Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SSG Lycrochet Horseshoe Back Glove

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #15272
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

These classically styled gloves are unbelievably comfortable and exceedingly durable. 
Imported.
Favorite Features

  • Soft pigskin palm for grip 
  • Soft pigskin finger rein reinforcements
  • Cool knit crochet back for comfort and style

Sizing

To determine your glove size, measure around your hand at the widest part, excluding thumb. The number of inches should equal your glove size.
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Back on Track products help injuries heal quickly ...
    Description:
    "Back on Track products help injuries heal quickly and ease arthritic pain. The Back on Track Therapeutic Riding Gloves are constructed of a polyester with polyurethane-coated outer shell, with a polypropylene ceramic textile lining. The ceramic reflects your natural body ...
    "The Heritage Premier Show glove is the number ...
    Description:
    "The Heritage Premier Show glove is the number one choice of our top athletes. Exclusively made with a new technically advanced material that insures a tacky grip on the reins and allows moisture to pass through from your skin to ...
    "The Roeckl London Glove combines functionality with a ...
    Description:
    "The Roeckl London Glove combines functionality with a sporty and modern design. The discreet piping and fashionable trim combined with high quality materials and a sophisticated fastener make for an outstanding performance glove. This glove is cell phone compatible."
    "Do you suffer from unsightly tan lines after ...
    Description:
    "Do you suffer from unsightly tan lines after hours (or was it days?) in the saddle? The Solar Glove is a combination of skin protection and a longer lasting suntan result from the SOLAR TAN'S UNIQUE UV FILTER FABRIC. The ...
    "The Samshield Hunter Riding Glove has the same ...
    Description:
    "The Samshield Hunter Riding Glove has the same performance you love in the original Samshield V-Skin Gloves but with a solid colored palm for more traditional look. Made from perforated lambskin leather, this lightweight glove offers maximum comfort and airflow. ...
    "Favorite Features Lycra mesh back Cowhide leather palm ...
    Description:
    "Favorite Features Lycra mesh back Cowhide leather palm with rein ridges Finger reinforcement Hook and loop fastener wrist tab"
    Why We Love This The SSG Silk Lined Soft ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The SSG Silk Lined Soft Touch glove is the most comfortable lined glove you will try.  No bulk, extra comfort. Silk - natures best natural insulator! Hook and loop wrist closure for a secure fit.  Machine washable. Imported. STILL HAVE ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Lycrochet Horseshoe Back Glove is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 157.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic, high quality, affordable schooling gloves Old school so don't go in washing machine (leather...), but knit back makes them breathable and leather gives you good grip. I am probably a 6.5 so got the 6's and they will stretch to perfect.
    Date published: 2017-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great summer gloves I bought these as a gift for a friend of mine who desperately needed new gloves. She just loves them, and now I'm thinking I'll buy a pair too. They're lightweight, but sturdy and are holding up well for her.
    Date published: 2017-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves. Cooler in the summer, no Velcro, and the leather palms means i can do light chores in them.
    Date published: 2017-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My summer gloves Love these gloves, I buy a pair every year! I just wish they didn't wear out so quickly!
    Date published: 2017-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite gloves! These are my favorite gloves and apparently hard to find! I was very happy to be able to order them and toss them in with my monthly SmartPaks!
    Date published: 2017-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from There's a reason I buy these gloves over and over I bought these specific gloves for several years now. I very much appreciate that they have no seams around the ring finger where you grip the reins. Other gloves have left me with horrible blisters and these gloves have never done that. I also really like the crochet back that allows for some ventilation and some stretch so that they really fit your hands. They wear out usually once a year, but they are a deal for this price.
    Date published: 2016-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always my go to! I never knew what gloves to buy until I found these. They are always my go to when needing schooling gloves. I don't remember the last time I wore anything but. I use these even in the winter. They are grippy and soft and they are super comfortable.
    Date published: 2016-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect riding gloves! I'm so glad I bought these gloves. Great flexibility and protection.
    Date published: 2016-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great all around riding glove Great gloves, very comfortable and surprisingly very light! Not the best for all day, daily barn work. After about a week my "work" pair developed a hole. My "riding" pair has held very strong for several months
    Date published: 2016-08-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't like it I bought this hoping the leather would be a bit more sticky than the synthetic. Unfortunately, not only was it not more sticky, it was worse. Also, it was quite difficult to get on. I gave this to someone else to try out within one ride.
    Date published: 2016-08-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very stiff, runs small I bought the same size I do in all my gloves, and they were way to small. I was OJ simpsoning it trying to get them on. Once on, they were very stiff and uncomfortable.
    Date published: 2016-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from durable, well made! I was surprised to see what fine quality these gloves were! The leather is strong, soft and supple. These gloves fit very nicely.
    Date published: 2016-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome schooling gloves These gloves haven't changed much in all the (many) years I have been purchasing them! They are cool and protect my hands from the reins and also from being sunburned in the summer.
    Date published: 2016-05-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid glove I have owned lots of crochet gloves over the years and while not my favorite they are pretty good. I usually buy them from a tack shop and really never cared about the brand, just that the leather was soft and that they fit well. These gloves I could barely get on new but after a week of riding they have stretched nicely. The horseshoe back does its job, does not fit my hand/palm shape the best, but that's nothing new. For those who have never worn a horseshoe back glove and have always opted for the Velcro, try a pair. I tried a friends pair and I will never go back, the horseshoe keeps the gloves on but allows more air to circulate around your wrists and palms and it's much more comfortable in my opinion.
    Date published: 2016-05-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My almost favorite. I love crochet gloves, and I love the ones with no velcro even more. I want very much to love these gloves but they don't quite fit perfectly. The 7 is too short in the fingers and the 8 is too big in the wrist. Still looking for the brand that fits me best, but if they fit you well then I highly reccomend them!
    Date published: 2016-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from True to size Just bought these and am using them mostly to ride - they fit my hands so well, which I'm noting because my fingers are shorter and thicker, although still average sized. It's always a win when my sausage fingers fill the fingers (with the exception of the thumb). I tried some other crochet gloves which were too tight for me (probably would have stretched but I only had enough in the budget for one pair this time). I'm pretty sure I found a new pair for life with these. They hug my hands without it feeling like a vice. I got a seven based on the measurement of the sizing chart.
    Date published: 2016-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable I purchased these in hopes of protecting my hand from sun here in Tucson. Doc found a skin cancer on the top of my hand. The are very comfortable and not stiff broke in quickly
    Date published: 2016-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite gloves! I'm never disappointed by SSG! Love the fit, feel, and durability.
    Date published: 2016-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite gloves! I've only been wearing them for a few weeks (3-4x week for about 2 weeks) so I can't speak to the longterm durability, but they seem very well made and like they will hold up well. They were super comfortable from the very first ride. No break in period, and no blisters, stiffness, or staining of your skin like you get with some gloves. Love the crochet back--they breath well and my sweaty hands have stayed dry and cool in the crazy hot weather we've been having in CA. I was worried they'd be too thick and bulky but they aren't. I have worn them on long trail rides, cross-country schooling, and schooling and in lessons at home and they have been perfect in all situations. I wear a size 10 in many gloves, and the size 9 in these is perfect. The fingers could be a hair longer, but they work. My new favorite gloves!
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable and cool I have had these style of gloves before and I get about 2 years out of them. I like the style and the fact that they don't make my hands sweat. The size I usually wear started off a little snug, but I knew they would give a little and after about 10 rides, they are perfect.
    Date published: 2015-09-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent value - love these gloves! I bought these to replace my lost pair. Love these gloves! Cool, breathable, durable. The leather will stiffen over time if you don't care for properly but this doesn't impact performance. The white will dirty quickly but to be expected, they still look great. Superb to ride in. Excellent value. I gave a four because they're not machine washable.
    Date published: 2015-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These Summer Gloves I've had my first pair of these for a little over a year. They were nice and soft and my concerns about the crocheting holding up was unfounded because it's held up. The only time I ever had them bleed onto me was on a three hour hunt pace which is totally understandable for me. I'm getting ready to replace them with a new pair because the stitching has worn at the wrist of the glove and the leather is starting to break down a bit from being used six days a week for close to a year. I love these gloves and will keep buying them for as long as SSG makes them!
    Date published: 2015-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very soft and durable! Love these gloves! Great in hot weather, very soft but also hold up well. This is my third or fourth pair and they usually last about a year even using them for non-riding barn stuff as well.
    Date published: 2015-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable I've only used them for a few weeks but they are very comfortable and fit as expected. I even got caught out in a storm with them and they didn't bleed and dried just fine. I gave 4 stars for durability only because I don't know yet.
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits like a glove!! I have the velcro version of these gloves, but I was looking for an easy on-easy off option. When they arrived I was worried that they wouldn't fit well/stay in place because there's no Velcro. I was pleasantly surprised! They fit great and are easy to get on! Highly recommend them!
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Summer Glove, runs small A good summer glove. Nice price point. But sizing runs small and short, in fingers & full length to wrist. a good glove if they fit you!
    Date published: 2015-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves! I needed a new pair of summer gloves and wanted to try a non-velcro style glove. I LOVE these gloves. They are so comfortable and breathable. Perfect for summer riding. They fit true to size and fit my hands perfectly.
    Date published: 2015-05-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice gloves Pretty nice quality gloves. Got them in black and even in the hot sun they stay pretty cool. Only thing I don't like is that the seams are right at the fingertips making them feel a bit bulky. Would be a little better if the seem was put into the top side of fingers, like on top of the fingernail. Other than that I'm really pleased with them.
    Date published: 2015-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Warmer Weather Gloves I prefer to ride with gloves regardless of the temperatures but my leather gloves are just too hot for schooling in the summer. These are the perfect summer/warm weather gloves. AND they run true to size!!
    Date published: 2015-05-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great gloves I'm on my second pair of these gloves and I love them. The white cotton backing of them is hard to keep clean but everyone should already know that's going to be tough. These aren't show gloves so it doesn't bother me. The light color keeps me aware of my hand position. They fit well and are quite durable. They aren't light weight but do breathe decently. Difficult to clean though because the leather dries out when you wash them, leaving them basically trashed. Also, it's really tough, almost impossible, to operate a smartphone touch screen with these on. Don't really have that issue with my other gloves. I love that these gloves don't have velcro so they won't snag my clothes, breeches, etc. Overall, a great buy.
    Date published: 2015-05-18
    • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_137
    • loc_en_US, sid_5272, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders