Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

SWAT Clear

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #10234

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

SWAT Clear formula protects wounds, open sores, scratches and abrasions from dirt and disease-carrying flies. Botanically derived pyrethrin formula repels house flies, stable flies, face flies and horn flies, killing them on contact. SWAT Clear is ideal for use on the ears and other facial areas.

Sizing It Up

6 oz

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SWAT Clear is rated 4.8421 out of 5 by 114.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps bugs AWAY for good! I use this product around the ears on legs and belly. It keeps the flies away and does not evaporate quickly and stays on all day long! SWAT is good around wounds to keep flies from entering into the affected area! Thank you SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good product Like the clear color of the product much better than the pink color offered. Very effective to avoid eye infections due to bugs. Don't need to keep fly mask on all day long. I highly recommend the product.
    Date published: 2012-11-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good stuff Got this stuff because we were having a lot of tick and fly problems this year due to last year's mild winter. Only used it in spots on my horse - behind front legs, inside front of back legs, on back above tail. on outside of ears. Along with regularly using fly spray, I didn't have any tick problems after I got on a schedule of applying the products.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I cant sleep at night unless its in my tack room This stuff is THE BOMB! I always have some in stock at the barn. I started using this on my gelding after a horse trailer accident, he had a gash on his thigh that was so deep, it nearly needed stitches. After it had been healing for about a month, it still hadn't healed completely and flies were EVERYWHERE! I was told to not wrap it by my vet but the flies were just eating my boy up, so after running to Smartpak for help (My one stop shop ALWAYS! For everything!), I found this product and not only did it effectively keep flies at bay, it really helped with the healing pace of the wound. Now I never go without it.Ps. I couldnt have helped my baby without the help of Smartpak. They are amazing and honestly, Id die if they didn't exist. Much MUCH better customer service than Dover, Horse.com or any others out there and beleive me, I have tried them ALL!
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works This product not only repels flies but also works as a physical barrier against them. I put it on thick on the back of the horses pasterns before turnout to keep the bugs from biting those tender ankles.
    Date published: 2012-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great! The only thing that keeps the may flies away from my horses groin. Helps with itchy bites and stops more from happening. A little messy to apply, but worth it.
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super I can't keep enough of this stuff! All my barn mates use it all the time. It keeps all the bugs out of my horse's healing surface injuries, I would recommend it to anyone!
    Date published: 2012-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Summer without Swat?? Never! Generally, I start the summer with about 4 jars of Swat. It's great for fly control on the face, midline and chest. We also put it on our horses legs to stop the stamping of flies. You can use it daily with no issue. If the horse gets a cut or a scrape, Swat automatically goes on the cut or scrape in the summer. It's a great product that we find effective.
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad I bought SWAT If you want to keep the bugs away from your horses cuts and scrapes, you'll want to use SWAT Clear. Easy to apply, no odor, and the bugs stay away from where you put it. It even kept on working after a rain storm! I'm impressed and will always keep a jar handy in my tack box from now on. You should too!!
    Date published: 2012-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SWAT Clear I use it for repelling stubborn flies and other insects from the facial area while riding or turn-out. The Clear works best since it blends into the hair and is not sweated off like fly sprays.
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Swat Clear = Must have! It seems like every time I go out to the barn, one of the horses has a minor scratch or wound that flies immediately surround. Fly spray keeps them off, but do you really want to spray chemicals directly on the wound or scratch? Swat is a perfect ointment especially for the facial area. It keeps the bugs off and lets the wound heal without disturbance from pesky flies! I prefer clear swat, for the original pink colored swat has stained tack and can be hard to remove from my horse's coat. It does not have a strong odor and it is very easy to apply. It is not particularly greasy and does not have any build up. It has always been my go to "goop" after applying ointment on the wound or cleaning it. A little dab goes a very long way, I suggest to use sparingly! A little jar lasts a very long time!
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! My horse would not be alive if it weren't for this! He is the bottom of the totem pole amongst his herd mates, and the flies love him as well. Swat prevents his healing wounds from infection, and I don't know what I would do without it!My only major complaint about smartpak's shipping service is that it can get addictive. I love placing an order and having it at the doorstep two days after the ship date!
    Date published: 2012-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from long lasting One of the best products when you absolutely need to repel flies...like on a wound. It's a bit sticky, but the results are worth it. Wear latex gloves...it's difficult to wash off your hands.
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Favorite fly lotion I use swat every year in t hose hard to reach places like under the belly and around the eyes and ears. I like the smell and that it sticks around for a few days. Its great around wounds. I used the pink for many years, but I like the clear better.
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase We use Swat for bites and nicks, to prevent flies. The cream stays on well and helps the healing. The boys don't like the smell, but that's too bad.
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice product! The flies LOVE horses, horse hinney, horse neck, horse loins, and their favorites, open horse wounds..this was becoming a problem for my poor gelding... so I went on smartpak and ordered this, I ordered the and I loved it however if you show often I wouldn't recommend the pink, it stains the horse and stays on for a couple days and I show, so I had to go and buy the clear..the clear one stays on well too, its very convenient however attracts dirt like nobodies business but surprisingly keeps the dirt from getting to the wound and helps wounds heal....over all there is nothing wrong with this product. It does its job and I would really recommend to a friend...in fact, I already have haha. The price is nice because it last forever! Im now buying more after 5 months. Its not just for wounds either, its also good for ears, noses and anywhere else horses don't like flies!
    Date published: 2012-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have for "dare devils" A Mare I used to own could get hurt just by looking at a tree, everyday she would have a new little "boo boo" I put this stuff on everything after cleaning her up, it helps repel dirt hair and insects and I swear it helps heal the wound faster as well!
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Protects sensitive areas well SWAT works especially well to protect ears, eyes and senstive areas from flies and gnats.
    Date published: 2011-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from As Good as Ever! I have used this product for years, and it is as good as ever. Great around small wounds, really keeps the bugs away. I put "eyebrows" of Swat on Fred to keep the flies away from his eyes. It has a strong odor, and I have heard that it can be irritating to the eyes, so I don't put it too near the eyes, or under them, though. This (along with SmartBug-Off) has broken the cycle of runny eyes and flies this summer.
    Date published: 2011-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works very well on wounds For wounds it is a summer must have!It is very greasy, so expect dirt build up when you use it around eyes or on face. Hard to get off white blazes and muzzles, but for super fly sensitive horses (and fly mask shredders like my Arabian cross) it is worth it!
    Date published: 2011-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldn't be without it! Clear SWAT is the best to ward off flys and gnats on wounds, not to mention deer flies when riding -- which is actually my main purpose in purchasing it. I just put it all over the back of my mare's ears, including the area around the base and her ear tips. We are set for a great ride! Those yuky deer flies buzz, but pretty much stay away. Better than ear covers because afterwards my horse has added protection in the field, without a worry about loosing or tearing anything.
    Date published: 2011-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a must have I use this stuff for everything. I put it on legs/ears and around cuts and wounds. It's very good fly control and stays on.
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT FOR SENSITIVE AREAS I bought this after my filly decided to rub her face on the trees during the hot fly season. This really helps doctoring small scratch areas that are sensitive. The areas have healed up quickly and the flies have stayed away from the areas. Still not sure if I like it over some of the products on the market as I have not used it long enough but it is a cheap alternative.
    Date published: 2011-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love, Love I really like this product! It stays right where you put it! I use it on one of my minis that has a hard time with bugs in her ears and on another one of my mares that is sensitive in her utter area and it works great, I really prefer the clear because the pink stays pink.
    Date published: 2011-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Summer Staple This is about the only fly product I know of that actually WORKS. I use it for sensitive skin areas on my horse to protect him from biting flies. I like that I can apply it the night before and it stays through the next day - sometimes two.
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have in your tack box I use this when my horse gets so bit up by flies on her underbelly that she gets raw. It helps heal and keep the flies away while healing.
    Date published: 2011-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff! This is one of my all time favorite products. It is great for putting around your horses eyes and ears (be careful NOT to put it above your horse's eyes because he could sweat or rub the product into his eyes). It keeps flies off better than anything else. I put it on my horses' sheaths and bellies because it is hard for them to get the bugs off in that area. I use it to treat wounds, but not as often as I use it to keep flies off. Awesome product! Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for face I use this like war paint under my gelding's eyes--fly spray alone isn't enough for him and he gets eye infections from the flies but won't keep a fly mask on. Sooooo, Swat is a great product for us, and it LASTS! Not too pretty when it starts dripping down his face, but works well. I also love being able to use something non-irritating in cuts, scrapes, etc. Sometimes I'll put it on his legs, too, to keep the stomping down.
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the face! I use this as fly repellent for my horse's face because it is much easier to apply than spraying fly spray on a brush or my hands and applying it that way. I also use it during fly season on any cuts he has, to keep the flies from getting in them. I love that it is clear, also. My horse is too manly to wear pink :). I wish it wasn't as greasy as it is, but that is how fly spray is.
    Date published: 2011-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT Product! Love this stuff! My horse gets gnats in his ears every spring and Swat is the only thing that I trust to put inside his ears. It's gentle, keeps the gnats and flys away, has a pleasant smell..and lasts a few days! I also use it on little scratches to keep the area moisturized and protected against bacteria. A little goes a long way but I always keep a spare jar on hand to share with friends.
    Date published: 2011-05-15
    • 2016-02-07T14:58CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_98
    • loc_en_US, sid_234, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.