Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

SSG Fleece Lined Winter Gripper

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #10910
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

SSG Fleece Lined Winter Gripper glove is an economical, comfortable, warm knit cotton glove with pimple grip palm. Fleece lining for warmth. Reinforced in key areas. VELCRO® Brand wrist closure. Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Fleece Lined Winter Gripper is rated 4.3386 out of 5 by 127.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Reasonably priced and functional These gloves are not made to do any kind of heavy work, but they keep your hands reasonably warm in somewhat cold weather. They are functional when riding inside a cold arena during the winter, but fall short if you are outside and the temps dip below 40 degrees or so.
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for the price. Perfect for students! I have used a pair of these gloves for about 3 months or so and just replaced them as they became worn through in several places. There were large holes in several of the fingers, which was dissapointing to me, as I usually love SSG gloves. However, then I realized that I paid less than $10 for them, they had lasted several months, and they were warm (until the holes!) and they are thin enough that you can tack up in them. So, while I am replacing them with the SSG Windstopper, as the flexibility of those gloves is similar, the Gripper Gloves are a good option if you need something cheap without a lot of bulk that will keep your hands warm for a few months of light cold-weather riding.
    Date published: 2013-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pair of Gloves These gloves fit perfectly, very warm. They look well made.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gloves Should Work Real Well I haven't actually worn these, just tried them on & the fit is good, quality good, I like them very much. Should be nice & toasty when it turns cold.
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good gloves! For the price of these gloves, you really can't go wrong! Haven't worn them too much, due to the heat of my location, but I can tell they will be warm in winter. Love the grip placement as I tend to hold a loose rein. Read a few reviews that said the size ran a bit large, so I opted for a small when I'm usually a medium, but the small were tiny on me, so I returned and exchanged for a large (which was a quick and easy transfer by the way) and they are a little bit baggy in the thumb area, but I have slightly long fingers so they fit well otherwise. I would say go for the size you usually are because they don't really run large, not now anyway. Good purchase! And always great customer service. :)
    Date published: 2012-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm & Comfortable at Great Price! I think these gloves are great for the price. I love the fleece lining and the grip outer. My only complaint would be that the new version I just purchased were a larger in the same size 7 than the 2010 version. I have long slender fingers so that makes them slightly bulkier, but if you have fuller fingers you will like this change.
    Date published: 2012-03-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought another Pair I like these gloves. They fit nice .velco on, Very durable. use then to feed hay early in the morning. I bought another pair and have remended them to other firends. This would be a great gift Idea for the budget shopper. They look like they cost about $30. a pair. Happy Riden. SPLASH2011
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good price I like to keep a couple pairs of these gloves around as backup for grooming or riding, they don't last very long but are comfortable and not expensive so they are well worth it- and not a big deal when they get lost.
    Date published: 2012-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm and good value These gloves are a great value for the price. They tend to run a little large. Not superior quality, but at the price they are better than expected. The gloves are soft and have gripper nubs, and can go through the wash. Pretty warm too. Don't expect a show glove - but these are not advertised as such.
    Date published: 2012-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great inexpensive gloves I just bought my 2nd pair of these after my cheese-grater stirrup pads ate my first pair. They're not bulky like most winter gloves. They're thin enough to be able to do everything I normally take my gloves off to do (like put on a bridle). They're warm and comfy and I really like the pimple grip palm. My 2nd pair are a bit larger than my first, so the fit isn't as nice. Plus they're not super durable. But, for $8.95 I can get over all that.
    Date published: 2012-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for the money They don't last super long--it's still cold out and my right index finger is poking through-- but for the money who cares!? I have a replacement pair on the way with my next SmartPak, and now I know to just order two pairs right away next winter. Warm enough to get the job done, long enough fingers to fit properly, and cheap enough that I won't care when I can't remember what I did with them when it gets cold again next winter :)
    Date published: 2012-02-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Price, Odd Fit Great for their price. I work in a sporthorse barn and bought them because I needed some new gloves. They were a GREAT price but wore out in the finger tips fairly quickly (within one month). However, I ride multiple horses a day so I was not surprised that they wore out as they were not leather. They are also very warm.My biggest concern was the fit. The sizing chart ran large. When I returned the gloves for a smaller size, they fit great with room for my long fingers. HOWEVER, the thumb was still TOO LONG which I found odd because I have long fingers.
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter gloves for riding These are warm, flexible and the best gloves for winter riding that I've tried. Love them!
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best! Super comfy and smart looking. Fit "like a glove". Velcro on wrist keeps wind out. Unbelieveable value!
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from chilly day barn chores These gloves were just right for barn work on a cool day. I'm in Florida so that is not extreme, but the grippy palm is good for using tools or for riding when it's a bit chilly.
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Functional Gloves These keep me warm and dry and seem to be very durable. I've been riding in them 3-4 times a week without getting cold hands this winter. I ordered a medium, but should have ordered a small.
    Date published: 2012-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Larger than I expected Being a tall girl, I am used to ordering everything a size up. These gloves are true to size and the L/8 I ordered are actually a little big. But that makes room for layering.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Riding and work glove Good gloves for riding and barn work. Fit well, little wide in palm and wrist but good in fingers. Reinforcement where it needs to be to last. I have worn them about 5 days a week for month and washed them with the laundry twice. No problem, wash and wear great.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Probably won't last too long These gloves are soft and warm, but probably won't hold up for very long.
    Date published: 2012-01-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great gloves, 1st pair ripped out quickly Bought these gloves for my wife, she loved them. Unfortunately a seam of one of the fingers ripped out. Pretty typical when they sew it too close to the edge of the fabric. Smartpac was great, they immediately shipped us a new pair. My wife loves the gloves so we are hoping this is an anomaly.
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Daily Wear Gloves I've been using these gloves for years and just recently bought 2 more pair for replacements. They keep my hands warm but they're not so bulky that I can't easily hold my reins. Dotted palms eliminates slipping. An excellent value for the price.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves For the price - these gloves are great. Warm and durable. My kids wear them everyday during the winter - they usually only last one season when worn that hard but for the price...it's a great deal.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice purchase They fit well and keep my hands warm so far in this New England weather. I haven't had them long enough to know how well they hold out being used all the time. Overall nice glove for the price.
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Luv these!!! Warm, breathable. Reasonably priced. Plus they have those little rubber dimples and my horses love when I rub their faces after we ride. Wash great. Not for the elements but perfect for chilly indoor.
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just okay Meh, these gloves were only okay but you get what you pay for. I was a little disappointed when I took them out of the bag. They look pretty cheap and are fine for wearing around the barn but not grippy enough for riding. I will skip over next time and get something a little more substantial.
    Date published: 2011-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most useful yet Got these for riding and usually forget to take them off for chores. Sooo comfortable and I like that I can wash them.
    Date published: 2011-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality The quality is wonderful. warm enough for winter. Don't have to take them off to tighten girths or put on bridles. It did seem that the XL was smaller than the large.
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfortable, warm, durable (so far) and not expensive!
    Date published: 2011-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I live in So Cal so it doesn't get extremely cold, but can get in the 40s from time to time. These gloves made night riding and colder temps much more bearable in the winter. I am happy with the thickness with minimal loss to "feel" when riding. The cotton is nice and soft and the pimple grip on the palm side works well. I highly recommend.
    Date published: 2011-12-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Okay Glove Just received them today. Not impressed with the fit, as the pinky finger was cut the same length as the ring finger on the gloves. The palms are a little big. I wear a size 7 usually in other SSG gloves, but I wish I would have ordered a 6 in these as they can stretch some. The wrist strap is also okay, I have small wrists and there isn't enough velcro to tighten it. I'm not sure about the durability yet, but for the amount of riding I do, they should be okay. But for the price, it is an okay glove.
    Date published: 2011-12-06
    • 2015-08-30T14:30CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_111
    • loc_en_US, sid_910, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.