Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Stretchies Shoulder Guard

Item #18757
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Four-way stretch shoulder guard protects your horse from bothersome and unsightly blanket rubs. Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Elastic belly band and center yoke prevent shifting
  • Fully adjustable
  • Fast and easy on/off

Sizing It Up

Small (70 - 72)
Medium (74-76)
Large (78 - 80)
XLarge (82 - 84)

Customers Also Shopped For
Rambo Ionic by Horseware uses tourmaline infused patches ...
Description:
Rambo Ionic by Horseware uses tourmaline infused patches to release negative ions. Rambo Ionic combines the benefits of compression and negative ion therapy and can help to increase circulation, stimulate metabolism, and increase oxygen delivery to cells and tissue. One ...
The Weatherbeeta ComFiTec Premier Free Standard Neck Turnout ...
Description:
The Weatherbeeta ComFiTec Premier Free Standard Neck Turnout Sheet combines everything you would want in a durable turnout sheet- comfort, fit, and technology! This turnout is made from super strong and durable 1200 denier triple weave outer shell with repel ...
The SmartPak Pony Stable Sheet is the prefect ...
Description:
The SmartPak Pony Stable Sheet is the prefect addition for keeping your pony warm on those chilly fall nights! Favorite Features Durable 80% polyester/20% cotton fabric composition Shoulder gussets allow for freedom of movement Stainless steel hardware stays functional and ...
Amazing quality and features at a great value! ...
Description:
Amazing quality and features at a great value! The Mio Stable Sheet keeps your horse's coat clean and helps save time on grooming. Favorite Features Silky shoulder lining Classic original shape Double surcingles Double front closure Tail cord 100% polyester ...
The SmartPak Deluxe Pony Turnout Sheet is designed ...
Description:
The SmartPak Deluxe Pony Turnout Sheet is designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable. Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell. Two stainless steel quick clip and dees front closure. Can be ...
Add to your SmartPink and SmartBlue collection with ...
Description:
Add to your SmartPink and SmartBlue collection with these fun sheets exlusively from SmartPak! Favorite Features Polished stainless steel hardware Detachable elastic leg straps Nylon lined shoulders to prevent rubs Fleece at withers Double front buckles and two belly surcingles ...
Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic ...
Description:
Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, nylon lined shoulders, fleece at withers, two surcingels. 640 Denier. 440 fiberfill. Navy blue with hunter green trim and white piping. Turnout: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Stretchies Shoulder Guard is rated 3.8513513513513513 out of 5 by 74.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Quality I purchased this for my daughters mare who is getting a blanket rub. Great quality and stays in place. But I feel this ran a little small. Ordering next size up
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect sizing I bought this to replace an old one. It fits my Arabian mate perfectly and I like the material. It doesn't generate as much static electricity as the old one!
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's exactly what I wanted but the large doesn't fit my small warmblood mare - It's too tight around the neck. I read the other's comments so ordered a large for my 15'2" petite mare. Unfortunately I will be returning it and live with the shoulder rubs
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it's great this product protected the rubs and prevented new ones
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Neck too tight. I bought this in XL. The girth area and shoulder were a good fit for a 17H Irish Sport Horse, but the neck opening was too small and very tight. The neck fit was quite different than a Jammie product. Quality seemed fine and it was a good price. Just didn't fit. The return process was easy!
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a charm! Using the previous reviews' comments on sizing, I purchased one of these for my Standardbred who had two shoulder rubs. It was shipped quickly, easy to put on and fit well. No further rubs which is good because who knows when we can take the blankets off this winter!
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too small around the neck I originally bought a large size for my made who is 16.2 and wears a 82" blanket. Everything but the hike for the neck for fine. It was way to tight. I then bought an x-large and she still can't wear it. I'm not even sure it was any bigger around the neck than the large size. I kept it with the plan to cut a slit in it but still haven't done it yet to see if that works. Other than the fit it seems to be constructed well. I would only recommend with the caveat that you might have to make some adjustments to it.
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality This is a good product and it fits good. Our halter horses need this for there shoulder hair gets rubbed off sometimes with there sheets on all winter long and blankets on also.
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Neck opening too small I purchased the large for my petite, narrow-bodied TB mare and the neck opening was so small that I am returning it. It cut into her neck so badly when she put her head down that I didn't feel comfortable leaving it on her. Otherwise, the quality is nice and I liked the fact that it had the piece that went between her front legs. I have other Stretchies brand products that I really like. For shoulder guards, though, I will go back to the Weaterbeeta brand and wait for the large to come back into stock.
Date published: 2015-01-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Returning item I read other reviews before purchasing but thought I would give this a shot. The quality seemed fine however the neck opening was very tight. I purchase a Large for my 15.3h Morgan, the shoulder and girth fit perfect but the neck opening is a small and tight. Tried this on once and took it right off, did not feel comfortable leaving it on.
Date published: 2014-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from shoulder sleezie This fits fairly well. It's a bit tight and doesn't stretch very well at the neck opening. I will be doing some tailoring as the stitches are already breaking and adding an elastic band.
Date published: 2014-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great! My mare is a large built warmblood. I bought this for her to prevent any rubbing on her chest or shoulders. It is a great product and is good quality, my only complaint would be that the neck seemed a bit tight on her even tho I had bought her the biggest size. It did relax a bit after a few uses however.
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work well I have only been using this several weeks but it seems to work for alleviating shoulder rubs.
Date published: 2014-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Protect your horse! Solves the problem with blanket/sheet rubs! Light weight for the Summer too.
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Immediately! The shoulder guard I was using was not working on my gray horse. He continued to have rub marks from his winter blanket and summer sheet. The Stretchies Shoulder Guard worked immediately. My horse no longer has rub marks. This product worked so well that I just purchased a second one so my horse always has a shoulder guard even when one is in the laundary.
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from stops the rubs Bought this just 1 month ago and the rubs are already going away. Only issue is that the neck was high on the underside. Very tight when he bent down to eat hay and I bought the XL. I cut the neck opening about 10 inches and it fits fine. Has not torn further. Good product.
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! My mare's blanket was rubbing her really bad so I got this and no more rubs!
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A bit overpriced but does the job The first few days I was skeptical because the neck opening was moving around so much that it was damaging the hair there while protecting the shoulders. It seems like it broke in though because the shoulder guard started doing its job without rubbing the neck. I like the reinforcement where the snap goes under the girth. Still, I think it's a bit pricey for what you're getting. We'll see how it holds up in the long term. For this price I would hope to get two winters out of it.
Date published: 2014-02-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK, not great. I bought this a week ago and as soon as I put it on I was concerned. I bought a Large for my 15.3 1/2 Arab/Pinto but the neck opening had strong elastic that is tight, and the chest strap made him look 'busty' and tight. However I really needed something right then so I pulled on the neck elastic to stretch it (and break some of the threads) and that made me feel a bit better about leaving it on him. This photo is after 1 week of use. It's holding up ok, but I'm not thrilled. It's really loose over his shoulder and doesn't go down very far so I'm concerned that it doesn't do what I need it to. I will be looking for something different.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Works and fits very well.  Easy on and off. Also very good quality
Date published: 2013-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Guards the shoulders as it should. Nice quality, fits well, easy to put on and off. Does the job at alleviating any chance of blanket rubs on the horse's shoulders.
Date published: 2013-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product I purchased this shoulder guard a couple of weeks ago and it is just as described. The fit is perfect and it appears to be well made. This is another Smartpak good deal.
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great to Avoid Rubs Last year I bought this in a small, the size said 70 - 72, and my horse takes a size 72 blanket. It was a tad small for him last year and this year when I pulled it out it would not stay over his withers, it just kept popping up over his shoulder. He may have filled out a bit over the year, muscle-wise so I can see how it would be a little too small for him this year (he's a stalky 15hh Paint…sometimes he's a cob size sometimes a full it just depends). This year I bought a medium (74-76), and it fits much better and is working nicely to protect his mane from a winter of wearing blankets.The moral of my story: if size is a question, get the bigger one.
Date published: 2013-12-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Its good, depends the reason you use it... I bought this because my horse had surgery between his arm pits and I was looking for something to keep his bandages secure. This product worked, however I had to modify it due to the 'Yoke' was a little more narrow than pictured...
Date published: 2013-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So so I bought this several weeks ago for my big-boned TB gelding. It fits alright, but does ride up a bit and shift---which, I was no expecting given the breast plate design. I am not super pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2013-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have a hard to fit QH appendix which makes blanket and sheet rubs a winter nightmare. This is the only shoulder guard I've found that fits high enough up the neck to guard the "roaming" blankets. Had one for 2 years and it has finally worn out at the withers - it was used daily during fall/winter months so feel like I got my money's worth.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does the job The shoulder guard does mostly work to protect the point of the shoulder. It can ride up some and if the horse has a low point of shoulder or gets lower rubs this guard might not fully protect the area. It is easy to put on, although the buckle does not stay adjusted well, it always goes slack.
Date published: 2013-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does What It's Supposed To Do! My TB gelding is a 78, and the large fits him well. I could see it fitting a bit tight around the neck for a larger-boned horse, although the neck elastic is both tight yet surprisingly unrestrictive. He doesn't mind wearing it, it fits, and seems to be helping his rubs from getting worse. It's too soon to tell if they will heal and hair will grow back while he is wearing his blanket and this (plus I switched out blankets). I am giving this product the benefit of the doubt since it has been around for a long time and I've always heard success stories with them. The price was definitely reasonable. Thanks SP. =)
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Watch out for static build up! Also, the adjustment does not do much because it slides back out to its longest adjustment overnight, but this does not seem to affect how it fits or stays on, so I started just leaving it that way. Comes up higher on the neck than I expected, leaving it a bit exposed on a regular neck turn-out. Overall happy with the purchase!
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worst Fit Ever The Stretchies Shoulder Guard I purchased from Smart Pak had the worst fit ever. The fabric was nothing like a Sleasey and gapped in the back part of the shoulder guard. The front was also loose even though I purchased the correct size for my 78 horse. They must run very large. I went back and bought another Sleasey. They are less money than these, fit better, and my horse loves the feel.
Date published: 2013-02-26
  • 2016-09-28T12:32CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_8757, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders