Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

The Cantering Chef Horse Treats

SmartPak
- Item #19141
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Cantering Chef has baked up something unique for your horse! His tasty horse cookies combine the freshest natural ingredients, including scrumptious rolled oats and molasses. Choose from three delicious flavors:
  • Blackberry Vanilla - flavored with natural blackberry flavor and pure vanilla extract
  • Apple Cinnamon Raisin - flavored with natural apple flavor, cinnamon and raisins
  • Peppermint Crush - flavored with peppermint oil
  • Banana Blast - flavored with natural banana flavor
These oven-baked goodies make the perfect bite-sized rewards. They've been tested and approved by our own horses and ponies, so your horse is sure to love them!


Made in the USA

Ingredients

PEPPERMINT: Steam Rolled Oats, Enriched Flour, Molasses, Water, Peppermint Oil, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate

BLACKBERRY VANILLA: Steam Rolled Oats, Enriched Flour, Molasses, Water, Natural Blackberry Flavor, Pure Vanilla Extract, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate

CINNAMON APPLE RAISIN: Steam Rolled Oats, Enriched Flour, Molasses, Water, Natural Apple Flavor, Raisins, Cinnamon, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate

BANANA BLAST: Steam Rolled Oats, Enriched Flour, Molasses, Water, (Isoamyl Acetate)Natural Banana Flavor, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Omega Horse Nibblers® are tasty and functional! These ...
    Description:
    "Omega Horse Nibblers® are tasty and functional! These treats provide omega 3 fatty acids from stabilized flaxseed to support overall health and wellness. In addition to being perfect for clicker training or as an anytime treat, they’re a convenient supplement ...
    "100% USDA Organic Pocket Pony treats are made ...
    Description:
    "100% USDA Organic Pocket Pony treats are made right here in the USA! Our family owned bakery is located in the beautiful Northwest where we pride ourselves on sustainable, eco-friendly manufacturing. We do not use chemicals, by-products, or preservatives in ...
    "Stud Muffin® Slims are a grain based, girth ...
    Description:
    "Stud Muffin® Slims are a grain based, girth friendly version of the original stud muffins. Every batch is handmade with care a devotion to provide your horse with the ""ultimate"" horse treat. Your horse won't notice the difference and you ...
    "The blending of natural anise seed and orange ...
    Description:
    "The blending of natural anise seed and orange oils combines two wonderful flavors to create a delicious treat for your favorite equine! Super Stars are oven baked as bite sized, star shaped pieces. There's no crumbling, no mess, and they ...
    "Omega Nibblers® Low Sugar & Starch are tasty ...
    Description:
    "Omega Nibblers® Low Sugar & Starch are tasty and nutritious Omega-3 heart shaped apple flavored treat supplement for horses in all life stages. Made from stabilized ground flaxseed and natural ingredients that taste great – a worthy treat for all ...
    "Naturally flavored with fresh peppermint oil, Meadow Mints ...
    Description:
    "Naturally flavored with fresh peppermint oil, Meadow Mints are cool, crunchy and delicious. Like our favorite old fashioned dinner mints, these treats are traditionally shaped and baked into perfectly bite sized Meadow Mints pieces. There's no crumbling, no mess, and ...
    "WillieBakery WillieSnacks are freshly baked with the highest ...
    Description:
    "WillieBakery WillieSnacks are freshly baked with the highest quality ingredients. They contain a mixture of oats, flour, molasses & water for a baked snack texture. Each flavor has its own added identifying flavor mix to complete the snack. Sodium and ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    The Cantering Chef Horse Treats is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 112.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horses love these! My horses have tried and loved both the banana and blackberry flavors. Great cookies in unique flavors!
    Date published: 2016-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy cookies My horse loves them. She loves all the flavors of The Cantering Chef. Well worth it! The only negative is that they should make the bags bigger for the price.
    Date published: 2016-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All my horses loved them! The horses liked the taste and texture of the treats.
    Date published: 2016-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smell great My horse loves these treats. He looks forward to them every night.
    Date published: 2016-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves these! My horses love these treats! They actually looks like people cookies....I was tempted to try one myself! They are hard, but easy for my horses to eat without dropping parts of the cookie. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2016-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun name Our pony loves these treats! We love that they are healthy for her!
    Date published: 2016-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They're awesome! They smell amazing so I obviously had to try them, too. And low and behold they actually do taste pretty good. My horse and I fight over them. If you want a unique treat for your horse, give these a go. My horse isn't really picky about what he eats, but he seems to love these. I will say it took him a minute to warm up to the idea that he got new treats especially since he didn't know what they were. They smell kind of strong at first, but give them a go your horse (and you) will enjoy!
    Date published: 2016-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Opinion I can not give this to my horse 'cause she is allergic to some of the ingredients.
    Date published: 2016-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse nickers for these.. I received these cookies as a great gift from SmartPak, where everybody rocks! My horse is so glad we got these - his nose quivers and he nickers when he knows one is coming.
    Date published: 2016-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Banna Blastabulous I tried the blackberry vanilla first and my boys really liked them. For Christmas I got a big bag of the Banna Blast and omg they LOVE them! I will definitely buy these again. I don't know of any other banana flavored horse treats, what a great product.
    Date published: 2016-01-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from my horse did not like My horse didn't like these. He is only sort of picky. They also seem very hard. Other horses in my barn weren't too impressed either. Probably wouldn't buy again, but yours might love them.
    Date published: 2015-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses loved these! I have several horses, two of which are picky eaters. They all loved these treats.
    Date published: 2015-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse cookies My horse and his buddy loved them.I'll need to get more for Christmas.
    Date published: 2015-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves these tasty treats!! Blue loves these cookies! I love the resealable bag! It's a great price for the amount you get as well!
    Date published: 2015-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lola approved! I bought these treats a few weeks ago and decided to try the blackberry vanilla flavor since it was different :) my horse is picky about treats....won't even eat an apple! But she gobbles these up! And they smell amazing :) will definitely be buying again
    Date published: 2015-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy my horses go nuts over these!!! Will be buying these over and over again!
    Date published: 2015-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They smell great! These smell good enough to eat, and my picky mare loves them!
    Date published: 2015-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great treat My horse and his buddy love the peppermint cookie!
    Date published: 2015-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well loved by a variety of equines! All of the horses I fed these treat to loved it! I bought the Cinnamon Apple flavor. The bag was large enough that it lasted a good while. I would buy these again!
    Date published: 2015-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from You can smell the excellence! My horse loved these treats. I got the pepermint ones and you can smell the pepermint oil that's in them. The treats are crunchy and my horse seems to enjoy it. I'm definitely getting these again. Also the pepermint ones make her breath smell minty, which is an added bonus. :)
    Date published: 2015-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky Eater Approved! My picky mare loves them!! And so does the barn pony that eats anything!
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome treats! :) I just got these treats today, for my miniature horse mare to have after grooming as a tasty reward, I chose peppermint crush because she has had soft peppermints before and peppermints are her FAVE treat. So I thought "Why not get peppermint flavored horse treats? :) She loves them! She was a little suprised at first with the texture but soon wanted 2 more! :) I also gave a couple to my senior horse, He loved them also. :) So I am planning on ordering him a bag of apple cinnamon raisin cookies for him. Great treats! :)
    Date published: 2015-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our horse loves these! Really great treat for our horse. Also a fun gift for fellow horse owners:)
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mare adores them! My six year old PSHxQH mare loves these treats! It's refreshing to hear that they're not only nutritious, good for their teeth, and yummy! To hear that the flavoring is not artificial is a dream come true! I wish I had bought these in bulk and will definitely be getting them again! Totally worth the money!
    Date published: 2015-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse loved them My horse loves these and they smell amazing. I got the Apple cinnamon flavor. These are like a gourmet horse treat. A good size but also not hard to break in half.
    Date published: 2015-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses Love These Treats! I haven't had any horse turn these down. I got the Peppermint and the Blackberry Vanilla. These treats only have a few ingredients and I like that they are ALL quality ingredients--no filler type stuff. Bonus--the price is right! Much less than the overpriced fancy treats.
    Date published: 2015-03-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for real finicky horses My horse is finicky but that's not his fault he hasn't been exposed to a whole lot as an ex-racehorse. In the short 8 months that I have owned him I have found he doesn't like peppermints, twizzlers, peanut butter. He can barely tolerate apples but I got these anyway. I don't think he liked the smell of the cinnamon. He would take it in his mouth and spit them out. After a couple of days of not getting any other treats, he started eating them but not with the same gusto. He really loves those soft molasses treats. These are hard and crunchy.
    Date published: 2015-03-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Both horses loved them! Cricket & Lady Belle would eat the entire bag.
    Date published: 2015-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Depends on the horse and the flavor! I like the quality of this product allot! You open it up and it smells so good you want one!! I have non-picky eaters and picky eaters and it depended on each horse and the flavor if they liked them but the Apple flavor was a hit for everyone! I have tried all in the past. Just got to find what your horse loves.
    Date published: 2015-02-25
    • y_2017, m_3, d_27, h_2
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_103
    • loc_en_US, sid_9141, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders