Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

The Better Bucket

Item #19839
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Double L's Better Bucket is an ergonomic feeder that is excellent for horses, cattle, and other livestock. Due to the Better Buckets tapered sides, the feed funnels toward the back of the bucket making feed and grain more accessible and reduces animal behavioral problems. The Better Bucket also fits in a corner or on a flat wall with either a traditional wall bracket or snap hook to hang your better bucket.

The Better Bucket is made of durable, impact resistant, high-density polyethylene with smooth, finished edges and a heavy duty handle.

Favorite Features

  • Angular design accommodates the animal's facial structure
  • Flat back provides stability against a wall or fence
  • Fits in a corner or a traditional wall

Sizing It Up

20 Quarts

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    The Better Bucket is rated 4.0177 out of 5 by 113.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent in every way the size makes it easy to feed cubed hay or grain the horses can easily reach inside to eat every bit of grain they don't have to move it around to get to the grain. the horses seam more comfortable eating out of these buckets because it is easy to see around them and continue to eat. they don't pull there heads out with each bite to see what is around them so there is less wasted grain.
    Date published: 2015-06-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very large Great well constructed sturdy bucket. It's nice to see my horse eating easily now instead of a regular bucket where his eyes rubbed on the metal sides. It's a huge bucket for the little amount if grain he gets and would be a little in the way in a small stall. I'm happy with it.
    Date published: 2015-06-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great idea, but not durable I bought this for one of my horses that always seems to be a little "off" when she gets massages, chiro or acupuncture. She usually is tense in her neck and I hoped that the design of this bucket would at least eliminate the possibility that her feed bucket was causing some of the issue. I installed the bucket in the wall bracket that I had been using for her regular "flat back" bucket. It lasted less than two weeks before it cracked! Very disappointing, since the description even mentions using a wall bracket. I've used the regular flat back buckets with that type of bracket for 5+ years with no breakage. I think the design of this bucket is brilliant, but it is seriously lacking durability.
    Date published: 2015-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Both of my Horses love this bucket and I feel better with them not eating from a bucket laid on the ground. I have noticed that is not alot of feed dropped on the ground.
    Date published: 2015-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am completely satisfied with this bucket. Good design
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful design! My hoses love having more room while they're eating!
    Date published: 2015-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Herd Feeding I love these buckets! I have three horses in my herd and typically only one of them gets to eat all his grain (plus the other's feed). This bucket allows my dominant eater to finish his grain without getting frustrated and pushing the other guys off their feed. Now everyone gets to eat. Horses are happy and I'm happy.
    Date published: 2015-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Large Bucket I bought this bucket for my horse that is being stalled at night. This bucket is perfect for her grain feeding.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse is much more content Only had this bucket for a couple weeks. I was using a flatback 20 quart and my TB would toss it around, swing it, and in general just bang it around. He dropped a good 25% off his grain due to just swinging the bucket. I hang this one from the same bucket strap and he doesn't knock this one around at all. I seriously think the other flatback style was uncomfortable for him (the handle pushed on his faces/eyes). He just munches away now. Don't see this bucket pressing anywhere on his big head haha I am a fan! Seems durable, but have never had issues with durability in any type of bucket.
    Date published: 2015-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shocked! It works-he is not cribbing Wow! I cannot believe this bucket. I bought two because my horse breaks his grain bucket all the time because he cribs on it so bad. So far he has not cribbed- nor has he broken the bucket. What am amazing design.
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good feed bucket I use these buckets for feed and I like that I can hang them up like water buckets so I can easily take them down to clean.
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from horses luv it we needed some new buckets. saw a video on better bucket. thought we would give it a try. now the horses dont fight to get feed out of a bucket. the better bucket is sloped and works to the horses favor.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bucket! I have one horse with a really large head and one who likes to fling his feed everywhere, this bucket works wonders for both. I use it at shows, hang it in a corner. It is MUCH easier for the big boy to get to his feed, and much more difficult for the young one to scoop feed out or turn the bucket over.
    Date published: 2014-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feed bucket!!! We love this bucket!! I swear Ali is happier at meal times because its much easier for her to her quite large head in the bucket! She seems to eat slower and no knocking around the bucket. Worth the price!!
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the Better Bucket, but this one is HUGE I love the Better Bucket design for a grain bucket. I've found that my horses spill less grain and bump/play with it less than traditional buckets trying to get the last nuggets out of the bottom. The previous Better Bucket I purchased from a local retailer lasted for almost 6 years of constant use, so when it finally developed a crack I purchased this one as a replacement. My only complaint is that this bucket is HUGE. It's twice as large as my previous bucket, it takes up a considerable amount of real estate in the stall and even larger than my water buckets. SmartPak: please consider stocking the smaller sized Better Bucket! I recommend the Better Bucket product to everyone, but beware that this is a very large 5 gallon bucket.
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bucket I bought this bucket for my Thoroughbred who spilled about as much grain as he ate. He is doing much better and I bought another for my Clydesdale. Now they eat happily side by side! Bucket holds up to their rough eating manners.
    Date published: 2014-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Better Bucket is very large! I bought two better buckets about three weeks ago and find them to be as described. They are very sturdy and easy for the horses to eat and drink from. I did have some difficulty getting them attached to my metal round pen fence panels. But I'm sure there is some way to easily attach them.
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is the first bucket my horse cannot sweep his grain out of
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well I use the buckets to feed my two horses a treat every day. The buckets are sturdy and handle a lot of abuse by the horses. The flat side and the sloped side make it easy for the horses to feed without having to move the buckets around that cause much breakage on regular plastic buckets.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works for us My big TB spills his food all over and I have to feed him off the ground. This worked well for him and he spilled less.
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't Buy it. I have purchased 6 of these for my 3 horses. THe bucket is not durable and every single one of them cracks in the back and it is a downhill slide from there. Stick to the big round buckets. It is a great idea but needs to be made of much more durable plastic.
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big difference. I really like this bucket. It is hung in the stall for feeding. With the slanted front the horse no longer is banging and pushing the bucket while eating.A few people at the barn have this style, but, this one is bigger, which isnice.
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from really a Better Bucket these are great for feeding grain. Much better than a pan or built-in corner feeder.
    Date published: 2014-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from THE BETTER BUCKET I NEEDED SOMETHING THAT I COULD USE FOR BOTH FEED AND WATER ON OVERNIGHT STAYS. THIS BUCKET IS JUST PERFECT. IT HOLD ENOUGH WATER FOR THE HORSES AND IT IS DEEP ENOUGH TO HOLD FEED.
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can't carry full. Because of the shape, it isn't possible to carry the bucket with water in it without pouring it on yourself.
    Date published: 2014-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bucket This is truly a wonderful bucket. My horses are now able to put their full head in the bucket and not worry about getting caught on the rim or handle. They can easily reach and clean up feed from the bottom. Overall, they look much more comfortable eating out of these buckets and it really allows their throat to remain open while eating instead of appearing crammed in a regular or flat back bucket.
    Date published: 2014-03-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had the first break after 48 hrs and SmartPak it so far the replacement is doing well. It's now beenin use for 2 weeks, the first bucket may have been flawed. I still reserve right to make a final opinion at a later date.
    Date published: 2014-03-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from The flat back broke before in use for 48 hours! Bought 3, put 1 in use right away, before 48 hours was up there was a 4" crack in the fkat back of the bucket. I like the shape, but the material is severely lacking. The last feed bucket this one horse had kasted 8 years.
    Date published: 2014-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bucket I have 7 of these buckets and my horses and I love them. I haven't had a problem with them and have used them for over 2 years.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do Not Purchase I have 6 of the smaller "Better Buckets" and the crack down the back. I bought this larger one for my Clyde/Friesian mare thinking she would not crack this because it is so large and it would fit her head better. Wrong. It is cracked all the way down the back to the bottom of the bucket. At this moment 5 of the 6 buckets are cracked and one is in the trash (this is the replacement). I would like to say it is one particular horse that is tough on stuff but there are 6 horses. The buckets are now held together with duct tape. I it a better bucket DESIGN but not a better usable bucket.
    Date published: 2014-02-05
    • 2015-08-29T01:09CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_111
    • loc_en_US, sid_9839, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.