Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SSG 10 BELOW™ WATERPROOF WINTER GLOVE

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #19878
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves is a winter glove with supreme protection in cold weather with 4 layers for warmth!

Favorite Features

  • Proven waterproof protection (Not just water resistant)
  • Thinsulate and exclusive SSG polar fleece lining
  • SSG digital™ palm for superior grip
  • Knitted cuff for extra warmth
  • Stretch knit back for flexibility
  • Designed for -10F

Imported

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Roeckl Weldon Winter Fleece Glove is highly ...
    Description:
    The Roeckl Weldon Winter Fleece Glove is highly versatile and extremely elastic. The backhand and palm on this glove is made from warm,Soft, and especially elastic Polartec Power Stretch Pro. The materials' particularlyHeavy quality guarantees extra warmth, while the outer ...
    The Roeckl Winter Hampshire GlovewillProtect you from the ...
    Description:
    The Roeckl Winter Hampshire GlovewillProtect you from the wettest, coldest, and windiest winter riding weather. Favorite Features Cozy Prima Loft lining Lightweight warmth Elastic wrists can be adjusted with the roll bar strap MetallicRoeckl logo on the cuff Roecklembroidery on ...
    TheSSG All Weather Winter Lined Glove is excellent ...
    Description:
    TheSSG All Weather Winter Lined Glove is excellent for schooling once the temperature starts to drop. Unlined aquasuede palm, excellent grip in dry, rainy or snowy conditions. Thinsulate lining on back of hand and thumb only. Hook and loop wrist ...
    Why We Love ThisThe SSG Winter Training Glove ...
    Description:
    Why We Love ThisThe SSG Winter Training Glove is an all purpose lined winter glove for training, handling, and riding.The backof glove has Thinsulate lining forheat retentionwithout the bulk while thepalm is lightly linedproviding abetter feel on the reins without ...
    The Roeckl Ultimate Winter Glove was created with ...
    Description:
    The Roeckl Ultimate Winter Glove was created with a special synthesis by combining WINDSTOPPERSoft Shell with ROECK GRIP technology making it a very popular choice for cold weather riders.This brand-GoreSoft Shell quality material requires no additional inner lining and keeps ...
    Designed to keep you warm and comfortable on ...
    Description:
    Designed to keep you warm and comfortable on cold riding days. All leather construction provides a classic look with great grip! Favorite Features Warm comfortable fit keeps the wind and cold out 3M Thinsulate insulation linerprovidesthe warmth you need without ...
    The Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boots have a ...
    Description:
    The Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boots have a waterproof PVC upper andNeoprene ankle flex that allows for greater comfort in the stirrup. The upper lining is a durable mesh with PU foam and tricot. The molded foot bed lining is ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG 10 BELOW™ WATERPROOF WINTER GLOVE is rated 4.1975 out of 5 by 157.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Small I think sizing charts should include S, M, L, XL, etc... I initially ordered an 8, but returned them to hopefully get a size 11 that fits. I have no idea what size an 8 is, but would better understand what a Medium is. I also think that making them sized for men, or women, would be even more beneficial. The pair I got indicated that they were sized via unisex. This appears to be a great glove, but one that I am unable to wear in this extremely cold weather hitting the Midwest right now. I returned mine the day after Christmas, and have not heard from the manufacturer that they received my return, or even shipped out the new pair that I ordered.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm and dry hands These gloves are exactly as advertised. Cleaning water troughs in subzero temps and hands stayed toasty.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from useful winter glove Warm gloves for the average winter day.  I like the wrist loops on these gloves, to keep them handy when you have to take them off for a fine detail job.  They do run small, especially on the finger length.  I had to try 3 sizes before getting the right one!  They seem very durable, but I haven't had a chance to use them yet.  The cuff is nice and long, keeping your wrists covered.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Gloves I bought them as Christmas gifts for my grand children and they are enjoying them. They were very excited to be able to ride when the temps are cold.
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Big disappointment I have previously owned several pair of these gloves, and was happy with them, so I knew what size to order. It is obvious the design of these gloves has been changed. The thumb was set on so high, I could only get half of my thumb into it and then there was absolutely no range of motion. I could not perform the simplest activity with these gloves on, they were so ill fitting. I can't decide whether my pair was mis-made or that the new design was so off. Cannot return because I attempted to wear them so they are not "as new". Extremely disappointed. Will not buy another pair.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves Just a great pair of gloves especially for an active outdoor person. They fit great, they're comfortable and they're warm!
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves! These are the best gloves to wear when the whether is below freezing. Keeps your hands warm while feeding the horses and doing barn chores. Durable and they keep your hands warm even if they get wet with carrying a water bucket.
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great gloves, but not very warm I have several pairs of these gloves, and have used them for multiple seasons. They are not as warm as I had hoped. If I'm moving and my hands are warm, then they are okay. However, once you stop moving, your hands get cold very quickly. I recommend these for a cool fall, or early winter, but not for freezing weather in the middle of winter. On the other side, the quality is fantastic. They hold up well, especially with all of the abuse I put them through. I bought my first pair 3-4 years ago, and they're still around!
    Date published: 2013-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly warm and water proof These are great gloves for around the farm, I don't know that I'd ride in them other than hacking, they are very thick, which makes them very warm. I am a size 7 in every glove I've ever worn and these felt "snug" when I first tried them on but they do fit, they're just thicker than most gloves. Great for dragging the ring in, doing chores, bringing horses in and out, etc. AND - great for grabbing chunks of ice out of water troughs - they are that waterproof.
    Date published: 2013-12-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Warm, but bulky These are very warm gloves. And they are waterproof with good grip. However, they are bulky. So, I cannot fill the reins that well, but its not impossible to ride in them. Putting polo wraps and tightening the girth etc.. is difficult.
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm and easy to do barn work with, however, the gloves are not the easiest to ride it. They're a little bulky and it can be hard to feel the horse's mouth.
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice gloves, but not as warm as I had hoped About three months ago, I bought a size 7 (I have small-average hands). I also bought a size 8, which is a little bit roomier, but they both fit very well. Really like how these gloves have long fingers so it is easy to hold the reigns correctly. I have worn these gloves in 1-35 degree F weather. They have relatively little bulk, so it is not difficult to work with bridle hardware, etc. They are most effective when I keep them under my jacket so they get nice and warm until I get on my horse to ride. Using them around the barn, my fingers freeze, and stay frozen until I take the gloves off and rewarm my fingers and the gloves. They tend to become wet with sweat very quickly, but they also dry within a day, so I would recommend buying two pair. All told, I have not tried any gloves that work or warm better, though I had hoped they would keep my fingers warmer.
    Date published: 2013-11-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good winter gloves but not for riding These gloves are super warm.  I am glad I bought them for wearing around the barn.  Wisconsin winters get cold!  I only give them three stars though because I think they are too bulky for riding.  Maybe trail riding would be okay, but I feel awkward establishing a connection in them jumping or doing dressage.  I usually wear them into the arena with a pair of crocheted gloves stashed in my pocket to ride in.  I will be buying pair of SSG leather winter gloves that are less bulky.Also, I am tall (almost 6ft), with proportional hands...they are just a smidge too tight.  Either way, I am keeping them because they are already dirty but most of all, they are def WARM!
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Gloves A bit bulky to ride in, but aren't all winter gloves. They are warm! I think these are a great value.
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Warm! I show throughout the year, and not in Florida either! So it gets pretty cold on those 3 a.m horse show mornings. These are so warm. I don't even need hand warmers! They are very sleek to, not as bulky as some of the winter gloves. They are very easy to tack up and ride with. I also use them for work around the barn. Overall they are great!
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Riding Gloves This gloves definitely run small. I did see this in other reviews and ordered 1 size up but they were still too small. Also, way to insulating for the Olympic Peninsula. It just does not get that cold here in the winter.
    Date published: 2013-09-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not All Purpose For riding, rein-feel, ONLY these are practical for keeping hands warm during winter rides. For any other purpose (buckles, knots, any fine motor activity) they are cumbersome. But they come with attached wrist loops so you can quickly remove them, do your work, and then put them back on for riding.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves Finally I have found a winter glove for riding and barn work, they are warm yet not bulky. You can manage to do buckles and ride still feeling the reins and pressure you want. Great buy!
    Date published: 2013-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gloves for winter These gloves are amazing! I got them wet filling water tanks in cold weather and it never soaked through. They fit great though I did have to email Smartpak to figure out how to measure (around the width of the hand, leaving out the thumb). Found out the average size for women is a 7 and it fits perfectly. These gloves aren't too bulky and look nice, not like most of my barn gloves. Worth every penny!
    Date published: 2013-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WATERPROOF...REALLY!!! These gloves are wonderful for all my New England wintertime barn chores. They truly keep my hands warm and dry and if on the rare occasion my palms get overheated and sweaty, they don't take too long to dry...They're ready the next time I have to feed the horses! This is my second season in my first pairs I've ordered (pairs because I keep spares in the barn). I have worn them out and just purchased 2 more pair for me and 2 extra pair for my barnyard helpers (our daughters ;) ). I LOVE them! I recommend them highly!!
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice winter gloves These gloves fit my hands great. I do have small hands so they do run small. They keep my hands warm on the cold days, a bit thick for riding but that is just my personal taste. Can't really tell on the durability as I have only had them a few months but no signs of unusual wear so far.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmest Gloves This is the second pair of gloves that I purchased. These were a gift to a friend. I found that they are very warm and have a grip on them so reins and other horse and barn equipment do not slip.
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice winter gloves I love SSG gloves as they fit nicely and wear well. These gloves have kept my hands warm is some pretty cold single diget temps. Great for riding, though sometimes tacking up I do have to remove them for a brief time. They hold up well and wash well too.
    Date published: 2013-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and Cozy Gloves I absolutely love the SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves. They keep my hands warm and toasty. Other gloves don't keep my hands warm. My fingers sting when it's below 15 degrees and I generally wear two pair of gloves which is cumbersome. The SSG 10 Below gloves are very well made. They have a cuff to keep the wrist warm, which can be folded down if preferred. I generally keep it folded down for barn chores, but I would pull it up for skiing. They have an elastic strap at the wrist which I suppose is to keep them from being dropped. I cut the elastic strap off but kept it in case I want to sew it on again. It would be handy for skiing so you don't drop a glove from the ski lift. I bought a size 8 which is what my hand measures at the center - above the thumb, but my hand is broader just above the wrist so I probably could wear a size 9 too. For barn chores I prefer to slide gloves on and off quickly. For skiing or riding then the 8's are perfect, no slack and not sloppy, but for my hand shape it requires a slight tug to get them on. I suggest measuring the broadest width of your hand for proper size and then calling SmartPak for their recommendation.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AmAzInG Winter Gloves! I find these gloves to be extremely warm and of great quality for the price. I live in Steamboat Springs, CO and am exposed to some VERY cold temperatures. I find that good gloves are hard to come by, and the only ones that REALLY work for me (besides mittens) are pricey mountaineering gloves. These run a very close second and are a quarter of the price. They are maybe a bit thick for riding, but if you are riding in temperatures that require these gloves, then what do you expect?!?The fit was perfect. I measured my hand before ordering and the gloves, well, fit like a glove. I will recommend these to anyone wanting cold weather work or riding gloves.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm! When these arrived I thought they might be too bulky for riding, but I could always use them walking the dogs. However, I've been wearing them in the barn on super cold days and riding with them when temperatures are in the low 20's and my hands have been warm and I have had a good feel of the reins. I hate cold hands and I love these gloves!
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from have tried sooo many winter gloves. These are the best. they are waterproof when having to deal with hoses and water bucket, warm and flexible too. Worth the $$$
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from keeps hands toasty!! For the most part the gloves are good. My hands have been warm on cold days riding indoors and out. However, to get the warmth you have to give up alittle feel with the reins. It would have been nice if they made the thickness on the back of the fingers and not so much between the fingers. Also I don't like the string attachment. I just cut it off.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding gloves These are the first comfortable, totally waterproof gloves I have ever found. They keep my hands warm and dry; I can break the ice on a water trough with my gloves on and not get wet. The fit was fine, just like my other sized SSG gloves.
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blizzard Nemo who? First got these gloves as a Christmas present, and they recieved their first test run this past weekend with all of the snow from Blizzard Nemo up here. We had about 2 feet of snow, and digging out the barn wasn't fun. But these gloves kept my hands VERY warm the entire time. They are nice and flexible as well. I was able to easily unhook double ended snaps and do blanket straps without having to take them off. The band around the wrist is GREAT for keeping snow out of the glove. LOVE LOVE LOVE these gloves. Can't wait to ride in them!!!
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    • 2016-05-24T16:20CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_151
    • loc_en_US, sid_9878, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders