Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

The Better Bucket

Item #19839
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Double L's Better Bucket is an ergonomic feeder that is excellent for horses, cattle, and other livestock. The bucket's tapered sides cause the feed to funnel toward the back of the bucket, making feed and grain more accessible and reduces animal behavioral problems. The Better Bucket fits in a corner or on a flat wall and can be hung with either a traditional wall bracket or snap hook. The Better Bucket is built to last with a durable, impact resistant, high-density polyethylene with smooth, finished edges, and a heavy-duty handle.
Favorite Features

  • Angular design accommodates the animal's facial structure
  • Flat back provides stability against a wall or fence
  • Fits in a corner or a traditional wall

Sizing

20 Quarts
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Automatic access for up to 20 head. The ...
    Description:
    "Automatic access for up to 20 head. The AutoFount has a quick refill function, which means less waiting for water, and better hydration for all your animals. AutoFount saves water by reducing waste. Hinged cover allows easy access to the ...
    "Equifit's newest addition to the Ag Silver line, ...
    Description:
    "Equifit's newest addition to the Ag Silver line, the EquiFit CleanBucket minimizes bucket slime! Testing shows that one to two months can lapse in between bucket scrubbings. Horses prefer the taste of CleanBucket water to that of traditional water buckets. ...
    "Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof so you can use ...
    Description:
    "Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof so you can use it indoors or outdoors year-round! Molded from the finest corded rubber on the market, nothing matches the pliability and strength of DuraFlex rubber. Made in the USA"
    "These pails are the perfect space saver for ...
    Description:
    "These pails are the perfect space saver for farm and home use. Exceptionally lightweight pails, under 1 lb. Features a low wide shape with an extra wide top. Made in the USA"
    "The HG 2000 consists of a steam generator ...
    Description:
    "The HG 2000 consists of a steam generator and an insulated, wheeled chest for ease of movement. Designed to feed 4 or more horses, you can steam a fully strung bale bale, or 77-88 lbs of haylage. The hay chest ...
    "The HG 600 consists of a steam generator ...
    Description:
    "The HG 600 consists of a steam generator and an insulated, wheeled chest incorporating a handle for ease of movement. Designed to feed 1-4 horses, you can steam half a small bale, loose hay or haynets. The hay chest allows ...
    "The HG-One is HAYGAIN’s latest development and is ...
    Description:
    "The HG-One is HAYGAIN’s latest development and is ideal for use with 1 or 2 horses or when traveling to ensure that your horse’s diet maintains consistency. Steaming cycle from a cold start is approximately 60 minutes depending on the ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    The Better Bucket is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 136.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Access I have a horse with a large head. The regular sized buckets that our other horse can eat a supplement from comfortably was too hard for my horse. This bucket makes it much more comfortable for him.
    Date published: 2017-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The 20-quart size is too big for most horses This Better Bucket is a great bucket, and I had already found several at my local feed store... I was looking for one more to round out my collection, and wondered if SmartPak carried them. When I found this one, and so reasonably priced, I was delighted! However, it is only offered in the 20-quart size (at least at the time of my purchase), and that is way too big for a normal horse. Possibly appropriate for a big draft; I can't use it, and it doesn't qualify for a free return. So make sure and verify that it is the size of bucket you want. It's perfectly lovely in all other respects, and the price is very competitive. I do hope they start to carry the 10-quart size in the future...
    Date published: 2017-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Believe the Better Bucket hype I bought this bucket as a last ditch effort. My messy eater horse had already flipped every feed pan and the over the door and corner feeders and regular bu let's but he was still flinging buckets and feed all over his stall. This bucket is oversized and the angle allows him to comfortably fit his head and eat without flinging feed everywhere. The handle is long and doesn't interfere.
    Date published: 2016-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to have helped my OTTB calm down Since he broke his last bucket and continued to thrash he food around, this product seemed worth a go. So, so good! It seems to have helped calm him down at meal time and reduced a lot of the thrashing of the bucket. He still gets excited and tries to toss the bucket, but only once or twice and the food stays in! After that, the design allows him to easily get his small/short head to the feed with ease.
    Date published: 2016-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge bucket! I had bought the 10 qt size of this bucket at a feed store, and was so glad to see that smartpak had the larger one. It really is a big bucket, perfect for my horse's hay pellets. I have the barn help supplement their oat hay with grass pellets, it should fit 4-5 lbs of pellets, even after adding water, no problem! I haven't been using this long, but it seems to have similar hardware to a normal 5 gallon bucket, so I expect it to last for a while.
    Date published: 2016-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome feed bucket Bucket design makes it easy for horse to get all their feed and supplements
    Date published: 2016-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge and wonderfully designed! I bought this a month ago and my horse is MUCH happier eating his daily wetted pellets and supplements out of it. It has a properly designed opening that is ergonomically correct for a horse's head. Perfect for hanging in a stall and letting your horse gobble with gusto! REALLY good product for an amazingly reasonable price!
    Date published: 2016-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it! I bought the original version of this bucket when it first came out and my horse immediately stopped struggling as much to get the very last crumb. With the regular buckets, he'd struggle to get all of his food without having to toss the bucket around, making all kinds of noise and also cracking a few buckets in the process. He seems much less frustrated and can easily get all of his food using the Better Bucket. He finally managed to crack the first one when he tried to use it as a scratching post (seriously?!). The new one is a little bigger than the first and seems like stronger material. I highly recommend it to any horse owner!
    Date published: 2016-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!! The design of The Better Bucket allows my horse to easily eat all his feed. I wish I had purchased this bucket a long time ago. The price is very reasonable for such a large, well made bucket, PLUS free shipping! LOVE SmartPak!!
    Date published: 2016-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent feed bucket A friend of mine had one of these for her horse and really liked it, so I decided to give one a try for a large headed horse I have. Immediately the bucket banging out of frustration to get every scrap of feed stopped. Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2016-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bigger is Better When the box with this bucket came, it was about the size of a saddle. When I opened the box and saw the bucket, I hated it. This bucket is huge. Huge. The real estate in my horse's stall is not huge, so I put the bucket back in the box and grabbed the paperwork for returns. Not free. So for the 16 bucks I thought I could turn it into a planter. But before I did that, I decided to give it a try. I usually feed my horse his grain in the morning in a flat pan in his hay feeder. I mix the grain (& his SmartPaks) with water and it used to go everywhere. On the walls, on the floor and it made a big mess in his feeder & water bucket. Once a week I had to drag the feeder out of the stall and wash it out. I hung this bucket on a hook next to his feeder so that it touched the floor. Because of the slopped sides he could get his whole head into it, and the tall sides made sure almost all his grain stayed in the bucket and ultimately stayed in him. I leave the bucket there so he can finish all of his grain and when I get back in the afternoon I take the bucket off the wall, rinse it out and start all over the next day. So much easier than dragging out the feeder to clean and dry in the sun. The bucket does take up a lot of space but I think it's better for my horse and easier for me. I love this bucket. It is really a better bucket.
    Date published: 2016-06-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for Water I bought this because i needed a flat back feeder (but not a corner one) and couldn't find anything else. It works ok but it does get spun around the way i have it hooked up. I think it would be ok for water but wouldn't recommend it for feed if your horse likes to fling his food around, it's not as stationary as a corner feeder for sure. But it is durable and looks like it would be great for a water bucket. I use it for feed but not on my horse that flings his head in the bucket.
    Date published: 2016-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more annoying banging I decided to give this bucket a try as my horse managed to bite through the edge of his previous bucket. His teeth left a clear indentation where he bit the previous bucket. Once he grabbed the bucket with his teeth, the banging was on. He grabbed the bucket to situate the grain to one location and for attention. Sometimes I arrived at the barn to find his bucket outside of his stall. The banging was driving people crazy. "The Better Bucket" is aptly named. The edge is harder to grab and the grain moves to a location easy to consume. The net result, my horse no longer plays percussion with his bucket. He may be disappointed, but the humans at the barn are happy. Construction of the bucket seems good. Size is definitely large enough for my quarter horse.
    Date published: 2016-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST feed bucket! I own a Percheron draft horse.... This bucket is the best thing! It fits his head and is also very ergonomically correct. I would recommend this to anyone
    Date published: 2016-02-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My trainer got this for her horses as their noses were too big for a regular bucket, so now it is fondly known as the "big head bucket". I got one for my horse (who has a normal sized head) because I noticed that his eyes were always squinting when he ate. I do think he likes it better than a normal bucket and it definitely seems to be easier for him to eat out of. I even noticed that he was cleaning up his powdered supplements more when I switched buckets. The only complaint I have about this bucket is that the balance is a little wonky because of the ergonomic shape. If you set it on the ground, it will tip over. But this is a small price to pay for my precious pony's comfort.
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Working just fine Been using this bucket a little over a week. Yankee seems to like it, and it has stood up to his abuse - and the near-zero temperatures - just fine.
    Date published: 2016-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bucket My horse has partial sight in one eye and was hesitant putting her head into a regular bucket to eat. As soon as I put the new one in she immediately started eating all her food. Great bucket.
    Date published: 2015-11-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for Drafts! My Clydesdale, Romulus, likes to dunk his hay. Thought the wider mouth and ergonomic shape might be helpful; not so. Have had much better longevity with the Equifit clean buckets. Perhaps if they rework it with titanium and a 2 inch thick handle. Score Romulus 2 Better Buckets( not) 0
    Date published: 2015-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bucket! I Purchased the better bucket about a month ago and it is perfect; however, I do feed my mates low and do recommend removing it after feeding . The only place I recommend purchasing everything for horse and rider is SmartPak-- they are the best-ever in customer service!
    Date published: 2015-07-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Better bucket I love the design and it allows my mare to reach all of her feed comfortably, however, after only a few days the whole side cracked open very dissatisfied .
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect feed bucket Love this bucket!!! It's perfect. Easily removed to clean. Lots of room for them to like it clean. I was using a ground feeder but always had spilled feed. I don't like permanent feeders cause they're hard to clean. This one is perfect
    Date published: 2015-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for older horse We needed a feeding method that would allow an older mare (30) to eat in comfort; the design of the Better Bucket and being able to position it at a good height lets her eat all of her food. She get a senior feed and compressed hay. Her weight is already better
    Date published: 2015-07-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Had it one year and it cracked I bought this 4th of July 2014. Last week in June 2015 it split all the way from the lip to the bottom. I love this bucket because there was less waste of feed going onto the floor…..but…I'm going to try again and put it at a different height to see if that makes a difference. I'll let you know what happens next 4th of July :)
    Date published: 2015-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent in every way the size makes it easy to feed cubed hay or grain the horses can easily reach inside to eat every bit of grain they don't have to move it around to get to the grain. the horses seam more comfortable eating out of these buckets because it is easy to see around them and continue to eat. they don't pull there heads out with each bite to see what is around them so there is less wasted grain.
    Date published: 2015-06-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very large Great well constructed sturdy bucket. It's nice to see my horse eating easily now instead of a regular bucket where his eyes rubbed on the metal sides. It's a huge bucket for the little amount if grain he gets and would be a little in the way in a small stall. I'm happy with it.
    Date published: 2015-06-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great idea, but not durable I bought this for one of my horses that always seems to be a little "off" when she gets massages, chiro or acupuncture. She usually is tense in her neck and I hoped that the design of this bucket would at least eliminate the possibility that her feed bucket was causing some of the issue. I installed the bucket in the wall bracket that I had been using for her regular "flat back" bucket. It lasted less than two weeks before it cracked! Very disappointing, since the description even mentions using a wall bracket. I've used the regular flat back buckets with that type of bracket for 5+ years with no breakage. I think the design of this bucket is brilliant, but it is seriously lacking durability.
    Date published: 2015-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Both of my Horses love this bucket and I feel better with them not eating from a bucket laid on the ground. I have noticed that is not alot of feed dropped on the ground.
    Date published: 2015-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am completely satisfied with this bucket. Good design
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful design! My hoses love having more room while they're eating!
    Date published: 2015-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Herd Feeding I love these buckets! I have three horses in my herd and typically only one of them gets to eat all his grain (plus the other's feed). This bucket allows my dominant eater to finish his grain without getting frustrated and pushing the other guys off their feed. Now everyone gets to eat. Horses are happy and I'm happy.
    Date published: 2015-03-18
    • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_134
    • loc_en_US, sid_9839, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 79ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders