Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

SSG Lycrochet Horseshoe Back Glove

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #15272
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

These classically styled gloves are unbelievably comfortable and exceedingly durable. 

Favorite Features

  • Soft pigskin palm for grip 
  • Soft pigskin finger rein reinforcements
  • Cool knit crochet back for comfort and style
Imported.

Sizing It Up

To determine your glove size, measure around your hand at the widest part, excluding thumb. The number of inches should equal your glove size.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Lycrochet Horseshoe Back Glove is rated 4.5077 out of 5 by 130.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable summer gloves Ve been using these gloves for years. The leather is soft, comfortable and long lasting. The crochet top keep my hands cool. Overall, the gloves are light weight. They tend to last about a season. Given their low price, this is reasonable.
    Date published: 2014-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I have them in brown and black. They are light weight, durable, and fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as expected I purchased these gloves based mostly on the good reviews as I was needing a summer glove and did not want a velcro closure.  I had SSG crocheted gloves years ago and remembered that they fit well, but sometimes the velcro closure was a pain. Part of the problem with this glove, for me, is that I have slim hands and long fingers, so even though other SSG gloves fit me well in my size (9), this one because it does not have a wrist band and mostly cotton (not as much lycra as other gloves) is too wide and loose across the back of the hand.  Also, because of the cotton it tended to stretch out, so I wore them twice and now they just sit in my tack box.  I will stick with my regular Roeckl gloves year round.I can't say they run big, because it may be my hands, but for me they ran large and felt bulky.
    Date published: 2013-11-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fell apart pretty quickly I purchased these and within a few months of very light riding (1-2 times a week) they were falling apart, and I'm notorious for 20 minute hacks. The fit was okay, not great. I guess for the price I can't complain too much, but these were recommended to me by a friend who had hers for years and loved them. Maybe I just got unlucky? I wouldn't buy these again.
    Date published: 2013-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfortable gloves I do love these gloves and have purchased them countless times over the years, but I already noticed a slight tear in the stitching and only have worn 3 or 4 times.
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fit I hate to wear gloves but since I have to, both at practice and at shows these were real nice and comfortable I don't even know they are on.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would not recommend these gloves Having only worn SSG Grippers for the past fifteen years, I thought I'd try something new and cooler for summer. After only five rides in these gloves, the seams in the wrists began to rip. With nearly an inch of stitching ripped on each glove, they no longer fit the same and are uncomfortable.SSG Grippers are nearly a third of the price and last atleast a year. These more expensive gloves have hardly lasted a month.
    Date published: 2013-09-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect Summer Schooling Glove I recently got a new horse who is much harder on my hands than my last one. In order to give my Roeckls a break, I bought these and am in LOVE- the crochet back keeps my hands cool and the leather is nice and sturdy. While they aren't as grippy as the Roeckls, they do what they're supposed to at a much lower price. GREAT SCHOOLING GLOVE.
    Date published: 2013-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ONLY warm weather riding glove These are the perfect warm weather riding glove! Airy, comfortable and well made with a classic look!
    Date published: 2013-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice gloves for foxhunting I orginially ordered the wrong size and the first time I exchanged I was sent the wrong color, but after finally receiving the correct size and color I'm satisfied with my purchase. I haven't used them for foxhunting yet, but they fit snuggly and I don't anticipate any issues when using them.
    Date published: 2013-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service Had these gloves previously and lost one, so glad to able replace them. Your product and service was excellent.Working with your representative was excellent. Will be ordering from you again.
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice summer gloves Love the ventilation in these gloves for summer. Also love the color. Holding up great so far!
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just O.K. I really wanted to like this glove. I've heard great things about SSG, but I was nervous about switching brands because Mountain Horse has been my "go to" for about 10 yrs. But the Mountain Horse gloves finally wore out and SmartPak doesn't carry the crochet gloves in black, so I decided to risk it. They fit pretty well, if not slightly small, but that's not really my main complaint. When I took them off after riding multiple horses at the barn I work at, my hands were dyed black and I had blisters on both of my "ring" fingers where the reinforcement patch was. I figured it would only happen once, but it's happened 3 times so far. I'll be curious to see if it continues as they get broken in. But, aside from those two things, they really are comfortable and they look nice!
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice glove Comfy, good fit. Wish I had gotten the darker color.
    Date published: 2013-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Gloves for Training I wear these everyday for training. I would definately buy these again.
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value! These gloves are great for the price! Awesome schooling gloves. Well constructed and nice quality despite the cheap price. Easy to slip on and off with the horseshoe design.
    Date published: 2012-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally awesome gloves! These gloves are great. They are true to sizing and I love the air-flow through the crochet. They have a good grip and have a mostly classic look that I love!
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves I love these gloves. They're especially good for summertime riding because the looseness at the wrist means that you don't get an ugly tan line. I usually just let them get filthy, but occasionally I throw them in the washing machine, which they handle with no problem at all.
    Date published: 2012-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them They are very comfortable, and wear very well. I ride in them 4 days a week, on 2 horses per day, you get more than your money worth.
    Date published: 2012-09-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great warm weather glove This is my second pair of these gloves. They are a good glove for warm weather schooling - the crochet back allows plenty of ventilation to keep your hands from getting too hot, unlike full leather gloves. They don't hold up much more than one season (I ride 5-6 times a week), but aren't prohibitively expensive. Good summer glove for the price. Very comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only gloves I ever school in. I will buy these gloves forever. They are perfect for everyday. And they last a long time. They have the perfect balance of protection and flexibility. Also, they recover like nothing ever happened if they get wet.
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Need to get used to them, but good gloves I agree with everyone who advised that these run small. I am typically a size 6 or 6 1/2 glove, but ordered a 7 after reading the reviews, and they're still somewhat tight though I think they'll loosen up with time. The leather palms are pretty stiff and need some breaking in before getting comfortable, but they definitely look durable. There's reinforcement in typical wear areas like between the ring and pinkie finger. They look good and the open weave back is great for a little air flow during the summer. Overall, I'm happy with them.
    Date published: 2012-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG Lycrochet Glove I've worn these gloves for years! They are comfortable and break in easily! Now if they could just come up with a way to keep the fingers from shreading!I recently started my 2 horses on Senior Flex, my 25 year old "retired" paint mare still loves to trail ride in the Arizona mountains. She is barefoot and was getting a little "ouchy". Within 2 weeks of starting the product her hesitation is gone! She is enjoying her outings again.The photo of my 8 year old dressage queen says it all! Any discomfort and she wants to back off, with Senior Flex her attitude is changing daily!SmartPak has always provided fabulous products, service and reasonable prices!
    Date published: 2012-06-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great schooling glove great glove for a reasonable price. when I am riding I can actually feel the air cooling my (sometimes a little sweaty) hands. the deerskin is a good thickness. I dont ride without them. I show in the TredSteo Pro Jumper and love those too!
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent comfortable glove Nice comfortable grippy glove for riding in warmer weather. Runs SMALL, buy at least a size up - I had to return mine for a larger size even when I measured carefully for fit. I don't think they're extremely durable - in 2-3 wearings some of the leather has pulled away from the stitching already.
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Couldn't get the right fit! Ordered two different sizes, but they just wouldn't fit.. either too big or too large. Maybe that's what you get with crochet? Who knows... shame though, cause they seemed like they'd be cool to wear in the summer.
    Date published: 2012-05-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gloves and SmartPaks The products are good, SmartPaks are great but shipping from SmartPak is a huge debacle as I am a rural customer. The USPS has a way to handle packages for every address in this country. UPS is particularly challenged with rural delivery and has finally offered a service to have USPS make final delivery yet you don't use it.
    Date published: 2012-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SGG lycrochet glove I bought these gloves for general riding after getting a blister from my reins. They are snug at first but soon loosen up and fit perfectly as they are leather. They seem strong and are holding up nicely. I am a size 7 womens glove and they fit just right. I like that there is no velcro or rough wrist closure. they are also cute and comfy.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves I wore out my last pair of Crochet backed gloves and I tried on a friends pair of SSG Horse Shoe Back Gloves and liked the way they felt. I ordered a size 7 and they're a little tight, but I can feel them stretch out the more I ride in them. So far they're holding up to my lunging and training that I do in them.
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from GLOVE FIT I really like the looks and the open weave back that lets air in. I have rather short fingers and a wide hand so I decided to try the mediums. They were a little tight but the large would have been too long. I put them on and rubbed some leather dressing into them and did some streatching. They are now a perfect fit. I am sure I will be buying more in the future.
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    • 2015-08-30T14:53CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_112
    • loc_en_US, sid_5272, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.