Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

The Medicine Boot

Davis
- Item #11321
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Medicine Boot is ideal for continuous soaking when conditions such as abscesses, thrush, puncture wounds and other aggravated foot conditions exist.
Favorite Features

  • Relieves pressure when signs of bruises, corns or cankers appear.
  • Soft pliable upper comforts the leg during use and closes tightly just below the fetlock.
  • Boot opens wide for easy on-off application.
  • Durable triple-layered bottom is made of a tough polyvinyl compound making it usable many times over.

Sizing

Sizing It Up

When sizing, measure heel to toe (length) and side to side (width) at the widest area of the hoof. It is recommended to go up a boot size by at least 1/2" larger than the hoof size to allow room for medicating and bandages.

Size 1 : 5 1/4" wide x 5 5/8" long
Size 2 : 5 5/8" wide x 6 1/8" long
Size 3 : 6 1/4" wide x 7" long
Size 4 : 7 1/4" wide x 7 3/4" long
Size 5 : 8" wide x 8 1/2" long

Note: The measurements of the sizing chart represent the inside dimensions of the boot.

What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Banixx™ safely and effectively kills bacteria and fungus, ...
    Description:
    "Banixx™ safely and effectively kills bacteria and fungus, making it a great all-around addition to your first-aid kit! Its non-irritating formula works well on wounds, lacerations, post-surgical wound care, fungal infections, scratches, white-line disease, thrush, rain rot and more. Made ...
    "CalmCoat® All Natural Spray is your one stop ...
    Description:
    "CalmCoat® All Natural Spray is your one stop shopping destination for immediate relief to itching, allergies and skin irritations. This comprehensive formula provides relief for summer sores, fungus, ringworm, rain scald, sweet itch, cuts, insects bites and much more. Finally, ...
    "Find out what Veterinarians have known for years! ...
    Description:
    "Find out what Veterinarians have known for years! DERMAfas® Veterinary Wound Cream is great for treating cuts, abrasions, burns, ear plaque, and summer itch. The patented amino-acid vitamin complex formula has proven successful in supplementing and encouraging natural regeneration of ...
    "After a long hard day of work or ...
    Description:
    "After a long hard day of work or training, treat your horse to a warm relaxing bath with Dr. Milt’s Magnesium Sulfate Crystals. Magnesium Crystal Sulfate baths/ soaks are method to relax and rejuvenate tired sore muscles, sprains and strains. ...
    "The d.w.equis First Aid Boot will aid in ...
    Description:
    "The d.w.equis First Aid Boot will aid in the healing of your horse’s hoof or foot injury. The fully enclosed boot includes a treatment pad which holds medication in place to enable longer contact time with damaged tissue. Proper use ...
    "Ionic Silver has been historically recognized for its ...
    Description:
    "Ionic Silver has been historically recognized for its antibacterial properties and ability to kill fungi, viruses and bacteria. Tapping into this power, EquiFit, Inc. has developed the AgSilver line of silver-infused horsecare products. CleanBalm is a petroleum-based ointment for use ...
    "Lucky Braids Handy Salve is an effective treatment ...
    Description:
    "Lucky Braids Handy Salve is an effective treatment for scratches, itching, nicks, bites, scrapes, rubs, etc. Quickly solves problems from every direction by reducing inflammation, soothing, cooling, moisturizing and fortifying roots, skin and hair. The Lucky Braids Handy Salve has ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    The Medicine Boot is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 59.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good investment in your horse's health I bought a size 6 for my draft and it was large enough to fit with enough room to make it perfect for soaking. Just put the boot on, add the soaking medium and cinch up the cuff. He walks around with it, sloshing the meds into his hoof. So much better than using a bucket because he can remain mobile, and walking helps clean out the hoof. I bought a size 5 to use as a protective turn out boot to keep the hoof clean in mud season. It doesn't quite fit very well around the fetlock, chafes a bit and I use a leg wrap to alleviate this. Very sturdy boot, well worth the investment.
    Date published: 2016-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for using to ice the whole foot without the hassle of a bucket. They can walk around. I ordered one size bigger to be able to do this.
    Date published: 2016-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big horses need boot too Being the owner of a draft-I'm always frustrated by the lack of supplies for them in the horse world. I was so worried when my guy Trooper came up dead lame with a massive abscess. After going to as many websites as possible, (finding nothing), and advise on how to make a boot from a truck tire inner tube (so not going to happen)-I was SO relieved to find smartpak had a boot big enough to fit. I ordered the boot-it was here in 2 days. Easy to put on, well made and durable beyond belief. A week later and Trooper is doing so much better. Thank you smartpak for caring about the big guys too!
    Date published: 2016-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not a problem for the horse This is a "quiet" boot unlike other soak bags. I tried it on my horse with only water in it the first time so he could see what happens when he lifted his hoof out of curiosity. Because the boot is quiet and does not have a lot of movement, he was unconcerned. I was then able to put the medication in it and he stood quietly. I would advise getting a larger than normal size (as long as your horse is not walking around with it) to make it easy to get on the horse. My horse is a trakehner and I used a size 3. Anything made easy for the horse is more tolerable.
    Date published: 2016-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINALLY! The right thing for the job! Trying to soak a hoof in a disposable vet baggie, bucket, or anything else is horrible. Being able to allow the horse to at least move around and be comfortable and happy is just the ticket!
    Date published: 2016-05-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gets the job done My horse needed his front hooves soaked (using Clean Trax) to help with some white line disease issues. When we bought him, his hooves hadn't been trimmed in two years. The first boot I ordered was a size 2 and a bit too small, so I returned it (thank you SmartPak for free return shipping on sized items!) and ordered the next size up. (3) The boot was still a challenge to get on, but I found that preheating it by filling it with hot water really helped to ease the process. Once it is on, if the size is correct, it stays on very well. Then we just poured the soaking solution into the top of the boot and snagged up the strap. The strap does not fasten really snug, and the velcro was totally useless, becbause to tighten the strap sufficiently, it went way beyond the end of the velcro strip. But it doesn't seem that that made too much difference in the boot staying on - for a cross tied horse anyway. Not sure what would have happened if we'd put him in his stall or loose in the arena. Bottom line though, is that the boot gets the job done and is sturdy, so we can reuse it again and again if we need to. Price is reasonable too.
    Date published: 2016-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A foot saver My pony Cricket is struggling with Laminitis. This boot allows me to ice her feet without a great struggle. She has improved significantly because of this.
    Date published: 2016-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works This is definitely the best option out there that I have found. However, getting them on and off is a real workout. Also, tightening it can feel impossible. But I am using for an active horse and needing to leave it on while he walks around. And I do not believe it was really made for that purpose. So, I think it is doing a great job for it being misused. I believe it is basically for soaking a foot, which I think it would be great. Once you muscle through and get it on, its on. So, if you had to soak and they jumped around, it would hold most of the liquid and not freak your horse out. Plus, as a turnout type shoe its great because it come up high. I wish they would make one a bit better for turnout. Also, the material is very strong but flexible and lightweight.
    Date published: 2016-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Allows me to turn out even with healing abscess My PSG horse tends to get bruises/abscesses in our wet winters. She's super high energy, and doesn't tolerate confinement in a stall well. I have been using a Davis boot for years for all day turnout when she's got a healing abscess, and it's held up wonderfully (tho I do recommend putting Fray Check or similar on end of nylon strap - the plastic end came off almost immediately, and otherwise the nylon frays so it's hard to thread through the buckle.) The secret to getting the boot to stay on is to get the correct size - it should be a tiny bit of a struggle to get on and off - and it will stay on reliably. She tromps through mud and gallops around, and she'll come in, I take it off for overnight in the stall, and 99% of the time, the foot and bandage are still dry and mud free. A life saver for me and my wonderful, but claustrophobic horse!
    Date published: 2016-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent boots I've been using Davis Medicine Boots for years. The only minor flaw for me is the strap's Velcro doesn't hold very well and it's too long. I end up knotting it at the buckle so it doesn't hang down and get stepped on by the horse. Otherwise, these boots are fabulous for soaking & medicating hooves. I wouldn't buy any other kind. They last forever. I've never had one tear or the buckle break. They are very affordable, so I can purchase different sizes without breaking the bank.
    Date published: 2015-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well and stay on! Purchase the next size up if your horse has a high instep.
    Date published: 2015-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Construction I use the boot while my horse stands tied, so I'm not stressing it much. It is holding up well.
    Date published: 2015-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use! Makes foot soaking so easy, no more standing in a bucket.
    Date published: 2015-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and Stylish I bought this boot because my mare had an abscess and I had been wrapping her hoof with a baby diaper and duct tape. I thought this might be an easier way to keep her foot clean while it healed. She tends to throw her Davis Boot and the pasture had been very muddy. It might have been but it really was too clunky for her to walk around in. I decided to keep the boot because it is very durable and would be a great way just to soak her foot. The fit was great but there could have been a tiny bit more velcro on the strap. I would recommend this boot to anyone who has a horse that has trouble standing in a soaking solution.
    Date published: 2015-01-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic product! I purchased this boot to help soak my gelding's back foot after it had a serious case of thrush. The product is easy to use and well constructed. Recommend purchasing 1 size larger than your hoof measures.
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solidly made...heavy duty! Very good boot, heavy duty material. The size was just too big, gotta get a different size.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, even with the fussiest horses I bought this to help soak my horses hoof due to an abcess - it worked well.
    Date published: 2014-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Medicine Boot I bought this boot after her big boy stepped on his toe clip and put it up into him white line. 17 yrs and never had to soak his foot. What a life saver the boot was.... I didn't have to take a bath while he was beingsoaked, instead I could do chorse while waiting.
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what expected Would not use this again. My horse can take them off no problem and they irritated the top of his feet
    Date published: 2014-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from gets the job done at a great price! Bought this to treat my horse's feet. After looking around I was taken away by the prices of these boots. Then I found this one and got it. So far it has held up fine, holds liquids, goes on and off easily. Only thing I would improve is the velcro strap on top, would like it to be able to fit tighter. Overall very happy with my purchase
    Date published: 2014-03-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for soaking I bought these boots to soak my mare's hoofs. She has white line. I'm using the white lightening and the only draw back is that you need a tight seal around the hoof for the vapor to stay in. So I wrapped the fetlock w/ Cotton before I put the boots on then was very careful not to get the solution on the cotton. But that did work to form a decent seal. My mare wears a size 2 shoe I believe and we ordered the size 3 boots they were perfect.
    Date published: 2014-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for abscesses I'm referring this product to a friend and I had to add my 2 cents. This is not a "bucket." Simply add water and betadine to wet the pad, pour off excess liquid, clean the foot, and put the boot on. The moisture and the heat from the horse's foot acts like a soak and allows the abscess to drain. This is not a riding boot. Order 1 size larger than measured. I've spent a lot of time and money having the vet dig out huge holes, only to have to wrap and soak, and this has solved all my abscess problems so far. I use duct tape because the strap is poorly designed.
    Date published: 2013-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These work for me! My old girl is being treated for severe laminitis. Part of the treatment is regular soaks with either white lightning or an apple cider vinegar soak. I was using plastic bags, but with the rough surface of her hooves, the bags tore and the solution was lost...... With these medicine boots, no problem. They fit her perfectly, are lightweight for her ease, clean easily, and no more difficult to put on or take off than her regular SoftRide boots. A good investment for my girl!
    Date published: 2013-06-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought this hoping that I could use it for both 20 minute soaks and for wearing, but upon seeing it it was obvious that this would be soaking only. It's not too hard to get on or off, but I always have someone who can help out if needed. My biggest concern was that my horse would be freaked out and while it's not his favourite thing, he doesn't object that much. However, I don't see how it is possible to tighten it enough to prevent water from spilling out if they walk or paw - the ankle area is quite large and the tightening strap is a bit useless and water just flies out. Perhaps a smaller size would help, but I can't even imagine struggling with getting that on and off. At least it is way better than soaking in buckets, which would inevitably get knocked over or crushed, and it's the best solution I've found for soaking thus far.
    Date published: 2013-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful I got this boot so I could put the epsom salts in it and let my horse soak without worrying if my horse stepped out of the bucket and it does a wonderful job of it! Thank you SmartPak for carrying this product.
    Date published: 2013-04-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Medicine Boot Boot was bigger than expected. Velcro closure is poorly designed. Could not tighten up enough to keep the boot in the proper position. Disappointed in this product.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Helpful This is certainly easier than soaking in a bucket, but it's still not a walk in the park. It's hard to get on, and then one of my boys just took an instant dislike to it and did anything to get it off (and succeeded). Still, if there are no other options it will do.
    Date published: 2012-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soaking or wearing.. If soaking get the next size larger. If wearing order the correct size per the chart.
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from good idea This boot is hard to get on, and then hard to keep on. The hoof part fits well but then the ankle part is too big. My gelding did keep it on for a few hours but did eventually get it off. Perhaps if he was quietly grazing instead of galloping and bucking it would have stayed on...
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good boots We bought a size larger so that we could add ice to use them to ice hooves. The rubber is quite thick and we haven't had any leaks. the velcro strap on each boot is plenty long.
    Date published: 2012-04-05
    • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_56
    • loc_en_US, sid_1321, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders