Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SSG 10 BELOW™ WATERPROOF WINTER GLOVE

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #19878

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves is a winter glove with supreme protection in cold weather with 4 layers for warmth!

Favorite Features

  • Proven waterproof protection (Not just water resistant)
  • Thinsulate and exclusive SSG polar fleece lining
  • SSG digital™ palm for superior grip
  • Knitted cuff for extra warmth
  • Stretch knit back for flexibility
  • Designed for -10F

Imported

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Heritage Extreme Winter glove was designed for ...
    Description:
    The Heritage Extreme Winter glove was designed for riding in the coldest weather conditions. The Extreme Winter glove is made with all waterproof materials, 3M Thinsulate insulation and Polar Fleece liner making this one of the warmest riding gloves available! ...
    The Roeckl Winter Hampshire Glove will protect you ...
    Description:
    The Roeckl Winter Hampshire Glove will protect you from the wettest, coldest, and windiest winter riding weather. Favorite Features Cozy Prima Loft lining Lightweight warmth Elastic wrists can be adjusted with the roll bar strap Metallic Roeckl logo on the ...
    A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made ...
    Description:
    A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made from ROECK-GRIP, which provides superior grip, suppleness, and breathability. The Winter Chester gloves have a laminated fleece lining that provides additional warmth. The Roeckl tab fastener across the back of the hand ...
    The SSG Winter Training Glove is an all ...
    Description:
    The SSG Winter Training Glove is an all purpose lined winter glove for training, handling, and riding. The back of glove has Thinsulate lining for heat retention without the bulk while the palm is lightly lined providing a better feel ...
    The Roeckl Ultimate Winter Glove was created with ...
    Description:
    The Roeckl Ultimate Winter Glove was created with a special synthesis by combining WINDSTOPPER Soft Shell with ROECK GRIP technology making it a very popular choice for cold weather riders. This brand-new Gore Soft Shell quality material requires no additional ...
    Why We Love This The Tuff Rider Winter ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boots have a waterproof PVC upper and neoprene ankle flex that allows for greater comfort in the stirrup. The upper lining is a durable mesh with PU foam and tricot. The ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG 10 BELOW™ WATERPROOF WINTER GLOVE is rated 4.1892 out of 5 by 148.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice gloves but could be warmer These are nice gloves and definitely warmer than some. However, living in Montana, I am still looking for the holy grail of warm winter riding gloves... the "10 below" is a misnomer, they are not warm at that temp!
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic!! My hands are always freezing! I wore these gloves in the damp cold, and my hands were perfect, and amazingly, warm. I thought, because they seem a bit bulky, that I might have a difficult time holding my reigns, but I really didn't notice that I was wearing them at all. I will say, that if you have long fingers, you might want to order a size larger than your measurement, IF It bothers you to have your fingertips touch the ends of the glove fingers. I highly recommend these, based on the fact alone that I haven't worn a pair of gloves in 15 years that kept hands warm. Not just kind of warm, but really, actually warm.
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm winter gloves This is my 2nd pair of SSG 10 Below gloves. They are warm and hold up well. Long cuffs. Wrist straps keep them close if you remove a glove to buckle a bridle. Machine washable.
    Date published: 2015-12-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm The gloves are really warm they are just a bit bulky which takes some getting used to.
    Date published: 2015-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great awesome glove! I absolutely love this glove! They lasted me the entire winter and I'll be using them this winter again! They are super nice and still look brand new! I love the elastic straps it is perfect for barn chores where u may need to slip your gloves off to do a gate latch, tighten a girth, or do a blanket hook! I love this glove so much! It's even good for riding on super cold days!
    Date published: 2015-12-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as advertised Ten below gloves do not keep my fingers warm at 20 above with no wind. Runs small - reordered next size. Grip is good and waterproofing is as well. Elastic band with loop is dangerous. You could get it caught on the saddle, etc. and get dragged, break arm, etc. I cut mine off.
    Date published: 2015-11-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Temperate climate glove I live in MN and I'm always on the search for a warm winter glove to wear doing chores. I just ordered this glove. Here's my pros and cons.Con ...definitely not a -10* glove - my hands were cold at 26*Con...runs small. Order at least 1 size larger. Gloves should not be tight.Pros...love the waterproofingPros....love the outer material...very grippyPros....nice, soft lining but not warm enough for MN winters.Pros...has an elastic wrist strap so you can take off your glove and its still attached.I'll use this glove while it stays above 25*. After that I'll have to go back to my ski gloves. It might be good to ride in if you're in a warm arena.
    Date published: 2015-11-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok gloves - fingers still cold though I have Renaud's syndrome in my hands and still really haven't found the perfect glove. These keep my hands warm and mostly dry but my fingers still get really cold. They have held up really well though - this is going on the 3rd winter with them. I have to put a hand warmer inside the gloves to help the finger situation.
    Date published: 2015-11-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Gloves You Need in Winter I live in the Mid-West where we can have some wicked Winter weather. While I have not found any gloves that will keep my hands warm for more than an hour outside in zero degree temperatures without using hand-warmers, these gloves are among the best that I've found for warmth AND comfort for up to an hour. The slim design makes it easier than most Winter gloves to tie rope halters, grip reins, and use equipment with buckles on them. The design is very attractive. The gloves are pricey for my budget, but I keep my horses at home and find myself outside at least twice a day all year around so having comfortable gloves that protect my hands from freezing while also allowing me to safely do chores is essential to my set-up.
    Date published: 2015-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toasty fingers! I bought these on a whim as my other winter gloves don't quite cut it in the really cold (below zero with nasty wind chills) weather we were getting in WI. These definitely keep the hands VERY warm in the really cold weather. A bit too much when it's warmer or when working, but awesome for being outdoors! Not the best for trying to tack up a horse, but that wasn't why I bought them!
    Date published: 2015-03-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super warm but weird fit These are super warm, exactly what i needed with the crazy snowy weather we've been getting this winter. They do have a bit of a weird fit though, the padding inside makes it difficult to fully close your hands and the fingers a just a tad too short.
    Date published: 2015-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally something that works for me! We had record breaking snow here in S. Ky. Got my gloves just in time! I have horribly cold hands to start with and these kept me warm and dry. Grippy enough to hold supplement paks, and flexible enough to pop a pill from a blister pack.They fit very snug so make sure to upsize if you are between sizes.
    Date published: 2015-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SSG 10 Below Gloves I have a condition where the capilleries in my fingers colapse when the temperature is cold and damp. I've tried a ton of gloves and even though my fingers still get cold, these gloves do the best job yet and keep them dry.
    Date published: 2015-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm, workable glove I bought these gloves as replacements for old, worn out waterproof gloves. I'm definitely happy with the purchase! They are very warm and insulated, and thoroughly waterproof. The cuff is long which I like so that there is no chance of water getting down into the glove. They are not bulky and fit nice and snug without being too restrictive. I can easily remove and refasten blanket straps, snaps, and ride with these gloves, while using them simultaneously for working in the cold, wet Northeast winter months.I would definitely recommend these gloves as a winter work glove! For riding I personally feel that they are slightly bulky, just a lot to hold in your hand with a rein, but I'm also not used to riding in gloves.
    Date published: 2015-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly as described These were warm and waterproof and fit nicely. Exactly as described.
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME GLOVES!! Love these gloves! I can pick up chunks of ice out of water tubs and not get my hands cold *or* wet! I have only used them for barn work so far, but as I've worn them more & they've "broken in" a little, I think they'd be flexible enough to ride in.
    Date published: 2015-01-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Clumsy, cumbersome, and useless for working. I have never written a bad review on anything. These gloves are worthless for riding, though they may keep hands warm just when going outside. The synthetic backing is stiff, so the fingers cannot close. The material is so thick, the fingers won't close. I tried one size, my regular glove size, and it was too tight and small. I tried one size up, and it was still too tight and fingers still could not bend. The finger tips stick out to far from the human finger because the glove will not go back onto the hand. The inside lining bunches up when you take the gloves off, such that you cannot get them back on because the lining is bunched up in the fingers. You can't pick anything up with these gloves on, you can't even zip up a zipper. The material is too thick. You certainly cannot ride with them on--you can't close the fingers around English leather reins. I could not think of any good thing about these gloves, until right now--perhaps they would work for hoof trimming and rasping in the cold. They are so thick, they would protect your hand from the rasp. I also have no idea what the flimsy elastic cords are that hang out of the inside and make it impossible to get your hand into the glove. I did not want to bother returning them again, so I cut off the elastic strings and will use the gloves when trimming horse feet. Certainly, I cannot ride with them on.
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Waterproof - yes. Water repellant - not so much I bought these gloves to keep my hands from freezing when I had to get ice from the water trough. Well, my hands stayed dry but the outer layer of the gloves absorbed some water and that froze so my hands did get cold that day. BUT I think if you were to use them for their intended purpose (winter riding) they would be perfect. When I'm not wrist deep in freezing water, these gloves are great! The fit is near perfect (I have shorter thumbs so they're a tad bit long there) and my fingers have great mobility. I've never liked gloves before because I couldn't move my fingers. Not the case with these! They're also really comfortable and look nice. I would highly recommend them. :)
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wicked Good I've had them about a month and the weather has been regularly below zero. My hands have been comfortably warm while spending hours in the barn doing chores. They are a little too bulky for riding &/or making adjustments to your tack or blankets, but my hands warm-up quickly when I put the gloves back on.
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love these! I got these as I was looking for a warm and waterproof glove. These are a very comfortable glove for the most part and now that they are broken in are not as clumsy for most barn work. For riding they are also fine. However,they do not keep my fingers warm below 25 degress unless im really working hard or slip in hand warmers. Temps in the teens or below 0 these would not work at all, but most gloves dont and that's when I use mittens. Also, I have long fingers and ordered the largest size i could without making them too big. I should have gone another size up. these are an 8 and fingers still too short--mostly the thumb part between it and the palm of my hand as it restricts movement and can cramp up my hand. Now that they are broken in a little, they are more flexible but not the greatest. They have held up well but I tend to trash my gloves after a season so I am being careful with them.
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Failed everything I bought these thinking they would really help me they northern Illinois winters. But no. First they were too small. I measured a perfect 7. I guess I have long fingers because the gloves were half an inch to short on the fingers. I wore them anyway for an evening. Too see if they would stretch. It was about 10 degrees and within minutes my hands were numb. When I tried to ride, it was impossible. I had sausage fingers. I have a pair of $12 gloves from farm and fleet that work so much better! My hands are toasty in below zero temps and they are thin enough and grippy enough to ride in. Don't waste your money on these.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great work horse of a glove! I've had these gloves for about a month and they are fine for riding and barn chores after they stretched out a bit. I hate the dexterity you lose with insulated gloves but I can manage nearly everything from mixing my horse's supplements in his feed to mucking stalls. The real test came this evening when the temps have plummeted to 8 degrees with 20-30 mph wind gusts. Hands, even fingers, stayed toasty. What I find remarkable is that the barn hose coupling was leaking and the faucet is an outdoor one so I was exposed to the elements while working on it. The water immediately froze on the gloves, my fingers froze together along with the pliers and my fingers remained dry and warm!!!! My husband does not have these gloves and he did not fare nearly as well. I was so impressed, as soon I came in the house and got changed, I sat down to specifically write this review. Very happy with this product.
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves Got these gloves several weeks ago and have worn them almost everyday. They are warm.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful gloves I bought these last year figuring they would not be warm and I would not be able to use my hands in the barn with them on. Wrong on both counts! I liked them so much I bought them as presents for all best horsey friends!!!!
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sizes run small When these gloves arrived, I immediately put them on to go out to feed horses. I struggled to get them on the first time - extremely tight, and I have small hands. I was looking forward to them keeping my hands warm, but within minutes of going outside to feed, my fingertips were frozen solid. (It was about 25-30 degrees out that day.)I do like the waterproof aspect. They do seem to be very waterproof.I would suggest getting a larger size than you think you need, and don't plan on these things keeping your hands warm.
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected I bought these about a month ago after seeing recommendations on them for their warmth and dryness. I'm hoping mine were just the exception. The first time I put them on, the liner inside ripped apart and they never kept my hands dry nor warm.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the grip on these gloves! still have my first pair bought 2 years ago, i use them for driving, the new pair is for chores and ridding , recommended them to a friend, and she got them to!
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderfully warm, but a bit bulky on my hands... While the gloves are great for keeping my hands warm in snowy Michigan, I did feel that they were a bit bulky. I have long fingers, but slim hands so perhaps they wouldn't be as bulky on someone else?
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome gloves! At first I thought they would be way to bulky and considered returning them but then i decided to try them and absolutely loved them! Super warm and comfortable. Can be a little bulky but what good winter glove isn't. I even rode in them and they were decent!
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, durable Just pulled these out for their second season. Noticed that they still look good--no strands, loose seams, etc. Worked well for last year's freezing temps in the Mid-Atlantic. Above 25-30 degrees, they make my hands sweat. Keep my hands perfectly warm in single digit temps. While I don't immerse my hands in water while wearing them, they keep my hands dry while doing barn chores, which sometimes incidental wetness from soaking feed, cleaning water buckets, etc. They're too bulky to put a bridle on, but I can manage blanket hardware just fine with them. My favorite feature is the elastic wrist straps that keep them tethered when you take them off. I did go up one size larger than I use for my SSG All Weather gloves, and they fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-11-23
    • 2016-02-09T14:51CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_143
    • loc_en_US, sid_9878, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.