Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

The Medicine Boot

Davis
- Item #11321
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Medicine Boot is ideal for continuous soaking when conditions such as abscesses, thrush, puncture wounds and other aggravated foot conditions exist.

Favorite Features

  • Relieves pressure when signs of bruises, corns or cankers appear.
  • Soft pliable upper comforts the leg during use and closes tightly just below the fetlock.
  • Boot opens wide for easy on-off application.
  • Durable triple-layered bottom is made of a tough polyvinyl compound making it usable many times over.

Sizing It Up

Size 1 : 5 1/4" wide x 5 5/8" long
Size 2 : 5 5/8" wide x 6 1/8" long
Size 3 : 6 1/4" wide x 7" long
Size 4 : 7 1/4" wide x 7 3/4" long
Size 5 : 8" wide x 8 1/2" long

Customers Also Shopped For
Description:
Savings on a full set of front and rear boots! Studies have shown that horses wearing supportive boots on their front legs exhibit increased comfort by shifting a greater percentage of weight onto their forelimbs. As a result, many conscientious ...
The Premier Equine Stable Boot Wraps are a ...
Description:
The Premier Equine Stable Boot Wraps are a fantastic alternative to traditional bandaging and are great for traveling, overnight support, or to help reduce typical post-exercise swelling. Favorite Features Breathable micro-holedNeoprene (airtec) wraps with Soft cotton liners provide comfortableProtection and ...
Polished aluminum measuring standard with heights ruled from ...
Description:
Polished aluminum measuring standard with heights ruled from 10 to 18 hands on one side and 100-180 cm on reverse. Push button - fold up vertical beam has easy to read plumb vial for accuracy. Telescopic in center for ease ...
A fast-acting professional strength blend of pure Australian ...
Description:
A fast-acting professional strength blend of pure Australian Tea Tree Oil, Aloe Vera, Jojoba Oil, 1% Hydrocortisone, Benzathonium Chloride and Behenyl TMS in a soothing vanishing cream base. Aids in the treatment of 'scratches', girth itch, galls and sores, and ...
?No Rub frees from dandruff and relieves itching, thereby ...
Description:
?No Rub frees from dandruff and relieves itching, thereby preventing frayed long hair, bald tail root and short, unsightly manes. With bio-sulphurous fluid and urea to normalise all biological processes, the hair thus becomes shiny and healthy! Favorite Features Quick and easy ...
Ionic Silver has been historically recognized for its ...
Description:
Ionic Silver has been historically recognized for its antibacterial properties and ability to kill fungi, viruses and bacteria. Tapping into this power, EquiFit, Inc. has developed the AgSilver line of silver-infused horsecare products. CleanTalc is a therapeutic powder for the ...
Magnesium is vitally important for the horse's systems ...
Description:
Magnesium is vitally important for the horse's systems yet the benefits are hardly known. Topical magnesium can help to relax muscle and tendon strains, relive pain of inflammation, and provide and overall calming effect by providing maximum concentration to the ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

The Medicine Boot is rated 4.392156862745098 out of 5 by 51.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works This is definitely the best option out there that I have found. However, getting them on and off is a real workout. Also, tightening it can feel impossible. But I am using for an active horse and needing to leave it on while he walks around. And I do not believe it was really made for that purpose. So, I think it is doing a great job for it being misused. I believe it is basically for soaking a foot, which I think it would be great. Once you muscle through and get it on, its on. So, if you had to soak and they jumped around, it would hold most of the liquid and not freak your horse out. Plus, as a turnout type shoe its great because it come up high. I wish they would make one a bit better for turnout. Also, the material is very strong but flexible and lightweight.
Date published: 2016-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Allows me to turn out even with healing abscess My PSG horse tends to get bruises/abscesses in our wet winters. She's super high energy, and doesn't tolerate confinement in a stall well. I have been using a Davis boot for years for all day turnout when she's got a healing abscess, and it's held up wonderfully (tho I do recommend putting Fray Check or similar on end of nylon strap - the plastic end came off almost immediately, and otherwise the nylon frays so it's hard to thread through the buckle.) The secret to getting the boot to stay on is to get the correct size - it should be a tiny bit of a struggle to get on and off - and it will stay on reliably. She tromps through mud and gallops around, and she'll come in, I take it off for overnight in the stall, and 99% of the time, the foot and bandage are still dry and mud free. A life saver for me and my wonderful, but claustrophobic horse!
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent boots I've been using Davis Medicine Boots for years. The only minor flaw for me is the strap's Velcro doesn't hold very well and it's too long. I end up knotting it at the buckle so it doesn't hang down and get stepped on by the horse. Otherwise, these boots are fabulous for soaking & medicating hooves. I wouldn't buy any other kind. They last forever. I've never had one tear or the buckle break. They are very affordable, so I can purchase different sizes without breaking the bank.
Date published: 2015-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well and stay on! Purchase the next size up if your horse has a high instep.
Date published: 2015-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Construction I use the boot while my horse stands tied, so I'm not stressing it much. It is holding up well.
Date published: 2015-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use! Makes foot soaking so easy, no more standing in a bucket.
Date published: 2015-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and Stylish I bought this boot because my mare had an abscess and I had been wrapping her hoof with a baby diaper and duct tape. I thought this might be an easier way to keep her foot clean while it healed. She tends to throw her Davis Boot and the pasture had been very muddy. It might have been but it really was too clunky for her to walk around in. I decided to keep the boot because it is very durable and would be a great way just to soak her foot. The fit was great but there could have been a tiny bit more velcro on the strap. I would recommend this boot to anyone who has a horse that has trouble standing in a soaking solution.
Date published: 2015-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic product! I purchased this boot to help soak my gelding's back foot after it had a serious case of thrush. The product is easy to use and well constructed. Recommend purchasing 1 size larger than your hoof measures.
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solidly made...heavy duty! Very good boot, heavy duty material. The size was just too big, gotta get a different size.
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, even with the fussiest horses I bought this to help soak my horses hoof due to an abcess - it worked well.
Date published: 2014-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Medicine Boot I bought this boot after her big boy stepped on his toe clip and put it up into him white line. 17 yrs and never had to soak his foot. What a life saver the boot was.... I didn't have to take a bath while he was beingsoaked, instead I could do chorse while waiting.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what expected Would not use this again. My horse can take them off no problem and they irritated the top of his feet
Date published: 2014-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gets the job done at a great price! Bought this to treat my horse's feet. After looking around I was taken away by the prices of these boots. Then I found this one and got it. So far it has held up fine, holds liquids, goes on and off easily. Only thing I would improve is the velcro strap on top, would like it to be able to fit tighter. Overall very happy with my purchase
Date published: 2014-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for soaking I bought these boots to soak my mare's hoofs. She has white line. I'm using the white lightening and the only draw back is that you need a tight seal around the hoof for the vapor to stay in. So I wrapped the fetlock w/ Cotton before I put the boots on then was very careful not to get the solution on the cotton. But that did work to form a decent seal. My mare wears a size 2 shoe I believe and we ordered the size 3 boots they were perfect.
Date published: 2014-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for abscesses I'm referring this product to a friend and I had to add my 2 cents. This is not a "bucket." Simply add water and betadine to wet the pad, pour off excess liquid, clean the foot, and put the boot on. The moisture and the heat from the horse's foot acts like a soak and allows the abscess to drain. This is not a riding boot. Order 1 size larger than measured. I've spent a lot of time and money having the vet dig out huge holes, only to have to wrap and soak, and this has solved all my abscess problems so far. I use duct tape because the strap is poorly designed.
Date published: 2013-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These work for me! My old girl is being treated for severe laminitis. Part of the treatment is regular soaks with either white lightning or an apple cider vinegar soak. I was using plastic bags, but with the rough surface of her hooves, the bags tore and the solution was lost...... With these medicine boots, no problem. They fit her perfectly, are lightweight for her ease, clean easily, and no more difficult to put on or take off than her regular SoftRide boots. A good investment for my girl!
Date published: 2013-06-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought this hoping that I could use it for both 20 minute soaks and for wearing, but upon seeing it it was obvious that this would be soaking only. It's not too hard to get on or off, but I always have someone who can help out if needed. My biggest concern was that my horse would be freaked out and while it's not his favourite thing, he doesn't object that much. However, I don't see how it is possible to tighten it enough to prevent water from spilling out if they walk or paw - the ankle area is quite large and the tightening strap is a bit useless and water just flies out. Perhaps a smaller size would help, but I can't even imagine struggling with getting that on and off. At least it is way better than soaking in buckets, which would inevitably get knocked over or crushed, and it's the best solution I've found for soaking thus far.
Date published: 2013-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful I got this boot so I could put the epsom salts in it and let my horse soak without worrying if my horse stepped out of the bucket and it does a wonderful job of it! Thank you SmartPak for carrying this product.
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Medicine Boot Boot was bigger than expected. Velcro closure is poorly designed. Could not tighten up enough to keep the boot in the proper position. Disappointed in this product.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Helpful This is certainly easier than soaking in a bucket, but it's still not a walk in the park. It's hard to get on, and then one of my boys just took an instant dislike to it and did anything to get it off (and succeeded). Still, if there are no other options it will do.
Date published: 2012-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soaking or wearing.. If soaking get the next size larger. If wearing order the correct size per the chart.
Date published: 2012-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good idea This boot is hard to get on, and then hard to keep on. The hoof part fits well but then the ankle part is too big. My gelding did keep it on for a few hours but did eventually get it off. Perhaps if he was quietly grazing instead of galloping and bucking it would have stayed on...
Date published: 2012-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good boots We bought a size larger so that we could add ice to use them to ice hooves. The rubber is quite thick and we haven't had any leaks. the velcro strap on each boot is plenty long.
Date published: 2012-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from does the job used this to soak with white lightening and also eneded up using it to soak an abscess. easy enough to use - fit fine with room to spare but not too loose.
Date published: 2012-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a wonderful boot! I did not have high expectations because I was using this boot with a 2 year old who is "into everything" and had an abcess. This boot was amazing. It stayed on for turnout, was easy to apply and remove, and did not rub the hair at all off my gray horse! Such an improvement over anything else you could try to use to wrap a hoof!
Date published: 2012-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful We purchased the Davis Medicine Boot to help protect an open hoof abscess from stall dirt. It certainly did its job. My only complaint is that even with the correct hoof measurements, because our horse is a draft cross, the heel was very difficult to get into the boot. It helped to warm up the boot, as it made it more flexible. However, it was still a two person operation, with one being extremely strong to pull the boot on and off.
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Takes time to break in. My horse's measurements were the exact size of the size 0 boot. I didn't want to be struggling to get it on every time, so I got a size 1. The size 1 was even a little bit of a struggle to get on at first, but after a week of use it stretched just the right amount. It is now much easier to get on and only takes about a minute to get on:)
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Abscess must have I have tried several other boots designed for the treatment of abscesses but none have stood the test of wear and tear that my young horse provides! The Davis boot is relatively easy to use (It can be a little difficult to put on when wet) and stands up to the beating that my horse puts all his boots through. I will always keep one of these on hand in my tack box!
Date published: 2012-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used the Medicine boot for soaking an abcess and was way better than using a bucket. Needed less water than a bucket too! Ordered size 3 for my TB who wears a size 2 shoe. Fit with room to spare!
Date published: 2012-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent soaking boot Easier than most to put on and take off, fits well, and must be fairly comfortable for the horse, since my guy didn't react to it at all. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2011-12-26
  • 2016-09-28T12:38CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_49
  • loc_en_US, sid_1321, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders