Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot

SmartPak
- Item #21358
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Fashion, comfort, performance - the Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot has it all! These incredibly versatile crossover boots are just as perfect for barn chores as they are around town as a fashionable, functional footwear choice across the seasons. And they're affordable to boot!

Favorite Features

  • Full leather boot is designed with a classic equestrian look and feel
  • Waterproof interior booty keeps the boot waterproof to the high ankle
  • Thermoregulation interior fabric keeps your feet comfortable in a range of temperatures - from cold, to cool, to warm
  • Full side zipper makes the boot easy to take on and off
  • Discrete, interior calf gussets accommodate a variety of calf sizes while still providing a clean, fitted look and feel
  • Durable sole is riding appropriate and built to withstand a variety of conditions

Imported

A note about these boots: Everyone has a favorite pair of boots that are well-worn and full of memories. Every time you wear them, you’re adding wear that tells the story of where they’ve taken you. Instead of making you wait years for that unique, well-worn look, every Solstice boot intentionally looks weathered and broken in right from the start. As soon as you take them out of the box, they’re ready for you to continue telling their story.

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot is rated 4.3822 out of 5 by 157.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Runs super small...and is not great quality. They are stiff in the sole and don't feel like a $200 boot. Returning again... after going up two sizes.
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boot for the Barn or out in Public! I love this boot! I originally bought a size 10, but had to return for a size 11. The size ten I found to fit too tight in the foot bed, and wouldn't zip all the way up my calf. The size 11 is a bit too big in the footbed, but with two pairs of socks I get the perfect fit. The calves fit perfectly in the bigger size though. If you wear half sizes, I recommend ordering up one size.Now, on durability and function: I find these boots to be very flattering. Some reviews say the boot feels/looks chunky, but I don't think so. I've only had these boots a week or two, but they are breaking in nicely. They slouch a little in the ankle, so be prepared for that. They also clean up nice, however they are very easy to scuff, especially from riding in a saddle. I have found you can buff out most of the scuffs with a leather cleaner and conditioner. But they are comfy once they break in. They also are waterproof so far, as advertised, but I'm not sure how long that will last.
    Date published: 2014-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this boot! Good looking, comfortable, loads of compliments. I have very thin calves and the top with jeans tucked in works great.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! It's hard for me to buy boots and not be able to try them on first due to my "fatter" calves... these were snug at first but have broken in fabulously! I haven't ridden in them yet bc I am enjoying wearing them to work! I do look forward to riding in them tho :)
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing boots! I absolutely love these boots! I went to Equine Affaire and asked about boots that would accommodate western and possibly a dabble in intro english and would be warm and waterproof. Rachael, an employee, helped me find exactly what I wanted! These boots are so comfortable and help me feel more stable in my western stirrups. I had told Rachael that my feet always slip around in my stirrups and she suggested these. I am thrilled as I could never have figured out which boots to buy. Thank you Smartpak Equine!
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These boots are A-MAZ-ING and they LAST I bought these boots back in Feb of 2014. I'm a professional and have worn these boots 6 - 10 hours a day, EVERY DAY since then. Working in the barn, outside, riding 3 - 8 horses a day, I'm beyond impressed by these boots. If these were Ariats they'd have been in tatters long ago, with holes in the leather (on the ball of the foot-- you know what I mean) and about 18 zipper replacements. These boots take whatever I throw at them and keep on going! I've probably only even cleaned them 3 or 4 times since I got them. They're one of my all time best horse purchases (after my Stubben saddle), and far and away my best ever pair of boots. I love that I can take them on and off faster than my sneakers! They're amazing quality for the price, and show no sign of breaking down yet. If you're on the fence, or looking at more expensive boots-- BUY THESE! You'll be so glad you did.Now the minor criticisms: no spurs rests. What?! Oh well, I keep my spurs on all the time and they don't seem to move around too much without the rests, but I'd still prefer them. These boots really aren't any warmer than normal boots as far as I can tell. If it's freezing out, your feet will get cold. I wouldn't buy them specifically to keep your feet toasty in the cold. On the plus side, I wore these through the summer without feeling like they were too hot. The foot bed is too wide and bulky for me, from an aesthetic standpoint. They fit great, but I wish they looked a little more streamline-- but that's just me being vain. However, it does mean I can wear 2 pains of socks to mitigate the fact that the boots aren't all that warm.However, when these wear out (which looks like it will be way, way down the road) I'm 100% getting another pair of these, they are AMAZING.
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable from the minute I first put them on! These boots are terrific. They were comfortable from the first time I put them on and have only gotten better with wearing. Based on the reviews I had read at the time of my purchase, I did buy one size larger than I would normally and that appears to have been the correct way to go. Well made, excellent quality, and great value for the price.
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot The boots arrived punctually. Having read the available reviews, I knew to order a size larger than my normal size; the boots fit very nicely, although I have slim calves and the calves stand away from my leg...a minor problem.
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I ordered these boots because I was looking for a more "dressy" boot than my Justin Gypsy boots. I normally wear size 11 in Justin boots so I ordered these in size 12. The boots were comfortable and seem to be great quality--only problem is they run rather small size-wise. The size 12 fit like a 10 or 10.5.
    Date published: 2014-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from run small They are perfect in every way but one. I ordered a size bigger so u could wear thicker socks. I'm glad I did because they for like normal sizes. Ex, I ordered a size 10 but the for like a size 9. They are really warm so I don't need the thicker socks. They fit over my jeans and there was maybe one day of break in time. Love them!
    Date published: 2014-12-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from yucky leather i was so looking forward to these! the fit was great, i have a calf that needs to be accommodated, put the boots on and wore around the house, the leather around the ankles creased as if the leather was waxed...........
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Winter in MD Love them. Sexy and functional, with jeans, leggings or britches. Breaking them in with a little waterproofing tack oil.
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots I just tried out my boots and they are so comfortable and talk about water proof. Wow.
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great barn boots I have had these for a few weeks and it was the best purchase I have ever made.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic so far! Beautiful boots! So pretty, in fact, that I didn't want to wear them to the barn! But today I put them to the test - chores, riding, and a long hand-walk down the road to cool down. Very comfortable and sturdy, too. I actually preferred riding in them than my old favorites. True to size, broke in easily, quality leather and construction, lovely color, sturdy zipper. Haven't tested the waterproof feature and for warmth yet, but so far I just love them!
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Fave Pair of Boots! I bought these last year and have seriously considered buying a second pair for when I wear these out. Most. Comfortable. Boots. Ever!
    Date published: 2014-11-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good boots! So I struggled to find some good work and riding boots. These met the goal. Fairly comfortable. Footbed shape a little uncomfortable but footbed is nice, leather is nice, been riding and working for hours and seems to do the job. Go up a full size at least and make break in a little easier by bending leather all around by hand.
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from High hopes I was looking for a comfortable, warm, waterproof boot that I could ride in and would be comfortable to stand in and do my equine massages without having to change shoes, and bonus if these shoes could then go right on my errands with me.I really wanted these boots to be that 'everything' boot for me, but I'm afraid I will have to return them (though I really don't want to!).Pros:- Pretty cute side profile- Nice, sturdy leather, but soft enough that it seems like it would break in quickly- Solid toe protection- Good grip on the stirrup- Seems to resist dirt- Snug enough on medium calves, but not too tight.Cons:- Weird front profile--they stick out at the top which makes them look kind of like galoshes or something. Somewhat unexpected given the gusseted calf and tailored side profile- Don't come in wide sizes for the footbed. I have a slightly wider foot, and the footbed of these boots is just slightly too narrow for me. The nice, protective and rigid structure of the footbed/toe was a little too unforgiving to look like it would stretch- Clunky. Tough to get a nice grip on the horse. Felt sort of like I was riding in snow boots. Maybe good for a casual trail ride, but would definitely recommend breaking them in first, as they are slippery.- Not made for walking. I had really hoped these would be comfy to walk and stand in, but unfortunately, the thick, solid sole makes walking a little weird (kind of like combat boots), and after standing for an hour to do a massage, my back was absolutely killing me- Rubbed the back of my ankle, but I think this would go away once they are broken in- Not incredibly warm... wore them with warm socks, nice fall boot, but would need toe warmers in the colder tempsOverall, I think these would be perfect boots if you have narrow or narrow-medium feet. As it is, they are just a little too unforgiving for me. Really bummed, because they were so close to being a perfect-all purpose boot! Very nice quality, excellent price and seemed like they would be durable.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot Never had a pair of tall riding boots before. Love them! Very thick and cushy soles! I wish they came in half sizes though just a little bit concerned about the length it I wear them ALL day long!!
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super Comfy! These boots are one of the few pairs of boots you can put on that are comfortable immediately. No break-in time required. I've worn them every day all day since I got them :)The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is because they don't have 1/2 sizes. I'm an 8 1/2, bought an 8 but can't wear thick socks or they're too short in the toe.
    Date published: 2014-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solstice leather boot I love these boots, round up a size if you wear a 1/2 size. The company is great about you returning a pair if they fit tight!
    Date published: 2014-11-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not for skinny calves These boots seem well made and I love the look of them, but they were huge on my calves. I had read reviews and someone wrote that they didn't work for her larger calves, but they were so large on me I had to send them back.
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice looking boots First I ordered size 7 which is the size I wear and needed to return and order an 8.Wish they came in a 7 1/2. Nice quality and I am looking forward to wearing them but haven't yet.
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots in the world I bought these about a month ago. I LOVE them. They are so comfy and very well made. I have arch problems and I noticed that it was the first time my feet didn't hurt after riding when I wore them. I recommend them to EVERYBODY!!!! The waterproof feature is great too, though I wish it went higher than the ankle. They are perfect for anything, from riding english or western to brushing horses to mucking out stalls. I love these boots.
    Date published: 2014-10-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy Comfy Boot Loved - height, leather quality and color, foot bed, comfortableDidn't like - clunky, width of calf too big, but I have thin calves....Super boot for barn and horsy events.
    Date published: 2014-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Boots! I've had these boots for a year and I've worn them for three seasons out of that year. The boots start out lovely, and they just get better the more you wear them! They are very hardy and when I clean them up they still look brand new, aside from the settling around the ankle. I think they will last for years to come. They are comfortable, stylish, and functional. If Smartpak started making them in black I'd probably buy a pair *hint hint Smartpak* :)I will say that for about the first month I had a VERY hard time zipping them up since they were so snug on my calves. I would put them on and wear them around the house with just thin nylon socks underneath because I couldn't get pants in them. Then I graduated to leggings, then finally skinny jeans underneath. So if they are really tight at first don't be discouraged! They will stretch some. Also, like riding boots, they did settle in the ankle which makes them more comfortable. Now they feel like they were made for me!
    Date published: 2014-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new Boots I gave in to temptation. I am so glad I did they are comfortable to walk in and ride in.I have even used them with a skirt.
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lived up to other people's reviews. Took them to New York City to break them in - wore them all day long for two days and feet never got tired of them. Took them on a weekend-long trail ride weekend the following weekend and they rode great. My riding buddy is ordering some!
    Date published: 2014-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot to go from barn to dinner I bought this boot 2 weeks ago and I love it. The sole is thick enough that it protects the bottom of your feet from the rocks and cold at the early morning horse shows and you can still go out to dinner that night (after a quick wipe) and still look great!!
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME all around boot I'm 5'10" and wear a 7.5/8M in boots - my calves are 12.5" and measure length from floor to back of knee is 17.5". I ordered size 38 - they fit extremely well - roomy toe and supportive arch. They are a bit loose around the calf but they are the best fitting boot I've found for the money. Boots are super comfortable on the ground and in the saddle. The leather is supple and a great color! Fantastic buy!!!
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    • 2015-08-30T15:14CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_155
    • loc_en_US, sid_11358, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.