Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SSG Lycrochet Horseshoe Back Glove

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #15272
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

These classically styled gloves are unbelievably comfortable and exceedingly durable. 
Imported.
Favorite Features

  • Soft pigskin palm for grip 
  • Soft pigskin finger rein reinforcements
  • Cool knit crochet back for comfort and style

Sizing

To determine your glove size, measure around your hand at the widest part, excluding thumb. The number of inches should equal your glove size.
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Heritage Premier Show glove is the number ...
    Description:
    "The Heritage Premier Show glove is the number one choice of our top athletes. Exclusively made with a new technically advanced material that insures a tacky grip on the reins and allows moisture to pass through from your skin to ...
    "You will understand why this glove is called ...
    Description:
    "You will understand why this glove is called the Perfect Fit the second you slip it on! The breathable spandex jersey back of hand and SureGrip™ synthetic suede palm conform to the hand. The fabric is so light, you'll forget ...
    "The Roeckl Chester Glove combines grip technology with ...
    Description:
    "The Roeckl Chester Glove combines grip technology with the latest in riding fashion. This classic glove is made from ROECK-GRIP, a very fine synthetic leather with an excellent grip, supple, breathable and elastic. This glove fits like a second skin, ...
    "This Roeckl Chester-Limited Edition Glove combines grip technology ...
    Description:
    "This Roeckl Chester-Limited Edition Glove combines grip technology with the latest in riding fashion. This classic glove is made from ROECK-GRIP, a very fine synthetic leather with an excellent grip, supple, breathable and elastic. This glove fits like a second ...
    "The Roeckl London Glove combines functionality with a ...
    Description:
    "The Roeckl London Glove combines functionality with a sporty and modern design. The discreet piping and fashionable trim combined with high quality materials and a sophisticated fastener make for an outstanding performance glove. This glove is cell phone compatible."
    "A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made ...
    Description:
    "A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made from ROECK-GRIP, which provides superior grip, suppleness, and breathability. The Winter Chester gloves have a laminated fleece lining that provides additional warmth. The Roeckl tab fastener across the back of the hand ...
    "The Samshield Hunter Riding Glove has the same ...
    Description:
    "The Samshield Hunter Riding Glove has the same performance you love in the original Samshield V-Skin Gloves but with a solid colored palm for more traditional look. Made from perforated lambskin leather, this lightweight glove offers maximum comfort and airflow. ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Lycrochet Horseshoe Back Glove is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 147.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not sure how long they'll last Comfortable, seem pretty durable, but I've only worn for a week and there are already loose threads so I'm not sure how long they'll actually last. But perfectly fine for the price.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish and comfortable! I love these gloves! I purchased them for schooling. The fit is true to size; snug without constricting and I can feel the reins. It's getting cold here in my area and they keep my hands warm enough without feeling clammy or sweaty.
    Date published: 2014-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves Bought these for fox hunting and now I wear them all of the time!
    Date published: 2014-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves. They do run a little small but look awesome.
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Runs Small I think these gloves are pretty well made, but they do run small. I have long, thin fingers and typically wear a 7 in gloves, but these 7s were not even close to being the correct size--it was almost like putting on a pair of kids gloves. I returned them an bought a different brand at a local tack shop--size 7, like always.
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bought for my husband, these are his second pair, very long lasting
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I bought those gloves to replace my old crochet ones. I was a little concerned about the size but they are just perfect, I took one size up since my measurements were in between 2 sizes. They are very comfortable and do not slip out of your hands although there is no closure. I love then!
    Date published: 2014-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great glove! I bought these after my favorite brand stopped making their crocheted gloves. Several of my friends recommended them and the reviews were positive as well. I am very happy with them so far. They do run a bit small at first because the leather has to stretch out. They seem very well made though.
    Date published: 2014-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these gloves! These are the first pair of gloves that I have ever re-purchased (I am on my fourth pair-not because they've worn or torn, but because I have the bad habit of losing one...). They are good-looking, and wear very well. I buy them in 'natural' and they continue to look classic even when they get worn and dirty--I actually prefer them when they look 'broken in'! I love that they don't have Velcro.
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG Lycrochet Horseshoe Back Gloves I love these gloves! They're really comfortable and the leather on the palms is very soft, while providing a cool net for the top of the hand. I haven't had them long but so far so good. I'd buy them again.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these!!! I have three pairs of these gloves...love them! So comfortable, but they breathe so your hands don't get super sweaty!
    Date published: 2014-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! I got these gloves last month and have been extremely happy with them. They are super comfortable and fit great!
    Date published: 2014-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great glove, very supple and cool for summer riding
    Date published: 2014-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice, great price My second pair - very handy, and it took years to wear my first pair out :)
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not A Fan! Not only were they way too big, they were stiff and bulky! I hate thick and bulky gloves and I definitely disliked these! They were hot and thick. I sent these back to smartpak and exchanged them for the kerrits gloves.
    Date published: 2014-07-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Light weight for summer They are light weight for summer, but not sure if they will hold up for the entire season. They gloves I wanted were not in stock, so I got these. I do like how they stop at the wrist.
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable great grip for control.Love these gloves stretch makes them a good fit
    Date published: 2014-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable! Gloves are cool and offer great protection for my hands. I wear them for grooming, lunging and riding.
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great summer gloves! I've had these gloves before and love them for summer riding. They have a great feel on the reins, the leather is soft and has a great feel on your hands.
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Glove I used this glove for my first horse show this year. It was hot outside and the glove was great!
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE THESE GLOVES ! I bought these two years ago and have worn them frequently. Not only at the barn for chores and riding but for yard work as well.The gloves are perfectly broken in now, soft, supple and very comfortable....I decided that I can not live without them so have just ordered two more pairs ! I highly recommend these gloves for any time of the year. I have lived in Pennsylvania and Connecticut during the time I have used these gloves. I am size 6 1/2 , order size 6 and they fit fine.
    Date published: 2014-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable summer gloves Ve been using these gloves for years. The leather is soft, comfortable and long lasting. The crochet top keep my hands cool. Overall, the gloves are light weight. They tend to last about a season. Given their low price, this is reasonable.
    Date published: 2014-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I have them in brown and black. They are light weight, durable, and fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as expected I purchased these gloves based mostly on the good reviews as I was needing a summer glove and did not want a velcro closure.  I had SSG crocheted gloves years ago and remembered that they fit well, but sometimes the velcro closure was a pain. Part of the problem with this glove, for me, is that I have slim hands and long fingers, so even though other SSG gloves fit me well in my size (9), this one because it does not have a wrist band and mostly cotton (not as much lycra as other gloves) is too wide and loose across the back of the hand.  Also, because of the cotton it tended to stretch out, so I wore them twice and now they just sit in my tack box.  I will stick with my regular Roeckl gloves year round.I can't say they run big, because it may be my hands, but for me they ran large and felt bulky.
    Date published: 2013-11-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fell apart pretty quickly I purchased these and within a few months of very light riding (1-2 times a week) they were falling apart, and I'm notorious for 20 minute hacks. The fit was okay, not great. I guess for the price I can't complain too much, but these were recommended to me by a friend who had hers for years and loved them. Maybe I just got unlucky? I wouldn't buy these again.
    Date published: 2013-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfortable gloves I do love these gloves and have purchased them countless times over the years, but I already noticed a slight tear in the stitching and only have worn 3 or 4 times.
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fit I hate to wear gloves but since I have to, both at practice and at shows these were real nice and comfortable I don't even know they are on.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would not recommend these gloves Having only worn SSG Grippers for the past fifteen years, I thought I'd try something new and cooler for summer. After only five rides in these gloves, the seams in the wrists began to rip. With nearly an inch of stitching ripped on each glove, they no longer fit the same and are uncomfortable.SSG Grippers are nearly a third of the price and last atleast a year. These more expensive gloves have hardly lasted a month.
    Date published: 2013-09-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect Summer Schooling Glove I recently got a new horse who is much harder on my hands than my last one. In order to give my Roeckls a break, I bought these and am in LOVE- the crochet back keeps my hands cool and the leather is nice and sturdy. While they aren't as grippy as the Roeckls, they do what they're supposed to at a much lower price. GREAT SCHOOLING GLOVE.
    Date published: 2013-09-11
    • y_2017, m_5, d_24, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_128
    • loc_en_US, sid_5272, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders