Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SSG 10 BELOW™ WATERPROOF WINTER GLOVE

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #19878

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves is a winter glove with supreme protection in cold weather with 4 layers for warmth!

Favorite Features

  • Proven waterproof protection (Not just water resistant)
  • Thinsulate and exclusive SSG polar fleece lining
  • SSG digital™ palm for superior grip
  • Knitted cuff for extra warmth
  • Stretch knit back for flexibility
  • Designed for -10F

Imported

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Heritage Extreme Winter glove was designed for ...
    Description:
    The Heritage Extreme Winter glove was designed for riding in the coldest weather conditions. The Extreme Winter glove is made with all waterproof materials, 3M Thinsulate insulation and Polar Fleece liner making this one of the warmest riding gloves available! ...
    The Roeckl Winter Hampshire Glove will protect you ...
    Description:
    The Roeckl Winter Hampshire Glove will protect you from the wettest, coldest, and windiest winter riding weather. Favorite Features Cozy Prima Loft lining Lightweight warmth Elastic wrists can be adjusted with the roll bar strap Metallic Roeckl logo on the ...
    A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made ...
    Description:
    A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made from ROECK-GRIP, which provides superior grip, suppleness, and breathability. The Winter Chester gloves have a laminated fleece lining that provides additional warmth. The Roeckl tab fastener across the back of the hand ...
    The SSG Winter Training Glove is an all ...
    Description:
    The SSG Winter Training Glove is an all purpose lined winter glove for training, handling, and riding. The back of glove has Thinsulate lining for heat retention without the bulk while the palm is lightly lined providing a better feel ...
    The Roeckl Ultimate Winter Glove was created with ...
    Description:
    The Roeckl Ultimate Winter Glove was created with a special synthesis by combining WINDSTOPPER Soft Shell with ROECK GRIP technology making it a very popular choice for cold weather riders. This brand-new Gore Soft Shell quality material requires no additional ...
    Why We Love This The Tuff Rider Winter ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boots have a waterproof PVC upper and neoprene ankle flex that allows for greater comfort in the stirrup. The upper lining is a durable mesh with PU foam and tricot. The ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG 10 BELOW™ WATERPROOF WINTER GLOVE is rated 4.2109 out of 5 by 147.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Warm, but bulky These are very warm gloves. And they are waterproof with good grip. However, they are bulky. So, I cannot fill the reins that well, but its not impossible to ride in them. Putting polo wraps and tightening the girth etc.. is difficult.
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm and easy to do barn work with, however, the gloves are not the easiest to ride it. They're a little bulky and it can be hard to feel the horse's mouth.
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice gloves, but not as warm as I had hoped About three months ago, I bought a size 7 (I have small-average hands). I also bought a size 8, which is a little bit roomier, but they both fit very well. Really like how these gloves have long fingers so it is easy to hold the reigns correctly. I have worn these gloves in 1-35 degree F weather. They have relatively little bulk, so it is not difficult to work with bridle hardware, etc. They are most effective when I keep them under my jacket so they get nice and warm until I get on my horse to ride. Using them around the barn, my fingers freeze, and stay frozen until I take the gloves off and rewarm my fingers and the gloves. They tend to become wet with sweat very quickly, but they also dry within a day, so I would recommend buying two pair. All told, I have not tried any gloves that work or warm better, though I had hoped they would keep my fingers warmer.
    Date published: 2013-11-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good winter gloves but not for riding These gloves are super warm.  I am glad I bought them for wearing around the barn.  Wisconsin winters get cold!  I only give them three stars though because I think they are too bulky for riding.  Maybe trail riding would be okay, but I feel awkward establishing a connection in them jumping or doing dressage.  I usually wear them into the arena with a pair of crocheted gloves stashed in my pocket to ride in.  I will be buying pair of SSG leather winter gloves that are less bulky.Also, I am tall (almost 6ft), with proportional hands...they are just a smidge too tight.  Either way, I am keeping them because they are already dirty but most of all, they are def WARM!
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Gloves A bit bulky to ride in, but aren't all winter gloves. They are warm! I think these are a great value.
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Warm! I show throughout the year, and not in Florida either! So it gets pretty cold on those 3 a.m horse show mornings. These are so warm. I don't even need hand warmers! They are very sleek to, not as bulky as some of the winter gloves. They are very easy to tack up and ride with. I also use them for work around the barn. Overall they are great!
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Riding Gloves This gloves definitely run small. I did see this in other reviews and ordered 1 size up but they were still too small. Also, way to insulating for the Olympic Peninsula. It just does not get that cold here in the winter.
    Date published: 2013-09-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not All Purpose For riding, rein-feel, ONLY these are practical for keeping hands warm during winter rides. For any other purpose (buckles, knots, any fine motor activity) they are cumbersome. But they come with attached wrist loops so you can quickly remove them, do your work, and then put them back on for riding.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves Finally I have found a winter glove for riding and barn work, they are warm yet not bulky. You can manage to do buckles and ride still feeling the reins and pressure you want. Great buy!
    Date published: 2013-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gloves for winter These gloves are amazing! I got them wet filling water tanks in cold weather and it never soaked through. They fit great though I did have to email Smartpak to figure out how to measure (around the width of the hand, leaving out the thumb). Found out the average size for women is a 7 and it fits perfectly. These gloves aren't too bulky and look nice, not like most of my barn gloves. Worth every penny!
    Date published: 2013-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WATERPROOF...REALLY!!! These gloves are wonderful for all my New England wintertime barn chores. They truly keep my hands warm and dry and if on the rare occasion my palms get overheated and sweaty, they don't take too long to dry...They're ready the next time I have to feed the horses! This is my second season in my first pairs I've ordered (pairs because I keep spares in the barn). I have worn them out and just purchased 2 more pair for me and 2 extra pair for my barnyard helpers (our daughters ;) ). I LOVE them! I recommend them highly!!
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice winter gloves These gloves fit my hands great. I do have small hands so they do run small. They keep my hands warm on the cold days, a bit thick for riding but that is just my personal taste. Can't really tell on the durability as I have only had them a few months but no signs of unusual wear so far.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmest Gloves This is the second pair of gloves that I purchased. These were a gift to a friend. I found that they are very warm and have a grip on them so reins and other horse and barn equipment do not slip.
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice winter gloves I love SSG gloves as they fit nicely and wear well. These gloves have kept my hands warm is some pretty cold single diget temps. Great for riding, though sometimes tacking up I do have to remove them for a brief time. They hold up well and wash well too.
    Date published: 2013-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and Cozy Gloves I absolutely love the SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves. They keep my hands warm and toasty. Other gloves don't keep my hands warm. My fingers sting when it's below 15 degrees and I generally wear two pair of gloves which is cumbersome. The SSG 10 Below gloves are very well made. They have a cuff to keep the wrist warm, which can be folded down if preferred. I generally keep it folded down for barn chores, but I would pull it up for skiing. They have an elastic strap at the wrist which I suppose is to keep them from being dropped. I cut the elastic strap off but kept it in case I want to sew it on again. It would be handy for skiing so you don't drop a glove from the ski lift. I bought a size 8 which is what my hand measures at the center - above the thumb, but my hand is broader just above the wrist so I probably could wear a size 9 too. For barn chores I prefer to slide gloves on and off quickly. For skiing or riding then the 8's are perfect, no slack and not sloppy, but for my hand shape it requires a slight tug to get them on. I suggest measuring the broadest width of your hand for proper size and then calling SmartPak for their recommendation.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AmAzInG Winter Gloves! I find these gloves to be extremely warm and of great quality for the price. I live in Steamboat Springs, CO and am exposed to some VERY cold temperatures. I find that good gloves are hard to come by, and the only ones that REALLY work for me (besides mittens) are pricey mountaineering gloves. These run a very close second and are a quarter of the price. They are maybe a bit thick for riding, but if you are riding in temperatures that require these gloves, then what do you expect?!?The fit was perfect. I measured my hand before ordering and the gloves, well, fit like a glove. I will recommend these to anyone wanting cold weather work or riding gloves.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm! When these arrived I thought they might be too bulky for riding, but I could always use them walking the dogs. However, I've been wearing them in the barn on super cold days and riding with them when temperatures are in the low 20's and my hands have been warm and I have had a good feel of the reins. I hate cold hands and I love these gloves!
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from have tried sooo many winter gloves. These are the best. they are waterproof when having to deal with hoses and water bucket, warm and flexible too. Worth the $$$
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from keeps hands toasty!! For the most part the gloves are good. My hands have been warm on cold days riding indoors and out. However, to get the warmth you have to give up alittle feel with the reins. It would have been nice if they made the thickness on the back of the fingers and not so much between the fingers. Also I don't like the string attachment. I just cut it off.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding gloves These are the first comfortable, totally waterproof gloves I have ever found. They keep my hands warm and dry; I can break the ice on a water trough with my gloves on and not get wet. The fit was fine, just like my other sized SSG gloves.
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blizzard Nemo who? First got these gloves as a Christmas present, and they recieved their first test run this past weekend with all of the snow from Blizzard Nemo up here. We had about 2 feet of snow, and digging out the barn wasn't fun. But these gloves kept my hands VERY warm the entire time. They are nice and flexible as well. I was able to easily unhook double ended snaps and do blanket straps without having to take them off. The band around the wrist is GREAT for keeping snow out of the glove. LOVE LOVE LOVE these gloves. Can't wait to ride in them!!!
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great warm gloves These are wonderful gloves for even the coldest of days! Seem to be very well made and grip the reins nicely. Again, very warm and waterproof.
    Date published: 2013-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GLOVES I''ve been through many, many gloves in the winter and these are the only one that actually keep my hands warm in the single digits. Big plus, they're waterproof and thin enough that I can do thinks like open all of my SmartPak supplements. Great buy!!!
    Date published: 2013-02-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not very warm Wore these 1 day when it was 20 degrees. Within 15 minutes my hands were aching they were so cold. I like the glove themselves but they aren't very warm. Currently in my drawer and probably won't wear them again. Just not warm enough.
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gloves are quite warm and cozy. Easy to get on and off. Even a little bit too warm for riding, but great rein feel is fine.
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves I love these gloves. I am so delighted to find a pair of gloves that are fairly flexible and VERY warm. We have had some cold mornings this winter, 0 and below, and these have kept my hands fairly warm. I normally have incredibly cold hands and before this only bulky snowmobile type gloves (that cost twice as much) have kept my hands warm. I'm an 8 and they fit perfect. They have held up well to all the work I have subjected them to and they look as good as they did at the beginning of this season.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too Thick for Serious Schooling These gloves are super warm and keep my hands warmer than any other pair of riding gloves I've tried to date. Unfortunately for me, they're too chunky for serious schooling. I have a hard time "feeling" the horses mouth and when my reins are slipping and giving subtle and soft hand signals. They are great for hacking though and very nice and grippy. I use them for barn chores too since they're warmer than my barn gloves.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Put to the test! I can work outside doing chores in negative weather as my farm is located in Northern Maine and our winters are extreme! I put my 10 below gloves to the test literally!!
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from confortable, good fit very warm but in temps below 20 my mittens work better unless I am working
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Cold Weather These gloves are great if your in the barn with 18 degree weather! I have beat the heck out of them and they are still great.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    • 2016-02-07T15:03CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_142
    • loc_en_US, sid_9878, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.