Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SSG Gripper

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #10893

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Everyone has at least one pair of these SSG Grippers- and for good reason. They are comfortable and when they wear out you can replace them without any guilt. So go to your tack box, toss out those old ones and treat yourself to some fresh Grippers. Economical cool knit cotton glove with hook and loop fastening wrist tab. Pimple grip palm. Reinforced in key areas. Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The SSG Digital Gloves are the ultimate in ...
    Description:
    The SSG Digital Gloves are the ultimate in feel, grip, breathabliity and finally... durability. Attractive digital pattern increases grip and wear. Show ring appropriate. Machine washable.
    These classically styled gloves are unbelievably comfortable and ...
    Description:
    These classically styled gloves are unbelievably comfortable and exceedingly durable. Favorite Features Soft pigskin palm for grip Soft pigskin finger rein reinforcements Cool knit crochet back for comfort and style Imported. Sizing It Up To determine your glove size, measure ...
    The SSG Winter Training Glove is an all ...
    Description:
    The SSG Winter Training Glove is an all purpose lined winter glove for training, handling, and riding. The back of glove has Thinsulate lining for heat retention without the bulk while the palm is lightly lined providing a better feel ...
    The SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves is a ...
    Description:
    The SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves is a winter glove with supreme protection in cold weather with 4 layers for warmth! Favorite Features Proven waterproof protection (Not just water resistant) Thinsulate and exclusive SSG polar fleece lining SSG digital&trade palm ...
    SSG Lycrochet UltraFlex glove is designed with comfort ...
    Description:
    SSG Lycrochet UltraFlex glove is designed with comfort in mind. This glove features a pigskin palm with finger rein reinforcements to help prevent wear from daily use. Additionally, this glove boasts a cool crochet back for comfort and style. Hook ...
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Gripper is rated 4.1845 out of 5 by 103.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Gloves Ever! I love these gloves, and I buy several pair a year. I use them every day for riding and barn chores. They don't last forever, especially as hard on them as I am, but for the price, who cares how often you replace them. Great fitting, comfortable gloves!
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves I have several pairs of the SSG Gripper gloves. Great value for the price - well-made, and they've been holding up well. I am petite (5' tall with small hands) and the x-small is the perfect size for me. The small had a little too much extra room.
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Duable. Certainly not the best out there, but decent enough for schooling at home. I know from the past they don't hold up the greatest through the fingers but that's what you get for the price I guess.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best schooling gloves! I have been using these gloves for years, and love them! They hold up very well, and are super inexpensive to replace.
    Date published: 2012-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Product is better than expected for this price range.
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for price I ordered these for my husband who is just starting to ride. It was just a starter pair, for like $8 they are fine. Because they are so cheap they run small and prolly won't last super long but for a beginner or one per week rider they would be fine. If you ride more or are looking for any quality, spend a little more on nicer SSG gloves, I only ride in SSG they rock!
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the quality I expected I bought a pair of these gloves a few years ago at a local tack shop, so I decided to get them for a friend. The first pair were heavier, and have worn really well. The pair I just bought are really poor quality - thinner fabric and poorly constructed.
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice gloves for the price Nice gloves. I got the pink ones :) Cheap!! I only wish they were a little stretchier.
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Flo Ten These were great gloves for the money and I hope the durability can be extended to a 5 star.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice little glove! Material was thinner than I thought it would be. Not super heavy duty made. We`'ll see how long it lasts!
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed So these gloves are inexpensive but I must have gotten a faulty pair because I used them a couple times for chores (picking manure) and twice to ride and the seams are already ripping. I'm also not pleased with the bulk and seams for the area between the ring finger and pinky for the reins, uncomfortable. Surprised because I'm usually very happy with SSG
    Date published: 2011-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good glove for a great price A fellow barn buddy could not speak more highly of these gloves, and for the price, I have to agree. They have the right amount of grippy-ness for my leather reins, allowing a good amount of grip while still allowing my reins to slip when I need them to. Perfect for summer x-country schooling.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excellent Schooling Glove I love these gloves and use them daily. I have purchased more than a dozen pairs over the last few years and find them to be an excellent glove for daily riding. They are great for our hot summers and mild winters. I actually own a couple of white pair that I even use for shows.My only complaint is that I eventually wear through one of the fingers on my left hand. Once my finger pokes through, I'm forced to toss them and move on to a new pair. I ride two horses a day in the summer and find that one pair will last several months. In the winter, they tend to last a bit longer as I don't always get to ride.The fit is great and they are comfortable. And for the price, I don't mind buying a couple of pair a year.
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good glove for the price I can count on SSG gloves for quality and good fit. These gloves are perfect for summer riding. They are lightweight but sturdy, holding up well to barn and riding demands. I love these gloves.
    Date published: 2011-09-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not what I expected I'm not sure if I read the descriptionwrong, but I was expecting microsuede type material, not cloth...the work well enough though, and for the price I should get good use out of them.
    Date published: 2011-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves These gloves are really nice for the amount you pay for them. I have long fingers, so it's hard to find gloves that fit just right. And these do!
    Date published: 2011-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Summer Schooling gloves These gloves are great for summer schooling. I used to order the crochet gloves but found them to not be very durable. I have worn these every time I have ridden since receiving them and so far they are worth more than they cost.
    Date published: 2011-08-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from save my hands I was a little skeptical when I got these because they're so light and look flimsy. But I've been riding with them every day this week and they're holding up just fine, no problems and they're saving my hands from blisters. They're also cool enough to wear in the hot hot heat of summer in the south. I'm so glad I bought them!
    Date published: 2011-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value for the $$ I love these gloves for the summer because they are so light and breathable. They also provide great grip. They do wear out because they are cotton, but you can't beat the price. I had the sewing unravel on my last pair shortly after buying it, but smartpak sent me a new pair pronto.What a great company
    Date published: 2011-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Gloves for Non-Riders, Too! I had a pair of these many years ago when I was still riding and remember that they held up well for such a low price. I run a dog walking business, and my business partner and I each picked up a pair of these at the start of the winter. We needed something to keep our hands warm but still needed to be able to adjust collars, open plastic baggies, etc. and these do the trick. We wore them daily all winter and they are still in great shape!
    Date published: 2011-05-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good cheap gloves My horse pulls the reins out of my hands. I have more expensive gloves (that wear out just as often) but these are back ups and they work just fine. They're also nice for the occasional child rider to feel more important. Funny how something that costs so little can make them feel so much more grown up.
    Date published: 2011-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Decent gloves These were my first riding gloves and now I am attached to this brand. I had the same pair for 5 years, and now I have a few pairs (in different colors of course)! I recommend these to all my beginner riders and they like them a lot.
    Date published: 2011-03-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Do their job These are not the best made gloves, even though they are a great price, I was surprised when I received them, I want to say my previous pair were better made, but I haven't owned them in a long time, so I'm really not sure. A great glove for casual use. I haven't worn them much, but it seems they will wear out quickly, however at the price, I don't mind if they do, and it's nice that I don't have to be worried about loosing one as they will be easy to replace. If you are just looking for a riding glove to protect your hands, nothing fancy, these are a good choice.
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Riding Gloves These riding gloves are pretty nice. I was a bit disapointed with the material, it's not very durable. They do however fit really well. Despite the disapointment in the material, there overall a decent riding glove.
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Training Gloves I live in Southwest Florida and I pretty much need to wear gloves all year round for training and I love the SSG Grippers! They are super grippy and hold up decently well. However, they don't last as long as a leather glove would. That really doesn't bother me since they are only 7 dollars to replace.
    Date published: 2011-02-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheap and flimsy These are cheap and flimsy gloves. I was hoping for a little more substance but the pimple grips get rubbed off with the first ride/use and the reinforcement seams are weak. They might last less than a month if you ride several times a week.
    Date published: 2011-02-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice, inexpensive, schooling glove. Smartpak's description pretty much sums it up. One comment I have to say is that I (personally) tend to get holes in the fingers when I fall. But No big deal, because their only $7.
    Date published: 2010-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great summer glove These are a great lightweight glove for summer riding. No sweaty hands. I can make a pair last the summer, but at the price, wearing out two in a season is not a problem!
    Date published: 2010-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Summer Gloves I've been buying these lightweight gripper gloves for years. I usually buy 2 or 3 pair every summer. The cotton fabric absorbs the perspiration on the back of my hands while the thin rubber palm gives me just enough grip to keep my reins from slipping. While I love my Neuman's gloves, they are just too heavy for riding during the hot, humid Texas summers.
    Date published: 2010-07-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great feel with reins but don't last! I bought several of these gloves cause I like the grip feel on the reins, but in less then 1 week I have a hole in them already. That shouldn't happen so soon even at their cheap price. So I can't recommend them and won't buy any more.
    Date published: 2010-05-31
    • 2016-02-10T14:36CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_86
    • loc_en_US, sid_893, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.