Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SunShield Longsleeve Shirt by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #20137

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Look smart in this form-fitting, long sleeve shirt and feel even smarter knowing that it is protecting your skin from 98% of harmful UV rays. This shirt's lightweight, Australian Versatex material offers the best sun protection available, so you can leave your sunscreen at home during those long summer days at the barn. The SunShield's athletic look and feel makes it a great asset to your riding wardrobe, whether at the barn or in the show ring. Add a sweatshirt or jacket and you can wear it to the barn in the winter, too!

Favorite Features

  • UPF rating 50+
  • 3/4 zip neck line

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SunShield Longsleeve Shirt by SmartPak is rated 4.4882 out of 5 by 127.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this shirt! I got this as a gift for Christmas. The material is really light weight and I love the color (I got the turquoise one). I currently use it as an extra layer in the cold weather but the material seems breathable and good for the summer as well. I bought a small but returned it for an xsmall so it runs a bit big since I'm normally a small in the similar type of eis and riding sport shirts. My only complaint is that the zipper is a bit sticky, but I can live with that!
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Shirt! I know this shirt is meant to keep cooler in the summer but I bought it for a shirt to use as a layer in the cooler mornings and warmer afternoons in the fall. The shirt wicks away moisture and keeps me cool even though I'm wearing it under a vest or jacket. Also, the stitching is such a nice slimming feature :) Love this shirt.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for spring and fall I have 5 of these shirts. I love them. They are soft and comfortable and never get in the way when doing barn chores, grooming, riding, or even bathing my horses. They are very versatile. In the spring and fall I can wear them all day at the barn without needing to change to a different shirt because it has turned warmer or cooler.
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice lightweight and flexible This is a nice lightweight riding shirt. Is comfortable and flexible. Good for fall riding and good as a layer under a coat for winter riding. Also breathes so it doesn't hold sweat in. It runs true to size and has more room in the bust then most.
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable & Cool I bought this in grey and tropical...got compliments for style, UV protection on a hot day and the lovely color. I wash in a mesh bag on cold and hang dry. The grey is kinda of silvery detailed with black top stitching. Great with jeans or breeches.No neck tags so no itchy things that need to be cut off.
    Date published: 2014-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Comfortable I ride in the heat of the Southwestern sun. SunShield shirts are great at protecting my skin AND keeping me cool. I don't know how they do it but it works!
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a go to sun shirt however it gets the job done. The material is "heavier" than other competitors which causes when humid temps to have the feeling of over heating even when your not riding. Material snags easily and with only a handful of light uses they look like Ive had them for years. Disappointed as smartpak is my go to for buying but I wont be purchasing these again
    Date published: 2014-07-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not my favorite sun shirt The SunShield shirt does it's job. However, it's a little warmer than other brands that I own. I wish it had ventilation on the sides/under the arms. It doesn't wash up as well as I'd like, and disappointingly has a few horse slobber stains that I'm going to have to spot treat (and this wasn't even from a normal LONG day at the barn for me!). The other thing I don't love is that the material snags easier than I was expecting. A few trips to the barn and this shirt is already looking more worn than it should. Am I in a hurry to buy another one? No, but they're worth it at a sale price.
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the color Great colors, soft, comfortable, and cool. I only wish it were vented all the way down the long sleeve.
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SUNSHIELD LONGSLEEVE SHIRT MY WIFE TAKES MEDICINE THAT SUGGEST THAT SHE NOT GET IN THE SUN. THIS SHIRT ALLOWS HER TO BE OUT DURING THE DAY.
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit Love this shirt! I bought 2 more in different colors. Washes well and is protecting me from the Florida sun real well. Sleeves and hem are nice and long to keep me covered.
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and cool and does the job Fit is somewhat loose but it does help keep you cool.
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Liked but didn't love I think this would be a great shirt for temps in the mid-70s, but no higher. I've ridden in it around 80 with no humidity (and no breeze), and it was definitely warmer than a short sleeved shirt when we weren't moving around. The neck in particular was warm - great for sun protection; less great for sweat. I have a few other sun shirts from other non-equestrian manufacturers that dry more quickly and are cooler. Nice looking shirt but I wasn't enamored.
    Date published: 2014-06-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good but a bit heavier than expected I like this shirt and it definitely protects from the sun as claimed. However, it does not breathe as well as I would have hoped. I live in NC and am out in the sun much of the day and this shirt does keep me a bit warmer than a short-sleeved one would, although it does dry quickly. Cannot speak to durability yet- I have only had it for a month. Thin mesh under the arms would be a very welcome update to this shirt, and maybe a slightly stretchier fabric. Overall good but I probably will look for another lighter-weight sun-protection shirt for riding in the summer heat.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Runs Small I bought this really hoping it would fit true to the sizing chart. it does not. I wear an XXL top, and all of Kerrits XXL's fit well. I was so excited to find another company, but alas...not to be. I will be returning.
    Date published: 2014-05-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful color-stains came right out in the wash I love the color I got Tropical looks just like the image online. I have washed it a handful of times and seems to be holding up. The first day I got it got pretty dirty with horse grime and general barn gross stuff and it washed out beautifully can't even tell it was stained. Since I've only had it a month I gave it 2 stars for durability since I can't really comment on that. The sizing is a little big. A lot of the popular sun-blocking long sleeve shirts are tight, but this runs a little big. The small fits me fine, but isn't form fitting more a loose fit. For reference I am 5'5" 32D bust. My biggest complaint is the zipper is cheap and the part that touches my neck when it's fully zipped is irritating and itchy. There is no mesh under the arms, which I like because it keeps you cooler on hot sunny days which is when I like to wear my sun protecting shirts.
    Date published: 2014-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lightweight This shirt is lightweight and comfortable, which was exactly what I was hoping for. Living in Arizona, I will be able to wear it year round, even through the hot summer.
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I forgot to say this is my second Sunshield Shirt.
    Date published: 2014-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy and Light! I bought this along with a more expensive one from another company, and I love it! I will be purchasing another!
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my second Sunshield Shirt. I bought my first Sun Shield Shirt 2 years ago. It is still in great condition. Fit is good and it is not to hot to wear when the summer days are in the 100's.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable shirt I really enjoy wearing this shirt. This is the 2nd one that I've bought so that I have variation in colors. It is easy to move around in and a really nice weight for early spring layering. Washes easily and dries quickly hanging up. Haven't worn it in hot weather yet so I can't comment on comfort in warmer temperatures.
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too hot even for a Louisiana spring day Let me start by saying the shirt is beautiful... well made and the fit is great. I wore it during a mid morning hack on a typical Louisiana spring day. The sun was shining, pretty high humidity as is normal here and 80 degree temp. I got HOT!!! Really hot. I don't consider myself a smelly person but the shirt was rank after my ride. I was embarrassed and had to run home and change before having lunch with my barn mates. I would definitely wear this shirt on cooler days but I cannot imagine wearing it this summer.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice shirt This is a nice, comfortable shirt -like the covered zipperand the cut. Would prefer slightly more fitted, but would recommend.
    Date published: 2014-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Impressed with Sunshield I ordered two of the SunShield Long Sleeve Shirts by SmartPak - one in Blush Pink and one in Tropical. Absolutely love them! And honestly, I like the look of them better than the wrap collar shirts.
    Date published: 2014-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality I bought two of these shirts about 4 months ago. Both have held up perfectly, wash well (I hang dry), and still look like new. Fit is not skin tight, a little loose, which I really like. Sleeves are long (even for us tall folks) so will really cover all the way down to your wrist. I wear a womens 14, so bought the XL, and there is plenty of room.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Shirt - Runs Big I am 5'3 and weigh 136 lbs and I ordered the medium since I wear a street 8. The shirt is a looser fit but some previous reviews indicated that it might run large. It isn't so large that I want to return it but it isn't as close a fit as some of the ice fil shirts or under armor ones. I am in Southern California and the weight is working for spring but feel it might be too heavy and too loose for the hot summers. I love the coral stitching on mine and the material is great.
    Date published: 2014-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING! So comfy, flexible and breathable! I had this for about 5 months now and not any imperfections!
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and well made I got this shirt in February, looking forward to the summer after a long winter (!) so I don't yet know how it performs in hot weather. I have worn it as a base layer, as another reviewer recommended, and it was great: comfortable, added warmth, wicked moisture. The cut is wonderful too, nothing constricting but not baggy. I plan to wear it year round. All it needs is to come in more colors!
    Date published: 2014-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool, comfortable, and flattering! I am thrilled with the quality and comfort of this shirt. I was a little concerned about the fabric staying clean looking, but the silver color still looked good after several hours at the barn. I was amazed by how cool the top was - I might as well have been wearing a tanktop! It is flattering and VERY comfortable. It does run a touch large, but I like it that way. I do wish the torso was a bit longer so that it's easier to tuck in, but that's a very minor thing. I'll be ordered more of these tops!!
    Date published: 2014-02-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This top just came in today so I have not had a chance to ride in it. The fabric is really nice. It is lightweight and I expect it to be nice to wear all year round. My only complaint is the XS is not smaller. I found this top to run a little large but it fits good enough so I am keeping it. I'll hopefully be able to save up enough money to buy some more.
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    • 2016-02-13T14:59CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_117
    • loc_en_US, sid_10137, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.