Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

SSG Grand Prix

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #10859

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

SSG Grand Prix is the “perfect feel” English show glove, made with Aquasuede Plus: a skin thin, long wearing, machine washable material providing excellent grip and exceptional touch. Reinforced in key areas.  Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Grand Prix is rated 4.3276 out of 5 by 58.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from More Cream Colored than White... If you are looking for a pair of "true" white gloves, these aren't it. Look cream or off-white colored when held next to my white breeches, show shirt and stock tie. Disappointing. :(
    Date published: 2014-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves These are lighter than other SSG gloves, but I agree with another reviewer who sad that they show dirt (I have them in black). But they machine wash back to brand new every time. I think I'm addicted to gloves, generally.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for showing I love these gloves for showing, especially in the summer. They look classy and are lightweight with breathing holes. The only downside is the material that they are made of gets dirty easily from dusty sand/dirt and the only way to really get it off is to wash them.
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I used these on 2 rides on my horse. My horse isn't hard on the hands, I could go without gloves if I wanted... The glove were literally shredding apart after the first ride, the "suede" was almost off. Second ride there were holes in 2 of the fingers.
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Show gloves These gloves are awesome. They fit my hand perfectly like all the other SSG gloves. They are a bit expensive though but I use them all the time for showing. They are very lightweight and breathable.
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gloves! I have had SSG's before but not these ones. I like the material, great grip but thin so my hands do not cook in them. Only flaw is the fingers are too long so I keep catching glove index finger when tightening up girths. Only have them a couple of weeks so no comment on how long they will last. I usually wear out rein fingers first so we will see. These should be a good everyday working glove.
    Date published: 2013-03-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for dressage i show on a college team and love these gloves. they clean up well too.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice product will look good in the dressage ring. very durable.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good purchase exellent product , good grip, good fit, elegant and apparently durable gloves...
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great riding gloves I purchased these in brown (it helps me keep track of them since everyone else at the barn wears black) and I've used them for a year and a half now. Awesome feel and contact because they're so thin, yet they wear quite well. Because of longer nails, the tips have worn through on both index fingers, but they still work great for my needs. And they're so comfortable and attractive, that I also use them as driving gloves in the cooler weather. True to fit and mashine washable to boot. If the finger tips were reinforced, I'd give them a 5-star rating across the board. I'll be buying more!
    Date published: 2012-10-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Versatile Gloves I plan on wearing these for schooling and small shows -- the grip is good and the brown color is particularly nice. I went down a size due to the long fingers.
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from very thin I've only had these gloves for a couple of weeks. I bought them for shows. They are attaractive looking but very thin material, so I anticipate they will not last long. When these wear out I will replace them with the more expensive thicker gloves or whith synthetic like the Newman gloves as I have done in the past.
    Date published: 2012-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Show Gloves I haven't wore these to show in yet, but all my other SSG gloves have lasted well. I like that there are no buttons or snaps detracting from the clean "whiteness" of the gloves, and they are long enough so that I don't get a gap between my coat and gloves while riding - having your wrists show is NOT cute! They are quite soft and seem like they will be comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've been using these gloves for summer riding for years. They only last a season but here lightweight, comfortable, and easy to wash.
    Date published: 2012-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great gloves My daughter only had to ride once in these to break them in before a show. They have a great grip and are nice enough for the show ring. These are her second pair. The first pair she had finally got a few holes in the tips but that was after a year of daily wear.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy Just started riding in these gloves, but so far, so good. Very comfy. Not bulky. Size 7 fits me well. Would buy another pair in future.
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves! Wear fantastically, and come out of the washing machine like new!!
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sharp These are nice, soft gloves that I bought for showing. I have not worn them yet for riding, but have worn them around the house. They are comfortable and light and I like the fact that they are machine washable. The velcro tab across the wrist is a bit snug (and I have small wrists!). Other than that, I can't find anything that I don't like about them and I am looking forward to riding in them.
    Date published: 2012-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great gloves! My daughter loves these gloves...not too thick (hot)...perfect for the show ring.
    Date published: 2012-04-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice gloves I have not worn these gloves yet for riding as I am saving them for my first show. I have really long fingers and probably should have gotten a size larger, but they will most likely stretch some because they are fabric. They are very lightweight and look like they would be easy to launder. They feel good on my hands.
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sensitive feel gloves Can't say as to "durability" as I've just started using them, but I have a sense they'll wear well. Very pleased with them so far.
    Date published: 2012-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG Grand Prix Gloves Appear to be real nice gloves - Fit is Great!!!Nice and supple on your hands, cannot commenton Duribility Yet, have not had them that long,I think they are Perfect for the Dressage Ring.
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Weird velcro These gloves are a bit thicker than I expected and do not have the same feel as the Chester I like best. The fit is ok except for the awful velcro closure, on the back of the hand, and very tight/cumbersome! They seem to be very durable but so far I've only used them a few times. They offer great grip dry or wet, but I can still feel the reins rubbing on my fingers. ALso as most riding gloves, no protection for the middle finger if you use double reins.
    Date published: 2012-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great show glove! Great fitting glove! I have long fingers and thumbs. Most gloves do not fit. SSG has become my go-to glove as they have always fit, are quite comfortable, and durable. I still use a 5 year old pair of crochet ones. These gloves are smart looking in the ring and provide the protection and grip I want.
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable glove These gloves fit well and are easy to put on and take off with the velcro tab.
    Date published: 2011-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gloves These gloves are great. They hold up better than other brands
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fitting glove! SSG gloves continue to be a brand I turn to. Great fit for long fingers without being huge in the palm and wrist. These gloves allow for great feel of the reins, almost like bare hands.
    Date published: 2011-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice Gloves! These are very nice Dressage gloves! But at my last Dressage show I wore these and they stayed pretty white, but did collect the arena dust so if you would prefer for that not to happen I would recommend a leather glove. All in all, great buy and not to expensive at all!
    Date published: 2011-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit! Washable! I chose these gloves because I wanted something that would be washable. They fit way better than I expected and washed beautifully! Excellent grip on the reins and easy to put on. I'd definitely buy these again.
    Date published: 2011-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy These gloves fit great! If your not used to riding gloves, they should be a little snug and these gloves are true to their sizing chart! If u need a 7, they give u a 7! They are very breathable, overall I recommend this glove to novice riders all the way through Intermediate riders! Enjoy them!!!!
    Date published: 2011-08-06
    • 2016-02-11T15:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_52
    • loc_en_US, sid_859, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.