Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SSG Winter Training Glove

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #12095
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SSG Winter Training Glove is an all purpose lined winter glove for training, handling, and riding. The back of glove has Thinsulate lining for heat retention without the bulk while the palm is lightly lined providing a better feel on the reins without sacrificing warmth. 

Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Thinsulate lining to create and maintain warmth
  • Knitted cuff helps to keep the cold out of your glove 
  • Outer material is drum dyed soft leather for a better grip on the reins
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Roeckl Winter Hampshire Glove will protect you ...
    Description:
    "The Roeckl Winter Hampshire Glove will protect you from the wettest, coldest, and windiest winter riding weather. Exterior: Finesse (a textile leather that’s elasticized, breathable and machine washable) Lining: Prima Loft Imported."
    "The Roeckl Chester Glove combines grip technology with ...
    Description:
    "The Roeckl Chester Glove combines grip technology with the latest in riding fashion. This classic glove is made from ROECK-GRIP, a very fine synthetic leather with an excellent grip, supple, breathable and elastic. This glove fits like a second skin, ...
    "A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made ...
    Description:
    "A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made from ROECK-GRIP, which provides superior grip, suppleness, and breathability. The Winter Chester gloves have a laminated fleece lining that provides additional warmth. The Roeckl tab fastener across the back of the hand ...
    "The Roeckl London Glove combines functionality with a ...
    Description:
    "The Roeckl London Glove combines functionality with a sporty and modern design. The discreet piping and fashionable trim combined with high quality materials and a sophisticated fastener make for an outstanding performance glove. This glove is cell phone compatible."
    "Do you suffer from unsightly tan lines after ...
    Description:
    "Do you suffer from unsightly tan lines after hours (or was it days?) in the saddle? The Solar Glove is a combination of skin protection and a longer lasting suntan result from the SOLAR TAN'S UNIQUE UV FILTER FABRIC. The ...
    "SSG Grand Prix is the “perfect feel” English ...
    Description:
    "SSG Grand Prix is the “perfect feel” English show glove, made with Aquasuede Plus: a skin thin, long wearing, machine washable material providing excellent grip and exceptional touch. Reinforced in key areas. Imported."
    "SSG All Weather Gloves are unlined, long wearing ...
    Description:
    "SSG All Weather Gloves are unlined, long wearing and machine washable. Soft aquasuede palm. Colorfast and sweat absorbing. Strong elasticized back for a cool comfortable fit. Hook and loop wrist closure. Wears like iron. All colors have black palm unless ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Winter Training Glove is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 79.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good gloves, for a year or two I love the way these gloves look and feel, they are pretty warm and have great functionality - I can buckle a bridle with them on- but sadly after about 2 years both gloves tore at the same seam where the thumb joins the hand.
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Supple & comfortable Can't say I've used these gloves yet because its not winter. I do love the soft leather & the fit. I think that even with a lining these gloves will be great for riding. They are very comfortable.
    Date published: 2013-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't beat these gloves These are simply the best gloves ever. WARM and classic looking. I have given several pairs as gifts and have always heard back from the recipient that they are their favorite gloves.
    Date published: 2013-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Glove Great glove. Held up to my daughter's wear and tear for almost two years - before she lost one - did not wear out. Although I would not call this a show winter glove because they are a bit bulky for show, it is perfect for around the barn and riding at home.
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Barn Gloves These gloves have been the (2nd) best thing this winter, after my new winter breeches. The gloves are great to ride in, definitely keep my hands warm and aren't too bulky (I can still steer!). Also, I have learned they are mostly waterproof. Being winter, water buckets are icing over and I've had to dip my hands in to remove chunks of ice. These glove keep the water out! No joke, so long as I don't completely submerge my hands, they stay dry!
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely gloves: sadly not for my hands I was a bit forewarned by some of the other reviews, and felt compelled to add my voice to the pack. If you, as do I, have long, slender hands with narrow palms and long, elegant fingers and thumb, do not buy this glove. You will be sad. On the other hand, if you have the more typical "american" wider, shorter fingered hand, you'll be delighted. I opened the packaged, said, Ooohhh, felt the lovely, squishy soft leather, and tried to slip my hands in. Alas, they were not only smaller in fit than I expected for the size marked, but the fingers and thumb were very short. No way could I wear these gloves, not at all. A friend was there, she said Oh, let me try! she put them on and said, What heaven! So she bought them from me on the spot. Her normal size is like 2 sizes less than me. So, there you go. Roeckle's fit me like custom made. I have been told I have "European" hands. Whatever. Go to the shop, try on Roeckle's and SSG's. Then decide. Either way, these are very lovely, well made, and cozy, but they have to fit, right?
    Date published: 2013-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great pair of gloves! Warm, soft, fit perfectly. Excellent pair of gloves!
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So soft & warm! I already had a pair of mountain horse gloves, but found the plastic grip on them wasn't grippy enough, so I wanted to try something leather. I couldn't believe how buttery soft these were when they arrived! They're not too thick or bulky, and they're really warm. They provide excellent grip too. I use the mountain horse gloves still for grooming, but these are now my go-to winter riding glove. I've had them about a month now, and have been riding in them 5-6 days a week and they aren't showing any signs of wear other than being a little dirty. Love them!
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves Don't even know how long I've had these but it's literally been years and I still love them. They are my go to gloves for barn chores on really cold days. Warmer than the ski gloves I bought for that purpose. I think their flexibility helps account for their warmth over thicker gloves. Usually ride in my other SSG insulated gloves but these are best if its really cold.
    Date published: 2013-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG Winter Training Gloves Just recently purchased these gloves. Love them. Keep my hands/fingers warm as toast. First time I have had gloves that actually do keep me warm. Always have cold fingers - Not No More. Now to find boots that keep my feet warm!!!
    Date published: 2012-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them I got these gloves at the beginning of the winter, and I love them! They held up very nicely (look just as good as when I got them) and are perfect for barn work and riding. The only problem I've had with them is that they're a little big, even though I measured my hand and ordered the correct size -- might just be my hands though. I'd definitely recommend them, they're excellent!
    Date published: 2012-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the barn-workers borrows them all the time! I love the SSG winter gloves. The only problem is that one of my friends that works at the barn steals them all the time to use since they are so great :) They are great because they are warm but don't give you the builkiness of some other winter gloves!
    Date published: 2012-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great gloves my hands are finally warm
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good gloves for cold weather riding I got these gloves from a friend's recommendation after I tried the SSG 10 below waterproof gloves. These are warmer. It's also easy to hold reins while riding.
    Date published: 2012-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase I love all the SSG products these gloves are warm and cozy. I wore them all day at a freezing horse show 25 degrees and my hands were never cold.
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves for working horses There is no perfect glove when you have to be adjusting tack and riding horses in bitter cold weather, but these come as close as any glove can. They are warm and you can hold onto reins without them slipping through your hands. They fit well, so you don't have extra bulk in your way. I train horses and tend to go through gloves very quickly - these ones hold up. They look like the day I got them. Keeping my hands dry and warm.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves I wore them yesterday in cold and wind. I'm always cold but my hands stayed toasty warm for the first time. Grip made riding easy as well. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good all around Fall glove. These gloves although stated to be winter warm to minus 32 degrees fall way short of that warmth! I live in northern Wisconsin where it does get to -32 and I can tell you these gloves don't cut it for that bitter cold. I wore them around the barn when it was between 20 to 40 degrees no colder. At those temps they were great. They are well made and hold up well, in fact, I ordered another pair for next year. I wish they would add more Thinsulate to make them warmer. One thing I might add is that I am a small person 5" 1" wearing a size 6 glove so I get cold very quickly. Perhaps more quickly than the average person. They are good for riding too.
    Date published: 2011-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Glove I bought these for my daughter who has a real problem with circulation in her fingers in the winter. Although her fingers are still cold, these gloves are the best we've tried. The fit is great.
    Date published: 2011-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best glove Love these gloves. They fit and are warm. Waterproof and I can ride in them too. Cannot be without them. My puppy liked them also so I immediately bought another pair :).
    Date published: 2011-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves for winter These gloves are supple, easy on and off, and keep hands warm. On extremely cold days I stick a hothhand pack in the back of each glove--and my fingers stay toasty. In spite of their warmth, I can do almost all my tack up and other barn activities without removing them.
    Date published: 2011-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Warm Gloves! I have now worn these gloves several times in 20 degree weather with the wind chill making it feel like well below 0 and my hands stay toasty and warm! They grip great and have not show a bit of wear. Nice gloves and at a great price!
    Date published: 2010-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter gloves We're not in the depths of winter yet, but we've had some evenings in the 20s with biting winds, and these gloves have risen to the occasion. They are the first pair of winter gloves that I can ride in that don't *feel* like winter gloves, I have a very solid hold on the reins. I think in the completely frozen months, with some hand warmers, these would be perfect. I'm getting a pair for a good friend for Xmas!
    Date published: 2010-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice glove but slippery I own these gloves and use them during the coldest winter months riding outside and in the indoor arena on cold evenings after the sun disappears. My hands get cold if I sweat and then cool down and also if it is below 25 degrees. They aren't bad as far as a winter glove, because I have tried many. The leather is durable-only problem is that it is a bit slippery. Deerskin is so much better as far as that goes, but these have better insulation and are much more fitted. Not as warm as a ski glove, obviously, due to the thinner insulation and I don't believe they provide the best feel, either due to the thickness. But what can you expect from a insulated winter glove. I would say they are about the best you will come across-again stating that the biggest complaint is the slippery texture. They seem to get more slippery with age as well. I'd buy them if you need a thicker glove for riding.
    Date published: 2010-11-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Well made - not as warm as I'd like I normally take a size 7, but in these gloves, I take a 6. If the temperatures get into the low 20's or below, I still get very cold fingers when riding during the first 20 minutes. Bought a second pair so I could try trading off a warmed up pair when fingers start aching. Do find them warmer than the Ariat Insulated Teks. Still looking for better technology to come along.
    Date published: 2010-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmest Gloves These are the warmest gloves I have found, my fingers still get a chill when we drop into the "teens " but nothing like before I got the gloves. I do recommend the gloves! :)
    Date published: 2010-01-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good quality I like the quality - they are just too bulky for me to use for riding
    Date published: 2010-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm and comfortable with a nice fit
    Date published: 2010-01-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great quality but not as warm as expected I have been using these gloves for about 2 weeks now in Vermont between 9 and 34 degree F weather. I really like their look and quality but they havent been as warm as I was hoping. My fingertips get cold when the temperatures get down to 20 and below. I dont know how they would be used for riding because I have only had the opportunity to wear them while doing errands.
    Date published: 2010-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Product is as expected Very nice to get a product that is what you expected it to be. Can't say that they exceeded my expectations, but I am quite pleased with them, they have been very good in the below freezing weather we've had. Would recommend, and purchase again for myself.
    Date published: 2010-01-14
    • y_2017, m_1, d_21, h_4
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_74
    • loc_en_US, sid_2095, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders