Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Super Comfort Iron Pads

Item #16038
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Say "Goodbye!" to losing a stirrup while riding, these pads provide superior grip for added security. 

You can easily attach the Super Comfort Iron Pads to your own stirrup irons and they are guaranteed to stay firmly in place. These unique Super Comfort Iron Pads are made of treaded rubber which wrap around your entire iron, thereby eliminating foot to steel contact that often causes a rider to lose their stirrups. 

Made in USA

Favorite Features
  • Reduces impact to help alleviate added stress on the knees
  • Helps keep heels down
  • Easily attaches in less than 5 Minutes
  • Helps improve body and leg position
  • Treaded rubber lasts for years of wear

Sizing

Should be sized down by a half size for jointed irons.
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup ensures improved leg ...
    Description:
    "Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup ensures improved leg position. Changing the weight ratio on the Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrups results in perfect balance and great comfort for the rider. Shock absorbing grip is achieved by a widened tread made ...
    "Passier Stirrup Leathers are hand-sewn from the best ...
    Description:
    "Passier Stirrup Leathers are hand-sewn from the best leather. Passier Stirrup Leathers retain their length, the holes are firm, and they have curved stainless steel buckles which adapt to the saddle perfectly. Black. Made in Poland."
    "The Tory Leather Half Hole Stirrup Leathers are ...
    Description:
    "The Tory Leather Half Hole Stirrup Leathers are durable leathers lined with Nylon to prevent stretching. These leathers feature stainless steel buckles, beveled edges and conveniently numbered holes placed 1/2"" apart. Size 54"" available in Havana and size 60"" available ...
    "Now you see it, now you don't! MDC’s ...
    Description:
    "Now you see it, now you don't! MDC’s newly patented ‘S’ Models provide 45° Forward Stirrup Positioning Technology that are invisible in the show ring. Forward facing design provides makes these stirrups ‘Game Changers’ for the future of riding while ...
    "Made in Italy. Supreme quality and durability, synonymous ...
    Description:
    "Made in Italy. Supreme quality and durability, synonymous with the exceptional comfort they offer to the rider and the horse. These characteristics are proven each day by the great riders who have always chosen the precision and technology offered by ...
    "Based on an Italian design, the MDC Sport ...
    Description:
    "Based on an Italian design, the MDC Sport Line brings to the market a combination of features not currently available from any one stirrup manufacturer. MDC Sport Stirrups offer the look and strength of stainless steel, blended with the lightness ...
    "Herm Sprenger System 4 Stirrups offer security, flexibility, ...
    Description:
    "Herm Sprenger System 4 Stirrups offer security, flexibility, strength and comfort! This international, patent-pending style consists of four links allowing for movement in four directions at the same time, enabling immediate release in case of emergency. Made in Germany"

    Reviews

    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Super Comfort Iron Pads is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 108.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing. I don't know how they do it. I used these stirrups on this crazy pony I ride named owen. My best friend rachel has these and has told me how wonderful they were. As I was riding and he got a little bucky and was jumping SIDEWAYS i really needed a good grip and my stirrups. these suckers stayed glued to my feet! truly amazing! And when rachel falls off every so often they let go so her foot doesnt get caught in the stirrup. I'm really amazed and would recommend this product to any of my friends!
    Date published: 2011-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super comfort iron pads Loved these-even used a pair for my western stirrup irons-my foot is so secure and comfortable! Makes sitting trot way easier!
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far a winner! I mostly ride hunter under saddle and some over fences on the breed show circuit and I bought these stirrup pads on the recommendation of a friend who is an eventer. She couldn't say enough good things about how well they keep you from losing a stirrup and how comfy they are. I put them on my stirrups while at a show and had only ridden in them a couple of times (and really like them!) before going into my first riding class. My horse is normally unflappable and going to the left we had no issues. To the right, he suddenly realized that "OMG, THERE ARE CATTLE JUST OUTSIDE THE ARENA" and made a quick hard right, unceremoniously dumping me. While in mid-air I remember thinking "Oh please, don't let my foot get hung up in the stirrup with these new pads." Thank goodness, my foot came out with no problems, even though while in the saddle they felt very secure. So far, I love them!
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My feet were slipping in the stirrups after jumping through the water complexes on cross-country. These add the traction I needed. I did wrap a couple loops of black Vetrap around them to prevent them from scratching my calfskin saddle though. The only thing I don't like is the appearance of the zip-tie knobs under the iron after you attach them. But they work really well!
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these!!! I just got my first english saddle, and i needed stirrup pads, AND I AM IN LOVE WITH THESE!! They are very nice, and my foot never slips out of my stirrup. I ride a horse with a very uncomfortable canter, and i always loose my stirrups, but with these i never lose them. ALSO! I used to get really bad back pains after i rode, and my knees used to hurt, but now, i am never in pain after i ride!! THESE ARE AMAZING!!!
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for children Purchased these for my daughter who has difficulty keeping those heels down...these pads really offer stability and grip.
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic buy i love these pads. i have recommended them to all of my barn buddies and they love them. they do what they say
    Date published: 2011-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stirrup Pad These are some of the most comfortable stirrup pads ever, and they help stabilize the leg. I think they must run large as I have a 5 inch fillis iron and the 5 inch pad was too wide to fit inside. I had to use the 4.75 inch pad, which fits well.
    Date published: 2011-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricey but hopefully worth it! I bought these when I needed to replace my son's stirrup pads. He was having trouble keeping his heels down because he said the (old) stirrup pads were slippery feeling. He had worn them down significantly, which I'm sure caused the slipperiness, but they'd also worn much more than my daughter's pads which are about the same age, so I decided to try these pads. They are definitely the right amount of grippy, his position has already improved tremendously within about 2 weeks. They were easy to put on. Time will tell if the investment was worth it!
    Date published: 2010-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! Can't imagine riding without them.
    Date published: 2010-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THESE! I LOVE these pads!! super comfy without being bulky. They provide a nice grip without forcing false heel flexion. After my years of riding my ankles are shot and these make it so much easier to ride all day!
    Date published: 2010-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it! these stirrup pads are seriously the best. I use them with my Herm Sprenger Stirrups, and they hold traction like no other! Great on sloppy days, wet days, and when your boot isn't very grippy anymore.
    Date published: 2010-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lifesaver for middle aged knees I didn't think they would make that much of a difference, but these pads have really saved my knees and ankles. They also alleviated occasional numbness in the ball of my foot on longer rides.
    Date published: 2010-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good buy I'd seen my trainer and a couple other riders at my barn with these pads, and since I had been having a frustrating time keeping some traction between my boot and the stirrup pad during wet weather, I gave them a go. Huge improvement. I feel much more secure. Now, it won't be the all-mighty magical equitation fix (I have a tendency to shoot my leg too far forward), but because it offers a better grip, you can focus your attention to other details of your ride apart and not worry about your feet slipping.
    Date published: 2010-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Love these. My feet do not move or slip as with other stirrup pads. I do wrap them when I'm not riding since I notice they can scratch my saddle.
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY Pleased Love this product, excellent fit on the stirrup.Appears to be durable, but can't really say as I just got it. Has cushion for my older joints, while maintaining a solid surface for flexing my ankle. Modest price.
    Date published: 2010-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort Pad Review These pads are easy to put on and wear like iron. They help with shock absorption and can be used with every discipline. I have a set for each saddle. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2010-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfort pads + I've only used these pads a few times, but they really keep your foot from slipping in the stirrup. My old pads were worn out and I am glad I purchased these! Easy to install.
    Date published: 2010-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy These pads keep your feet from slipping and are comfortable. I used to have the cheese grater pads and switched to these. I love my new pads!
    Date published: 2010-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these!! I have knee and ankle pain typically and these have helped me a ton. Definitely recommend!
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wasn't expecting these to be so great! I recently purchased these to put on my jump saddle - I have composite stirrups with a wide tread and was worried these might not fit, but they did. I rode in them cross country the next day and was SO impressed - my feet did not once slip from the stirrups, my heels stayed down much easier, they have a great grip and they provide very good shock absorption too! More expensive than your traditional fillis pads or even cheese-graters, but I definitely plan on buying another pair to put on my dressage saddle.
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stirrup Pads! These stirrup pads are fantastic. Great grip without tearing up the soles of your boots like cheese-grater pads. Cheese graters always left me with a sore back and sometimes numb or ouchy feet. These stirrup pads are great and reduced my back pain and feel great. Since they wrap around the stirrup if they do happen to slip you can still catch traction on the edge. They can trap dirt if its really muddy but just quickly brushing them off with a horse brush solves that easily.
    Date published: 2010-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic best stirrup pads on the market, i purchased one set to try them i liked them so much i bought another set.
    Date published: 2010-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy These!! Dont bother buying the expensive stirrups with the cheese grater pads. These pads are awesome!!! I have an ankle problem and always losing my one stirrup even with the cheese grater pads and i did not once loose my stirrup in these. The do a great job with shock absorbing as well. Easy to assemble too!
    Date published: 2010-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific Product These Comfort Iron Pads met and exceeded my expectations. My feet feel more secure in the irons + the cushy feeling under my boot encourages my heels to stay down. Only one very small negative comment: the straps used to fasten the bottom edges together are difficult to attach and sometimes come apart. I highly recommend these pads.
    Date published: 2010-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from can't do without I've had these on my stirrups for the past five years and could not go without. Perfect for anything from pony hunters to Level 4 jumpers. Its impossible to loose your stirrups during a course with these. A must buy!
    Date published: 2010-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Daughter loves these My daughter says these prevent her boots from slipping on the irons. They need to be replaced as they wear down.
    Date published: 2010-01-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works very well keeps my foot from sliding out of my irons works very well
    Date published: 2009-12-28
    • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_15
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_97
    • loc_en_US, sid_6038, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders