Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Stretchies Shoulder Guard

Item #18757
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Four-way stretch shoulder guard protects your horse from bothersome and unsightly blanket rubs. Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Elastic belly band and center yoke prevent shifting
  • Fully adjustable
  • Fast and easy on/off

Sizing It Up

Small (70 - 72)
Medium (74-76)
Large (78 - 80)
XLarge (82 - 84)

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Stretchies Shoulder Guard is rated 3.8507 out of 5 by 67.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Shoulder Guard - Good Product but Runs Small I love using these for my horse but this one really does run small. Buzz wears a 78 blanket so I thought large would work...but I bought a large and it just doesn't fit right. It's too tight but I paid a pretty penny for it and can't afford a new one. Will know better next time!
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best stretchie ever Love this stretchie for my xl warmblood mare, keeps her from getting ugly blanket rubs and it stays on with belly belt.
    Date published: 2012-03-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Way too small The XL was way too small for my quarter horse. He is 15.2, and wears an 82 blanket, and an XL Schneiders shoulder guard fits fine. The quality seemed to be ok otherwise, I can't say anything about the durability becasue I couldn't get it on him. If you have a smaller horse it looked like it would be fine, but I would order a size up.
    Date published: 2012-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this Perfect solution to preventing blanket rubs. Easy to get on and off and works very well. Liked it so much bought another!
    Date published: 2012-03-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Solid Value with Caveat I bought this for my Fjord mare as the winter blankets resulted in significant chest rubbing. She was already clipped and with her rugged pasture endeavors, her chest became bare no matter what type of blanket she wore. Within 2 weeks of wearing this guard her hair was returning and the balding areas are no longer irritated. My only complaint is that the plastic clasp is quite large and when tightened, sits directly behind her elbow. The product runs small and I ordered a medium, even though the small is suggested for a 70" blanket size. The product is easy to take on and off, appears comfortable but the surcingle does loosen throughout the day and should be checked at least daily.
    Date published: 2012-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does it's job Bought this Shoulder Guard to keep blankets from rubbing.....only started using it and hair is already coming back on the point of his should!! Very Happy!!
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product I really like that this stretchie fits so snug around my QH's shoulders and chest. The loop between his legs keeps the shoulder guard from creeping up under his blanket!
    Date published: 2012-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! Easy to put on, stays put thanks to the center piece, durable, fits very well, comfortable for my horse, at a reasonable price.
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse thanks you After a small rub started at his shoulders this guard was a life safer!
    Date published: 2012-02-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stretchies shoulder guard My mare developed bad shoulder rubs from constantly wearing a blanket. Since she began wearing the shoulder guard her shoulder hair has started to grow back. The shoulder guard has held up well despite constant use. My only complaint is the fit. I got the extra large and it is slightly tight across the chest and shoulders, but she has very prominent points of shoulder and is a 16.3 hh Trakehner. Other breeds/sizes of horses may not have this problem. Overall I would definitely recommend this product!
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs really small! Glad I read the other reviews...I ordered a large for a 15.1 hand QH, and it just barely fits. An extra large probably would have done just fine. Other than that, the quality seems good, and the product does work.
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It does the job The fit is good, and I like the center yoke that goes between the front legs. This keeps it from rising above the rub spots (which my last one did). But, the adjustable part on the belly band doesn't really work and there are no keepers. The elastic slides through the plastic part in 5 seconds making it too big. Also, my mare is still getting rubs through it, but I guess not as bad as if she didn't have this at all.
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Order next size up This is a great product, but order the next size up. It is snug around the neck like others have said, but it doesn't slip and is a great product!
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from helpful addition I have utilized shoulder guards for my mare (always has blanket rubs no matter the product - she is mobile and no change of garment or additional protective item changes this) ...anyway, this item does provide some help but the characteristics I would draw attention to includes the center yolk which holds it in place well, and the reinforcement of heavier product inside the keeper.Enjoy
    Date published: 2011-12-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from satisfied I like the material and color,its easy to put on.For my particular horse (stocky paint) I wish it was a bit looser on his neck.Other than that I am fully satisfied with the fit and Quality.You just slide it over their head and buckle once on the near side at the girth,very easy.I would buy it again.
    Date published: 2011-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job I had read previous reviews and so knew to buy the next size up. So his normal blanket size is 72, I bought the 74-76 stretchie, just the right fit.The addition of the piece between his legs to the surcingle stops it riding up. (Something the other brand kept doing.) Over all, I'm very pleased with it. Only gave 4 stars for fit due to the surcingle leaving an imprint on his coat for the 12 hours he is not wearing his blanket. Yet the strap is not too tight.
    Date published: 2011-11-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from does the job This product is ok. It does sit very high on neck and is a tight fit for warmblood mare. The belly strap does not stay tight either. With all of that said, it is doing its job. My mare had pretty bad shoulder rubs from her blanket which are all gone now so I am happy with that!
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't do what I thought it would I bought this with the intent of protecting my horse's mane since it was getting rubbed by his blanket. The medium seemed a little tight on my 15.1 QH but I thought it may stretch... it never really did. It was tight around the neck and made him very itchy there. He would try to rub up against stuff to scratch and not only put a big hole in the stretchie but distressed his blanket at the shoulders quite a bit too. Meanwhile, when he moves around a little the stretchie and blanket move so that the blanket is still rubbing his mane.If I were to buy this again I would go for the full neck hood which would cover his whole mane and hopefully would alleviate the itchy issue.
    Date published: 2011-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A bit tight for the big guys I have a 17.2 hand Belgian draft TB cross and the XL is a bit snug at the base of his neck. It's stretchy so it doesn't bother him but I'd prefer for the cut to be a bit roomier.
    Date published: 2011-02-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but needs some fine tuning I purchased this specifically I was having issues with a regular shoulder guard hitching up in front, and because it has the center yoke I was hoping this would be better. My horse was getting shoulder rubs low on the front of his shoulders. I bought the large and had to send it back for an XL - these run small. There is a lot of adjustment in the belly band, which I like better than plain elastic and velcro. But there's no adjustment in the neck opening. The XL neck opening is still too small for my swedish warmblood gelding, and the lower shoulders are not very well covered. I would recommend this if the base of your horse's neck is not too large.
    Date published: 2011-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit and comfortable Unfortunately, I got this AFTER I realized the blanket caused rug spots on my TWH mare. While the hair has not yet grown back, this definitely fits well and covers the "rub" areas. So, I feel like it was a good purchase and seems to be very comfortable for my mare who likes to lay down and needs the stretch.
    Date published: 2011-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needed a bigger size I had to exchange for a bigger size but overall the product is very nice. Really stretchy so it doesn't put pressure on the withers, large adjustable belly strap and smooth, silky material. Works well for preventing rubs.
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Odd Fit This shoulder guard looks like it is well made but the fit is pretty odd. I ordered a large based on the reviews (my 16h TB normally wears a medium) and the hole for the neck is still very small. Hopefully it will stretch. The shoulder area fits but it is a bit deep front to back.
    Date published: 2010-12-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs small The quality of this product is great. However, the neck is cut very high and the size medium is tight on my horse's neck. He is 15.2 and I will have to try the size large.
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like the shoulder guard, but the elastic seemed a little tight around her neck. Hopefully it will stretch out a little. I ordered a large and she is only a 15.3 hand thoroughbred mare.
    Date published: 2010-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rubs No More! This Shoulder Guard is much better than the old style. My horse always gets rubs on his shoulders when blanketed in the winter. For years I had used the shoulder guard without the center yoke and every night it shifted around. The front piece would slide up- not doing much to help the whole rubbing thing! I found this guard and have never looked back. I am happy that SmartPak now has it them!
    Date published: 2010-09-09
    • 2015-08-30T14:27CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_61
    • loc_en_US, sid_8757, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.