Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Solstice Winter Boot

SmartPak
- Item #19712
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

As riders in New England, we know a thing or two about winter. We designed the Solstice collection to offer unique style and cozy warm comfort. These boots are what your feet want for Christmas. Finally, a true cross-over boot! The Solstice Tall Boot is durable enough for the barn, with sophisticated style for all your winter errands.

Favorite Features

  • Weathered leather and suede exterior is lined with plush faux fur.
  • With three ways to rock the look, it's like three boots in one! Wear it with the cuff flipped up for knee-high coverage, with the cuff rolled down for aprés-ski style or with the shaft scrunched down for a mid-calf "slouch" look.
  • Comfortable enough to wear all day, but not intended for riding.

A note about these boots: Everyone has a favorite pair of boots that are well-worn and full of memories. Every time you wear them, you’re adding wear that tells the story of where they’ve taken you. Instead of making you wait years for that unique, well-worn look, every Solstice boot intentionally looks weathered and broken in right from the start. As soon as you take them out of the box, they’re ready for you to continue telling their story.

Imported.

Sizing It Up

11/15/11: These boots have an easy fit. Please consider sizing down if you are in between sizes.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    This boot from Pajar provides high level warmth ...
    Description:
    This boot from Pajar provides high level warmth and waterproofProtection in very stylish boot. The upper is combination of a leather in the vamp and high denier nylon on the shaft that provide a waterproof seal that is perfect for ...
    The Ariat Extreme Zip Paddock H20 Insulated Boot ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Extreme Zip Paddock H20 Insulated Boot will keep your toes toasty warm at the barn and in the saddle this winter. Favorite Features Waterproof, full-grain leather upper Waterproof membrane construction 200g Thinsulate insulation Thermal insole Moisture-wicking lining Antique ...
    Why We Love ThisDubarry's iconic signature bootis now ...
    Description:
    Why We Love ThisDubarry's iconic signature bootis now available in a slim fit!The Dubarry Galway Boot is the original waterproof, breathable boot from Dubarry, perfect all purpose outdoor footwear for any weather. Raved about in Europe for years due to ...
    ThePajar Kimi IIIce Gripper Bootprovides premiumwarmth and waterproofProtection ...
    Description:
    ThePajar Kimi IIIce Gripper Bootprovides premiumwarmth and waterproofProtection with the ultimate grip to give you sure footing in winter's worst conditions.Imported. Favorite Features Made from a high denier nylon with taped waterproof seams and wool liner to insulate heat Waterproof ...
    The Tuff Rider Kids Starter Winter Paddock Bootisa ...
    Description:
    The Tuff Rider Kids Starter Winter Paddock Bootisa greatoption for those seeking warmththis winter! Favorite Features Front Zip Paddock Boot Full foot synthetic fleece lining Textured rubber sole Spur rest Imported Sizing It Up 1,2,3,4,5,8,9,10,11,12
    The Solstice TallBuckle Boot by SmartPakis the perfect ...
    Description:
    The Solstice TallBuckle Boot by SmartPakis the perfect balance of style and function! Greatfor the barn and everyday use. Favorite Features Rugged soles and waterproof foot bed construction Easy case, nubuck construction Soft leather, minimal break in period Stylish buckle ...
    Why We Love ThisThe Mountain Horse Ice Rider ...
    Description:
    Why We Love ThisThe Mountain Horse Ice Rider Tall Boothas a tall, sleek look and elegant features. Upper boot is made from strong Duralon with heat insulating Thermolite lining to keep your legs warm. Durable elastic material inserts along calf ...
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Solstice Winter Boot is rated 4.4294 out of 5 by 177.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They were purchased as a gift. The recipient seemed to love them.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, warm and stylish!!! This is the first pair of boots I've purchased for warmth and to wear in snow and cold in several decades. I've gotten tired of wearing muck boots all the time (they work great, doesn't matter what you step in, etc. etc.) and wanted something with more beauty. These have more than filled the bill! They are warm. They fit great (I have fairly wide size 7/38 feet). They, so far, have been comfortable to walk in for several hours. I couldn't be more pleased with these boots! So glad I opened the email the day these boots were featured!
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits my fat calf! I was hesitant about purchasing these boots because I always have a problem with getting tall boots over my calf. The price was drastically reduced so I took a shot and ordered them. I was very pleased when these fit over my calf! The only complaint I have is they are too big in the foot! I ordered a size 8 and I could probably go down a full size. If you order them, go down at leas 1/2 a size. Otherwise I LOVE these boots!!
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THESE! I got these for Christmas from my mom and have worn them everyday! They're super cute, warm, and comfortable. I can wear them at the barn while working my horses or to school/work.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice for the price, but... I was so excited to get these boots: they're pretty, they look snuggly, and they were priced very nicely. Then, I was quite disappointed that I could not get my somewhat high instep into the boot. I've had the same problem with DuBarry boots, but no others, and I was really hoping these would work. I had to return them.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of My Favorite Purchases I absolutely love these boots. Not only are the comfortable, but they are warm and stylish! I have had so many non-horsey people come up to me and ask about them and no one believed me when I said that they were barn boots. My coach even went out and bought a pair because she loved mine! I've had them for three years an they are still in great condition. I bought them at an 8 1/2 and yes, they are big, but I love to layer in the winter, so the large size allows for lots of fuzzy socks to be layered under the boots. The larger size is also helpful for putting any insoles in.
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy for short periods of time They feel like a giant slipper, very cozy and perfect for walking the dog! I'm not wearing them to the barn, I don't think they would hold up, plus they are too cute :) I just realized today on a walk that they are NOT waterproof. I just assumed.. I will be spraying them with waterproofer once they dry :) Also not enough support for a full day of wearing. Perfect for errand running etc on cold days! Cute boot :)
    Date published: 2014-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from smart looking boots These are very good looking boots. So far they are warm and seemed well made. I don't know how durable they will be as I just got them but they look as though they will hold up well. They do fit large in the foot but in the calf they are fairly tight. They are not a slim tight fit but definitely not a loose fit. They do not have a lot of arch support in the foot bed but an ariat insole solved that as well as the problem of running a little large. I do enjoy wearing them as they are very lightweight and don't weigh me down (literally) as I go through a long day at the barn.
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice They are extremely warm and comfortable. They are really cute too.
    Date published: 2014-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm boots! Good quality and comfortable. True to foot size, I wanted a little room for heavier socks and it was perfect.
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Impossible to get on! I was so excited to get these boots! They look so warm and comfy. I have the hardest time getting them on! Its like the lining works against my socks, I have tried everything to get them on. I have found that if I wear thin dress socks I can get them on ok. They do run about a half a size large, which is a good thing cause I don't think I would be able to get them on if they were the right size. I wish they had a zipper, that would solve everything. As far as them being warm, so far so good (of course I'm overheated by the workout struggle to get them on) I don't think they will keep my feet warm in subzero temps. For the cost, I think I would put my money into some Bogs or Mucks. These boots are not worth the hassle of trying to get into them. I am very disappointed!
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful boots Almost too nice to go to the barn in. I feel I can wear them anywhereVery sturdy and comfortabel
    Date published: 2014-12-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Warm and cozy boots These boots fit true to size and are very warm with decent traction but still safe to ride in. My only complaint is the lack of any zipper or buckle closure. These are nearly knee high boots and it's very difficult to tuck your pants into the boot. We put a zipper up the back and now they are great!
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Run big - especially for short people Got this way back in an early sale and my husband tucked them away for my Christmas present. With our early winter I dug them out only to find that on my short frame ( i have to buy kids chaps and semi custom riding boots due to my 13 " from knee to heel) these are practically thigh highs when flipped up on me - always wanted a pair but really needed new barn/ winter riding boots which is whatI got these for. My problem also is that I have a 13" calf circumference and when I pulled these on it was tiight over my jeans. I also see the nice white fleece not staying that way for long then it wont look so nice away from the barn. . Finally I did not see the video in the flash sale so did not know to size down . Im usually a size 7 or 6.5 , 37 - euro but in winter boots I usually size up to allow for socks and circulation . So I ordered a 38 and my feet slop which will lead to blisterss and a bad back . Will try an insole before returning. 3 stars due to not really the best for shortmiddle adged women! I am 130 lb which gives me a little insulation on my 5.1' frame but any more and I am sure I could not get these boots on without having to send them to be stretched.
    Date published: 2014-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable I love these boots. They are very comfortable, durable and I bought them at a great price!
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality but had to return Like many others, I bought this boot knowing it may not fit over my "athletic" (har har) calf, and unfortunately, it did not. Super cute boot, good looking quality, and I was just able to squeeze them on, but it would have been a no-go over jeans or winter pants. Sad face. Smartpak handled my return promptly and courteously, and I have a pair of Dublin Pinnacle boots on the way to me as I type. Had they fit, I would have been thrilled with these boots and the price point.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfy and fits perfectly! I bought this a few weeks ago, and I couldn't wait for them to come in the mail! Very excited about this product.
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute, comfy & warm These are comfy and warm, though I did think of Santa boots as well--especially the black ones. However, these are too casual for work and aren't made for riding--as stated, and they have no extra protection inside the leg--so I just couldn't justify them. Instead, grabbed a pair of the year-round kind, which are great! And then gotta get some winter field boots....
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots I received these boots two days ago. They are beautiful. Unfortunately, although they fit, I will be returning them. I had planned to wear them with my breeches and they are too snug on my ample calves to be 'barn functional',
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great value boot I have not worn them yet but I kwas pleased with the quality. They do run large, I usually wear 8.5 and got on 8 in these. The fleece is nice and fluffy. They could have more arch support in them so I will put a sole liner in. I look forward to wearing them.
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from attractive boots too tight in the calf with breeches.....returned product
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Boots I just bought these boots and they are very warm and comfy.
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I learned a lesson I so looked forward to a pair of tall boot that weren't rubber. However, there was nothing wrong with the boot. I found out that my leg length and calf size do not size up with my shoe size in any tall English style riding boot. I thought since these had the fold down top that I just might be able to wear them, nope. So not the boot, and I really liked them. I had also ordered the paddock of this brand and they aren't going anywhere, they are wonderful so I am sure this boot is to.
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boots, Small Calves I absolutely loved these boots - the look, feel and quality - but I had to return them because the calves were too small. I am physically active and have nicely muscled calves and could not get the boots up past the middle of the calf. I have the same problem with field boots as well.
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy, warm, sizing hints were spot on. I'd been looking at these for quite some time and when they were super on sale in the middle of summer I finally had to bite. Foot sizing tips are accurate - I'm an 8.5 and ordered them in size 8 and it fits great. I'm also 5'11" and am super pleased with the height of the boots and various options for wearing them. I usually order wide calf in riding boots, and while these just fit with breeches on, there is no way I'll be able to wear them with jeans (I bought them knowing this and was ok with it). Overall great buy, and excited to get some use out of them now that fall is here!
    Date published: 2014-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for me! I read all the reviews, and decided to give these. Here is everything I can tell you about them: I ordered Black, and in my normal size 9. (I did not size up or down) I have high arches, a wide ball of foot but not heel, medium (8.5") ankles, and a just over 15" inch calf. They fit me great, made my foot look smaller, are super comfortable and were not hard to get on or off despite the lack of zipper. The cut out area behind the top of boot makes fit and move behind the knee very nicely :) Good height, and not clunky at all when compared to tall mountain horse rimfrost or tuffrider winter boots. They are snug in the calf on me, so I would not be able to tuck regular boot cut jeans in them. They are adorable! Perfect for breeches, skinny jeans! So, do I save them for skinny jeans and casual wear like errands/movies/grocery shopping or ruin them by wearing at the barn? I may 2 pair :}
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from On the fence These arrived yesterday, but I can't decide whether to keep them or not. I wear a size 9 in almost every shoe/ boot I own. I do have a few pair of Ariat cowboy boots in 8 1/2, so I was kind of concerned that they'd be too big based on reviews by others. They are not! They actually feel small in the toe. The foot WIDTH, however, is huge. Wide feet will love them, but my feet are narrow and swim from side to side in them. There's no arch support, which makes them slightly uncomfortable. I purchased black, but may return them for brown. When I look down at my feet, they are an odd, masculine shape. They remind me of Santa's boots. All negativity aside, they are warm and tall. I'm 5'9" and unfolded they come up to just below my knee in the front. I will wear them unfolded so to avoid more Santa like feelings. They feel nice and snug around my legs, not baggy or loose. I tried them on wearing breeches. The sale price was good, which is why I may keep them. They seem to be a good, warm alternative to a rubber Wellie. The leather looks a little distressed as some water proofed leather does, but the suede is very nice. Don't know how it will hold up. Don't think I'd want to ride in them & risk ruining the suede. Hope this helps some of you.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These boots are fab! These boots are the only reason I am looking forward to cold weather! I usually wear a 7-1/2 and after reading all the reviews I ordered a size 7 -- they fit perfectly! I love how tall they are and slim through the calf. I have no problem getting them on and off, and for the price they are absolutely amazing. I will not be wearing them to the barn, although with the leather on the foot, they will clean up much better than an all-suede pair of boots.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots I just received these boots and I love them! Fit true to size, comfortable and very fashionable. Can't wait to wear them on a daily basis.
    Date published: 2014-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty, comfortable AND functional! I LOVE these boots, true to size, extremely comfortable. Nice to kot sacrifice comfort for good looks!
    Date published: 2014-09-24
    • 2016-05-29T16:20CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_168
    • loc_en_US, sid_9712, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders