Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

SSG Fleece Lined Winter Gripper

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #10910

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

SSG Fleece Lined Winter Gripper glove is an economical, comfortable, warm knit cotton glove with pimple grip palm. Fleece lining for warmth. Reinforced in key areas. VELCRO® Brand wrist closure. Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Fleece Lined Winter Gripper is rated 4.2836 out of 5 by 134.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous gloves! I purchased these for my 9-yr.-old son who rides. They are of excellent quality and a perfect fit. They are also nice and warm as advertised. He loves them! Thank you, Smartpak!
    Date published: 2015-12-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I use these gloves year round. Even though they are fleece they are no hotter than other gloves. The advantage of these gloves is if your hands sweat they do not get slimy on the inside and you still have a good feel of the reins. They can be washed. They are not the most durable but they are not very expensive. I usually Oder 5 pairs at a time.
    Date published: 2015-09-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm and not too bulky I have warmer gloves, but I end up not wearing them because there is too much bulk and I don't feel my reins the way I prefer. So I end up wearing these riding. In sub-teen temperatures I might add a hand warmer, but these work down to about 20 degrees. Not fancy, but these are the gloves I keep using!
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves Amazing gloves!! Warm, fit true to size and stylish all at the same time.
    Date published: 2015-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Affordable and effective!! I had a few bucks left on a gift card and decided to add these gloves to my order. So glad that I did! The fleece lining keeps my hands warm even during the coldest PA rides! (temps in the teens!) They are comfortable, have great grip, and are not at all bulky like some other winter riding gloves that I have had in the past. I would absolutely recommend these gloves to other riders, and would buy them again for myself.
    Date published: 2015-03-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from .. You get what you pay for... not at all impressed with these gloves I had to send them back twice to get a size that sorta fits. The fingers are abnormally short and the rein grips make it hard to move your fingers. Needless to say I haven't even used them since I bought them. Will probably use more for barn chores on a bitter day rather than riding. Would not recommend pretty disappointed usually ssg has great products but this isn't one of them:/
    Date published: 2015-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but thumb is gigantic Bought these for my daughter a couple weeks ago. The fingers fit fairly tight but the thumb of the glove is very large---long and roomy---which bugs her a bit. The quality seems otherwise OK, we'll see how they do over time.
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from comfortable fitting, not for super cold super comfortable gloves and warm, but not when it's super cold. Sadly, I did not find them to have the kind of grip I needed to have. The reins slipped through my hands unless I really hung onto them. I tend to have lighter rein contact, and oftentimes pony another horse along with the one I'm riding. Couldn't hang onto the rope very well either without it slipping through my fingers. Really, the only problem I have with the gloves.
    Date published: 2015-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great gloves for my daughter-who I know will outgrow them before she trashes them, so I didn't want to spend a ton.
    Date published: 2015-01-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value My daughter said she really noticed a difference between these fleece lined gloves and her normal riding gloves... kept her hands much warmer. Should preface we live in Texas so our winter's probably aren't as harsh as others. Great value.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely gloves for in-between days! Perfect for those 30-50 degree, damp days. Not great when it's super cold, but perfect when it's chilly. Nice feel, not too thick. Price is definitely right! Haven't had long enough to speak to durability, but they wash well and have help up thus far.
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm but a little snug These gloves are a great value and I'm very happy I bought them. That said, they do feel a touch snug. I'm hoping that they stretch out a little bit with some more hours in the saddle.
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, yet still flexible/not a bulky glove I liked these so much I bought two pair - one for the barn and one to keep in the dressing room in my horse trailer as a "just in case." I wear a size 7 and thought at first the gloves might be too tight, but after 1 ride the stretched slightly and are perfect.
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them I bought them for winter and I love them! They are so warm and definatly a good buy!
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice gloves These are nice and flexible for the insulation they offer, but one glove seems smaller than the other, and they do run small overall. Haven't had a chance to ride in the cold with them yet, but they kept me warm while auditing a chilly clinic.
    Date published: 2014-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice and warm and comfortable I wear my glove on the cold mornings at the barn while handling the horses they keep my hands nice and warm
    Date published: 2014-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Great Fit" ! These gloves offer a great fit with added padding and with very little bulk. I have bought SSG gloves for years and they always hold up really well!
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice weight, weird sizing Good SSG quality, and they feel like a great transitional season weight. Unlike some SSG gloves, they DO actually have the pinky/ring finger rein reinforcement. However, the thumb seemed too big (I returned them because I was afraid it would actually get in the way) in length and width, and the gloves kept riding up - I guess they were too short from tip to wrist. No, I don't have oddly-shaped hands; otherwise the fit was excellent. Given this happened just out of the package, I sent them back.
    Date published: 2014-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST I am so happy with this product. Purchased them to protect my paddock boots. Well to my surprise I can not believe how warm they keep my toes!!! Added plus. Purchased Med and fit my size 8 Ariat Paddock boots perfect. Look and feel excellent quality. No equestrian should go with out. Just amazed in this freezing weather how warm my toes are staying. I live in New England and it has been so cold and snowy. Keeping my toes warmer then my winter boots. Will not be disappointed.
    Date published: 2014-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG Fleece Lined Winter glove Perfect for winter riding. I can see that they would not for deep freezing cold but who is out riding in that? I ride all winter in Colorado and these are perfect.
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Latest pair not so good... I usually go through a pair of these every winter (they are not the most durable, but for the price it is okay) so I buy them in the spring when they go on sale. LA winters are not that cold, so these are good for the chilly nights when I ride and they are light enough that it is easily to tack up while wearing them. Unfortunately this last pair is almost unusable in terms of fit. The fingers are way too long and there is too much fabric between the fingers - definitely can't bridle a horse while wearing them. Not sure if I'm going to try another pair; for now I'm using my old ones with holes.
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from the goldie lox of winter riding gloves These are my favorite winter riding gloves. The fleece lining keeps your hands warm but gives you the grip and flexion you need to ride. I find other gloves to be too bulky for riding or not warm enough. But these are just right. I also like that they are machine washable.  
    Date published: 2014-01-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice as long as you put on before you go out! The only time my fingers were cold/numb is when I put these gloves on AFTER I had been outside. These need to go on in a nice warm house, so that when you go out they stay warm.They're so nice to ride in, because you can flex your fingers and still grip the reins unlike other winter gloves I've tried. The velcro keeps them secure on your wrist and doesn't come undone.
    Date published: 2014-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and Warm! I bought these gloves because I had another pair just like them and loved them. They are made well and just warm enough that my hands don't sweat. I work with a lunge line quite a bit in my program and they hold up longer than any others I've tried!
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A decent glove Bought as a christmas gift for some students. A bit bulky but well worth the price. Good closure and seem well made just not the sleekest looking glove. But the kids tell me they are comfortable and warm and that's what I was wanting!
    Date published: 2014-01-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm Excellent for winter schooling, hopefully will last the winter
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good glove but only for light use I really like the fit and thickness of this glove, but after only a month of wearing them, there is a hole in one finger and the grippy stuff has worn off all the fingertips.  I was wearing them to do some barn chores as well as riding, so I would only recommend them for someone who wants to wear them riding only a couple of times a week.  Happily smartpak gave me a refund I can use for a more durable glove.
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and comfortable!  Love these gloves. Use them to feed, ride and drive. Will definitely buy several more pairs. 
    Date published: 2013-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from practical and affordable I am a photographer and the nubs on these gloves allow me to operate my camera without removing them--a great thing in Chicago winters. My hand measured a 7 but the small fit just right. I gave the medium to my husband.
    Date published: 2013-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly warm I use the unlined version of these gloves for everyday chores and for pleasure riding. I ordered the fleece line ones for fall & spring and was surprised how warm they are. They aren't bulky, you still have great grip and dexterity. Really good value too.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    • 2016-02-09T14:29CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_118
    • loc_en_US, sid_910, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.