Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Solstice Winter Boot

SmartPak
- Item #19712
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

As riders in New England, we know a thing or two about winter. We designed the Solstice collection to offer unique style and cozy warm comfort. These boots are what your feet want for Christmas. Finally, a true cross-over boot! The Solstice Tall Boot is durable enough for the barn, with sophisticated style for all your winter errands.

Favorite Features

  • Weathered leather and suede exterior is lined with plush faux fur.
  • With three ways to rock the look, it's like three boots in one! Wear it with the cuff flipped up for knee-high coverage, with the cuff rolled down for aprés-ski style or with the shaft scrunched down for a mid-calf "slouch" look.
  • Comfortable enough to wear all day, but not intended for riding.

A note about these boots: Everyone has a favorite pair of boots that are well-worn and full of memories. Every time you wear them, you’re adding wear that tells the story of where they’ve taken you. Instead of making you wait years for that unique, well-worn look, every Solstice boot intentionally looks weathered and broken in right from the start. As soon as you take them out of the box, they’re ready for you to continue telling their story.

Imported.

Sizing It Up

11/15/11: These boots have an easy fit. Please consider sizing down if you are in between sizes.
You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Solstice Winter Boot is rated 4.436 out of 5 by 172.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of My Favorite Purchases I absolutely love these boots. Not only are the comfortable, but they are warm and stylish! I have had so many non-horsey people come up to me and ask about them and no one believed me when I said that they were barn boots. My coach even went out and bought a pair because she loved mine! I've had them for three years an they are still in great condition. I bought them at an 8 1/2 and yes, they are big, but I love to layer in the winter, so the large size allows for lots of fuzzy socks to be layered under the boots. The larger size is also helpful for putting any insoles in.
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy for short periods of time They feel like a giant slipper, very cozy and perfect for walking the dog! I'm not wearing them to the barn, I don't think they would hold up, plus they are too cute :) I just realized today on a walk that they are NOT waterproof. I just assumed.. I will be spraying them with waterproofer once they dry :) Also not enough support for a full day of wearing. Perfect for errand running etc on cold days! Cute boot :)
    Date published: 2014-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from smart looking boots These are very good looking boots. So far they are warm and seemed well made. I don't know how durable they will be as I just got them but they look as though they will hold up well. They do fit large in the foot but in the calf they are fairly tight. They are not a slim tight fit but definitely not a loose fit. They do not have a lot of arch support in the foot bed but an ariat insole solved that as well as the problem of running a little large. I do enjoy wearing them as they are very lightweight and don't weigh me down (literally) as I go through a long day at the barn.
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice They are extremely warm and comfortable. They are really cute too.
    Date published: 2014-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm boots! Good quality and comfortable. True to foot size, I wanted a little room for heavier socks and it was perfect.
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Impossible to get on! I was so excited to get these boots! They look so warm and comfy. I have the hardest time getting them on! Its like the lining works against my socks, I have tried everything to get them on. I have found that if I wear thin dress socks I can get them on ok. They do run about a half a size large, which is a good thing cause I don't think I would be able to get them on if they were the right size. I wish they had a zipper, that would solve everything. As far as them being warm, so far so good (of course I'm overheated by the workout struggle to get them on) I don't think they will keep my feet warm in subzero temps. For the cost, I think I would put my money into some Bogs or Mucks. These boots are not worth the hassle of trying to get into them. I am very disappointed!
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful boots Almost too nice to go to the barn in. I feel I can wear them anywhereVery sturdy and comfortabel
    Date published: 2014-12-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Warm and cozy boots These boots fit true to size and are very warm with decent traction but still safe to ride in. My only complaint is the lack of any zipper or buckle closure. These are nearly knee high boots and it's very difficult to tuck your pants into the boot. We put a zipper up the back and now they are great!
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Run big - especially for short people Got this way back in an early sale and my husband tucked them away for my Christmas present. With our early winter I dug them out only to find that on my short frame ( i have to buy kids chaps and semi custom riding boots due to my 13 " from knee to heel) these are practically thigh highs when flipped up on me - always wanted a pair but really needed new barn/ winter riding boots which is whatI got these for. My problem also is that I have a 13" calf circumference and when I pulled these on it was tiight over my jeans. I also see the nice white fleece not staying that way for long then it wont look so nice away from the barn. . Finally I did not see the video in the flash sale so did not know to size down . Im usually a size 7 or 6.5 , 37 - euro but in winter boots I usually size up to allow for socks and circulation . So I ordered a 38 and my feet slop which will lead to blisterss and a bad back . Will try an insole before returning. 3 stars due to not really the best for shortmiddle adged women! I am 130 lb which gives me a little insulation on my 5.1' frame but any more and I am sure I could not get these boots on without having to send them to be stretched.
    Date published: 2014-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable I love these boots. They are very comfortable, durable and I bought them at a great price!
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality but had to return Like many others, I bought this boot knowing it may not fit over my "athletic" (har har) calf, and unfortunately, it did not. Super cute boot, good looking quality, and I was just able to squeeze them on, but it would have been a no-go over jeans or winter pants. Sad face. Smartpak handled my return promptly and courteously, and I have a pair of Dublin Pinnacle boots on the way to me as I type. Had they fit, I would have been thrilled with these boots and the price point.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfy and fits perfectly! I bought this a few weeks ago, and I couldn't wait for them to come in the mail! Very excited about this product.
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute, comfy & warm These are comfy and warm, though I did think of Santa boots as well--especially the black ones. However, these are too casual for work and aren't made for riding--as stated, and they have no extra protection inside the leg--so I just couldn't justify them. Instead, grabbed a pair of the year-round kind, which are great! And then gotta get some winter field boots....
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots I received these boots two days ago. They are beautiful. Unfortunately, although they fit, I will be returning them. I had planned to wear them with my breeches and they are too snug on my ample calves to be 'barn functional',
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great value boot I have not worn them yet but I kwas pleased with the quality. They do run large, I usually wear 8.5 and got on 8 in these. The fleece is nice and fluffy. They could have more arch support in them so I will put a sole liner in. I look forward to wearing them.
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from attractive boots too tight in the calf with breeches.....returned product
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Boots I just bought these boots and they are very warm and comfy.
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I learned a lesson I so looked forward to a pair of tall boot that weren't rubber. However, there was nothing wrong with the boot. I found out that my leg length and calf size do not size up with my shoe size in any tall English style riding boot. I thought since these had the fold down top that I just might be able to wear them, nope. So not the boot, and I really liked them. I had also ordered the paddock of this brand and they aren't going anywhere, they are wonderful so I am sure this boot is to.
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boots, Small Calves I absolutely loved these boots - the look, feel and quality - but I had to return them because the calves were too small. I am physically active and have nicely muscled calves and could not get the boots up past the middle of the calf. I have the same problem with field boots as well.
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy, warm, sizing hints were spot on. I'd been looking at these for quite some time and when they were super on sale in the middle of summer I finally had to bite. Foot sizing tips are accurate - I'm an 8.5 and ordered them in size 8 and it fits great. I'm also 5'11" and am super pleased with the height of the boots and various options for wearing them. I usually order wide calf in riding boots, and while these just fit with breeches on, there is no way I'll be able to wear them with jeans (I bought them knowing this and was ok with it). Overall great buy, and excited to get some use out of them now that fall is here!
    Date published: 2014-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for me! I read all the reviews, and decided to give these. Here is everything I can tell you about them: I ordered Black, and in my normal size 9. (I did not size up or down) I have high arches, a wide ball of foot but not heel, medium (8.5") ankles, and a just over 15" inch calf. They fit me great, made my foot look smaller, are super comfortable and were not hard to get on or off despite the lack of zipper. The cut out area behind the top of boot makes fit and move behind the knee very nicely :) Good height, and not clunky at all when compared to tall mountain horse rimfrost or tuffrider winter boots. They are snug in the calf on me, so I would not be able to tuck regular boot cut jeans in them. They are adorable! Perfect for breeches, skinny jeans! So, do I save them for skinny jeans and casual wear like errands/movies/grocery shopping or ruin them by wearing at the barn? I may 2 pair :}
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from On the fence These arrived yesterday, but I can't decide whether to keep them or not. I wear a size 9 in almost every shoe/ boot I own. I do have a few pair of Ariat cowboy boots in 8 1/2, so I was kind of concerned that they'd be too big based on reviews by others. They are not! They actually feel small in the toe. The foot WIDTH, however, is huge. Wide feet will love them, but my feet are narrow and swim from side to side in them. There's no arch support, which makes them slightly uncomfortable. I purchased black, but may return them for brown. When I look down at my feet, they are an odd, masculine shape. They remind me of Santa's boots. All negativity aside, they are warm and tall. I'm 5'9" and unfolded they come up to just below my knee in the front. I will wear them unfolded so to avoid more Santa like feelings. They feel nice and snug around my legs, not baggy or loose. I tried them on wearing breeches. The sale price was good, which is why I may keep them. They seem to be a good, warm alternative to a rubber Wellie. The leather looks a little distressed as some water proofed leather does, but the suede is very nice. Don't know how it will hold up. Don't think I'd want to ride in them & risk ruining the suede. Hope this helps some of you.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These boots are fab! These boots are the only reason I am looking forward to cold weather! I usually wear a 7-1/2 and after reading all the reviews I ordered a size 7 -- they fit perfectly! I love how tall they are and slim through the calf. I have no problem getting them on and off, and for the price they are absolutely amazing. I will not be wearing them to the barn, although with the leather on the foot, they will clean up much better than an all-suede pair of boots.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots I just received these boots and I love them! Fit true to size, comfortable and very fashionable. Can't wait to wear them on a daily basis.
    Date published: 2014-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty, comfortable AND functional! I LOVE these boots, true to size, extremely comfortable. Nice to kot sacrifice comfort for good looks!
    Date published: 2014-09-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice warm boot but didn't fit in the calves I ordered these & tried them on as soon as I received them. The fuzzy inside is nice & the foot of the boot isn't too wide so I am sure that you could ride in them in the winter as well. I ended up returning them because they were a bit too tight in the calves but still fit my feet so I knew sizing up wouldn't work for me. Thank goodness for SmartPak's free returns!!
    Date published: 2014-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classy and Affordable I bought these boots when they were on sale. I needed a pair of warm winter boots that also had style. These fit the bill perfectly. I love the fact that there are three different wearing options. Like the description stated, I ordered a half size down since I was between sizes. They fit perfectly!
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boot! Love this boot. Too put them on with jeans just fold them down and gradually roll them up.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy and Cool I also couldn't wait any longer to buy these boots once they went on sale. It's July and hot and it will be months before I can really wear these but I think they will be a winner. They fit comfortably and they seem like they are going to be warm. Thanks again to SmartPak and their generous shipping/return policy. It makes taking a chance on ordering boots or apparel a no-risk opportunity!
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't wait to wear them I have been looking at these boots for some time. I knew I would love them. So the sale was my excuse to buy them even though it is July. They were just as described. I love them!! Stylish and warm. WIll be perfect for Montana winters.
    Date published: 2014-07-22
    • 2015-08-26T13:16CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_163
    • loc_en_US, sid_9712, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.