Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #19878
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves is a winter glove with supreme protection in cold weather. Proven waterproof protection (Not just water resistant). Thinsulate and exclusive SSG polar fleece lining. Plus SSG digital™ palm for superior grip.Knitted cuff for extra warmth. Stretch knit back for flexibility.

4 layers for warmth!

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves is rated 4.2331 out of 5 by 133.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm! When these arrived I thought they might be too bulky for riding, but I could always use them walking the dogs. However, I've been wearing them in the barn on super cold days and riding with them when temperatures are in the low 20's and my hands have been warm and I have had a good feel of the reins. I hate cold hands and I love these gloves!
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from have tried sooo many winter gloves. These are the best. they are waterproof when having to deal with hoses and water bucket, warm and flexible too. Worth the $$$
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from keeps hands toasty!! For the most part the gloves are good. My hands have been warm on cold days riding indoors and out. However, to get the warmth you have to give up alittle feel with the reins. It would have been nice if they made the thickness on the back of the fingers and not so much between the fingers. Also I don't like the string attachment. I just cut it off.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding gloves These are the first comfortable, totally waterproof gloves I have ever found. They keep my hands warm and dry; I can break the ice on a water trough with my gloves on and not get wet. The fit was fine, just like my other sized SSG gloves.
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blizzard Nemo who? First got these gloves as a Christmas present, and they recieved their first test run this past weekend with all of the snow from Blizzard Nemo up here. We had about 2 feet of snow, and digging out the barn wasn't fun. But these gloves kept my hands VERY warm the entire time. They are nice and flexible as well. I was able to easily unhook double ended snaps and do blanket straps without having to take them off. The band around the wrist is GREAT for keeping snow out of the glove. LOVE LOVE LOVE these gloves. Can't wait to ride in them!!!
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great warm gloves These are wonderful gloves for even the coldest of days! Seem to be very well made and grip the reins nicely. Again, very warm and waterproof.
    Date published: 2013-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GLOVES I''ve been through many, many gloves in the winter and these are the only one that actually keep my hands warm in the single digits. Big plus, they're waterproof and thin enough that I can do thinks like open all of my SmartPak supplements. Great buy!!!
    Date published: 2013-02-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not very warm Wore these 1 day when it was 20 degrees. Within 15 minutes my hands were aching they were so cold. I like the glove themselves but they aren't very warm. Currently in my drawer and probably won't wear them again. Just not warm enough.
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gloves are quite warm and cozy. Easy to get on and off. Even a little bit too warm for riding, but great rein feel is fine.
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves I love these gloves. I am so delighted to find a pair of gloves that are fairly flexible and VERY warm. We have had some cold mornings this winter, 0 and below, and these have kept my hands fairly warm. I normally have incredibly cold hands and before this only bulky snowmobile type gloves (that cost twice as much) have kept my hands warm. I'm an 8 and they fit perfect. They have held up well to all the work I have subjected them to and they look as good as they did at the beginning of this season.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too Thick for Serious Schooling These gloves are super warm and keep my hands warmer than any other pair of riding gloves I've tried to date. Unfortunately for me, they're too chunky for serious schooling. I have a hard time "feeling" the horses mouth and when my reins are slipping and giving subtle and soft hand signals. They are great for hacking though and very nice and grippy. I use them for barn chores too since they're warmer than my barn gloves.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Put to the test! I can work outside doing chores in negative weather as my farm is located in Northern Maine and our winters are extreme! I put my 10 below gloves to the test literally!!
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from confortable, good fit very warm but in temps below 20 my mittens work better unless I am working
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Cold Weather These gloves are great if your in the barn with 18 degree weather! I have beat the heck out of them and they are still great.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from My fingers were freeing I bought these for use during our infrequent freezing weather in AZ especially for the waterproof feature. I didn't get to wear them much in the 2011-2012 winter as we had a very mild winter. Even then they didn't seem to keep my fingers warm until I really got to moving around picking up manure. This year it was very cold getting down into the teens with windchill in the single digits and I have to say these gloves were waterproof but I noticed that as soon as I put my fingers into the water bin to fish out the ice my fingers were frozen from thereon in. They were wet but the cold I guess from being wet on the outside made it really cold on the inside and I would have to either bring them inside and put them into the dryer and dry them off or get another pair of gloves. They never got wet on the inside though. I was very disappointed in them for $30.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm! These are the warmest riding gloves I have ever owned. A bit bulky, but you can still hold onto the reins and not have frozen fingers.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and Toasty I have trouble with the circulation in my fingers, so grooming, tacking up and riding have always been painful whenever it is below 30 degrees. Not with these gloves! They keep my finger warm and toasty. In fact, half way through my ride, I am changing to my regular riding gloves because my hands are getting hot. These gloves work wonderfully during the cold winter months.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good waterproof winter glove Anyone who has horses knows the importance of waterproof gloves in the winter. I use these gloves for light barn chores and for riding when it's 20 degrees or so. When it's warmer, I use thinner gloves with more 'feel'. That said, I find that these gloves give reasonable dexterity for the warmth they provide. I can do about anything except adjust the bridle buckles. Also very important for riding: they have non-slip between all fingers making it no problem for me to ride in a double bridle. Yes, I have less 'feel' than with thinner gloves, but it beats the lack of 'feel' that would result from frozen fingers.I'd say that '10 below' is a bit optimistic, but I find them comfortable till about 10 above (provided I'm overall dressed properly for the weather of course). Below that warming packets are needed. The trick is to put the gloves on when they are warm, so if I forgot them in the barn overnight, I use a hairdryer to blow warm air inside before putting them on....I can't comment on durability yet, but they seem high quality and well-made.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Gloves I was looking for water resistant and frigid cold weather gloves that would keep my hands dry and warm. I also needed them to be thin enough that I could work with the feed and supplements. I got everything I want in these gloves. In fact, I think I'll buy another pair for next winter in case something happens to these. I love them!
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves My hands always get cold so I bought these, they are wonderful, I have gone all winter without having cold hands. The gloves have nice grip and are easy to use.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from So-So Gloves I bought these gloves strictly for barn wear-riding, grooming. My fingers still get numb, even inside the barn. I've used them 2-4 times/week for a month and already the seams are coming apart.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super Warm Gloves After purchasing the cheap SSG Fleece lined gloves for under 10 dollars which were very warm, I needed a new pair because of their lack of durability. The fleece lined gloves only lasted me about 2 weeks before completely ripping even though I was just using them lightly. I decided maybe I should invest a little more money, I saw these and read the reviews and they seemed great! After receiving them I saw how much of a difference a 20 dollar investment could make! These gloves are so warm and live up to everything they claim, wind and waterproof! My only complaint which is slightly a gross one, is because they are so warm my hands often start to sweat with them. If I don't let them dry or throw them in the dryer after wearing them they are still slightly wet the next day. They are also slightly bulky to ride in, but if all you are worried about is warmth these are the gloves for you!!
    Date published: 2013-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Glove for Barnwork and Turnout I live in Upstate NY and cold, snow and wind are a way of life. This is the first glove that I can honestly say will keep your hands dry and warm. Nice feel for riding as well.
    Date published: 2013-01-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from NOT WHAT I EXPECTED I was disappointed in these gloves for the price you would think they would size them correctly. They are warm but the insulation in them takes up a lot of room that does not give a person full range of motion of fingers and hands. I use these for driving to and from work and that is about it. I can't grip well enough with these to ride. If I had a half size larger then these would have fit better. They are made well.
    Date published: 2013-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Practical gloves I have used these gloves less than a month. They wash well, no shrinkage. It is just now getting really cold so it remains to be seen how warm they are.
    Date published: 2012-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great gloves love these, my hands never get wet. I wish they weren't so thick so I wouldn't have to take them off to buckle items....but I still love them.
    Date published: 2012-12-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Odd sizing I usually do not have any problems with glove sizing and wear a size 8.5. For warmth, I ordered these in size 9, but the fingers are so short I can't wear them! The finger length is the same as the palm length. If you have short fingers and large palms, this is the glove for you!
    Date published: 2012-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite winter gloves! Love these gloves! I usually hate winter gloves (despite having the coldest hands ever) because they're so bulky. These conform to the reins pretty well though, and keep my fingers really warm. Great gloves! They've also held up really great for over a year!
    Date published: 2012-11-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't fit right I was really hoping that these gloves would work for me - they're supposed to be truly waterproof, the material seems to be good quality, and they're warm and comfortable - but they just don't fit my fingers right.The size I got was the right size - a bigger size would be too big, smaller too small. But the length of the fingers on the glove didn't match my fingers. (see the picture I posted) They were way too long for my little finger, too long for my ring finger and thumb, but almost too short for my index finger.I don't know if I have odd-length fingers or something, or maybe it's just because these gloves are unisex and shaped for a man's hand?Anyway, if they had cost $20 or less, I probably would have kept them anyway, but at $30 dollars I expected better, so I'm returning them.
    Date published: 2012-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmest gloves ever! These gloves are great. My hands are usually the first thing to get cold when I ride. It was really cold and windy here last week and I noticed that my hands stayed warm throughout my trail ride. I'm so happy to have finally found gloves that keep my hands warm for hours!
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    • 2015-05-28T10:08CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_129
    • loc_en_US, sid_9878, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.