Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

SSG Fleece Lined Winter Gripper

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #10910
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

SSG Fleece Lined Winter Gripper glove is an economical, comfortable, warm knit cotton glove with pimple grip palm. Fleece lining for warmth. Reinforced in key areas. VELCRO® Brand wrist closure. Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Fleece Lined Winter Gripper is rated 4.3386 out of 5 by 127.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely gloves for in-between days! Perfect for those 30-50 degree, damp days. Not great when it's super cold, but perfect when it's chilly. Nice feel, not too thick. Price is definitely right! Haven't had long enough to speak to durability, but they wash well and have help up thus far.
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm but a little snug These gloves are a great value and I'm very happy I bought them. That said, they do feel a touch snug. I'm hoping that they stretch out a little bit with some more hours in the saddle.
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, yet still flexible/not a bulky glove I liked these so much I bought two pair - one for the barn and one to keep in the dressing room in my horse trailer as a "just in case." I wear a size 7 and thought at first the gloves might be too tight, but after 1 ride the stretched slightly and are perfect.
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them I bought them for winter and I love them! They are so warm and definatly a good buy!
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice gloves These are nice and flexible for the insulation they offer, but one glove seems smaller than the other, and they do run small overall. Haven't had a chance to ride in the cold with them yet, but they kept me warm while auditing a chilly clinic.
    Date published: 2014-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice and warm and comfortable I wear my glove on the cold mornings at the barn while handling the horses they keep my hands nice and warm
    Date published: 2014-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Great Fit" ! These gloves offer a great fit with added padding and with very little bulk. I have bought SSG gloves for years and they always hold up really well!
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice weight, weird sizing Good SSG quality, and they feel like a great transitional season weight. Unlike some SSG gloves, they DO actually have the pinky/ring finger rein reinforcement. However, the thumb seemed too big (I returned them because I was afraid it would actually get in the way) in length and width, and the gloves kept riding up - I guess they were too short from tip to wrist. No, I don't have oddly-shaped hands; otherwise the fit was excellent. Given this happened just out of the package, I sent them back.
    Date published: 2014-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST I am so happy with this product. Purchased them to protect my paddock boots. Well to my surprise I can not believe how warm they keep my toes!!! Added plus. Purchased Med and fit my size 8 Ariat Paddock boots perfect. Look and feel excellent quality. No equestrian should go with out. Just amazed in this freezing weather how warm my toes are staying. I live in New England and it has been so cold and snowy. Keeping my toes warmer then my winter boots. Will not be disappointed.
    Date published: 2014-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG Fleece Lined Winter glove Perfect for winter riding. I can see that they would not for deep freezing cold but who is out riding in that? I ride all winter in Colorado and these are perfect.
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Latest pair not so good... I usually go through a pair of these every winter (they are not the most durable, but for the price it is okay) so I buy them in the spring when they go on sale. LA winters are not that cold, so these are good for the chilly nights when I ride and they are light enough that it is easily to tack up while wearing them. Unfortunately this last pair is almost unusable in terms of fit. The fingers are way too long and there is too much fabric between the fingers - definitely can't bridle a horse while wearing them. Not sure if I'm going to try another pair; for now I'm using my old ones with holes.
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from the goldie lox of winter riding gloves These are my favorite winter riding gloves. The fleece lining keeps your hands warm but gives you the grip and flexion you need to ride. I find other gloves to be too bulky for riding or not warm enough. But these are just right. I also like that they are machine washable.  
    Date published: 2014-01-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice as long as you put on before you go out! The only time my fingers were cold/numb is when I put these gloves on AFTER I had been outside. These need to go on in a nice warm house, so that when you go out they stay warm.They're so nice to ride in, because you can flex your fingers and still grip the reins unlike other winter gloves I've tried. The velcro keeps them secure on your wrist and doesn't come undone.
    Date published: 2014-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and Warm! I bought these gloves because I had another pair just like them and loved them. They are made well and just warm enough that my hands don't sweat. I work with a lunge line quite a bit in my program and they hold up longer than any others I've tried!
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A decent glove Bought as a christmas gift for some students. A bit bulky but well worth the price. Good closure and seem well made just not the sleekest looking glove. But the kids tell me they are comfortable and warm and that's what I was wanting!
    Date published: 2014-01-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm Excellent for winter schooling, hopefully will last the winter
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good glove but only for light use I really like the fit and thickness of this glove, but after only a month of wearing them, there is a hole in one finger and the grippy stuff has worn off all the fingertips.  I was wearing them to do some barn chores as well as riding, so I would only recommend them for someone who wants to wear them riding only a couple of times a week.  Happily smartpak gave me a refund I can use for a more durable glove.
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and comfortable!  Love these gloves. Use them to feed, ride and drive. Will definitely buy several more pairs. 
    Date published: 2013-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from practical and affordable I am a photographer and the nubs on these gloves allow me to operate my camera without removing them--a great thing in Chicago winters. My hand measured a 7 but the small fit just right. I gave the medium to my husband.
    Date published: 2013-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly warm I use the unlined version of these gloves for everyday chores and for pleasure riding. I ordered the fleece line ones for fall & spring and was surprised how warm they are. They aren't bulky, you still have great grip and dexterity. Really good value too.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pinkie finger too long SSG's are usually one of the better fitting gloves. However, in this case, the pinkie finger is as long as the ring finger. Seems like an odd fit for SSG's.
    Date published: 2013-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good, easy glove I like these gloves. The fit is good. Washes well. Easy to work blanket clasps and other buckles with these gloves on. Not terribly warm but a great weight for daily barn work and riding.
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice gloves These gloves have a thin fleece lining which adds some warmth compared with the regular gripper gloves -- in a mild winter climate they are nice, not sure how they'd be in a harsher climate. Have only had these lined ones for about a month and like them. They were a good price and are comfortable to wear. The size M has a tag inside that states 7 but I usually wear a 7-1/2 and these gloves fit me fine.
    Date published: 2013-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice glove, good price These gloves are super comfortable and feel pretty warm. I have to admit that I have not been able to find any gloves that really keep my hands warm on the real bitter cold days, but I like the comfort and flexibility of these.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Could be excellent but..... I thought these were going to be best ever: weight is good, size was good (most of the fingers actually fit), liked the velcro at wrist, fabric at palm was nice, but the fabric between fingers is all wrong. Very uncomfortable, seemed too large and bulky or just sewn wrong. I tried wearing them a couple of times, but they were just too uncomfortable, so I'm not sure how warm they are. The search for wearable winter gloves continues.
    Date published: 2013-01-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for lesson students- not for trainers. I love these gloves, and have been using them for years. My problem is that I now ride 4 or so horses a day and I wear through them quickly (I have holes in the fingers after 1 month!). When I was riding only a few times a week they lasted much longer so I would recommend them for a casual rider. I will start shopping around for a more durable pair and recommend that if you ride a LOT, you do the same.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for winter riding Purchased these gloves thinking they would be warm enough to ride with in the winter, but they were thinner than I thought.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Reasonably priced and functional These gloves are not made to do any kind of heavy work, but they keep your hands reasonably warm in somewhat cold weather. They are functional when riding inside a cold arena during the winter, but fall short if you are outside and the temps dip below 40 degrees or so.
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for the price. Perfect for students! I have used a pair of these gloves for about 3 months or so and just replaced them as they became worn through in several places. There were large holes in several of the fingers, which was dissapointing to me, as I usually love SSG gloves. However, then I realized that I paid less than $10 for them, they had lasted several months, and they were warm (until the holes!) and they are thin enough that you can tack up in them. So, while I am replacing them with the SSG Windstopper, as the flexibility of those gloves is similar, the Gripper Gloves are a good option if you need something cheap without a lot of bulk that will keep your hands warm for a few months of light cold-weather riding.
    Date published: 2013-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pair of Gloves These gloves fit perfectly, very warm. They look well made.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    • 2015-05-25T09:57CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_111
    • loc_en_US, sid_910, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.