Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

SWAT Clear

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #10234
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

SWAT Clear formula protects wounds, open sores, scratches and abrasions from dirt and disease-carrying flies. Botanically derived pyrethrin formula repels house flies, stable flies, face flies and horn flies, killing them on contact. SWAT Clear is ideal for use on the ears and other facial areas.

Sizing It Up

6 oz

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SWAT Clear is rated 4.8367 out of 5 by 98.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have for "dare devils" A Mare I used to own could get hurt just by looking at a tree, everyday she would have a new little "boo boo" I put this stuff on everything after cleaning her up, it helps repel dirt hair and insects and I swear it helps heal the wound faster as well!
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Protects sensitive areas well SWAT works especially well to protect ears, eyes and senstive areas from flies and gnats.
    Date published: 2011-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from As Good as Ever! I have used this product for years, and it is as good as ever. Great around small wounds, really keeps the bugs away. I put "eyebrows" of Swat on Fred to keep the flies away from his eyes. It has a strong odor, and I have heard that it can be irritating to the eyes, so I don't put it too near the eyes, or under them, though. This (along with SmartBug-Off) has broken the cycle of runny eyes and flies this summer.
    Date published: 2011-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works very well on wounds For wounds it is a summer must have!It is very greasy, so expect dirt build up when you use it around eyes or on face. Hard to get off white blazes and muzzles, but for super fly sensitive horses (and fly mask shredders like my Arabian cross) it is worth it!
    Date published: 2011-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldn't be without it! Clear SWAT is the best to ward off flys and gnats on wounds, not to mention deer flies when riding -- which is actually my main purpose in purchasing it. I just put it all over the back of my mare's ears, including the area around the base and her ear tips. We are set for a great ride! Those yuky deer flies buzz, but pretty much stay away. Better than ear covers because afterwards my horse has added protection in the field, without a worry about loosing or tearing anything.
    Date published: 2011-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a must have I use this stuff for everything. I put it on legs/ears and around cuts and wounds. It's very good fly control and stays on.
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT FOR SENSITIVE AREAS I bought this after my filly decided to rub her face on the trees during the hot fly season. This really helps doctoring small scratch areas that are sensitive. The areas have healed up quickly and the flies have stayed away from the areas. Still not sure if I like it over some of the products on the market as I have not used it long enough but it is a cheap alternative.
    Date published: 2011-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love, Love I really like this product! It stays right where you put it! I use it on one of my minis that has a hard time with bugs in her ears and on another one of my mares that is sensitive in her utter area and it works great, I really prefer the clear because the pink stays pink.
    Date published: 2011-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Summer Staple This is about the only fly product I know of that actually WORKS. I use it for sensitive skin areas on my horse to protect him from biting flies. I like that I can apply it the night before and it stays through the next day - sometimes two.
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have in your tack box I use this when my horse gets so bit up by flies on her underbelly that she gets raw. It helps heal and keep the flies away while healing.
    Date published: 2011-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff! This is one of my all time favorite products. It is great for putting around your horses eyes and ears (be careful NOT to put it above your horse's eyes because he could sweat or rub the product into his eyes). It keeps flies off better than anything else. I put it on my horses' sheaths and bellies because it is hard for them to get the bugs off in that area. I use it to treat wounds, but not as often as I use it to keep flies off. Awesome product! Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for face I use this like war paint under my gelding's eyes--fly spray alone isn't enough for him and he gets eye infections from the flies but won't keep a fly mask on. Sooooo, Swat is a great product for us, and it LASTS! Not too pretty when it starts dripping down his face, but works well. I also love being able to use something non-irritating in cuts, scrapes, etc. Sometimes I'll put it on his legs, too, to keep the stomping down.
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the face! I use this as fly repellent for my horse's face because it is much easier to apply than spraying fly spray on a brush or my hands and applying it that way. I also use it during fly season on any cuts he has, to keep the flies from getting in them. I love that it is clear, also. My horse is too manly to wear pink :). I wish it wasn't as greasy as it is, but that is how fly spray is.
    Date published: 2011-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT Product! Love this stuff! My horse gets gnats in his ears every spring and Swat is the only thing that I trust to put inside his ears. It's gentle, keeps the gnats and flys away, has a pleasant smell..and lasts a few days! I also use it on little scratches to keep the area moisturized and protected against bacteria. A little goes a long way but I always keep a spare jar on hand to share with friends.
    Date published: 2011-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great products great purchase! this stuff works!
    Date published: 2011-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall Good, But a Little Disappointed... I have been using SWAT for a while now, and it is great for keeping flies away from wounds and sensitive areas such as around the eyes. One thing that was a little disappointing is that you cannot use it all the time because it removes the hair when it is regularly used around the eyes. Other than that, good product (note: SWAT comes in pink!)
    Date published: 2010-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps bugs away Great product, keeps the flys away from my horses eyes. I love it!
    Date published: 2010-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Flies Great cream for those superficial wounds. Even if you have a larger cut, put swat around the edges and No Flies! Things heal up so much quicker.
    Date published: 2010-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Faces! I use this on my horses faces, around eyes and ears. Better than applying body fly spray with hand or towel. Great for horses with sensitive eyes/skin - one of my horses had "weepy" eyes with anything else I tried. Now thanks to Swat her eyes don't tear anymore.
    Date published: 2010-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Have used this product for many years.Great for around my horse's ears and eyes for keeping gnats, flies, and bugs away.
    Date published: 2010-07-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps flies away I always put Swat on my horses face when the flies start getting bad. It works well for every part of his face, but the eyes. If you apply it too close to the eye, it seeps in and appears irritated the next day. So, the eyes are the tough part. Then, it's time for the fly mask and Swat on his nose. My horse is a retired jumper and at 22 yrs., he's still doing well. I want to keep him comfortable, so I"m never with out Swat in the summer.
    Date published: 2010-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not just for wounds! I use this on a few horses that are very sensitive to the bugs. They lose hair around their eyes and muzzles each summer. Swat keeps them comfortable and bug free on those sensitive areas and really helps the hair grow back. Lasts longer than spray so it is also great on the private areas that bugs like to attack.....
    Date published: 2010-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nothing compares this product works wonders,nothing else on the market touches the effectiveness of this..stays thru sweat and lasts many hours.Have used it for years
    Date published: 2010-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bug Off! I've used Swat for so many years I cannot remember. It used to be in Pink formula only.I love the clear .It will stay on, keeps bugs off the face - ears -heels -and under the belly. I never had any skin rash or eye irritations from Swat.Some of the sprays will cause skin flaking.
    Date published: 2010-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from helpful I purchased Swat to use on my horse's ventral midline to help combat dermatitis from the culcoide insect. It helps a great deal with helping to heal the area plus it helps to repel the insects
    Date published: 2010-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from STAPLE ITEM All horse owners should have SWAT with them at all times. Keeps flies out of ears and off of small cuts. Best price I have found is with Smartpak and the shipping time is awesome!
    Date published: 2010-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent for keeping bugs and black flies off great for keeping black flies off ears, chest, belly and sheath area!
    Date published: 2010-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product!! My horse cannot survive through the summer without Swat. The bugs are relentless on his ears and this product takes care of the bugs and keeps his ears nice and scab-free. I put it on a couple times per week and he's good to go. And one jar will last me at least two summers!
    Date published: 2010-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product Best stuff ever made not only does it help heal wounds but it also repels flys. AWESOME
    Date published: 2010-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Swat Have always loved this product because it really works.
    Date published: 2009-11-21
    • 2015-05-27T09:45CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_85
    • loc_en_US, sid_234, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.