Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

The Ultimate Hoofpick

Item #14949

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tired of wimpy, hard-to-hold hoofpicks that force you to do all the work? From the first time you hold it in your hand, you’ll know that the perfectly ergonomic Ultimate Hoofpick is solidly built, worth every penny and the last hoofpick you'll ever need. From mud like concrete and snow like icebergs, to feet with clefts deep as the Grand Canyon, the Ultimate Hoofpick gets the job done, quick and easy.


Favorite Features

  • Easy to hold
  • Strong and reliable
  • Comes in a variety of colors (we pick the color for you!)

Sizing It Up

Junior - 6.5"
Ultimate - 8"

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Davis Splint Boots are designed to absorb ...
    Description:
    The Davis Splint Boots are designed to absorb hoof concussion and shock. Favorite Features Hose off and reuse Patented Shock Absorption tubes provide exceptional protection while allowing the boot to easily contour to the horse's leg Three VELCRO Brand closures ...
    Continuous treatment promotes faster healing! The Veterinary Preference ...
    Description:
    Continuous treatment promotes faster healing! The Veterinary Preference Thrush Treatment is a fast-acting treatment for Thrush and White Line Disease with a unique delivery system. The active medication is saturated into self adhering cotton rolls that, when pressed into the ...
    Nunn Finer Eventing Grease is formulated to protect ...
    Description:
    Nunn Finer Eventing Grease is formulated to protect and lubricate your horse's legs during the rigors of cross country events. Eventing Grease is long-lasting and water repellant to stay in place during competition but easily removed with a small amount ...
    Save with a set! Specifically designed to accomodate ...
    Description:
    Save with a set! Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, Rockin' SP blankets offer superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. This coordinating set includes key pieces of your horse's ...
    Provide the best possible fit without compromising the ...
    Description:
    Provide the best possible fit without compromising the integrity or defensive strength of the liner. These boots are great for horses with uniquely shaped leg, existing growths or other hard-to-fit issues. Favorite Features ImpacTeq technology forms to a protective shield ...
    Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader ...
    Description:
    Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader Quiet Ride protecting his tender eyes and face. Eliminate insect-driven head tossing, with a much quieter (and safer!) ride. Favorite Features Same design and quality of the Cashel Crusader&trade pasture fly mask ...
    Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is an ...
    Description:
    Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is an award winning formula that keeps the mane and tail sleek and tangle free. Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner reduces breakage and repels dirt, leaves the hair manageable, luxuriously soft and with ...
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    The Ultimate Hoofpick is rated 4.7586 out of 5 by 87.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate Hoofpick is Great! The Ultimate Hoofpick is more expensive than most picks, but it is well worth it. The handle is easy to grip, especially if the hoof is packed with mud/dirt/clay. With the point being strong and sharp (watch your hands until you get used to it!) it makes picking out hooves much easier.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Hoofpick!! I like how sharp the tip is, the size I bought was a little larger than I expected (girth wise) but it fits quite nicely in my hand and the tip is extremely durable at getting hard dirt out of hooves. Definitely not a wimpy hoof pick!!
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite hoofpick These do an excellent job of getting packed mud and gravel out of your horses hooves easily. Last year I bought the large size and liked it so much I decided to buy a smaller one. We use Easy Boot Gloves on our horses (5) hooves and are constantly cleaning hooves and boots - this hoofpick makes our work much easier. Adding a small brush to the hoofpick could be a nice feature.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great!! I love this hoofpick. It fits in your hand nicely. Just the other day I had to pry a rock that was wedged in my horse's shoe and this hoofpick did not bend back under force like others have done. It's just the right shape to dig out the dirt without fear of hurting the frog too.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Pick ever Handle perfect for leverage - angle is perfect and there is NO chance this will bend like cheaper ones. Perfectly shaped tip.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hoof pick (but very sharp) My old hoof pick was getting dull and it was taking me a while to pick out my horse's feet so I decided to try this one. I got the junior and it's the right size. I have cut myself a few times using it though. My horse is barefoot, and it slipped off her hoof, cutting my hand. I guess I was used to using the dull hoof pick, and I've gotten more careful. Over time, the sharp corners have rounded out a bit, so it's gotten a little safer. So overall, I am pleased with it and recommend it. I thought I would miss having a brush on the back, but I haven't really needed one.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Pick Ever... I love this hoof pick.. it is a must have for any barn.Great grip, great pick, wonderful value.
    Date published: 2012-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from what a hoof pick!!! This hoof pick works well but it is very heavy... It does not work as well as i thought it would.... But it is very easy to find.
    Date published: 2012-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Won't be without Jr hookpick is same size as standard hookpick and does an amazing job of getting up underneath not matter how hard it's packed down. Don't let the cost sway you! I would buy another if it's lost!
    Date published: 2012-06-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice hoof pick Nice hoof pick but don't lose it -- they're expensive! The smaller size is plenty big for both my hands and my horses hooves (16 HH AQHA).
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfectly named Love how much easier this is to use. Especially when aging wrists don't always cooperate. Great product!
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoofpick ever! I have larger hands, so I was worried about the junior size being to small. I read the reviews and ordered the junior size as the reviews had suggested. I'm so glade I did! It's the perfect size, and it works wonderfully! You will be amazed at how easy it is to clean hooves! I'm ordering more for gifts!:)
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best hoofpick ever I got the pink one and it fits perfectly in my hand. It is so easy and quick to use. Love it and worth the extra bucks.
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product but no color choice The product is extremely durable and is worth the price. My only feedback is. You should be able to choose the color instead of being forced to take what you get.
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoofpick ever! This works amazing on my horse's size 4 hooves. Before, I dreaded cleaning his feet as it was such a challenge with a regular hoofpick, but with this product, it makes it easy. Works great on packed mud as well as snow and ice. Highly recommend. I chose the junior size, as a women with average sized hands, and its a perfect fit. Very comfortable grip.
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delightful hoofpick I actually look forward to hoofpickin' time now that I've got my Ultimate Junior. I was so tired of those cheepy plastic ones with the brush on the back that are always at the wrong angle, I'd started using a screwdriver, knowing it was just a matter of time until I jabbed it in the wrong place. This Ultimate thing is a pleasure to use, and the smaller of the two sizes is a good fit for my size 7 hands. I bought two -- one for the brush box and one for the Gator. Expensive, but well worth it for a tool I use multiple times a day.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like the Jr. size Although I don't own a horse, I ordered a couple of these for the barn where I take lessons, having been frustrated with sometimes not being able to find a good pick to use. I got one in each size and tried both this morning. I have large hands for a woman, size 8 to 8.5 glove, and I find that the Jr. size is still more comfortable for me to use. The regular size is *really* large... I would imagine you'd have to be a guy with really big hands to prefer the regular size pick. Both are way better and faster to use than a cheap pick.
    Date published: 2012-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! Finally a hoof pick at the right angle and is so sturdy. The end is small enough to get in the spaces I need to! Definately won't bend....I doubt I'll need another hoof pick again. The Jr. is just the right size for me/my hands!
    Date published: 2012-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Priceless Pick! I rarely splurge on expensive grooming tools, and I am a fan of home remedies and less expensive alternatives, but this is one item I cannot live without- the Ultimate Hoof Pick. My hubby got this for me as a surprise and it is amazing. Not only comfortable to use, it does it's job easier and more efficiently than other hoof picks- it gets hard packed soil, clay and snow/ice out much easier than any other hoof pick. There are similar styles out there, with the longer thicker handles like this one but they lack the design that offers the leverage and ease. To me, the ease of cleaning is important because trying to get packed stuff out of hooves can lead to pulling hard on legs, slipping with the pick and scratching yourself or your horse, not good. Even for everyday cleaning, this pick does the trick and is quick and easy to use. As I told a friend today, if I had to go to a desert island with my horse, this is the first grooming tool I'd grab!
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof pick I've ever used. Works great on my horses giant hooves!
    Date published: 2012-01-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hoofpick Supreme Feels great in the hand, easy to use for cleaning even this most dirt impacted hoof.
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not wimpy! I got this hoofpick on the advice of my farrier. It's solid in my hand and does not flip around, bend or twist when I use it. It's great at removing those flaps along the frog to get rid of hiding places for bacteria. It doesn't rust, either!
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sturdy, fits both my hand and 8yr old daughter's hand well; (we got the Jr. version). Kind of pricey, but MUCH better than some of the cheaper ones we have tried.
    Date published: 2011-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! But expensive... This hoofpick WILL NOT BEND!!! I can't wait to try it on the annual winter iceballs. ;)
    Date published: 2011-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoofpick ever This is the greatest hoof pick I have ever bought. It is so strong, I don't think it would ever bend. I like the "jr" size better than the "normal" one because it fits in my hand better. This is well worth the price.
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exensive But Worth It The only thing that could improve this hoofpick is a brush on one end. I ordered the smaller size because I read in another review that it is the same size as a normal metal hoofpick. It is, but it does seem ergonomically designed for someone with small hands. I'm ordering a larger size for barn use and going to put the smaller one in my jacket pocket for trail rides etc.
    Date published: 2011-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Pick Ever I have tried every hoof pick on the market in search of one that would not bend when picking out impacted material . . and this is the best one by far. It is pricey, but you'll never buy another one again. The pink size is perfect for my hands (I am 5'11 tall with bigger than average hands), the weight is also just right. Does the job it's intended for with no hassle and annoying bent metal!
    Date published: 2011-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hoofpick, but a bit pricey I like this hoofpick quite a bit, but I find it to be a tad expensive. It is easier to use than a plain old fashioned hoofpick and the extra grippiness helps, but I find it to be overpriced.
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate is the right word I have no idea how many different hoof picks I have purchased in my quest for the best! I've found The best in this one! It's grip is sturdy so your hand wraps around it well and there's no slipping. You feel a little weight in your hand as well so it's nicely balanced. The pick itself is very sturdy and a little tension goes a long way so your not putting so much stress on your hand/ wrist. You thus are not poking hard on your horse's hoof either and the job gets done much easier and quicker.
    Date published: 2010-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Worth It This is a wonderful hoof pick. It makes it easy to get just about anything out of a horse's hooves quickly. I would never want to go back to the standard hoof picks after using this product. It would make a great gift, as well.
    Date published: 2010-11-09
    • 2016-02-13T15:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_83
    • loc_en_US, sid_4949, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.