Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

The Better Bucket

Item #19839
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Double L's Better Bucket is an ergonomic feeder that is excellent for horses, cattle, and other livestock. Due to the Better Buckets tapered sides, the feed funnels toward the back of the bucket making feed and grain more accessible and reduces animal behavioral problems. The Better Bucket also fits in a corner or on a flat wall with either a traditional wall bracket or snap hook to hang your better bucket.

The Better Bucket is made of durable, impact resistant, high-density polyethylene with smooth, finished edges and a heavy duty handle.

Favorite Features

  • Angular design accommodates the animal's facial structure
  • Flat back provides stability against a wall or fence
  • Fits in a corner or a traditional wall

Sizing It Up

20 Quarts

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    The Better Bucket is rated 4.0189 out of 5 by 106.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good feed bucket I use these buckets for feed and I like that I can hang them up like water buckets so I can easily take them down to clean.
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from horses luv it we needed some new buckets. saw a video on better bucket. thought we would give it a try. now the horses dont fight to get feed out of a bucket. the better bucket is sloped and works to the horses favor.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bucket! I have one horse with a really large head and one who likes to fling his feed everywhere, this bucket works wonders for both. I use it at shows, hang it in a corner. It is MUCH easier for the big boy to get to his feed, and much more difficult for the young one to scoop feed out or turn the bucket over.
    Date published: 2014-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feed bucket!!! We love this bucket!! I swear Ali is happier at meal times because its much easier for her to her quite large head in the bucket! She seems to eat slower and no knocking around the bucket. Worth the price!!
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the Better Bucket, but this one is HUGE I love the Better Bucket design for a grain bucket. I've found that my horses spill less grain and bump/play with it less than traditional buckets trying to get the last nuggets out of the bottom. The previous Better Bucket I purchased from a local retailer lasted for almost 6 years of constant use, so when it finally developed a crack I purchased this one as a replacement. My only complaint is that this bucket is HUGE. It's twice as large as my previous bucket, it takes up a considerable amount of real estate in the stall and even larger than my water buckets. SmartPak: please consider stocking the smaller sized Better Bucket! I recommend the Better Bucket product to everyone, but beware that this is a very large 5 gallon bucket.
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bucket I bought this bucket for my Thoroughbred who spilled about as much grain as he ate. He is doing much better and I bought another for my Clydesdale. Now they eat happily side by side! Bucket holds up to their rough eating manners.
    Date published: 2014-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Better Bucket is very large! I bought two better buckets about three weeks ago and find them to be as described. They are very sturdy and easy for the horses to eat and drink from. I did have some difficulty getting them attached to my metal round pen fence panels. But I'm sure there is some way to easily attach them.
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is the first bucket my horse cannot sweep his grain out of
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well I use the buckets to feed my two horses a treat every day. The buckets are sturdy and handle a lot of abuse by the horses. The flat side and the sloped side make it easy for the horses to feed without having to move the buckets around that cause much breakage on regular plastic buckets.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works for us My big TB spills his food all over and I have to feed him off the ground. This worked well for him and he spilled less.
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't Buy it. I have purchased 6 of these for my 3 horses. THe bucket is not durable and every single one of them cracks in the back and it is a downhill slide from there. Stick to the big round buckets. It is a great idea but needs to be made of much more durable plastic.
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big difference. I really like this bucket. It is hung in the stall for feeding. With the slanted front the horse no longer is banging and pushing the bucket while eating.A few people at the barn have this style, but, this one is bigger, which isnice.
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from really a Better Bucket these are great for feeding grain. Much better than a pan or built-in corner feeder.
    Date published: 2014-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from THE BETTER BUCKET I NEEDED SOMETHING THAT I COULD USE FOR BOTH FEED AND WATER ON OVERNIGHT STAYS. THIS BUCKET IS JUST PERFECT. IT HOLD ENOUGH WATER FOR THE HORSES AND IT IS DEEP ENOUGH TO HOLD FEED.
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can't carry full. Because of the shape, it isn't possible to carry the bucket with water in it without pouring it on yourself.
    Date published: 2014-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bucket This is truly a wonderful bucket. My horses are now able to put their full head in the bucket and not worry about getting caught on the rim or handle. They can easily reach and clean up feed from the bottom. Overall, they look much more comfortable eating out of these buckets and it really allows their throat to remain open while eating instead of appearing crammed in a regular or flat back bucket.
    Date published: 2014-03-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had the first break after 48 hrs and SmartPak it so far the replacement is doing well. It's now beenin use for 2 weeks, the first bucket may have been flawed. I still reserve right to make a final opinion at a later date.
    Date published: 2014-03-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from The flat back broke before in use for 48 hours! Bought 3, put 1 in use right away, before 48 hours was up there was a 4" crack in the fkat back of the bucket. I like the shape, but the material is severely lacking. The last feed bucket this one horse had kasted 8 years.
    Date published: 2014-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bucket I have 7 of these buckets and my horses and I love them. I haven't had a problem with them and have used them for over 2 years.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do Not Purchase I have 6 of the smaller "Better Buckets" and the crack down the back. I bought this larger one for my Clyde/Friesian mare thinking she would not crack this because it is so large and it would fit her head better. Wrong. It is cracked all the way down the back to the bottom of the bucket. At this moment 5 of the 6 buckets are cracked and one is in the trash (this is the replacement). I would like to say it is one particular horse that is tough on stuff but there are 6 horses. The buckets are now held together with duct tape. I it a better bucket DESIGN but not a better usable bucket.
    Date published: 2014-02-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not good for animal use! I did an earlier review on this bucket when I bought the first one as it held up well for over a year and then started cracking around the handle so I replaced it. The second one didn't last a year but more like a few months. The bottom cracked and fell out. My mare was not happy and I wasn't either. The bottom split and about three pieces fell out of the bottom. I like the design of the bucket as my horse seems to eat with her head in the bucket instead of flying grain all over but it didn't hold up and I went back to my ol' favorite flatbacked rubber buckets that hold up for years.
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too big! The bucket itself was fine, but like other reviewers, it is just too big. Their is a medium sized bucket available, but Smartpak doesn't sell it. It is much better suited for the average sized horse. My horse is 16 hands, this bucket was enormous. If you want a big bucket, it would be a good one though. 
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from brittle plastic My guy went through 2 of these buckets, then I gave up and bought a rubber bucket.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Depends what your horse's eating issue is. I purchased mine from a local feed store hoping to solve the problem of 2 of my horses who throw and dump feed. This is a real problem because of my Smart Pak supplements and I have chickens that will scarf up feed on the ground. My 3 y.o stallion is a bucket digger as well- loves to get one hoof in a bucket. The problem with a permanent bucket is that he can get a good traction going and scoop feed out with his nose, it has to be high enough so he can not get a hoof in there ( higher than the top of my fence line). This bucket is not the solution for him. The TB mare also is a scooper/dumper but so long as I do not feed too much grain at a time this bucket works ok unless she manages to get her head under it to lift and dump, the swinging action however because I have it tied to a wall, does make it harder for her to do this. About the only benefit I have is that the eyes are not bothered and they can breath. Over the fence buckets don't work for either of these 2 nor do ground rubber tubs. Might have to design my own bucket.
    Date published: 2013-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bucket I have a warmblood mare. This is the best bucket I have found for feeding her grain. She does not spill nearly as much on the ground, and just seems much more comfortable eating from it. I use it when she is turned out for the summer. It has lasted two summers so far, and no signs of cracking yet.
    Date published: 2013-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Bucket Our new horse liked to spit his cubes at people...with the new bucket he can not do this!
    Date published: 2013-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great One of our boarders bought this bucket for her horse. At first I thought they were crazy and just use a regular bucket. However, I tried it with my horse and he is quieter when he eats, throws the bucket around less, and drops less grain. My horse likes it much better over a regular bucket.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldn't use another bucket! Now I never have to worry about the horses bumping their eyes on the handle or whether or not they can get their noses to the bottom. I have also noticed that their tails/manes do not seem to get snagged where the handle hooks to the bucket. Great bucket, just a little difficult to carry when more than half full.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bigger than I thought, great design Horses love these, they don't hit their eyes on the edges or handles anymore :-)
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Design this is a great bucket and my horses like it. Only problem is they break. I have had two for about 1 year and within that time both of them cracked and then broke apart. Darn!
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    • 2015-05-27T09:10CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_104
    • loc_en_US, sid_9839, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.