
  • Strong and reliable

Sizing

Junior - 6.5"
Ultimate - 8"
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Keratex Hoof Hardener strengthens weak, worn and cracked ...
    Description:
    "Keratex Hoof Hardener strengthens weak, worn and cracked hooves by improving the molecular structure of the horn itself. The gentle acting chemical formulation forms additional intermolecular bonds between molecules of keratin through the process of cross-linking, producing a tougher, stronger ...
    "It's finally time to say goodbye to the ...
    Description:
    "It's finally time to say goodbye to the duck tape, diapers, individual ingredients etc. you keep spending both time and money. Rebound Hoof Pack® is a potent, super sticky hoof pack formulated to draw pain, soreness and inflammation out of ...
    "You truly have to touch and feel this ...
    Description:
    "You truly have to touch and feel this brush to appreciate how amazing it is! The Haas Diva Exclusive Brush is a superior ultra soft finishing brush made with real Mattes lambswool and real horse hair on the edge, making ...
    "SuperShine Hoof Polish gives a high-gloss, mirror-like finish ...
    Description:
    "SuperShine Hoof Polish gives a high-gloss, mirror-like finish that dries in less than 60 seconds. Perfect for last minute touch-ups at the show ring. SuperShine Hoof Polish seals out excess moisture, hardening soft hooves. Does not penetrate beyond hoof wall ...
    "This convenient 4 gallon Hott Wash water heater ...
    Description:
    "This convenient 4 gallon Hott Wash water heater is perfect for the horse or dog owner on the go. Attach an ordinary garden-hose, a hot water hose, plug the Hott Wash in and you’re done! New titanium tank and heavy ...
    "Finally, it's time to say goodbye to that ...
    Description:
    "Finally, it's time to say goodbye to that annoying roll of duct tape! The new Pack-N-Sick HoofTape™ eliminates the hassle of cutting, assembling and apply duct tape to packed hooves (which anyone who's done it before know what a true ...
    "The Carr & Day & Martin Horse MF ...
    Description:
    "The Carr & Day & Martin Horse MF Pro Kit provides ultimate skin protection! Exposure to wet, muddy conditions during turnout and riding, can often lead to painful sores and scabs on the heels and legs. MF Pro is a ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    The Ultimate Hoofpick is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 99.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from durable and comfortable to use I love the feel, balance, and durability of this hoof pick!
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from A hoof pick that gets it done I tried several. Other picks truly are wimpy by comparison. 
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Money! I bought this hoofpick because I needed something durable to pick ice and snow during the winter months here in upstate New York. This hoofpick is definitely worth the money. It's extra long and you never have to worry about it curving or bending. A great addition to my tack box.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Easiest hoofpick to use, makes the hoof very easy to clean. Although it is a little bit on the expensive side, it is well worth the money for the ease it provides
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Who knew a hoofpick could be life changing? I had no idea that I needed this hoofpick until I bought it. My horse is really good at creating a cement-like substance in his hooves that was always a nightmare to remove, but not anymore! My only regret is that I didn't buy it years ago.
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good but pricey Super good leverage- I have spinal issues & arthritis & love the longer handle. It really removes mud & packed in grunge the first time. But I found this product @ Dover for $3 less.
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It practically picks the hoof itself It may seem to be a high price for a hoof pick but this will last you forever. No more bent hoofpicks with mushed brushes on the end to replace. Do not order the smaller variety. You need to get the Ultimate, as shown.
    Date published: 2013-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best hoof pick ever I have a horse with craters for hooves--this bad boy picks out the stuff and done!! For my old guy this is great, less time bending the hocks!!
    Date published: 2013-04-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Couldn't tell if pick was pointed I ordered this based on the reviews. Unfortunately it is nothing spectacular and I was looking for a point and not a flat head. Fortunately a friend ground done the head to a point for me.
    Date published: 2013-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I purchased the Ultimate Hoofpick Jr. and it is the best! Fits in my hand perfectly and much easier to use than a "normal" hoof pick. Definitely worth the money!
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product This is the best pick I've ever used. It fits my hand perfectly plus has a great point on it. Thanks.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing Maybe my friend's oversold this hoofpick, because I don't really get what the hype is about. Yes, it works, but so does the one I bought for $1. Don't get me wrong, it's a nice hoofpick - just not worth $15 to me.
    Date published: 2013-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Ultimate Hoofpick - Very Handy! The Ultimate Hoofpick is the best hoofpick I have ever used! At first the sharpness of the pick means you need to be careful - keep your hands out of the way! :) But the strength and heft of the handle is wonderful! It is good to have a solid handle to hold and for the pick to not bend with use.
    Date published: 2013-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate Hoofpick is Great! The Ultimate Hoofpick is more expensive than most picks, but it is well worth it. The handle is easy to grip, especially if the hoof is packed with mud/dirt/clay. With the point being strong and sharp (watch your hands until you get used to it!) it makes picking out hooves much easier.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Hoofpick!! I like how sharp the tip is, the size I bought was a little larger than I expected (girth wise) but it fits quite nicely in my hand and the tip is extremely durable at getting hard dirt out of hooves. Definitely not a wimpy hoof pick!!
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite hoofpick These do an excellent job of getting packed mud and gravel out of your horses hooves easily. Last year I bought the large size and liked it so much I decided to buy a smaller one. We use Easy Boot Gloves on our horses (5) hooves and are constantly cleaning hooves and boots - this hoofpick makes our work much easier. Adding a small brush to the hoofpick could be a nice feature.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great!! I love this hoofpick. It fits in your hand nicely. Just the other day I had to pry a rock that was wedged in my horse's shoe and this hoofpick did not bend back under force like others have done. It's just the right shape to dig out the dirt without fear of hurting the frog too.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Pick ever Handle perfect for leverage - angle is perfect and there is NO chance this will bend like cheaper ones. Perfectly shaped tip.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hoof pick (but very sharp) My old hoof pick was getting dull and it was taking me a while to pick out my horse's feet so I decided to try this one. I got the junior and it's the right size. I have cut myself a few times using it though. My horse is barefoot, and it slipped off her hoof, cutting my hand. I guess I was used to using the dull hoof pick, and I've gotten more careful. Over time, the sharp corners have rounded out a bit, so it's gotten a little safer. So overall, I am pleased with it and recommend it. I thought I would miss having a brush on the back, but I haven't really needed one.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Pick Ever... I love this hoof pick.. it is a must have for any barn.Great grip, great pick, wonderful value.
    Date published: 2012-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from what a hoof pick!!! This hoof pick works well but it is very heavy... It does not work as well as i thought it would.... But it is very easy to find.
    Date published: 2012-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Won't be without Jr hookpick is same size as standard hookpick and does an amazing job of getting up underneath not matter how hard it's packed down. Don't let the cost sway you! I would buy another if it's lost!
    Date published: 2012-06-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice hoof pick Nice hoof pick but don't lose it -- they're expensive! The smaller size is plenty big for both my hands and my horses hooves (16 HH AQHA).
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfectly named Love how much easier this is to use. Especially when aging wrists don't always cooperate. Great product!
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoofpick ever! I have larger hands, so I was worried about the junior size being to small. I read the reviews and ordered the junior size as the reviews had suggested. I'm so glade I did! It's the perfect size, and it works wonderfully! You will be amazed at how easy it is to clean hooves! I'm ordering more for gifts!:)
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best hoofpick ever I got the pink one and it fits perfectly in my hand. It is so easy and quick to use. Love it and worth the extra bucks.
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product but no color choice The product is extremely durable and is worth the price. My only feedback is. You should be able to choose the color instead of being forced to take what you get.
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoofpick ever! This works amazing on my horse's size 4 hooves. Before, I dreaded cleaning his feet as it was such a challenge with a regular hoofpick, but with this product, it makes it easy. Works great on packed mud as well as snow and ice. Highly recommend. I chose the junior size, as a women with average sized hands, and its a perfect fit. Very comfortable grip.
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delightful hoofpick I actually look forward to hoofpickin' time now that I've got my Ultimate Junior. I was so tired of those cheepy plastic ones with the brush on the back that are always at the wrong angle, I'd started using a screwdriver, knowing it was just a matter of time until I jabbed it in the wrong place. This Ultimate thing is a pleasure to use, and the smaller of the two sizes is a good fit for my size 7 hands. I bought two -- one for the brush box and one for the Gator. Expensive, but well worth it for a tool I use multiple times a day.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like the Jr. size Although I don't own a horse, I ordered a couple of these for the barn where I take lessons, having been frustrated with sometimes not being able to find a good pick to use. I got one in each size and tried both this morning. I have large hands for a woman, size 8 to 8.5 glove, and I find that the Jr. size is still more comfortable for me to use. The regular size is *really* large... I would imagine you'd have to be a guy with really big hands to prefer the regular size pick. Both are way better and faster to use than a cheap pick.
    Date published: 2012-01-20
    • y_2017, m_1, d_23, h_2
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_95
    • loc_en_US, sid_4949, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders