Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Stretchies Shoulder Guard

Item #18757
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Four-way stretch shoulder guard protects your horse from bothersome and unsightly blanket rubs. Imported.

 

Favorite Features

  • Elastic belly band and center yoke prevent shifting
  • Fully adjustable
  • Fast and easy on/off
Key Specifications
  • Denier:
  • Fabric: Four-way stretch
  • Fill:
  • Closure Style: Closed front

Sizing

Small (70 - 72)
Medium (74-76)
Large (78 - 80)
XLarge (82 - 84)
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Fabric Four-way stretch
Surcingles Single surcingle
Gussets No
Closure Style Closed front
Neck Style Over withers
Tail Flap No
Neck Rug/Hood No
Special Features Fully adjustable
Customizable Embroidery
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Now you can have a great quality Horseware ...
    Description:
    "Now you can have a great quality Horseware Turnout at an amazing price! The Mio Turnout is made from a medium strength 600D polyester outer that is both fully waterproof and breathable. Imported.Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a ...
    "The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Turnout Blanket features an ...
    Description:
    "The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Turnout Blanket features an innovative design engineered to naturally move with the horse and ensure the utmost in comfort! This durable blanket is made from 1000D ballistic ripstop nylon and backed by a 4 year guarantee!" ...
    Why We Love This Rambo Blanket Wash is ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Rambo Blanket Wash is a laundry solution concentrate specially made to safely clean your horse blankets. Also great for cleaning leather trimmed breeches and wool or down-filled articles. Case of 12. Made in USA Favorite Features Environmentally-friendly 100% ...
    "The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in ...
    Description:
    "The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in 1 - Simply detach the removable liner to choose the level of warmth for your horse making this blanket extremely versatile, you'll be using it all season! Made from 1000D ballistic nylon, ...
    "Rambo Stormsure is a flexible adhesive designed specifically ...
    Description:
    "Rambo Stormsure is a flexible adhesive designed specifically to contain and waterproof the nicks that your blanket may get through the years. Made in United Kingdom Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to ...
    "RapLast is a unique product which uses natural ...
    Description:
    "RapLast is a unique product which uses natural ingredients to prevent horses from chewing on wraps, blankets, wood, manes and tails, and more. There's one word to describe it: Effective! This is because RapLast works in three ways; by sight, ...
    Why We Love This Bundle and save! Includes the ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Bundle and save! Includes the Rockin' SP Classic Waterproof Turnout Blanket (Medium weight,220 g of fiber fill) and Rockin' SP Nylon Stable Sheet in either open or closed front options. Use individually or layer, your horse will stay protected ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Stretchies Shoulder Guard is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 81.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good blanket rub protection Bought to protect my ottb from blanket rubs on his shoulder from his baker stable blanket. The neck was a bit snug at first, but with gentle stretching and some use it loosened up enough. Like the piece that goes between the front legs to keep it in place and prevents it from rotating.
    Date published: 2016-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for keeping haircoat in winter Have used these shoulder guards for many years, only way to keep away those rubbed shoulders that come with blanketing. They do wear thin and stretch out over time so will need to replace periodically.
    Date published: 2016-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like the part that comes down the center and under to help hold it down. The neck was a bit snug on my overweight thoroughbred but seemed to stretch out enough.
    Date published: 2016-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I purchased this product because my horse was getting rub marks from his blanket. It is a great product, wears easy, easy to get on and off. I picked it because of the buckle clasp.
    Date published: 2016-03-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Idea - Caveat: neck opening too small 16h Oldenburg; wears 78 blanket. I ordered large & extra large because he is built! Fit was ok, but the neck opening was too small to be comfortable. If it fit better, I'd have kept it
    Date published: 2016-03-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Runs really small, overall a disappointment I ordered the large initially for my 15'3 hand gelding, it was super small so I easily returned it (thanks SmartPak) and had them ship out the XL. The neck was still a tad tight but I figured it would stretch out a bit, which it has. The more worrisome issue is the plastic surcingle clip which broke after 60 days. A disappointment for the price. I would not buy this shoulder guard again.
    Date published: 2016-03-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great middle piece, holds shoulder guard in place This shoulder guard is pretty nice, except that the neck opening is VERY small. It is quite tight. I am going to try and open it up somehow by taking out the seam a little bit. The middle strap is nice, as it holds the shoulder guard in place.
    Date published: 2016-02-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Quality I purchased this for my daughters mare who is getting a blanket rub. Great quality and stays in place. But I feel this ran a little small. Ordering next size up
    Date published: 2016-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect sizing I bought this to replace an old one. It fits my Arabian mate perfectly and I like the material. It doesn't generate as much static electricity as the old one!
    Date published: 2016-01-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's exactly what I wanted but the large doesn't fit my small warmblood mare - It's too tight around the neck. I read the other's comments so ordered a large for my 15'2" petite mare. Unfortunately I will be returning it and live with the shoulder rubs
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it's great this product protected the rubs and prevented new ones
    Date published: 2015-02-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Neck too tight. I bought this in XL. The girth area and shoulder were a good fit for a 17H Irish Sport Horse, but the neck opening was too small and very tight. The neck fit was quite different than a Jammie product. Quality seemed fine and it was a good price. Just didn't fit. The return process was easy!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a charm! Using the previous reviews' comments on sizing, I purchased one of these for my Standardbred who had two shoulder rubs. It was shipped quickly, easy to put on and fit well. No further rubs which is good because who knows when we can take the blankets off this winter!
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too small around the neck I originally bought a large size for my made who is 16.2 and wears a 82" blanket. Everything but the hike for the neck for fine. It was way to tight. I then bought an x-large and she still can't wear it. I'm not even sure it was any bigger around the neck than the large size. I kept it with the plan to cut a slit in it but still haven't done it yet to see if that works. Other than the fit it seems to be constructed well. I would only recommend with the caveat that you might have to make some adjustments to it.
    Date published: 2015-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality This is a good product and it fits good. Our halter horses need this for there shoulder hair gets rubbed off sometimes with there sheets on all winter long and blankets on also.
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Neck opening too small I purchased the large for my petite, narrow-bodied TB mare and the neck opening was so small that I am returning it. It cut into her neck so badly when she put her head down that I didn't feel comfortable leaving it on her. Otherwise, the quality is nice and I liked the fact that it had the piece that went between her front legs. I have other Stretchies brand products that I really like. For shoulder guards, though, I will go back to the Weaterbeeta brand and wait for the large to come back into stock.
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Returning item I read other reviews before purchasing but thought I would give this a shot. The quality seemed fine however the neck opening was very tight. I purchase a Large for my 15.3h Morgan, the shoulder and girth fit perfect but the neck opening is a small and tight. Tried this on once and took it right off, did not feel comfortable leaving it on.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from shoulder sleezie This fits fairly well. It's a bit tight and doesn't stretch very well at the neck opening. I will be doing some tailoring as the stitches are already breaking and adding an elastic band.
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great! My mare is a large built warmblood. I bought this for her to prevent any rubbing on her chest or shoulders. It is a great product and is good quality, my only complaint would be that the neck seemed a bit tight on her even tho I had bought her the biggest size. It did relax a bit after a few uses however.
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work well I have only been using this several weeks but it seems to work for alleviating shoulder rubs.
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Protect your horse! Solves the problem with blanket/sheet rubs! Light weight for the Summer too.
    Date published: 2014-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Immediately! The shoulder guard I was using was not working on my gray horse. He continued to have rub marks from his winter blanket and summer sheet. The Stretchies Shoulder Guard worked immediately. My horse no longer has rub marks. This product worked so well that I just purchased a second one so my horse always has a shoulder guard even when one is in the laundary.
    Date published: 2014-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from stops the rubs Bought this just 1 month ago and the rubs are already going away. Only issue is that the neck was high on the underside. Very tight when he bent down to eat hay and I bought the XL. I cut the neck opening about 10 inches and it fits fine. Has not torn further. Good product.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! My mare's blanket was rubbing her really bad so I got this and no more rubs!
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A bit overpriced but does the job The first few days I was skeptical because the neck opening was moving around so much that it was damaging the hair there while protecting the shoulders. It seems like it broke in though because the shoulder guard started doing its job without rubbing the neck. I like the reinforcement where the snap goes under the girth. Still, I think it's a bit pricey for what you're getting. We'll see how it holds up in the long term. For this price I would hope to get two winters out of it.
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK, not great. I bought this a week ago and as soon as I put it on I was concerned. I bought a Large for my 15.3 1/2 Arab/Pinto but the neck opening had strong elastic that is tight, and the chest strap made him look 'busty' and tight. However I really needed something right then so I pulled on the neck elastic to stretch it (and break some of the threads) and that made me feel a bit better about leaving it on him. This photo is after 1 week of use. It's holding up ok, but I'm not thrilled. It's really loose over his shoulder and doesn't go down very far so I'm concerned that it doesn't do what I need it to. I will be looking for something different.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fits well!
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Works and fits very well.  Easy on and off. Also very good quality
    Date published: 2013-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Guards the shoulders as it should. Nice quality, fits well, easy to put on and off. Does the job at alleviating any chance of blanket rubs on the horse's shoulders.
    Date published: 2013-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product I purchased this shoulder guard a couple of weeks ago and it is just as described. The fit is perfect and it appears to be well made. This is another Smartpak good deal.
    Date published: 2013-12-19
    • y_2017, m_5, d_19, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_74
    • loc_en_US, sid_8757, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders