Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SSG Gripper

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #10893
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Everyone has at least one pair of these SSG Grippers- and for good reason. They are comfortable and when they wear out you can replace them without any guilt. So go to your tack box, toss out those old ones and treat yourself to some fresh Grippers. Economical cool knit cotton glove with hook and loop fastening wrist tab. Pimple grip palm. Reinforced in key areas. Imported.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Finally a pair of riding gloves made with ...
    Description:
    "Finally a pair of riding gloves made with the Dressage Rider in mind! The Tredstep Dressage Pro Gloves are made with patented FlexiGrip design with the finest lamb skin leather and True Touch synthetic leather palm for a flexible, secure ...
    "A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made ...
    Description:
    "A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made from ROECK-GRIP, which provides superior grip, suppleness, and breathability. The Winter Chester gloves have a laminated fleece lining that provides additional warmth. The Roeckl tab fastener across the back of the hand ...
    "The Heritage Performance Gloves are designed to perform ...
    Description:
    "The Heritage Performance Gloves are designed to perform in all uses of equestrian riding. This versatile Performance glove delivers superior fit and comfort. Perfect for daily use in schooling, training, competing and pleasure riding. You will appreciate the top quality ...
    "The Roeckl London Glove combines functionality with a ...
    Description:
    "The Roeckl London Glove combines functionality with a sporty and modern design. The discreet piping and fashionable trim combined with high quality materials and a sophisticated fastener make for an outstanding performance glove. This glove is cell phone compatible."
    "Do you suffer from unsightly tan lines after ...
    Description:
    "Do you suffer from unsightly tan lines after hours (or was it days?) in the saddle? The Solar Glove is a combination of skin protection and a longer lasting suntan result from the SOLAR TAN'S UNIQUE UV FILTER FABRIC. The ...
    "SSG Grand Prix is the “perfect feel” English ...
    Description:
    "SSG Grand Prix is the “perfect feel” English show glove, made with Aquasuede Plus: a skin thin, long wearing, machine washable material providing excellent grip and exceptional touch. Reinforced in key areas. Imported."
    "The Heritage Tackified Pro-Air glove is a top ...
    Description:
    "The Heritage Tackified Pro-Air glove is a top of the line all leather show glove. This glove has a very modern design with all the best materials and features. An exclusive, all top grade Cabretta leather construction is specially formulated ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Gripper is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 109.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves! I used these as a kid and now as a returning adult rider I have a pair. The fabric is the right thickness so you can feel the reins but not get blisters. It is also nice how you can Velcro both of the gloves together to prevent losing one. I had them in black as a kid but for hacking and schooling nowadays I have them in green and I love them! I will probably buy more. Good price too.
    Date published: 2012-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves! These are great for schooling and hold up extremely well. They are lightweight and very comfortable for summer riding. They tend to run a bit small so get the next size up. Overall a great product and I really recommend them.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used to be my favorite glove I used these for nearly 20 years before finding Roeckl Chesters. They are lightweight, washable, & grippy. For hot weather if you're sweating lots, they do get very soggy because they're cotton. Can't beat the price but holes wear in them relatively quickly.
    Date published: 2012-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Summer glove I really like this glove - reasonably priced and good quality. I have tried crocheted gloves but they always rip so I tried these and for the price they last an entire summer of consistent riding.
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality for Price these gloves provide a snug fit, which is so critical to maintaining a firm and secure grip on the reins. Plastic ribbing provided increased durability....useful for barn work as well.
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all purpose glove The description is accurate. Everyone loves these gloves for a reason. They're a great value, great gloves. I ride hard & fast (endurance) & never without gloves & these are perfect for me, fit great, dry quickly, light duty, but that's ok because they're more comfortable than heavy duty & they're less expensive, so it's a trade I prefer. I've bought expensive gloves & they tend to get hard & uncomfortable before they wear out & I don't want to replace them even though I no longer like them because I spent so much money on them. With these I just toss them & get an awesome new pair. By the time they wear out, I'm ready for a new color anyways.
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought 2 pair Did not know how long these gloves would last so I bought 2 pair. So far so good. Good grip, good quality. Have only had a month and seem to be holding up well. Great for our hot spring/summer! Got a medium and would go up to large for people with thick wrists.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for summer These gloves are very light weight. Nice for summer.
    Date published: 2012-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy So comfortable, cool, and washable too! I may not wear any other summer glove.
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I wanted. I like wearing a pair of gloves around the barn while I'm cleaning. These are great summer gloves. Lightweight & inexpensive. I don't know how long they will last just because of that - but they are not cheap pieces of junk so that makes me happy.
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very happy! These gloves are light weight, comfortable and just enough to protect my hands. For the price, they can't be beat.
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good for the price Needed new gloves after the 2-year-old I was training wore all of the grip off of my old ones (also SSG, but they were nicer than these). Just needed something cheap (poor college student!) so I went with these. The fingertips wore out and ripped after a couple of weeks of use, but when they were functional, they had a great fit and great grip. For what I paid, they were worth it, but if you are looking for a quality pair of gloves to last you a while, I'd suggest spending a little more money on something higher quality, but I still recommend SSG due to past experience with them.
    Date published: 2012-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome gloves for schooling I purchased a pare of the light blue ones at my local tack shop about two years ago, I loved them and always wore them to my weekly lesson. They have held up well but do get dirty fast, and they just recently began to get holes in them, so and will purchase a pair of SSG crotchted gloves
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Gloves Ever! I love these gloves, and I buy several pair a year. I use them every day for riding and barn chores. They don't last forever, especially as hard on them as I am, but for the price, who cares how often you replace them. Great fitting, comfortable gloves!
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves I have several pairs of the SSG Gripper gloves. Great value for the price - well-made, and they've been holding up well. I am petite (5' tall with small hands) and the x-small is the perfect size for me. The small had a little too much extra room.
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Duable. Certainly not the best out there, but decent enough for schooling at home. I know from the past they don't hold up the greatest through the fingers but that's what you get for the price I guess.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best schooling gloves! I have been using these gloves for years, and love them! They hold up very well, and are super inexpensive to replace.
    Date published: 2012-02-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Product is better than expected for this price range.
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for price I ordered these for my husband who is just starting to ride. It was just a starter pair, for like $8 they are fine. Because they are so cheap they run small and prolly won't last super long but for a beginner or one per week rider they would be fine. If you ride more or are looking for any quality, spend a little more on nicer SSG gloves, I only ride in SSG they rock!
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the quality I expected I bought a pair of these gloves a few years ago at a local tack shop, so I decided to get them for a friend. The first pair were heavier, and have worn really well. The pair I just bought are really poor quality - thinner fabric and poorly constructed.
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice gloves for the price Nice gloves. I got the pink ones :) Cheap!! I only wish they were a little stretchier.
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Flo Ten These were great gloves for the money and I hope the durability can be extended to a 5 star.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice little glove! Material was thinner than I thought it would be. Not super heavy duty made. We`'ll see how long it lasts!
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed So these gloves are inexpensive but I must have gotten a faulty pair because I used them a couple times for chores (picking manure) and twice to ride and the seams are already ripping. I'm also not pleased with the bulk and seams for the area between the ring finger and pinky for the reins, uncomfortable. Surprised because I'm usually very happy with SSG
    Date published: 2011-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good glove for a great price A fellow barn buddy could not speak more highly of these gloves, and for the price, I have to agree. They have the right amount of grippy-ness for my leather reins, allowing a good amount of grip while still allowing my reins to slip when I need them to. Perfect for summer x-country schooling.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excellent Schooling Glove I love these gloves and use them daily. I have purchased more than a dozen pairs over the last few years and find them to be an excellent glove for daily riding. They are great for our hot summers and mild winters. I actually own a couple of white pair that I even use for shows.My only complaint is that I eventually wear through one of the fingers on my left hand. Once my finger pokes through, I'm forced to toss them and move on to a new pair. I ride two horses a day in the summer and find that one pair will last several months. In the winter, they tend to last a bit longer as I don't always get to ride.The fit is great and they are comfortable. And for the price, I don't mind buying a couple of pair a year.
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_6
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_92
    • loc_en_US, sid_893, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders